Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

3 charging for unlock codes?

• 21-01-2008 6:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭

right

these motherfooks are charging me 25notes to unlock a n73? i already paid 170e for this handset and over 1000e of bills over a year

do they charge everyone for codes?

i just hung up on the hoor and posted here to await replys:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

yeah its a standard charge from them. some people managed to get around it by kicking up a massive fuss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭allen175

i asked in the grafton st. one and they said that i had to wait for my contract to run out, or if ur 3 pay u have to spent €120 credit to get their phones unlocked for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭h57xiucj2z946q

I made a post about this before ( http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055183827 ), i asked 3 for an unlock code. They said i had gone through 260 euro credit and was entitled to an unlock code once i made a payment of 27 euro.
    So i told them to forget it and that i would get it unlocked myself. They then proceeded to tell me that doing that was illegal and i would be breaking the law.
    There clowns cannot offer a proper service but give hastle to people trying to leave their network.

They then proceeded to tell me that doing that was illegal and i would be breaking the law.
    There clowns cannot offer a proper service but give hastle to people trying to leave their network.

also, they tell lies such as getting your phone unlocked is illegal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭x in the city

fekin gobshytes, they say you gotta wait xxx working days before we get a code from manufacturers, kicking up a fuss with them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

I got two unlock codes last week for free, paying for them was never mentioned :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

its the normal im afraid!

its the same with all networks.....pain in the a** but theres nothing ya can do about it.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

once again http://www.cabaal.org/log/2006/11/threes-unlocking-joke-pt-i.html

kicking up should do it I'd say :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭Bluefrog

Hmmmm X, not so easy to leave is it?

Their claim that unlocking your phone is illegal and I would ask for that in writing from them to take to COMREG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Flying

It actually takes about 30 secs to generate this code as I have a friend in Voda and basically you just input the IMEI and Model and out comes the Code.

It is basically 3 acting the maggot as for charging within contract fine, outside contract not a chance the phone is yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

I paid them 25 euros for unlocking mine and none of their unlock codes worked. They even took it to reflash it and it was still locked. In the end I just gave up and could not get my money back.

that is unfriggin real man

what did you do, They will have to get an unlock code fee from me over my dead body

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭whisht

Thats disgraceful :(
    Paying if you got a phone on Pay as you Go is one thing as its highly subsidised in the first place, but if on a bill and paying them for a year or more, it shouldnt be allowed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

I went through a long tedious process for a friend which involved him giving me the 25 Euro. I don't know if he ever got the phone unlocked. I was on to them 3 times for him and got a different excuse each time.

right, just on the fone to them about my n73 they bring up this bs about waiting 21 working days to get unlock code from manufacturer

fcuk that ****, i just used the f work a few times and hung up, i can get this unlocked now on line or from a phone shop

wtf is with three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

right

these motherfooks are charging me 25notes to unlock a n73? i already paid 170e for this handset and over 1000e of bills over a year

Jaysus lads, for a second I thought legs11 was back!

LMAO:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

its the normal im afraid!

its the same with all networks.....pain in the a** but theres nothing ya can do about it.

Not all providers charge for the unlock code. They will only do this if you have spent less than the subsidisation they provide on handsets. This is normally €150. After that it is free with o2 anyway. AFAIK it is the same with vodafone.
    Flying wrote: »
    It actually takes about 30 secs to generate this code as I have a friend in Voda and basically you just input the IMEI and Model and out comes the Code.

Not the case with all handsets. In customer care departments for some networks they have an unlock code generator for some handsets. Mainly for most types of nokias. As for all other makes, these have to be sourced from the network.

Not all providers charge for the unlock code. They will only do this if you have spent less than the subsidisation they provide on handsets. This is normally 150. After that it is free with o2 anyway. AFAIK it is the same with vodafone.

Not the case with all handsets. In customer care departments for some networks they have an unlock code generator for some handsets. Mainly for most types of nokias. As for all other makes, these have to be sourced from the network.

3 are the only network that charge once you've spent the required amount and the only network that charges bill pay customers.

and I don't think the networks use those code generators that are available on the net. As i understand it, they're usually given the code when they buy the phone and only have to request it if they don't have it for some reason. I've got unlock codes for a variety of makes and models on the spot anyway

Well I can only speak from my own experience. First of all they are not web based generators, These are pieces of hardware.

While they may be given these, they are not assigned to peoples account when the handset is registered to the account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭Thefirestarter

No i dont think it is the norm as 1 poster said. I had my phone unlocked by vodafone for free no questions asked. They were helpful and the person who provided me with the info of finding my IMEI and how to get to the unlocking menu was a bonus.
    3 sounds dodgy to me

dodgey

thats putting it mild

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭neilled

My understanding of the regs regarding this is that the service provider must give you an unlock code if requested, subject to terms and conditions.

An "administration fee" is quite common in the uk ranging from twenty to thirty five pounds.

