Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adult Caution

• 24-01-2008 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭

I was arrested and brought to the station for being drunk and disorderly on New Years eve last and was told by the Garda who took my details that becasue it was my first offence, I was to be put on the adult cautioning scheme and was to be administered with a caution by the district officer i.e Superintendent or Inspector on his behalf. I signed a form admitting the above with a Garda Sergeant and was told to expect a call a few days later to call down to the station to receive the caution. I didn't hear anything back for 2 weeks so I rang the Garda involved and he said it could take about 6 weeks. I was just wondering would anyone know how long it usually takes on average. I know the actor Jonathan Meyers received his a few days after the incident he was involved in at the airport.
    Rgds

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Put that post in a letter, and send it to your area Chief Superintendent. This is not a subject-matter that's appropriate to this forum or any other forum on this site as far as I can see. I'll leave the thread open simply because someone might happen upon it who may have some sort of knowledge that's relevant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,178 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Thanks for the notice Hullabaloo but what exactly would I benefit from sending a letter to the Chief Superintendent if he wasn't dealing with the issue. Tell him that the Garda Sergeant told me a fib about when I would be called.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Are you looking to know why this process takes so long in general, or specifically in relation to your case?

If it's in general, I can see the use of posting here. If it's specific to your case, how would anyone here know what the delay is?

Its in general i.e how long people wo have received a caution have waited before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

They tried to give me one before but i said id go the court as i felt there was a lack of evidence,they left me go within 5 minutes.

The second occasion i was told i was been given one, i was told they would get in contact havent heard from them yet over 6 months ago, i dont expect to either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Are records of adult cautions held on pulse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭tipp86

Bond-007 wrote: »
    Are records of adult cautions held on pulse?

I was told they dont go on your record, but i guess they have to be stored in some form as you are only allowed one adult caution

Yes. As far as I am aware they are held on Pulse because when I signed the form with the Sergeant agreeing to go on the Adult caution scheme he asked the Garda that arrested me whether or not it was on the Pulse system.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 mckenna45

You should not have admitted your guilt in this matter. That is simply signing your own death warrant. You did not elaborate on the events involved, if it was nothing more that slightly excessive jovial banter, I cannot have seen anything more coming of the allegation. After all D&D could be applied to drunken singing, and most have been guilty of that at one time or another.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭cushtac

mckenna45 wrote: »
    You should not have admitted your guilt in this matter. That is simply signing your own death warrant.

You're getting carried away. It's an adult caution he's talking about, not a confession to a murder. In any case, it's a bit late for shoulda, woulda coulda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭UrbanFox

Was OP in a fit state to sign the admission ?

Did he know what he was doing ?

Did he understand the implications of an admission ?

Was he offered legal representation as distinct from any "advice" that he might have received from the Gardai themselves in the cosy and warm atmosphere of a Garda station ?

Out of interest and curiosity what are a prisoner's procedural entitlements in a situation like that described by the OP once arrested ?

UrbanFox wrote: »
    Out of interest and curiosity what are a prisoner's procedural entitlements in a situation like that described by the OP once arrested ?

All persons detained in a Garda station have the same rights and are informed of these rights on arrival.

cushtac wrote: »
    All persons detained in a Garda station have the same rights and are informed of these rights on arrival.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/categories/justice/arrests/treatment_in_custody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

One of the reasons adult caution were brought in was to free up court time for other more serious offences.

usually the super will make contact with the arrested within a couple of weeks.

It is recorded on pulse.

If you are arrested and brought to court and convicted on another offence, the adult caution will be given as evidence that its not the first time the person has been in trouble.

