Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

National League

• 27-01-2008 5:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭

Starts next weekend and I'm excited about it for once. Cavan have ties against some big teams, including Dublin and Meath.

Armagh V Cavan 3 February
    Cavan V Monaghan 16 February
    Cavan V Dublin 1 March
    Meath V Cavan 15 March
    Cavan V Cork 29 March
    Westmeath V Cavan 6 April
    Roscommon V Cavan 13 April

Yas are all very welcome to Breffni on the 1st of March lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

Lemlin wrote: »
    Starts next weekend and I'm excited about it for once. Cavan have ties against some big teams, including Dublin and Meath.

Armagh V Cavan 3 February
    Cavan V Monaghan 16 February
    Cavan V Dublin 1 March
    Meath V Cavan 15 March
    Cavan V Cork 29 March
    Westmeath V Cavan 6 April
    Roscommon V Cavan 13 April

Yas are all very welcome to Breffni on the 1st of March lads :D

Don't worry,we'll be there.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Division 2.

Pfft. :D

smashey wrote: »
    Division 2.

Pfft. :D

lol,you better not get too accustomed to Donegal being in Division 1.Usually its 6 of 1 and half a dozen of the other as they tend to go up and down in terms of promotion/relegation in the league.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

blackbelt wrote: »
    lol,you better not get too accustomed to Donegal being in Division 1.Usually its 6 of 1 and half a dozen of the other as they tend to go up and down in terms of promotion/relegation in the league.:D

Nah, they don't seem to have any problems in the league. It's the championship that's a mystery to them. Maybe they could try their luck in the Tommy Murphy cup this year!:p

Four home games this year *should* mean we'll be okay. :)
    An Citeog wrote: »
    Nah, they don't seem to have any problems in the league. It's the championship that's a mystery to them. Maybe they could try their luck in the Tommy Murphy cup this year!:p

We want revenge against Monaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

And Roscommon :D
    Probably a guaranteed win for ye!
    Although our last "competitive" fixture win was against cavan in last years league semi final :eek: man what a year!!

I can't see Division 2 being contested by any other team than Dublin,Monaghan,Meath and Cork.The other teams are what you'd brand pretty average.With that,I think Dublin and Monaghan will be the two top teams.I do think Monaghan will cause us an upset in Parnell Park.I saw it before,1 week after Dublin beat Tyrone in Omagh and Monaghan are a very complicated team to play against.I think they may lose points against Cork and possibly Cavan as sometimes they seem to underperform against rival teams.

What about Cork?Well,they seem to be united against their manager Teddy Holland and with Cork GAA being in total disarray,this may hinder their progression a little bit.I'd expect them to beat Monaghan but then lose other crucial games against Dublin and maybe Meath.Armagh from what I see are really in the doldrums and by going from their past league performances too,I don't think they'll even find Roscommon easy to live with.

My prediction on final placings,

1.Dublin
    2.Monaghan
    3.Cork
    4.Meath
    5.Cavan
    6.Westmeath
    7.Armagh
    8.Roscommon

For Division 1,I'm expecting Tyrone to do a Donegal and go flat out in the league only to lose to Kerry along the way.Kerry to win all their matches although Mayo seem to be their bogey team in the league and Kerry-Derry should be a cracker as well.

Too hard to see what Mayo will do at this stage but I think they can play much better as the regulars start to come back into the Mayo squad.They should be back in full swing when the championship starts.
    Donegal to lose to Derry,Tyrone and Kerry but probably beat everybody else.Mayo to lose to Tyrone,Derry and Donegal while Galway and Kildare will probably be knocked out comprehensively.

1.Kerry
    2.Tyrone
    3.Derry
    4.Donegal
    5.Mayo
    6.Laois
    7.Galway
    8.Kildare

i dont want to sound anti-cork here do you think if cork fail to field in the early league games will they get to re-fix them before the league ends?
    Roscommon could pick some default points otherwise, we'll take anything we can get :D

I have a feeling Cork will field teams for the league.Usually common sense prevails in GAA and I don't think Cork will fail to realise that it is in their best interest to field teams for this.To not field a team would set Cork back a lot and down in Cork,if that happens,you can be sure the county board will be answering to the hierarchy in Croke Park if such a thing were to happen.