Now I would like if someone in the dail would bring in legislation prohibiting the locking of handsets (the french have this i think). I for one am sick of the amount of misinformation that is puported by the various phone shops about this "oh unlocking a handset is illegal" is something I've heard god knows how many times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭nodger

right

Call them back and demand the unlock code. Don't entertain any discussion about the €25 charge, just insist that they give it to you immediately. Inform them that the code is legally yours (once you have upheld your 1 year contract with them), and that by withholding the unlock code they are breaking the law. If the person you are dealing with still refuses, tell him/her that you want to speak to their supervisor immediately. They will probably ask you to hold, but will come back within a couple of minutes. At this point, they might say that they have the code for you, but will still need to debit your Visa card for €25. Now you need to emphasise the fact that they are breaking EU law*, then ask for their own name and that of their manager/supervisor. They should come back with the code in a couple of minutes.

This is the experience I had with them about 10 days ago. They're willing to give out the codes for free, but I'd say they're under orders to extract as much cash from innocent punters as they possibly can.

*This may or may not be factually accurate, but they're in India so how the hell would they know? It's doubtful that some phone jockey is gonna want to risk legal action over €25.

nodger wrote: »
    Call them back and demand the unlock code. Don't entertain any discussion about the €25 charge, just insist that they give it to you immediately. Inform them that the code is legally yours (once you have upheld your 1 year contract with them), and that by withholding the unlock code they are breaking the law. If the person you are dealing with still refuses, tell him/her that you want to speak to their supervisor immediately. They will probably ask you to hold, but will come back within a couple of minutes. At this point, they might say that they have the code for you, but will still need to debit your Visa card for €25. Now you need to emphasise the fact that they are breaking EU law*, then ask for their own name and that of their manager/supervisor. They should come back with the code in a couple of minutes.

This is the experience I had with them about 10 days ago. They're willing to give out the codes for free, but I'd say they're under orders to extract as much cash from innocent punters as they possibly can.

*This may or may not be factually accurate, but they're in India so how the hell would they know? It's doubtful that some phone jockey is gonna want to risk legal action over €25.

they're actually not breaking the law but i know a few people who have kicked up enough of a fuss not to pay the €25.

Not trying to stand up for them or anything but ...
    They are perfectly within their rights to charge for an unlock code. They are not breaking the law in any way. They have subsidised the price of your handset and therefore they have technically paid for part of your handset and therefore have part ownership of the handset. Therefore if they want you to get an unlock code, while no-one else charges for it, they are perfectly within their rights to charge for the unlock code as some sort of comeback from the subsidy they have paid on your handset.

It really shocks me how when someone or company does something different from all the rest, they have some cheek or they are a pack of crooks. While voda, o2 or meteor dont charge, three are crooks because they want to do this.

Dont mean to be harsh but get over it.

Not trying to stand up for them or anything but ...
    They are perfectly within their rights to charge for an unlock code. They are not breaking the law in any way. They have subsidised the price of your handset and therefore they have technically paid for part of your handset and therefore have part ownership of the handset. Therefore if they want you to get an unlock code, while no-one else charges for it, they are perfectly within their rights to charge for the unlock code as some sort of comeback from the subsidy they have paid on your handset.

They may be within their rights to attempt to charge it, but I think most 3 Ireland customers would argue that the €25 unlock charge is particularly harsh when you consider how bad their service is.

If the OP can get away with avoiding payment, fair play to him/her.

Dont mean to be harsh but get over it.

It's this attitude that leads to this sort of charge becoming acceptable in the first place. If 3 were that concerned about the €25, they would have added it to the price of the phone at the beginning.

The charge and there services are not interrelated.

There is no reason for the OP to get the code free at all.

He can argue that he has spent alot of money with them and that he should he get the code he may continue to do business with them. But as far as I can see, he is someone who is unhappy with some small aspect of the way three do business and he then starts two or three threads in complaint.

In a previous post he asked how they get away with "shoddy service" but could not explain what he meant.

nodger wrote: »
    It's this attitude that leads to this sort of charge becoming acceptable in the first place. If 3 were that concerned about the €25, they would have added it to the price of the phone at the beginning.
    Why would they do that when only some users will want an unlock code?

If they did this to everyone there would be uproar.

Perhaps not... but if he kicks up a fuss, he might well get it for free. Whether or not the €25 is worth this fuss is up to the OP. In my own case, I felt justified in refusing to pay it.
    In a previous post he asked how they get away with "shoddy service" but could not explain what he meant.

If he's had the same experience as I've had, I can see where he's coming from. The list of complaints is well-documented on this forum, IIRC.

Anyhow - good luck to the OP.

Dont get me wrong, I have nothing against the OP.
    I just feel that if you are going to complain, people should at least justify their complaint and imo, Shoddy service is a very vague complaint to make. As I have already said, I am a threepay and three BB customer. I am also an o2 billpay customer and I have had my grievances with them too. Not trying to target anyone here.

