Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Songs you listen to while running

• 21-01-2008 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭

This thread is just to name a few songs (and the band) you listen too while running. Not to discuss whether it's better to listen to music or not, or if you think a certain band or song is ****!

Demons & Wizards - Fiddler on the Green (very good for the start of a run)
    AC/DC - Thunderstruck
    Megadeth - Peace Sells
    Judas Priest - Ram It Down
    Manowar - The Power
    Metallica - Enter Sandman

I'm not a big dance music fan as such, but the following really work for me when running:

Ferry Corsten - Fire
    Prodigy - Girls
    Basement Jaxx - Rendez-Vu
    Camille Jones Vs. Fedde Le Grand - The Creeps

plus countless others

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 NYC Diva

Groove Armada - Shaking that Ass
    U2 - Elevation
    Chemical Brothers - Galvanise
    Faithless - We come one (great for easing back and then sprinting)
    Faithless - God is a DJ

I'll revisit my mp3 player. I love running to dance music with lyrics. It really keeps you going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Thread on this on Athletics forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭Recon

Thread on this on Athletics forum

I disagree, that thread mainly seems to be taking about mp3 player and headphones. The first page has 3 post that's have a list of artists AND songs.

The Prodigy - Voodoo People
    AC/DC - Got You By The Balls
    Dragonforce - Through the Fire and Flames
    Franz Ferdinand - Take Me Out
    Halford - Betrayal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

disturbed - shout 2000
    fixxxer - metallica
    no leaf clover - metallica
    killed by death - motorhead
    take me out - franz ferdinand
    master of muppets remix
    time is running out - muse
    hysteria - muse
    back in balck - ac/dc
    lost again - suicidal tendencies
    bohemian like you - dandy warhols
    epic - faith no more
    as the worm turns - faith no more
    hey boy hey girl - chemical brothers
    lets make lots of money - pet shop boys
    damage case - metallica version
    vertigo - U2
    hells bells - ac/dc

couple more, but you get the gist. steady beats. I like the x-trainer best at the gym, so you get a good mix of constant beats. Killed by death is great for putting the machine up a few gears and doing 6 minutes of really hard slog, followed by something like hysteria to lower the gears and get some good speed in. Bit like doing interval training. and its saves my dodgy knees :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Feelgood

Tool - Jambi, Right In Two and Vicarious...

3 great songs to get the adrenaline pumping...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Music from Requiem for a Dream.
    Superman theme.
    Anything from the prodigy or chemical bros.

Beat connection by LCD Soundsystem

Perfect Tempo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭lubie76

Underworld - Two months off
    Layo and Bushwhacka - Lovestory
    LCD Soundsystem - Get Innocuous
    Shapeshifters - Lola's theme

All help get me to 'the zone'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,717 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

Snow Patrol - Spitting games
    Coldplay - The hardest part
    Pearl Jam - World wide suicide
    Metallica - Fuel / King Nothing
    QOTSA - Sick Sick Sick
    Ok Go - Here it goes again
    Iron Maiden - Run to the hills
    Faith No More - From out of nowhere
    Velvet Revolver - Sucker Train Blues
    Stone Temple Pilots - Crackerman

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭lazlo

Techno, Trance and minimal techno all really get me into my groove.

Stuff by Jame Holden in particular. Underworld would also be listened to a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 704 ✭✭✭PeadarofAodh

Daft Punk are epic for cycling and running, especially 'aerodynamic'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

lubie76 wrote: »
    LCD Soundsystem - Get Innocuous

'Get Innocuous' is a really great tune for running. I try to run this at 12kph (it's about 7 1/2 minutes long) and then ramp up for a sprint. For the sprint I use 'Blue Orchid' - the White Stripes are great gym music.

I'd also recommend the Jam, early (read angry) Elvis Costello, Gang of Four and the Clash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Pen1987

I listen to some weird tunes, you may recognise a few though, pretty much all either trancey-beat-hip hop and smashing guitars with aggresive rappers.