So its in the players,the county board best interests to resolve this for the good of the county and its fans.

Wonder will RTE send down tommy o'gormon to do an interview with some of the players "will you not do it for the fans boys?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

LATEST BETTING:
    Div 1.
    Kerry 5/2
    Tyrone 4/1
    Donegal 6/1
    Mayo 6/1
    Derry 7/1
    Galway 8/1
    Laois 8/1
    Kildare 20/1
    Div 2
    Dublin 13/8
    Cork 4/1
    Armagh 5/1
    Meath 11/2
    Monaghan 7/1
    Westmeath 14/1
    Cavan 16/1
    Roscommon 20/1
    Div 3
    Down 11/4
    Louth 3/1
    Sligo 5/1
    Fermanagh 6/1
    Wexford 8/1
    Longford 8/1
    Limerick 10/1
    Leitrim 16/1
    Div 4
    Offaly 4/5
    Wicklow 3/1
    Antrim 5/1
    Clare 7/1
    Carlow 50/1
    Waterford 16/1
    Tipperary 33/1
    London 100/1
    Kilkenny 200/1

Some serious value in Div 2 as Cork are not guaranteed to take part.
    Carlow at 50/1 could be a good each-way bet in Div 4.
    ladbrokes have suspended betting at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

gucci wrote: »
    i dont want to sound anti-cork here do you think if cork fail to field in the early league games will they get to re-fix them before the league ends?
    Roscommon could pick some default points otherwise, we'll take anything we can get :D

My understanding of the rules is that if they fail to field a team the board will get a large fine and the match is simply awarded to the other team. There is also the possibility of them being thrown out of the League, or a relegation. I'd imagine that o2 would be very happy with that.

patmac wrote: »
    LATEST BETTING:

Some serious value in Div 2 as Cork are not guaranteed to take part.

Is that to finish top of each division or how is the winner decided this year? Is there a league final or is it just top team at end of the league run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Well I think Galway will do better than whats their been given credit for here. I'd see themselves above Laois and battling it out around the middle of the table.

Tyrone may not be as hot as people are saying. It's very hard to judge where they will be. They have talent for sure but O'Neill's retired and a lot of them have won 2 senior AI. Have they appetite for the league??
    I see it as
    Kerry
    Derry
    Tyrone
    Donegal
    Mayo
    Galway
    Laois
    Kildare

with nothing between the middle 4. Derry could prove unbeatable up in Derry. If they show up for the league they will be very good. If they don't it could all go pear shaped.

Mayo will perform average, win some, lose some. We'll win at least 2 home games and one on the road. We'll stay up and that'll be fine. I'd prefer a softly league and a slow start to the Championship before finding stride in the Connacht Final against Galway in Castlebar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

would think kerry will be hard to stop in the league alright, will probably do well ourselves considering we usually put our best 15 out, compared to most teams having a few influential players missing during the league...
    as for yez all on about Derry:rolleyes: wil go nowhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

patmac wrote: »
    LATEST BETTING:

Div 4
    Offaly 4/5
    Wicklow 3/1
    Antrim 5/1
    Clare 7/1
    Carlow 50/1
    Waterford 16/1
    Tipperary 33/1
    London 100/1
    Kilkenny 200/1

That cant be right surely...Carlow at 50/1 for Div 4! They are crazy odds. They are 14/1 & 12/1 with other bookies!
    Waterford & Tipp ahead of Carlow in the betting! After seeing Carlow beat Wexford away, draw away with Dublin there is no way those odds can be for real.
    Apart from Offaly surely theres every chance against the other sides in that league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

If Cavan aren't relegated I'll be happy. I think that realistically the only teams we have a hope of beating in our division are Westmeath and Roscommon. Although form can go out the window in the league so I'd be hoping to try and catch Armagh, Monaghan or Meath on the hop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I'm finding some of the predictions here a bit odd.