If the OP gets the unlock code for free then fair play and fair dues to him. But I think a better way to approach this issue is to be calm and state your case to them calmly and explain calmly that you are not prepared to pay it as you have already spent X amount already and if you are forced to pay for it, you will be changing networks when it has been supplied. You will get alot more cooperation from customer care with this approach in my experience.

Generally speaking, I would agree with you. However, that approach does not work with 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

Hi, looking to get my 3 phone unlocked

Anyone know what number I ring?

I'm pay as you go - When you say pay €25 euro - can they take it out of your credit or do I have to pay them by credit card?

you ring 333. i think its only by credit card but they'll be able to tell you anyway

I know its been said that if you cause hassle they will give it to you free. But I never did and i was never even asked to pay the €25 and i got 2 phones unlocked in the same phone call.

Just wondering if anyone has idea why its such a variable? Maybe a 3 insider would know? something to do with how much you spend, how long you have had the phone after the contract, money spend,,,,,,, few ideas maybe or simply the guy on the phone being nice :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

you ring 333. i think its only by credit card but they'll be able to tell you anyway
    they all seem to want credit card details these days not just three but all companies are only too happy to hold your credit card details on file but what i cant understand is why?

and to davton it was probably the person you got on the phone combined with your mannner in discussing the unlocking codes?

foggy_lad wrote: »
    it was probably the person you got on the phone combined with your manner in discussing the unlocking codes?

you mean i was being nice, or sounded annoyed? I didn't have hassle with getting them if thats what you mean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,042 ✭✭✭kaizersoze

I got a SE W850i unlocked from 3 yesterday and no mention of money.
    I'm on bill pay, if that makes any difference. I'll keep an eye on the next bill just in case.

kaizersoze wrote: »
    I got a SE W850i unlocked from 3 yesterday and no mention of money.
    I'm on bill pay, if that makes any difference. I'll keep an eye on the next bill just in case.

im billpay also. there wasn't anything on bills afterwards. im with them 3 years wonder does it make any difference to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭hitbit

Just stay away, miles away,light years away if possible from 3. They suck worse than Eircom or BT and thats some achievement.

3 victim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭long_b

More annoying nonsense from 3 - 3 UK have just told me they would need to take my nokia 6120 handset off me for 5 days to unlock it !! Has anyone else had this nonsense ? Grrrr !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Genghis

I have had the same problem. As far as I am concerned, there are several good reasons to receive the code for free:

1. The customer owns the phone, not three. Locking the phone limits the operation / use / functionality of a phone they do not own; imho they should remove such restriction immediately when requested (and without cost to the owner of the phone).
    2. The unlock code has been placed on the phone by three (not at the request of the customer) for the benefit of three (no benefit to the customer). Why should its removal also be for the benefit of three?
    3. If / when the customer has reached the end of his contract for services, he is entitled to move network freely. The unlock code restricts this freedom and contravenes the spirit (if not the letter) of free competition for mobile services.

Finally, I have unlocked phones with all 4 networks, and in my experience three are the only ones who charge for this.

Genghis wrote: »
    I have had the same problem. As far as I am concerned, there are several good reasons to receive the code for free:

1. The customer owns the phone, not three. Locking the phone limits the operation / use / functionality of a phone they do not own; imho they should remove such restriction immediately when requested (and without cost to the owner of the phone).
    2. The unlock code has been placed on the phone by three (not at the request of the customer) for the benefit of three (no benefit to the customer). Why should its removal also be for the benefit of three?
    when you buy a phone from a network, the price is heavily subsidised. That is for your benefit. They are required to give unlock codes but they can require the customer to comply with certain terms before giving it.

usually on pre pay it's that the customer has spent €130 in credit. on bill pay, it's usually less strict because you're tied into a contract so it doesn't really matter if you have the code or not. with 3, they impose terms that the other networks don't. But there's nothing illegal about the terms
    3. If / when the customer has reached the end of his contract for services, he is entitled to move network freely. The unlock code restricts this freedom and contravenes the spirit (if not the letter) of free competition for mobile services.
    they're entitled to move network. that doesn't mean they're entitled to take with them a heavily subsidised piece of hardware for which the network may not yet have got the subsidy back
    Finally, I have unlocked phones with all 4 networks, and in my experience three are the only ones who charge for this.
    they are. in england all the networks do apparently but in ireland it's only 3.

don't get me wrong here. i'm just saying that 3 are perfectly entitled to do what they're doing. they're still ****s for doing it, as with a lot of their policies. at least they've stopped lying to customers. they told us for over a year that nokia sent them the wrong software and they couldn't unlock phones. i asked for my unlock code a week after joining the network and the next year and a bit asking them how long it takes nokia to send an email with the right software and why they were the only network in the world that were incapable of unlocking the phones that they themselves put the lock on