Aesop Rock - None shall stop
    Atmosphere - Dont Stop
    Atmosphere - Trying to find a balance
    POS - POS is ruining my life
    Sims - Market made murder
    Rira - Going 'til 25 o'clock in the morning
    Doomtree - No homeowners
    Cage - Soundtrack (to kill a stepfather)
    Hanger 18 - Think big
    Outkast - Xplosion
    El-p - Deep Space 9 millimeter
    The Cribs - Mans needs

Thats pretty much the whole playlist for most days workout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭cupcake

Remember the name - Fort Minor
    Sandstorm - Darude
    Pump It - Black Eyed Peas
    Play With Fire - Hilary Duff
    Lose Yourself - Eminem
    Fall Out Boy - Thks Fr Th Mmrs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

Oasis
    Hilary Duff
    Nelly Furtado
    Blink 182
    Pappoose
    Eyedea
    Eminem
    NWA
    The Game
    Beastie Boys
    U2
    Kanye West
    Arctic Monkeys
    Killah Priest- BIBLE
    Binary Star-Honest Expression.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

Vitalic - poney part 1
    Mirwais - disco science
    iggy pop/stooges - i wanna be your dog
    klint - are you there (unbelievable tune from snatch, short but sweet)
    rob d - furious angels (vocal version)
    a3 - woke up this morning
    oasis - ****ing in the bushes
    muse - knights of cydonia
    faithless - we come one, long way home, loads of others
    massive attack - angel
    NIN - closer (several mixes), just like you imagined
    prodigy - breathe, voodoo people, and on and on
    loads more that I can't think of but they're me fave right now...

jesus christ some of you have awful taste in music though :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

walt0r wrote: »
    jesus christ some of you have awful taste in music though :(

Musically taste is based on opinion and preference.

Keep posting songs and keep the musical merit debate out of it please follks.

Oh, dear. Did I offend anybody by saying they've bad taste in music? I didn't even point the finger or insult anybody. Deary me.

Iazlo, Holden is class. A guy on his label by the name of Nathan fake has a few class tunes. Get "the sky is blue" and "Outhouse" by nathan fake, there are a lot of mixes flying about. Great for training to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Waltor,

i have repeatedly had to deal with you in the past and have asked you several times not to reply to things posted by Mods in the thread....if you have an issue then take it to a PM or feedback instead of acting like a scolded child.

Cheers mate.

Okay,
    Cheers mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Two great transcendental-type songs for when you finally "get into the groove":-

"The Last Days of May" - Blue Oyster Cult
    "Marquee Moon" - Television.

Other than that its Ramones, AC/DC, Motorhead all the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Dragan wrote: »
    Waltor,

i have repeatedly had to deal with you in the past and have asked you several times not to reply to things posted by Mods in the thread....if you have an issue then take it to a PM or feedback instead of acting like a scolded child.

Cheers mate.

Bit harsh Drag - some of the music listed is brutal! We're not all that sensitive I'm sure...

For the record, if I did listen to music while I run, here's my (possibly brutal!) list:
    AC/DC - Anything of theirs really
    Underworld - Born Slippy
    GnR - Welcome to the Jungle
    Biohazard/Onyx - Judgement Night (from the movie of same name)
    Rocky Theme
    Karate Kid - You're the Best theme :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

NYC Diva wrote: »
    Groove Armada - Shaking that Ass
    pure cardio delight - love it.
    NYC Diva wrote:
    Chemical Brothers - Galvanise
    brilliant when trying to get into the elusive "zone" - y'know, stomping around, eyes glaring, generally looking like an eejit but convinced you're haaaardcoooore :D
    NYC Diva wrote:
    Faithless - We come one (great for easing back and then sprinting)
    Faithless - God is a DJ
    Fab. The Too Many DJs Faithless vs Prodigy (think it's Insomnia and soemthing or other) is great.
    Gillie wrote: »
    Music from Requiem for a Dream.
    The LOTR Requien for a Tower Remastered version is my Competition theme song :)
    Gillie wrote:
    Superman theme.
    Bless :o
    Gillie wrote:
    Anything from the prodigy or chemical bros.
    aye, pretty much
    Daft Punk are epic for cycling and running, especially 'aerodynamic'
    Yes!! Rollin' and Scratchin' from Homework is a fab one for the end of a really tough session when you need something to push you for the last few agonising minutes.
    Hilary Duff
    Nelly Furtado
    :eek::eek:

walt0r wrote: »
    rob d - furious angels (vocal version)
    oooh, no the acoustic Matrix version is superior. His voice freaks me out a little...
    walt0r wrote:
    a3 - woke up this morning
    Great song!! Damn whatever crap radio station that baxstardised it...
    walt0r wrote:
    massive attack - angel
    particularly effective when you're angry and pre-menstrual :rolleyes:

Also...
    Rammstein - Du Haast,
    Rob D - Clubbed to Death,
    POD - Sleeping Awake,
    Prodigy - any and all and the remixes

I'm sure there's more I can't think of...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

g'em wrote: »
    Rammstein - Du Haast,
    Ah somebody finally mentioned Rammstein!Other good songs are Feur Frei,Adios and Mutter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

Given Ive just started my weight training , Im gonna need to up the ferocity of my running music to spur on the weights hahhaha ... Im really gonna hurt for a while :D

A bit of a mixed bag...all of which will really date me:D . I might just send this to the US military to use in Guantanamo.

Running Soundtrack

Walk of life - Dire Straits (Little warm up:))
    Money For Nothin - Dire Straits (Pickin it up a bit:))
    Runnin down a dream - Tom Petty (Easin into a steady pace now:p)
    Genisis - Land of Confusion (Im confused)
    Who Made Who - AC DC (Angus and Co pumpin it out)
    Weclome to the Jungle - Guns n Roses (Yeah baby its a jungle out there no place for the fat man run fat man run:rolleyes:)
    Jailbreak - Thin Lizzy (Leggit lads:eek:)
    You Could Be Mine - Guns n Roses (Angry)
    NIN - Head like a hole (Angrier:mad::mad:)
    Its so Easy - Guns n Roses (No it feckin well isnt:mad::(:mad:)
    Skeletons of Society - Slayer (Target weight....)
    Rusty Cage - Soundgarden (Ya gotta love bein on the treadmill)
    Battery - Metallica (:mad::mad:AHHHH JESUS KILL ME >>>KILL ME NOW!!)
    Hanger 18 - Megadeth (I wonder if aliens need to work out)
    Angry Chair - Alice Chains (Really need to sit down)
    Like a Stone - Audio Slave (More like 3 stone hahah)
    Hold The line - Toto (The Gods of Rock demanded it)

Proposed Weights Soundtrack - Havent done a full session so dont know how this is gonna pan out

Glitter and Trauma - Biffy Clyro ( If this doesnt get the adrenaline goin Its over for me before its begun)
    All my Life - Foo Fighters
    Worker Bees - Billy Talent
    Small Victory - Faith no More
    Revolve - Melvins
    Snap Your Fingers Snap Your Neck - Prong (Nice lads)
    Refuse/Resist - Sepultura (Har har Im hilarious)
    Heartwork - Carcass
    Thunder Kiss - White Zombie
    Wasnt Meant to feel this / Asleep at the wheel- Suicidal Tendencies
    Bombtrack - Rage Against the Machine
    Meantime - Helmet
    What Makes Us Tick - Biohazard
    Bulls On Parade - Rage Against the Machine
    Davidian - Machine Head
    Clean My Wounds - Corrosion of Conformity
    10001110101 - Clutch
    Sweating Bullets - Megadeth
    Dont Tread on Me - Metallica
    Shades of Gray - Biohazard
    Sober - Tool
    Washington is Next - Megadeth
    BYOB - System of a Down

I wouldnt imagine too many folks pm me for a copy of my i tunes folkder hahah anyway whatever works eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

anything by lcd soundsystem
    the hives
    the pixies
    hard fi
    the hold steady
    queens of the stone age
    the von bondies

and if ya feel like busting a gut running try "standing in the way of control" by the gossip . just make sure ya have a clear run ahead of ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭matrixroyal

Rage against the machine - freedom, wake up, killing in the name
    Rammstein - Du hast, fuer frei
    Linkin Park - Papercut, Crawling
    Metallica - Memory Remains, Sandman
    Leftfield - Phat Planet
    Rollins Band - Liar
    Stone Temple Pilots - Sex Type Thing, Wicked Garden

and just for old times sake

Survivor - Eye of the Tiger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Was doing my rowing training on the machine when the stereo started playing Blitzkrieg Bop(HeyHo, let's go) by the Ramones.

Made the time just fly by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭estebancambias

I forgot to mention KMFDM. First run, then I go and shoot up a building, which generally will contain stereotypical teenagers.:confused: