Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tom cruise puts scientology in the crosshairs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

think it was one of the funniest things i've ever seen, even funnier than the starwars kid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

irish-stew wrote: »
    think it was one of the funniest things i've ever seen, even funnier than the starwars kid

Yes,you couldn't make it up:D
    if it was in the Comedy Thread, i would give it 5 Stars.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

I suppose after months of saying 'give that boy a medal' they finally buckled.

Good play Maverick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Anto McC

Funny stuff alright, i don't know how that crowd of scam artists get away with it in the first place anyway but it makes for funny times when they mess up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

nerin wrote: »

That's quite a disturbing page I must say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Scientology/Christianity
    Religion/Cult/Cult/Church
    Red M'n'M/Blue M'n'M

They all end up the same colour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭CrazyTalk

Unfunny truth is right, I remember watching that years ago, scared me that people like this exist and get away with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

What does he do toward the end of the fourth video in the first link? Looks like he's saluting someone? He says something too that I can't make out.

But yeah, scientologists, always good for the laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

Creature wrote: »
    What does he do toward the end of the fourth video in the first link? Looks like he's saluting someone? He says something too that I can't make out.

Was that the award ceremony one?
    If so, I'm pretty sure he salutes a picture of L. Ron Hubbard and says "To L.R.H"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

the music and voiceover on the flash clips is lmao material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

Holy crap! That unfunny truth one is scary as hell!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

Scientology, pretty retarded, but not much less believable than the rest of the mumbo jumno, bit less dogma, bit more crazy, lot more nutters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

stange sort of club with some very strange views.

i wont be joining any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,107 ✭✭✭John R

stange sort of club with some very strange views.

i wont be joining any time soon.

That is pretty much the same thing I thought the first time I went to a Catholic mass. All the people mumbling "amen" and various other unintelligible phrases in unison with all the emotion of a room full of 10-day old corpses, freaked me out big time. I thought it was all complete nonsense until the collection plates came around, then I understood.

no different to any other religious order
    they all think they can save everyone etc etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

no different to any other religious order
    they all think they can save everyone etc etc etc
    Its fairly significantly different in fact. Their use of borderline criminal psychological techniques, combined with the fact that you have to pay money to rise through the ranks, makes them a fairly transparent pyramid scheme.

The founder, Hubbard, is fairly clear in his original intentions when he said "l'd like to start a religion. That's where the money is" and "Make money. Make more money. Make other people make money." It was founded after a discussion with fellow poor sci-fi authors about how to make money.

Well, he turned out to be a pretty indifferent writer, but a legend among demented cult leaders.

"We are slowly and carefully teaching the unholy a lesson. It is as follows: We are not a law enforcement agency. BUT we will become interested in the crimes of people who seek to stop us. If you oppose scientology we promptly look up - and find and expose - your crimes. If you leave us alone we will leave you alone.

It's very simple. Even a fool can grasp that.

And don't underrate our ability to carry it out."

- L. Ron Hubbard

Its fairly significantly different in fact.
    Their use of borderline criminal psychological techniques,

spanish inquisition?
    Besides, how many religious orders have we seen over the years be invovled in this sort of thing?
    Although, I havent seen any proof of 'brainwashing'
    combined with the fact that you have to pay money to rise through the ranks,

true, i cant think of any off hand, but then again, i dont see why it would mean that its not a religion. A lot of religions are based on money.

The founder, Hubbard, is fairly clear in his original intentions when he said "l'd like to start a religion. That's where the money is" and "Make money. Make more money. Make other people make money." It was founded after a discussion with fellow poor sci-fi authors about how to make money.

Ever heard of a tithe?
    Again though, i fail to see what that has to do with being a religion. or not as you think.
    We are slowly and carefully teaching the unholy a lesson. It is as follows: We are not a law enforcement agency. BUT we will become interested in the crimes of people who seek to stop us. If you oppose scientology we promptly look up - and find and expose - your crimes. If you leave us alone we will leave you alone.

The Crusades?

I see nothing youve pointed out that isnt in anyway unlike many 'religions' today.
    This just seems to be more organised in a freemasons kind of way.

But, I gotta say, i just see no difference, just more out there, and a lot of famous people. hey, a lot of people thought it was bizarre when martin luthar nailed a letter to the roman catholic church door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭spiritcrusher

While I am non-religious, I do see a difference between Scientology and the more "mainstream" ones. Scientology is unquestionably a cult imo and after seeing the BBC Panorama pogramme on it I was a little freaked out and even a bit intimidated by it tbh. It's mental stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Surprised no one has brought up that southpark episode yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Their use of borderline criminal psychological techniques
    Never watch Derren Brown's 'Messiah' series? He 'converted' a number of devout atheists to Christianity in the space of two hours using techniques he claimed were widespread in the evangelical movement. He also commented on the fact that the use of incense and chanting were well documented brainwashing techniques.

Luckily for the group in question, Brown 'de-programmed' them after the show and most of them found the experience incredibly enlightening as to how others manage to get deluded into converting to such faiths. I can't imagine Jerry Falwell or his ilk giving people that courtesy.

Sure the Scientologists seem to be crazier than many of the 'mainstream' religions but do you not think that Christians would have seemed as crazy to the Romans? Remember, that was a religion of people prepared to 'martyr' themselves in circus games...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Its fairly significantly different in fact. Their use of borderline criminal psychological techniques, combined with the fact that you have to pay money to rise through the ranks, makes them a fairly transparent pyramid scheme.

paying money to rise through the ranks doesn't make something a pyramid scheme. A pyramid scheme is where your primary role is to recruit others, whose primary role will be to recruit others, etc with money being passed up the levels. With scientology, all the money is just given to the church, so its not a pyramid scheme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I think scientology deserves some credit, they've finally made some use out of that talentless braindead tosser and made a great running joke out of him. Fair play I say, fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

While cult or pyramid scheme may not be the correct terms, one thing that is correct is that it is based on a fraudulent terms.

I went to college with one and he was trying to get me to sign up as a thenan or whatever they call it. I pretended I was interested just to get an insight into the "religion" because I’d heard a lot of crazy stuff about it.

They have people actively recruiting members and members also try to convert people they meet. That is not something you see with a lot of mainstream religions.

They start off with that dianetics stuff telling you that you that they can give you peace of mind and health. So you go to the first meeting and the recruiters are trained in psychology and they make you feel like you need them. So you leave intrigued (or not) and then you come back and pay a couple of hundred for the books and so forth. they do the testing on you and then tell you that you don't have the dianetic touch or whatever they call it and that you can pay another couple hundred per hour at an auditing session (which is a day they actually celebrate on their calendar) to advance to the clear stage. then they tell them that they are at risk and you must move immediately to another stage. All the while handing over another couple of hundred dollars. Then they tell you that for another couple of hundred you can receive a great secret of their religion. Which is something to do with celestial alien beings in pods being planted in volcanoes over 75 million years ago and parts of them are in their souls and they must pay to have them removed.

They even talk about space planes being flown 75 million years ago to bring people to earth and that Hydrogen bombs were dropped on them and then their souls were brainwashed with evil and planted in our bodies. While the Bible may seem nuts to people and the Koran, etc. At least all of the mainstream religions are coming from a source that is being interpreted differently. This scientology nonsense was made up by a science fiction writer in the 50's. He claims it is based on science but yet nobody can examine or dissent his views. He claimed he was the one and only true scientist.

So a person was roped in at the beginning to achieve peace of mind and health for x amount of money. But then they are fooled into handing over thousands more to progress. While it is not a pyramid scheme in the true sense it is a hierarchical scheme where you must pay to advance. I do not know of any other mainstream religions that operate this way. Yes every organization needs money to operate, but other religions receive their money through donations. If you don't put money in the basket at a Catholic church you are not told that you must leave and cannot participate in the religion.

All the above is what I remember being told by that fella. Maybe some of it is bit inaccurate. But it’s the general gist I got from it. It’s a load of bollix and definitely different from other religions

Jaysus Neamhshuntasach, that sounds like just the kind of madness I'm looking for in a religion. In my current one we rub cold spaghetti all over our naked bodies and Chase turkeys around fields until the shrooms kick in. It's great the first few times but it's a bit of a hassle in this weather.

This comment from one of the videos says it all :

BY CAPTAINFANTASTIC AT 01/16/08 01:44 PM
    I hope Tom's parents have passed away, for their sake

LMFAO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭GhostInTheRuins

Haha, excellent :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Creature wrote: »

"To LRH" /salute

He is saluting their dead leader and creator of scientology L Ron Hoover L. Ron Hubbard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

ScumLord wrote: »
    Jaysus Neamhshuntasach, that sounds like just the kind of madness I'm looking for in a religion. In my current one we rub cold spaghetti all over our naked bodies and Chase turkeys around fields until the shrooms kick in. It's great the first few times but it's a bit of a hassle in this weather.