Folks,

I was sober enough to admit my guilt and agree to be cautioned rather then having to go to court to be prosecuted, and obtain a crnimal record. The thing I can't undertsnd is why it is taken so long to be called to go down to the station and receive the caution. I know the actor Jonathan Meyers and I think an Aussie Rules Footballer who was involved in a drunk and disorderly incident in Galway (Brendan Pavlova I think his name is) last year recieved the caution in a matter of days. I presume this was because the case was so high profile. I hope I am not waiting much longer as I just want to get this over and done with, and I have learned my lesson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭munsterman2008

Adult caution is recorded on pulse. It is a record, but the only way as far as I know that it effects you, career-wise anyway, is if your applying for the Guards, as they are the ones in the know about it. Potentially, it could (and probably will) jeapordize your chances of joining, and at the very least you will be quized and scrutinized about the incident.
    Like mentioned above, if you are in trouble again the inspector at the court case will make it known you have a caution and that it is not your first brush in with the law.
    The legislation for the adult caution is not out too long. Its designed not as much to free up court time, but to give people who are unlikely to reoffend a second chance (i.e. no criminal conviction), it is at the discretion of the arresting officer whether to use it, or prosecute, and is signed off by an inspector.
    When I got one I think I waited around 2 to 3 months before I received my caution, no longer though. If you have been waiting any longer than this then perhaps its in your best interest not to say anything, as maybe they only said it to you as scare tactics.
    I suggest if you know a Garda ask them to check your pulse record for you and see if anything comes up.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,338 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tom Young

It should be deleted within six months. Pulse is an abomination of a system in my view and has very questionable value given that the NZ police force threw it out and it relies on garbage in/garbage out data.

If you are not charged and have no previous, the adult caution is merely a Garda instrument. It does not stop the District Judge allowing the benefit of the Probation Act or other non-conviction penalty.

I think it is unjust to allow these records go unpurged and is wholly incompatible with data privacy and common sense.

There has been a number of instances where cautioned people have been judged, tried and executed by Gardai as their records are on Pulse. Sorry lads, thats not justice, its an Irish solution to an Irish problem.

Tom

Do the US immigration authorities have access to pulse? Would the caution become a bar to entry to the US?

I agree 100% Tom.
    Its a system that ties you down, and has done so especially for me with my garda applications. It holds mistakes you have made in the past, however slight and petty due to immaturity, against you for the rest of your life.
    If these little things should be recorded, which they shouldnt, they should be gone within a certain amount of time (like penalty points, but no where near as long as 3 years). Perhaps within a period of time without another incident. I have incidents on pulse of underage drinking from 6 years ago, from being around people who wer drinking outside 3 and 2 years ago, etc etc. I have to explain all of these at my local interviews.
    The only thing on ur record, including pulse record, that should be wholly permanent is convictions.
    Gardai use pulse as a weapon, no matter where you go they can tell anything slightly unfavourable u were involved in at any stage of your life, and then comes the mentality of "people never change".
    At one interview I was asked of something that occured in Dublin 3 years ago. I was walking past harcourt garda building and looked into a car (knowing it was unmarked garda car) to see how the siren or sumthing worked. A garda must have seen me and directed gardai up ahead to question me. They did, I explained myself, they believed me and that was the end of it. I couldnt believe when i heard that it was recorded and i was asked about it. The sgt said it was because gardai are responsible for state security as well i.e. intelligence, but these things are hardly the actions of a terrorist or a spy on my part.

No U.S. immigration wont have access, they will judge you based on your convicions (esp. drugs if u have any).

You don't ever want to buy a car that has ever belonged to a criminal in that case. I have heard of people getting hassled because the car they own was once owned by someone with convictions. Of course this would be recorded against the reg number on pulse. This would result in innocent people getting stopped and harassed for no reason.

Is there any way to have such info deleted once it is established that the car no longer belongs to a convicted criminal?

A garda once told me once the info had been put onto PULSE, it cannot be taken back off. Not sure if he was telling the truth or not, but it makes sense to me that even if it could be taken back off it could only be done by the top ranks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭dK1NG

Tom Young wrote: »
    It should be deleted within six months. Pulse is an abomination of a system in my view and has very questionable value given that the NZ police force threw it out and it relies on garbage in/garbage out data.

If you are not charged and have no previous, the adult caution is merely a Garda instrument. It does not stop the District Judge allowing the benefit of the Probation Act or other non-conviction penalty.

I think it is unjust to allow these records go unpurged and is wholly incompatible with data privacy and common sense.