Many seem to be predicting Galway to be relegated. Fact is Galway have a good league record, longest running team in divison 1. I don't think we'll win it but probably won't be relegated either. Kildare would be favourites to go down, after that it could be anyone really. Kerry will be missing a few for the league and won't be taking it too seriously early on so I wouldn't go putting the wages on them. Tyrone, well it's hard to know. I'd say they'll be in the top 3 or thereabouts. Always hard to make predictions for the league though.

In div 2 Monaghan will fancy their chances to go up. The Dubs here are very confident but seem to be forgetting that this Dublin team are notoriously inconsistent in the league. Games against Meath,Monaghan,Cork(presumably) and Armagh will not be easy.

The league in recent years has been unpredictable to say the least. I'm tipping Laois and Kildare to go down from Div1 yet Laois could just as well end up in the final. You just wouldn't know.

Predictions for next weekend, just for the crack! (If I get more than half them right I'll be happy!)

Divison 1

Tyone v Kildare -Tyrone in Healy Park they should be too strong
    Donegal v Kerry -Donegal home advantage to sway it
    Derry v Mayo -Derry Derry strong at home
    Galway v Laois -Galway last 2 years it's been very close probably will be again

Divison 2

Dublin v Westmeath -Dublin comfortably
    Meath v Cork -Meath if it goes ahead
    Armagh v Cavan -Cavan great chance against a weakened Armagh
    Monaghan v Roscommon -Monaghan by 5 or 6

Division 3

Limerick v Louth -Louth will be eyeing promo, Limerick gone downhill
    Leitrim v Fermanagh -Draw should be tight
    Wexford v Longford -Longford Longford going well
    Down v Sligo -Down Down improving

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary -Gee I wonder, Tipp by 15+
    Wicklow v Antrim -close, could be a Draw
    Offaly v London -Offaly comfortably
    Clare v Carlow -both teams going well of late, hard to call, I'll go with Clare

Tyone v Kildare -Tyrone
    Donegal v Kerry -kerry:eek:
    Derry v Mayo -draw
    Galway v Laois -Galway

Divison 2

Dublin v Westmeath -Dublin
    Meath v Cork -Meath
    Armagh v Cavan - armagh
    Monaghan v Roscommon -Monaghan

Division 3

Limerick v Louth -Louth
    Leitrim v Fermanagh - fermanagh
    Wexford v Longford - draw
    Down v Sligo -Down

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary - tipp
    Wicklow v Antrim - wicklow
    Offaly v London -Offaly
    Clare v Carlow - carlow

shiibata wrote: »
    Donegal v Kerry -kerry:eek:

*shakes head*

For shame sahiibata, for shame.

smashey wrote: »
    *shakes head*

For shame sahiibata, for shame.

predicted kerry last year too.. there is thought in my betrayal:p

Divison 1

Tyone v Kildare -Tyrone by 5 points
    Donegal v Kerry -Kerry by 4 points
    Derry v Mayo -Derry by 3 points
    Galway v Laois -Galway by a point

Divison 2

Meath v Cork -Cork if it goes ahead
    Armagh v Cavan - Draw
    Monaghan v Roscommon -Monaghan by 7

Division 3

Limerick v Louth -Louth by 2
    Leitrim v Fermanagh - Fermanagh by 1
    Wexford v Longford -Longford by 2
    Down v Sligo -Down,McKenna Cup huge achievement.Can't see Down losing

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary - Tipp by a country mile
    Wicklow v Antrim - Wicklow to repeat their Tommy Murphy Cup heroics
    Offaly v London -Offaly
    Clare v Carlow - Carlow by 4 if Daithi Byrne doesn't lose the head and get sent off.Carlow,a team on the rise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Predictions, lets see how it goes

Divison 1

Tyone v Kildare -Tyrone
    Donegal v Kerry - Kerry
    Derry v Mayo - Derry
    Galway v Laois - Galway

Divison 2

Dublin v Westmeath -Dublin
    Meath v Cork - Meath if it goes ahead
    Armagh v Cavan - Draw

Division 3

Limerick v Louth - Louth
    Leitrim v Fermanagh - Leitrim
    Wexford v Longford -Wexford
    Down v Sligo - Down

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary -Tipp
    Wicklow v Antrim - Wickla
    Offaly v London - Offaly
    Clare v Carlow - Carlow

I'm usually horribly wrong but here goes.....feel free to hammer me about it after week one!! :D

Division 1
    Obviously the strong one! Will be good to see these guys pitted against each other and interesting to see how it will pan out. I dont think Donegal will be able to repeat last years success, Kerry will be in the shake up obviously but i fancy Tyrone to pip it. Relegation for me will be Laois and Kildare (the easy targets sorry!) but Derry wont rest easy (although traditionally the perform well in the league)

Division 2
    Another strong group and alot depends on the cork situation. I expect Dublin to win with Monaghan finishing best of the rest. If cork dont enter it opens up the group a bit.
    I'm a roscommon man and it will be good for us play some of the better teams but i dont expect us to have a major influence on the group. If we avioded relegation it would be a miracle. Us and Cavan look the safest bets although if cork get expelled or lose points....Westmeath wil replace Cavan or Ros if either stay up

Division 3
    I fancy Down to build on their recent winter success, with Louth pushing them close. Leitrim might be favourite for relegation but theyre a team who are evolving well under des dolan. Limerick and Wexford could be the teams caught in the trap door here.

Division 4

Think Carlow will build on theyre o'byrne cup run, promotion would be a massive deal under Paul Bealin and he seems to have them playing good tough football, if they pick up points early on, they could finish in top two. Wicklow i think will win the group and offaly and clare will be there or there abouts also, clare need to have a better season after a washout last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

I hope to be in Parnell Park on Saturday evening. We should see a repeat of the result of the last time they met there. I just hope the weather is a little better! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Looking forward to the League this year. As i said before, i really like the idea of this new League format. Some good fixtures in Div 1 and Div 2 has some quality teams in it aswell. Well i'm hoping that Kerry can win it of course but first things first... we need to win the first match of the league. I can't remember how many years it been since we won the first match.

On another note, whats the story with coverage for the NFL & NHL? are tg4 and setanta splitting it like last year?

P.S. thank god season is starting again.

Dapos wrote: »
    Looking forward to the League this year. As i said before, i really like the idea of this new League format. Some good fixtures in Div 1 and Div 2 has some quality teams in it aswell. Well i'm hoping that Kerry can win it of course but first things first... we need to win the first match of the league. I can't remember how many years it been since we won the first match.

On another note, whats the story with coverage for the NFL & NHL? are tg4 and setanta splitting it like last year?

P.S. thank god season is starting again.
    Your first match is in Ballybofey on Saturday night. (Weather permitting). It could be a long drive back for those who come up here. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

Flukey wrote: »
    I hope to be in Parnell Park on Saturday evening. We should see a repeat of the result of the last time they met there. I just hope the weather is a little better! :)

I have just spoken to the Met in Donneycarney and have been assured that while it will be cold, there will be no rain. I give the priest a call and try to arrange some sunshine, regardless i expect Dublin to warm us up a bit with a good display. On paper looks like a strong division, cant wait to play Meath!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Divison 1

Tyone v Kildare -Tyrone will win this easily
    Donegal v Kerry -Kerry should have enough
    Derry v Mayo -Draw
    Galway v Laois -Galway easy. Laois a bit of a mess right now

Divison 2

Armagh v Cavan - Cavan have every chance here
    Monaghan v Roscommon -Monaghan easily

Division 3

Limerick v Louth -Louth might sneak this...could easy be draw too.
    Leitrim v Fermanagh - Leitrim at home are tough..they'll win
    Wexford v Longford -Longford are on form
    Down v Sligo -Down, another side bang on form

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary - Tipp for sure
    Wicklow v Antrim - Wicklow just about
    Offaly v London -Offaly to win with a nice boost to scoring diff
    Clare v Carlow - Clare to take advantage of Carlow missing 3 top players.

Dapos wrote: »

Same again. Setanta on Saturday evening and tg4 on Sunday.

This weekend it's Donegal v Kerry on sat evening and Galway v Laois on Sunday tg4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

kerry team for wkend only 3 changes form team that started the all-ireland, bring on the 3 in a row:cool:

Dún Na nGall V Ciarraí
    1. Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle), 2.Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) 3. Tom O'Sullivan, (Rathmore) 4. Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin), 5. Tommy Griffin (Dingle) 6. Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) 7. Killian Young (Renard) 8. Mícheál Quirke, Kerins O'Rahillys, 9. Seamus Scanlon, Currow 10. Eoin Brosnan, Dr. Crokes 11.Declan O'Sullivan,Dromid Pearses 12.Paul Galvin (Captain) Finuge 13. Sean O'Sullivan, Cromane, 14. Kieran Donaghy, Austin Stacks 15. Bryan Sheehan St. Mary's
    Fir Ionaid:
    16. Ciarán Ó Creimín, Kieran Cremin, Dr. Crokes, 17. Tómas Ó Sé, An Ghaeltacht18. Dónal Ó Buacháin, Daniel Bohan, Austin Stacks, 19. Rónán Ó Flatharta An Ghaeltacht. 20.Tomás Breathnach, Tommy Walsh, Kerins O'Rahillys 21.Dáithí Ó Móráin, David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's) 22. Donncha Breathnach, Donncha Walsh, Cromane 23. Pól Ó Conchúir, Paul O'Connor, Kenmare 24.Ciarán Ó Laoire, Kieran O'Leary, Dr. Crokes, 25.Deaglán Ó Coill, Declan Quill, Kerins O'Rahillys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Jaysus, I was doubtful about Donegal as it was, after seeing that team, we've no hope.

Devenney is injured, McFadden is in on/off form at the minute and I can't see how we are going to score 0-13/14 to win it. Still Ballybofey is a hard place to win. Alot will depend on how serious Kerry are. Don't think we'll see the showboating that the Donegal lads where at last year in Letterkenny!

Divison 1

Tyone v Kildare -Tyrone will win by 4/5 points at least.
    Donegal v Kerry -Kerry by 2/3 points.
    Derry v Mayo - Hard to know what to make of Mayo. Derry by 3/4 points
    Galway v Laois -Galway by 5/6 points.

Divison 2

Dublin v Westmeath -Dublin comfortably by 6/7 at least.
    Armagh v Cavan - Cavan will run this close. Still home advantage, Armagh by 1/2 points.
    Monaghan v Roscommon -Monaghan by 5/6 points.

Division 3

Limerick v Louth - Mild surprise, Limerick by 1/2 points.
    Leitrim v Fermanagh - A point or 2 either way, I'll sit on the fence, go for a draw.
    Wexford v Longford -Longford by 3/4 points.
    Down v Sligo - Down by 5/6 points.

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary - Tipp for sure
    Wicklow v Antrim - Wicklow by 4/5 points
    Offaly v London -Offaly to win with a nice boost to scoring diff
    Clare v Carlow - Draw.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

if the weather does not improve big time, there will be no donegal game on sat night..pitch must be terrible after last night..heavy rain all night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Waterford to win Division 4..

scaramanga wrote: »
    kerry team for wkend only 3 changes form team that started the all-ireland, bring on the 3 in a row:cool:

Dún Na nGall V Ciarraí
    1. Diarmuid Murphy (Dingle), 2.Marc Ó Sé (An Ghaeltacht) 3. Tom O'Sullivan, (Rathmore) 4. Padraig Reidy (Scartaglin), 5. Tommy Griffin (Dingle) 6. Aidan O'Mahony (Rathmore) 7. Killian Young (Renard) 8. Mícheál Quirke, Kerins O'Rahillys, 9. Seamus Scanlon, Currow 10. Eoin Brosnan, Dr. Crokes 11.Declan O'Sullivan,Dromid Pearses 12.Paul Galvin (Captain) Finuge 13. Sean O'Sullivan, Cromane, 14. Kieran Donaghy, Austin Stacks 15. Bryan Sheehan St. Mary's
    Fir Ionaid:
    16. Ciarán Ó Creimín, Kieran Cremin, Dr. Crokes, 17. Tómas Ó Sé, An Ghaeltacht18. Dónal Ó Buacháin, Daniel Bohan, Austin Stacks, 19. Rónán Ó Flatharta An Ghaeltacht. 20.Tomás Breathnach, Tommy Walsh, Kerins O'Rahillys 21.Dáithí Ó Móráin, David Moran (Kerins O'Rahilly's) 22. Donncha Breathnach, Donncha Walsh, Cromane 23. Pól Ó Conchúir, Paul O'Connor, Kenmare 24.Ciarán Ó Laoire, Kieran O'Leary, Dr. Crokes, 25.Deaglán Ó Coill, Declan Quill, Kerins O'Rahillys.

