Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Explosin every 1:22...?

• 23-01-2008 12:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭

This is strange... I can hear a explosin every 1 minute and 22seconds.... It sounds like its a Fairly big explosin about two mile away.... It sounds louder than a gun, and even louder than a firework, I would not like to be living beside it.... Can anyone tell me what it is, It only started about 3 hours ago... It is very very strange... any idea what it could be??? cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Are you in Palestine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 262 ✭✭stewiegriffin08

lol... no, Blackrock.. beside dundalk... It is to the second every 1:22.... what in the name of god could it be!?!?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Your A rabs are faulty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Henrik_is_God

Why don't you get up and find out , then report back here . Quick though cause you probably only have about another 1:05 seconds , if you miss it you'll have to wait another 1:22 seconds

my what??, seriouly though, I wont be able to sleep with this... :confused: Its loud enough like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

its the gang that arrived to shoot that twat off super sweet 16 or something or maybe someone out lamping rabbits

Why don't you get up and find out , then report back here . Quick though cause you probably only have about another 1:05 seconds , if you miss it you'll have to wait another 1:22 seconds

lmao... dont have the car today... Its annoying me sooo much, Would tge gardai or something not be called over that...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

lol... no, Blackrock.. beside dundalk... It is to the second every 1:22.... what in the name of god could it be!?!?!?

Holy shit, the Brits are back and have opened up with artilliary ! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

This is strange... I can hear a explosin every 1 minute and 22seconds.... It sounds like its a Fairly big explosin about two mile away.... It sounds louder than a gun, and even louder than a firework, I would not like to be living beside it.... Can anyone tell me what it is, It only started about 3 hours ago... It is very very strange... any idea what it could be??? cheers

A good shrink sould be able to help or huge earmuffs and 2 valium..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Assez Bien

its the gang that arrived to shoot that twat off super sweet 16 or something or maybe someone out lamping rabbits

LOL with the help of God!! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭indiana jones

what is it????????? im dying to know.

lmao.... there it goes again! I have to get some sleep... Post your reports.. and we will try to sort it out tomorrow...:( drivin me mad!.... I love explosins... I want to know... Im probaly missing out on something fantastic!!!! lol

AHHH, That one was even louder!! Anyone in blackrock or surronding area?? I really HAVE to know what it is, Theres strange lights in the sky sometimes across from my house, and no its not airplanes... .lol, very very bright and all sorts of movements! Never found out what they are... after researching it... And I dont want this to be the same... I HAVE to Know!! ahhhh there it is!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭indiana jones

no dont go to sleep. you'll have to live your whole life not knowing..........get up and put on your shoes,,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Probably just the sonic booms of alien spacecraft.

If there's any crop circles around your house then tell your brother to "swing away" on the auld hurley.

and what walk?.... ok, I will look out the window and record some video, might be able to pick up the sound, and ill post it on here tomorrow!.... arghh! its annoying me... I am soo curious,

Ring the cop shop , tell them youre worried about some explosions that are going off near your house . They will fill you in ........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

The aliens are back! Fcuk me, it turns out the scientologists were right!

SAVE ME TOM CRUISE! ALL IS FORGIVEN*!

*except for Vanilla Sky, that was just bloody wrong, even if you are the saviour of humanity

If I was going to have a guess , I'd say its someones oil tanker has gone up on fire . It happened to a house down the road from mine a few weeks back . Sounded like fireworks except way louder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

Im sorry... the noise is actually me....

I had a chicken korma earlier today and it didnt go down well! :mad:

Actually scratch that , forgot its happening every 1:22 secs

Right, I got video, hopefully you will hear it.... wont sound as good Id say, But ill get it on tomorrow... It sounds too constant to be a oil tanker, they are different lengths between them, usually all over 1 minute, usually the same loud sound, very loud now that I hear it outside... I have no idea... it went about I would say 120- 150 times so far.... beats the bugger out of me!
    Ill post that tomorrow, see what yous think... prob will hear it on news tomorrow, if it is anything important...lol.... went another 6 times while typing this reply.... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Harpy

i say ring they guards they might have an idea of whats going on.. is there any roadworks or anything goin on around u cause sometimes they work on them at night but saying that can't see them doing work that would be noisy during the night..

Im not gonna ring them.... Sounds far too loud to be roadworks... It sounds like it is... well I guess 1-2 mile away, not too sure, but It sounds like it would be very loud if you were any where near it... I am honestly out of ideas of what it could be.... Infact I cant even take a guess at what it is.... It is that strange....
    I will post that video tomorrow when i get a chance...
    Disuss it there and try to come up with a answer...please.. :o ..
    cheers

It was Yore Ma! [/obligatory]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

That is very strange. UFO?

Im ruling out Thunder anyway. every 1:22... thats weird as hell.

Or maybe its a Railgun that the Irish govt is firing at alien spaceships: and it takes 1:22 to recharge.....

VIDEO PLEASE.

Well, if science fiction movies have told us anything, aliens are usually killed by the most stupid things anyways.

I always carry a bottle of water now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Sorry about that, I decided to have a night in and a good fapping session ... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

So... Any update on this mystery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

AHHH, That one was even louder!! Anyone in blackrock or surronding area?? I really HAVE to know what it is, Theres strange lights in the sky sometimes across from my house, and no its not airplanes... .lol, very very bright and all sorts of movements! Never found out what they are... after researching it... And I dont want this to be the same... I HAVE to Know!! ahhhh there it is!

Blackrock, Dundalk?

Aliens have come to take the kid from the 'My Sweet 16' TV show back to his planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

Do you live in or near the countryside? Could be the automatic shotgun sounds that go off in fields to scare away birds from eating grain, might be wrong time of the year though for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

Jesus, Is anyone here from the country ?- It is a crow scarer used by Farmers to scare off birds. It is like a long tube with a Gas Cylinder at the bottom. The gas builds up and then a spark ignites it. It is set on a timer so obviously yours is set at 1.22

Sorry to burst your bubble about the brits or aliens

Tomorrow's lesson: What is that black and white animal eating grass in the field ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

muletide wrote: »
    Jesus, Is anyone here from the country ?- It is a crow scarer used by Farmers to scare off birds. It is like a long tube with a Gas Cylinder at the bottom. The gas builds up and then a spark ignites it. It is set on a timer so obviously yours is set at 1.22

Sorry to burst your bubble about the brits or aliens

Tomorrow's lesson: What is that black and white animal eating grass in the field ?

?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭muletide

nope sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 659 ✭✭✭Chunks

Zebra? :confused:

/edit Dammit Rigger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭LouOB

Could of been the Irish Army pratice runs?
    They have them up in Gormanstown and Curragh with live runs and Mortars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

I reckon its the scare the crows gun thingys that farmers have, didnt think they do it at nighttime though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Bendihorse

This reminds me of the time the girl was posting about a loud noise in her attic, that went on for weeks and i never found out what it actually was :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Bendihorse wrote: »
    This reminds me of the time the girl was posting about a loud noise in her attic, that went on for weeks and i never found out what it actually was :(

It was probably just Terry. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Whoever said it's the farmers scarecrow things are probably right.

Where's the video anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Branners

Gormanstown army camp
    doing maneuvers of some sort id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Where's mah video?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 384 ✭✭Leeby

muletide wrote: »

That's what I was thinking but there'd be no need for one in Blackrock what with the lack of farms! And surely if there was one around the OP would've heard it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Branners wrote: »
    Gormanstown army camp
    doing maneuvers of some sort id say

Gormanstown is nowhere near Dundalk. I'm in Ardee, so I'd be closer to Gormanstown than Dundalk is (but still a good distance away) and I heard nothing.

Does anyone know what was in that girls attic that time?

It was a rat after all. I was severely disappointed: I suspected a Grue :(

What a letdown, i was expecting a troll, or a person that was Agoraphobic :(

I bet this one turns out to be a kid with a little box of those little bangers that go off when you throw them at something :rolleyes:

Bendihorse wrote: »
    I bet this one turns out to be a kid with a little box of those little bangers that go off when you throw them at something :rolleyes:

If thats the case you have to hand the kid moxy for timing it so precisely and for so long.

Seriously though I need to know what this was. Right now Im of the opinion it was paranormal or something; until a reasonable man made cause is found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Overheal wrote: »
    If thats the case you have to hand the kid moxy for timing it so precisely and for so long.

Seriously though I need to know what this was. Right now Im of the opinion it was paranormal or something; until a reasonable man made cause is found.

Shouldn't you believe that it's NOT paranormal until all possible man-made explanations have been exhausted? Weren't you influenced by the Enlightenment at all?