There has been a number of instances where cautioned people have been judged, tried and executed by Gardai as their records are on Pulse. Sorry lads, thats not justice, its an Irish solution to an Irish problem.

Tom

Tom, could you expand on this please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 363 ✭✭April Raine

A garda once told me once the info had been put onto PULSE, it cannot be taken back off. Not sure if he was telling the truth or not, but it makes sense to me that even if it could be taken back off it could only be done by the top ranks.
    check wth the data protection commissioner http://www.dataprotection.ie/viewdoc.asp?DocID=112

How would that relate to a comment on pulse that is linked to a vehicle owned by a person? Could they have info removed about the exploits of a previous owner for example?

Eg, car belonged to a drug dealer, car then sold to an innocent person. Car is frequently stopped and searched on the strength of info on pulse. Can the new owner have this data removed/corrected?

I might be wrong but I wouldn't have thought they would record anything on the car.
    With regards drugs searches on cars specifically owned by drug dealers, i'd say its more of a thing that guards driving behind radio in a reg check to the station and the garda there can see the registered owner, if the car is stolen, the owners details and pulse record etc. and based on that if he's a known drug dealer or watever they cud decide to pull him over then.
    I know that they do perform random reg checks on cars they are behind frequently to check if they have been robbed, if insurance and tax is in date and so on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

I got one of those the other day for trespassing on school property...even though I was only on the rugby pitch minding my own business and I have been attending there for 10 years.Im a little worried about it but the gardai said it shouldnt affect me getting a job.Thats just an example of how rediculas this system is.they would probably give someone this for scratching their arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 COS1

Is there a max amount of time that you must be called to the station to recieve the adult caution? and what is the story if you never hear back from the station to recieve the caution??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 minderbender

i have to say i am curious about the time constraint also... if you are never called back does that mean that you haven't officially received the caution.. even though you signed the paperwork? also does it make a difference if you are blind drunk when you sign it?

also does it make a difference if you are blind drunk when you sign it?
    You can't sign anything in a Garda Station if you are blind drunk.

poisonated wrote: »
    I got one of those the other day for trespassing on school property...even though I was only on the rugby pitch minding my own business and I have been attending there for 10 years.Im a little worried about it but the gardai said it shouldnt affect me getting a job.Thats just an example of how rediculas this system is.they would probably give someone this for scratching their arse!

If you're that sure you were doing nothing wrong then you shouldn't have admitted guilt & argued it in court.

And unless school or some sort or organised activity was going on, you've no right to be on the property.

Trespassing is a civil matter. Why would the Gardaí get involved.

It's an offence under S 11 of the Public Order Act, and trespassers are often involved in other criminal or anti-social behaviour.

11.—(1) It shall be an offence for a person—

( a ) to enter any building or the curtilage of any building or any part of such building or curtilage as a trespasser, or

( b ) to be within the vicinity of any such building or curtilage or part of such building or curtilage for the purpose of trespassing thereon,

in circumstances giving rise to the reasonable inference that such entry or presence was with intent to commit an offence or with intent to unlawfully interfere with any property situate therein.

(2) A person who is guilty of an offence under this section shall be liable on summary conviction to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 6 months or to both.
    Only if they intend to commit a criminal offence. That would be tricky to prove.

You can't sign anything in a Garda Station if you are blind drunk.

I was pretty drunk at the time and remember signing the form, I was never cautioned or cuffed, but yet on pulse it says i was arrested. It was a nothing incident, i told a gaurd to relax to F**k, was brought to the station with them, was a very relaxed affair, no problems, was out again in 20 mins. It was a waste of time in my opinion but i wont approach a gaurd again while out!! Iv never been in trouble before in my life and I Hope to join An garda siochana the next time it comes up, so hope there will be no repercussions over this, even though I have not being officially cautioned yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 minderbender

in reply to bond-007.... i was arrested after a non violent incident ... guards wanted me to sign the paperwork but i was extremely drunk, too drunk to even explain properly what had happened and my side of the story.. guards were pretty nice about it but wanted me to sign... i refused because i couldnt even read the paperwork so they put me in the cell and said it would go to court... couple of hours later they took me out and aasked if i was ready to sign, at about 7 am, the guards advised me to sign it so i did, even though i was still so drunk they were telling me not to get into a car that day..then they let me go and that was the last i heard of it. Does that mean i havent officially been cautioned or just that they didnt get around to calling me in to give it to me? is there a time limit on these things??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Only if they intend to commit a criminal offence. That would be tricky to prove.

Actually, intent is not required. It requires "circumstances giving rise to the reasonable inference that such entry or presence was with intent" which is a different thing entirely.

In addition, the Housing Miscellaneous Pprovisions) Act 2002 includes a criminal offence of trespass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭LeotheLion

COS1 wrote: »
    I was pretty drunk at the time and remember signing the form, I was never cautioned or cuffed, but yet on pulse it says i was arrested. It was a nothing incident, i told a gaurd to relax to F**k, was brought to the station with them, was a very relaxed affair, no problems, was out again in 20 mins. It was a waste of time in my opinion but i wont approach a gaurd again while out!! Iv never been in trouble before in my life and I Hope to join An garda siochana the next time it comes up, so hope there will be no repercussions over this, even though I have not being officially cautioned yet.

Stop cooking waffles,U cried and the guard told you to relax

cushtac wrote: »

And unless school or some sort or organised activity was going on, you've no right to be on the property.

Although I agree with you that I had no right to be there,I still feel that if they are going to arrest a student for being on school premises and not causing any sort of disruption...something is horribly wrong.At the end of the day,I am willing to bet that if the school authorities had have seen what was happening they would have stepped in and defended me.This is for a number of reasons:
    1)the school doesn't want to get a bad name
    2)not to sound snobby here but...it is a fee paying school and your fees should really allow you to use the facilities even if school is not technicaly on
    3)they would understand that we were only having a bit of harmless fun

the bottom line is that there are so many more serious crimes being committed throughout the city...they should really not waste their time with things that are technically crimes but are not harming anyone.

www.dumblaws.com do you think that people committing these crimes are treated with such over dramatics...I personaly don't think so.

LeotheLion wrote: »
    Stop cooking waffles,U cried and the guard told you to relax

Wrong. But thanks for your fantastic input.:rolleyes:

I've seen plenty of convictions for this.
    poisonated wrote: »
    Although I agree with you that I had no right to be there,I still feel that if they are going to arrest a student for being on school premises and not causing any sort of disruption...something is horribly wrong.At the end of the day,I am willing to bet that if the school authorities had have seen what was happening they would have stepped in and defended me.This is for a number of reasons:
    1)the school doesn't want to get a bad name
    2)not to sound snobby here but...it is a fee paying school and your fees should really allow you to use the facilities even if school is not technicaly on
    3)they would understand that we were only having a bit of harmless fun

the bottom line is that there are so many more serious crimes being committed throughout the city...they should really not waste their time with things that are technically crimes but are not harming anyone.

www.dumblaws.com do you think that people committing these crimes are treated with such over dramatics...I personaly don't think so.

So you admit trespass, but feel the law doesn't apply to you?? :rolleyes:

I doubt very much your school views trespass as harmless fun, and unless the Gardaí happened upon you by accident someone must have contacted them. Schools, regardless as to their status as fee-paying or not, are often vandalised by current & former students and the fact that it is fee-paying doesn't entitle you to do what you want with the facilities.

Perhaps if spoilt youths who feel they're entitled to do what they like weren't taking up their time, Gardaí could deal with more serious matters.

I hear what you are saying and if I am interpreting this correctly...

YOU HAVE A MASSIVE STICK UP YOUR ASS!

never been banned before...first time for everything right

in fairness though you were being a right d.ick!... its ok though that is probably just who you are
    as for me being spoilt,you really have no idea what you are talking about.I am not a trouble maker.I know who you are referring to,I have met plenty of those people but that little dig ya made just proves that you have no idea what you are talking about.Dont get me wrong I am a big fan of the gardai and I really respect them.I have a number of friends whose fathers are members of the gardai.There seems to be more and more of these young lads getting into the force who have a stick up their arse and need to abuse their power and torment inocent people.In my honest opinon these are the people who are giving their great coworkers a bad name!

If you admitted your guilt in this instance, you're hardly innocent are you?

Like I said, if you are so sure that you were doing nothing wrong and that your school wouldn't object to you being on the premises after school hours then why didn't you reject the caution & argue your case in court?

well I suppose because it was my first time in jail and I am a little b.itch.I just wanted to get out of there.I was told that it would not affect my future.I amn't exactly a criminal and I knew that I was never going to be in trouble with the gardai again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jeff77

Does the adult caution appear or have any effect on garda certificate of character?? Thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭Maddison

Have a question that relates to this in a way. My bro was in the queue to see Metallica in Marley Park yesterday, he said that he was very very very drunk & that the Gardai brought him to the local station he was held in a cell for 8 hours then released, he said that he signed something before he left. Would he be brought to court, hes 19btw.

Maddison wrote: »
    Have a question that relates to this in a way. My bro was in the queue to see Metallica in Marley Park yesterday, he said that he was very very very drunk & that the Gardai brought him to the local station he was held in a cell for 8 hours then released, he said that he signed something before he left. Would he be brought to court, hes 19btw.

If he didn't come out with a charge sheet then it's unlikely he'll be going to court. I'd guess adult caution.

jeff77 wrote: »
    Does the adult caution appear or have any effect on garda certificate of character?? Thanks

No it does not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 colmme

this following from the dail debates; mc dowell makes it clear that cautions will NOT appear on garda vetting / character reference forms

Ms Cooper-Flynn asked the Tánaiste and Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform the reason An Garda Síochána provided information under a request for Garda clearance that related to a caution that a person (details supplied) received when they were 16 years old. [7793/07]

Mr. McDowell: I am informed by the Garda authorities that the disclosure made by the Garda Cental Vetting Unit (GCVU) in this case was not a vetting disclosure but, rather, a disclosure pursuant to Section 4 of the Data Protection Act 1988, as amended. The two kinds of disclosure are qualitatively different and are intended for quite distinct purposes.
    A vetting service is provided by the GCVU to selected registered recruiting organisations in respect of persons who would have substantial, unsupervised access to children and vulnerable adults as a means of safeguarding these vulnerable client groups. In general, such vetting allows for the disclosure of information relating to criminal convictions and criminal prosecutions, successful or unsuccessful, only and not Garda cautions.
    In contrast, under data protection legislation, a person may apply for a copy of personal data maintained on the Garda Criminal Records Database for his/her personal use only. Such a disclosure states, inter alia, that the document does not constitute a Garda ‘clearance’. In general, such personal data would include information relating to criminal convictions and Garda cautions. This reflects the purpose of data protection legislation, which is not a means of vetting but, rather, is designed to protect individuals with regard to the automatic processing of their personal data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 418 ✭✭rothai

i've just recieved an adult caution there, i was out before christmas much the same as a previous poster,unmarked squad car, guards were out on the street.i looked into the car, no more didnt get into it or anything mad. guard came over started asking me what i was doing i said i was doing nothing so he started being an ass coming right up into my face, standing on my toes, i moved back but he just kept coming , standing on my toes so i told him to **** off, i was drunk i shouldn't have said it but he was being a dick. anyway next thing i know im down the station, they put me in a cell. bring me out try to get me to sign some load of ****e about trying to steal the car! so i said no way thats a load of cobblers,told them i did nothing wrong, so the put me back in the cell, later the come back said i could go if i signed to recieve an adult caution, i said no way i did nothing wrong so they say go on get out so i signed a book to say i recieved my stuff back, (the F**kers were actually giving me a hard time because i had pounds in my wallet.) and i left but now a month and a half later i get a letter telling me to "come in to have my adult caution meeting to finalise this incident"???? What the F**k?can anyone shed any light on this?can they do that even though i admitted no guilt?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

They can write to you and ask you to attend for an adult caution. Whether you chose to attend and if you do chose to attend accept the caution (which means accept your guilt of a stated offence) is up to yourself.

In theory if you reject the caution you can expect to be summonsed to Court for that offence.