Surprised at this. Kerry don't usually name such a strong team so early in the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Surprised at this. Kerry don't usually name such a strong team so early in the season.
    ya me too, say the thinking is to get a few points on the board then try a few younger lads in the "easier" league games

They'll need them. :D
    scaramanga wrote: »
    ya me too, say the thinking is to get a few points on the board then try a few younger lads in the "easier" league games
    Correct. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭Dapos

Kerry won't have Gooch and Dara O' Se so maybe it would be nwise to experiment too much on the first game. I can't understand why the GAA don't promote the League more. They could of made this a bit of a bigger event. National League holders Donegal vs All-Ireland Champions Kerry. Get a bit of buzz about the Game. I found the same thing with the Inter-Provisional games last year. Feck all promotion. If there was a bigger buzz over the League then Counties would want to win it more, meaning counties would put out stronger teams, therefore increasing it quality of the competition.

(sorry about the rant)

Tyone v Kildare -Tyrone
    Donegal v Kerry -Donegal
    Derry v Mayo -Derry
    Galway v Laois -Draw

Divison 2

Dublin v Westmeath -Dubs by 5+
    Meath v Cork -Hmmmmmmm I wonder :D
    Armagh v Cavan - Armagh

Division 3

Limerick v Louth -Louth
    Wexford v Longford - Wex
    Down v Sligo -Down

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary - Tipp
    Wicklow v Antrim - Wicklow
    Offaly v London -Offaly
    Clare v Carlow - Carlow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Will the Sunday game be beack to show highlights of the league campaign?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Tyone v Kildare - Tyrone
    Donegal v Kerry - Kerry
    Derry v Mayo - Derry
    Galway v Laois - Galway

Divison 2

Dublin v Westmeath - Dubs
    Meath v Cork - Don't think this game will ever take place - Cork if it does
    Armagh v Cavan - Armagh
    Monaghan v Roscommon - Monaghan

Division 3

Limerick v Louth - Louth
    Wexford v Longford - Wexford
    Down v Sligo - Down

Division 4

Kilkenny v Tipperary - Tipp
    Wicklow v Antrim - Wicklow
    Offaly v London - Offaly
    Clare v Carlow - Carlow

Will the Sunday game be beack to show highlights of the league campaign?

No. But there will be live games on Setanta (saturday evening) and TG4 (sundays) with TG4 also showing deferred coverage of another game after the live match.

This weekend:

sat eve: Donegal v Kerry Setanta live

sunday: Galway v Laois TG4 live
    Armagh v Cavan TG4 deferred

No. But there will be live games on Setanta (saturday evening) and TG4 (sundays) with TG4 also showing deferred coverage of another game after the live match.

This weekend:

sat eve: Donegal v Kerry Setanta live

sunday: Galway v Laois TG4 live
    Armagh v Cavan TG4 deferred

If Sunday Sport is on rte2 they have showed some highlights of selected in years gone past. But no Sunday Game until May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

If Sunday Sport is on rte2 they have showed some highlights of selected in years gone past. But no Sunday Game until May.

7.00 pm on Sunday RTE2. It is quite limited highlights.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

If Cavan aren't relegated I'll be happy. I think that realistically the only teams we have a hope of beating in our division are Westmeath and Roscommon. Although form can go out the window in the league so I'd be hoping to try and catch Armagh, Monaghan or Meath on the hop.
    Ever the pessimist Lemlin! I don't think Cavan are really as bad as everyone is making them out to be. Keoghan seems to have a decent panel to chose from this year and he hasn't been closed minded about picking certain individuals this time around. Plus you're forgetting that we played Meath off the park in Navan in the league last year with 14 men for most of the game and should really have come away with the win but for two goals in the dying minutes of each half. Each team is there on merit too, so don't think for a second that anyone will "outclass" anyone at this level.

Good to see Mad Eddie back in there, regardless of what he's like on the pitch, his enthusiasm is very much needed off the pitch. He can be a loose cannon at times but if a 50/50 ball is there I'd put money on him to win it.

Midfield is still a problem but I think Mulvey can perform at this stage in the year, he had some very good games in the league last year. Good to see John Cunningham in there too, he's a great fielder of the ball... I played against him in the league last year and he was superb for Swanlinbar, their only real player in truth. It will be interesting to see how he does. McCutcheon and Watters look like the biz. Young and enthusiastic with a bit of class about them too. It should be a huge boost to have Paraic Reilly back too, quality player very much missed last year.

Fingers crossed, with a bit of luck we can do a bit more this year. I wouldn't bet against it if Keoghan plays his cards right, that is a big IF.

I have a bet on that Cavan will go further than Monaghan will this year. Monaghan are really only a flash in the pan. We'll take them down a couple of notches this year... ;)

PORNAPSTER wrote: »
    Ever the pessimist Lemlin! I don't think Cavan are really as bad as everyone is making them out to be. Keoghan seems to have a decent panel to chose from this year and he hasn't been closed minded about picking certain individuals this time around. Plus you're forgetting that we played Meath off the park in Navan in the league last year with 14 men for most of the game and should really have come away with the win but for two goals in the dying minutes of each half. Each team is there on merit too, so don't think for a second that anyone will "outclass" anyone at this level.

Good to see Mad Eddie back in there, regardless of what he's like on the pitch, his enthusiasm is very much needed off the pitch. He can be a loose cannon at times but if a 50/50 ball is there I'd put money on him to win it.

Midfield is still a problem but I think Mulvey can perform at this stage in the year, he had some very good games in the league last year. Good to see John Cunningham in there too, he's a great fielder of the ball... I played against him in the league last year and he was superb for Swanlinbar, their only real player in truth. It will be interesting to see how he does. McCutcheon and Watters look like the biz. Young and enthusiastic with a bit of class about them too. It should be a huge boost to have Paraic Reilly back too, quality player very much missed last year.

Fingers crossed, with a bit of luck we can do a bit more this year. I wouldn't bet against it if Keoghan plays his cards right, that is a big IF.

I have a bet on that Cavan will go further than Monaghan will this year. Monaghan are really only a flash in the pan. We'll take them down a couple of notches this year... ;)

Actually this post really caught my attention.I was surprised to read Keogan taking back Seanie Johnston after what was said last summer.Do you guys think this u-turn undermines his integrity and stubborness as a manager.

I think Cavan will push Armagh all the way.Armagh were dreadful in the McKenna cup and Cavan have some good players.I haven't backed Cavan for this match as usually when I do,they lose except for when they play Antrim.However,a draw is a very real possibility and is something I've read a lot of pundits speculate over.Even Hoganstand.com cited a draw.

Should be interesting.I think Cavan have a real possibility of catching out Meath.I got to thinking over the last couple of weeks that Meath won't play at full capacity for the league but watch out in the championship.

I think Cavan have a 100% chance of defeating Cork without a sweat.We'll wait and see.:D:D:D:D:D

I think Cavan will push Armagh all the way.Armagh were dreadful in the McKenna cup and Cavan have some good players

I wouldn't be surprised if Cavan won that game and I'm surprised at the pessimism of their supporters. If it was in Breffni I'd definitely back Cavan. Armagh are in a rebuilding phase, were poor in the McKenna Cup as you say and are also missing all of the Crossmaglen contingent. Armagh could struggle a bit in the earlier rounds and if Cavan are up to anything at all they should have a good chance.