Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you believe in Soul mates or love at first sight?

• 22-01-2008 1:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭

heh girlies, do ye believe in having a soul mate or have ye ever fallen in love at first sight.??

would ye believe i had both with one guy and then he went and broke my heart with 6 short words. im going to be a dad. talk about going off my food straight away. was like somthing in a movie. had same piece of food in my mouth for a half hour. if i went to bathroom he know i was upset if i swallowed food i knew it would come back up two seconds later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭milli

Ouch sorry to hear that mollybird.

In answer to your question no I don't believe in either of those things. I believe there are lots of people with whom you could live happily ever after and I find the thought that there is only one person for you ridiculous. As for love at first sight, maybe lust but not love.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Love at first sight, no, "soulmates" maybe, but i don't think you have one "soulmate" i think your life takes different twists and turns and because of this there will be a number of people you "click" with and it works out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭misswex

Wouldn't have believed it 4 years ago but now I certainly do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I like to think so

(p.s. *hugs* for you OP, that's not nice to have happened)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Don't believe in either. I believe you meet someone who interests you, whether it be immediately or after knowing each other a while and you learn to love them, again this could be a quick or slow process. If we only had once soul mate we'd never find them, there's too many people on the planet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭takola

Nope I don't believe in one soul mate. I like to think there are lots of them. The people you meet and just connect with if you know what I mean? But no, I think the idea of there being one person for everyone to me is ridiculous! (And incredibly depressing! :D)

Same with love at first sight. Don't think it happens! And what about blind people? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Don't believe in love at first sight because how can you love someone you don't know?? Lust at first sight certainly!!

Also believe in the multiple soulmates thing, your life can go so many different ways I think you meet the ones you're meant to meet depending on your life path (if you know what I mean?!). My life could have been utterly different in so ways and I may have never met my current OH (who I do believe is my soulmate). I think we met at the right time for both off us and it was chance/fate that we did meet at the right time or at all. We could have met a few years before or in a few years time through mutual friends but who knows if things would have clicked between us then? Strange to think about.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

Well if there's only 1 soulmate I've already lost them or else didn't really love my exes, both of which are not true(fingers crossed) :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

mollybird wrote: »
    heh girlies, do ye believe in having a soul mate or have ye ever fallen in love at first sight.??

would ye believe i had both with one guy and then he went and broke my heart with 6 short words. im going to be a dad. talk about going off my food straight away. was like somthing in a movie. had same piece of food in my mouth for a half hour. if i went to bathroom he know i was upset if i swallowed food i knew it would come back up two seconds later.

The definition of soulmate just died a death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,120 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

mollybird wrote: »
    would ye believe i had both with one guy and then he went and broke my heart with 6 short words.

No, I wouldn't believe that, as if he was really a soulmate that would not have happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Enid Coleslaw

As for love at first sight. I wouldn't be inclined to believe in it myself, but I have seen it happen.

A good few years ago I was involved in a pirate radio station and one evening we were raided by the guards. One of the guards was a young lad and there was one girl in the studio doing a programme and they just locked eyes on each other, very strange to watch. But it made it very easy for the situation to be resolved. They got married within a few months I believe, not sure what stage they are at now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

I believe people can fall in love at first sight because they believe that its possible to fall in love at first sight.... So if you believe then you are more open to it...

As for soulmates, I do think some people have a soulmate connection but that there is more than one person for everyone. It may not even be a romantic partner - you could have a platonic friend who is your soulmate...

SarahSassy wrote: »
    I believe people can fall in love at first sight because they believe that its possible to fall in love at first sight.... So if you believe then you are more open to it...

If you 'fall in love at first sight' it's not love, it's a combination of lust, ridiculous optimism, delusion and a penchant for fairytale b.s.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    If you 'fall in love at first sight' it's not love, it's a combination of lust, ridiculous optimism, delusion and a penchant for fairytale b.s.

But some people think thats love. Its not necessarily BS - if you start saying peoples own belief in their feelings of love are BS then you can argue that any feelings people have are bs...

Another over-dramatic, argumentative response from you Rigger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Infatuation not love at first sight and i don't believe in soulmates total toss!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Neither..

Sorry, im just a bitter guy with a big heart that got fckd around...

But some people think thats love. Its not necessarily BS - if you start saying peoples own belief in their feelings of love are BS then you can argue that any feelings people have are bs...

Then it's puppy love, right? That exists.

Surely we can all look back at some previous time/s when we thought we were in love and realise we actually weren't?

Another over-dramatic, argumentative response from you Rigger.

Well that's an over-dramatic argumentative response if ever I saw one Sarah.
    Can't you discuss point without attempting to drag it into some personal battle :confused:

You don't have to take things personally.
    Do you believe I disagreed with you for the sake of it??
    if you start saying peoples own belief in their feelings of love are BS then you can argue that any feelings people have are bs...

Should everything people think/say or believe at the time should be taken at face value?
    Feck that.

I am not appointing myself judge and jury as to who is in love and to what degree, but if someone/two people who see each other for the first time, having never spoken, and he/she/they claim to be in love, well I'll give it a good hearty :rolleyes:.

Should everything people think/say or believe at the time should be taken at face value?
    Feck that.

QUOTE]

You dont have to take it at face value or believe it but if THEY believe they are feeling it then they are....

I see what you are saying, but imo, it's not really the same thing.

The highs may feel similar but if someone isn't really in love and if it's puppy love, then once that relationship ends, the comedown is much easier (to say the least) than if they were actually in love.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

You can fancy the pants off someone at first sight, but you have to be able to talk to them and know them to really love them.

I've had a earthstoping, awe inspiring instantoues connection. That turned out to be love.
    So I think you can tell right away when someone is special, rather than be aware that it is love.

I believe the people you feel most connected to are your soulmates, not just lovers friends too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

WindSock wrote: »
    You can fancy the pants off someone at first sight, but you have to be able to talk to them and know them to really love them.

Snap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭LilyM1980

No I don't believe in love at first sight. Fancy at first sight yes !! but definately not love:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I don't believe in either. That doesn't undermine the concept of love though, in my opinion. I just think that, as we age, we change and look for different things in partners. Sometimes, our partner manages to change in a way that suits us, but sometimes they don't. It doesn't make what you had with them any less special. The relationship has simply run its course. A soulmate in the conventional term - that one person in the whole world who was made just for you - is more of a comforting thought than an actuality in my opinion. Most people want to believe that they won't have to face the world alone, and that there will be that one person who gets them. I don't subscribe to that theory.
    As for love at first sight, I believe in lust at first sight. I think physical desires can be very powerful, powerful enough for one to mistake them as love.