Why would you want to do that? Seems like you have a great aul set up going on there already

I forgot to say it's that tinned spaghetti in tomato sauce, I can't get the smell of the stuff off me now. It's making me gawk every time I go indoors, I have to sleep with the windows open at night an all. Great fun but too much hassle in me owld age need something a bit more relaxed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

The difference is that if I decide tomorrow not to be a Catholic anymore no-one would notice and no-one would try to stop me. The scenario would be much different if I was a scientologist. They are a cult who use money and power to get what they want. If Tom Cruise woke up in the morning and saw what a tosspot he's been and decided to leave he couldn't - there would be "revelations" of all kinds in the media the next day. This has feck all to do with stupid failed sci-fi writers and aliens, it about power - pure and simple and it's bloody scary that so many people fall for this horsesh1t.
    And don't forget Scientology has already unleashed one of the most heinous crimes against humanity - Battlefield Earth anyone? ;)

BTW - not a practicing Cath - just using it as an example!

I also love they way they shun psychiatry - I wonder why? lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

project chanology was a great laugh tho :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

I see nothing youve pointed out that isnt in anyway unlike many 'religions' today.
    Except mainstream religions today do not have crusades or the inquisition, and they at least loosely based their ideas on supposedly historical documents. Scientologists made it up wholesale and expressly to lever money out of those unlucky enough to cross their path. I'm sure scientologists would have fit right in back in the ninth century, however today they are anachronistic to put it mildly.
    Sleepy wrote:
    Never watch Derren Brown's 'Messiah' series? He 'converted' a number of devout atheists to Christianity in the space of two hours using techniques he claimed were widespread in the evangelical movement.
    Ah thats indoctrination lite. Proper brainwashing takes weeks or months, and involves extensive fasting to weaken resistance, isolation from ones peers and adherence to one iconic leader who knows the "truth", as well as repetitive reinforcement (chanting), among other things. The methods are well documented among law enforcement and intelligence agencies in the US.

Funnily enough, though, that sounds a lot like the Scientologists...

well, I dont see why any discussion should be limited to 'mainstream' religions?

plus, im not sure what the problem is with inventing a religion solely for the purpose of making money. Youre not going to get far without finances :)

By the way, just with the point about religious brainwashing, you could actually make a point that both Hindu and Muslim faiths use brainwashing in their practises. Not to mention the catholic church.
    While probably not using the precise and direct methods as used in some of the latter day cults (the Moonies and the Opus Dai being a pretty excellent examples of brainwashing cults), it could be said that many of the doctarines in a lot of mainstream religions tell you what you should believe, and how you should behave. As a catholic, would I be taught to fear hell becuase I dont believe in one of the basic tennents of Catholicism, that Mary was a Virgin?
    Can the threat of eternal damnation be considered a fear or scare tactic used in brainwashing?

But like I said, I believe this is just another religion, and one I wont be joining up to. Its simple got a lot more publicity becuase of some of its members.

I think some people find it rediculous because its new and its out there, and theres a sudden change in thinking. No one bats an eye at the Catholic church for a lot of the rediculous things they claim, such as raising people from the dead (do we have a zombie debate again?) or some sort of miracle birth (artificial insemination 200 years ago? these guys were ahead of the medical curve for their time!) or changing water into wine (a great party trick if you can manage it). But this is taught in schools, and people willing go to hear about it on a sunday and take their children (to be brainwashed, no?)

By the way, there are storeies related to the ancient Incas of Peru who believe that there were visitations by alien races before historical records were kept. they appeared to have a very advanced concept of mathmatics and astronomy far beyond the capabilities of an ancient civilisation (or maybe they were also ahead of the learning curve, and had bugger all to do in those cold mountains in winter than look at differential equations? ;))

Funnily enough, though, that sounds a lot like the Scientologists...

BY the way, im not knocking what youre saying, im agreeing with you. I just think it is a religion. If thats what they want, then thats fine with me, but I dont think a religion is determined by simply equating bits and pieces to 'unreligious type behaviour in a modern mainstream religion'

if you know what i mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Saruman wrote: »
    Surprised no one has brought up that southpark episode yet :D

That was Fantastic.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭You Suck!