Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE holiday shows

• 20-01-2008 2:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭

These "factual shows" always annoy the hole of me. It nearly always starts off with "this week I've decided to treat myself to the most exclusive hotel on the island", "it's a bit on the pricey side but I'm not the one paying", "I've no idea how much this VIP area costs but if you have to ask then you shouldn't be here"

One this week brought her whole family off to a resort. Yer one the presenter just so happens to run into a group of her friends from Dublin and is off to the VIP area.

They all get a go, sooner or later you'll see all the RTE gang on them feckin shows.

Pay my TV license?! Pay for your own ****in holiday you dirty moochers!

They should be sent to places where they won't have it so easy. This shouldn't include exclusive tours of the Arctic that people would give their right arm to go on. Send Pat Kenny to La Tomatina and pay the locals to single him out. Send Charley Bird to the bull run and weigh the ****er down. Put there lives on the line for our entertainment. Then I'll pay my license.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

You are speaking my language son....

Just wait for the Beijing Olympics!!!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Advertisement disguised as entertainment. It would put me off holidaying if anything tbh. I'd be afraid of running into annoying RTE presenter types!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They should send them off to one of those Colombian, FARC holiday complexes. That would be cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

ejmaztec wrote: »
    They should send them off to one of those Colombian, FARC holiday complexes. That would be cheap.

Counterproductive.
    I could just see the issue being raised in the Dáil that RTÉ needs another €3 tacked on to the license fee to pay Kathryn Thomas's ransom demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

send the fucckers off to namibia to walk in the forests and hand feed the friendly little monkeys. the friendly little ebola monkeys, and by friendly i mean savage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭jdivision

Lads no offence but I think you're being a bit naive if you think RTE is forking out for those trips. The travel agent/PR person for the resort/tourism agency for the country would supply the flights, accommodation and meals etc in return for the coverage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 682 ✭✭✭Bros123

Wertz wrote: »
    Counterproductive.
    I could just see the issue being raised in the Dáil that RTÉ needs another €3 tacked on to the license fee to pay Kathryn Thomas's ransom demand.

Why pay it?????????Leave her there.She might even have broadband on her laptop to email home.
    And it annoys the f**k out of me watching these RTE z listers swanning around on holidays when it's pissing rain outside and nothing else on to watch.

"I'm a Z-lister celebrity, get me outta here". There's a thought, two programmes for the price of one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Yes and stitch them up for drug running. We could have a big brother/survivor show out of it. "day 456 in the Columbian big brother prison".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Alter-Ego

That polish chick that was in fairly sh1tty got 3 free holidays out of rte for that No Frontiers show. Complete sponge TBH. She can't even act!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Alter-Ego wrote: »
    That polish chick that was in fairly sh1tty got 3 free holidays out of rte for that No Frontiers show. Complete sponge TBH. She can't even act!

Actually you are talking complete and utter....twaddle...

No Frontiers is made by Frontierfilms - an independent production company - so it is up to them which z list celebs they get to go on the trips...

though no need to let the facts get in the way of a good rant :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 numbersix99

Hi All,

I happen to be one of the people working on No Frontiers. Thanks for all your useful advice, though unfortunately RTE have already turned down our Ebola Monkey Special.

JDivision (Joy Division?) got it right in that the majority of the holidays are actually supplied by tour operators, tourist boards, etc. You may find this hard to believe but we're actually a low-budget show! We get this support in return for crediting the airlines, hotels etc, which acts as both a return for the supliers, and also show the general public how to contact airlines, hotels, etc if they're interested in what they see. The purpose of No Frontiers is to be informative/suggestive as much as entertaining. So it's meant to be more like a travel article than the Running Man ideas you guys seem to crave ;-).

Nocal, it is up to us to come up with the "celebs", with RTE approving or not. This country is pretty limited in terms of presenting talent, and we do what we can. A while back we used to get members of the public to road-test holidays, but the results often made for bad TV, so we opted for people with actually presenting backgrounds. I can understand your resentment towards seeing these seeingly well-paid people go on seemingly wonderful holidays. But they're not well paid, and their trips usually last 4 days- 2 days of travel, and 2 days work. Their time off usually amounts to the evening of the last day. So believe me, they're not having fun (in fact, I'm beginning to wonder why they do it in the first place).

Alter-Ego, I've no idea who you're talking about. We haven't used a Polish actress from Fair City ever. Maybe you're thinking of Tatiana Ouliankina, who we used years ago, and who is Russian?

Oh yeah, and one last thing, we do try to feature hotels that are not overly expensive, sticking to mid-range unless the story has a "luxury" theme.

Cheers!

E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Just wait for the Beijing Olympics

This is strange if RTE didn't send anyone to the Beijing Olympics everyone would be giving out. Bizzare.

How low can you go is a low budget holiday show. Ryanair should sponsor it.

Oh yeah, and one last thing, we do try to feature hotels that are not overly expensive, sticking to mid-range unless the story has a "luxury" theme.
    The holidays are a bit middle of the road (now I haven't watched loads of this show, I can only take watching so much of seeing RTEs finest swaning around in the sun) but the holidays are all to resorts or packaged, boring! I suppose that's where your aiming and what you've got to work with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Hi All,

I happen to be one of the people working on No Frontiers. Thanks for all your useful advice, though unfortunately RTE have already turned down our Ebola Monkey Special.

JDivision (Joy Division?) got it right in that the majority of the holidays are actually supplied by tour operators, tourist boards, etc. You may find this hard to believe but we're actually a low-budget show! We get this support in return for crediting the airlines, hotels etc, which acts as both a return for the supliers, and also show the general public how to contact airlines, hotels, etc if they're interested in what they see. The purpose of No Frontiers is to be informative/suggestive as much as entertaining. So it's meant to be more like a travel article than the Running Man ideas you guys seem to crave ;-).

Nocal, it is up to us to come up with the "celebs", with RTE approving or not. This country is pretty limited in terms of presenting talent, and we do what we can. A while back we used to get members of the public to road-test holidays, but the results often made for bad TV, so we opted for people with actually presenting backgrounds. I can understand your resentment towards seeing these seeingly well-paid people go on seemingly wonderful holidays. But they're not well paid, and their trips usually last 4 days- 2 days of travel, and 2 days work. Their time off usually amounts to the evening of the last day. So believe me, they're not having fun (in fact, I'm beginning to wonder why they do it in the first place).

Alter-Ego, I've no idea who you're talking about. We haven't used a Polish actress from Fair City ever. Maybe you're thinking of Tatiana Ouliankina, who we used years ago, and who is Russian?

Cheers!

E

Don't believe this for a second. I presented an episode of No Frontiers 2 years ago and it was nothing like this. We were flown out first class with champagne and caviar all the way, completely at the expense of the Irish public.

Once we arrived in the destination we were supplied with copious amounts of alcohol, cocaine and local 'talent' to satisfy us, again all coming out of the licence-fee payers pocket.

We worked for approximately half a day, filled in the rest with stock footage supplied by the relevant tourist boards and then spent a week swanning around on golden-sand beaches and getting our rocks off at every available opportunity.

When we returned we met up with a host of other celebs in Reynards and laughed about how great we have it getting paid a couple of grand to go on holidays for free and mocked all you lowly plebs who have to pay for a week in Lanzorote.

Annoboy cause another M C D ish moment on boards. lol

Numbersix99, what you said is all well and good, but when will the Colombia Special be on?:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Don't believe this for a second. I presented an episode of No Frontiers 2 years ago and it was nothing like this. We were flown out first class with champagne and caviar all the way, completely at the expense of the Irish public.

Once we arrived in the destination we were supplied with copious amounts of alcohol, cocaine and local 'talent' to satisfy us, again all coming out of the licence-fee payers pocket.

We worked for approximately half a day, filled in the rest with stock footage supplied by the relevant tourist boards and then spent a week swanning around on golden-sand beaches and getting our rocks off at every available opportunity.

When we returned we met up with a host of other celebs in Reynards and laughed about how great we have it getting paid a couple of grand to go on holidays for free and mocked all you lowly plebs who have to pay for a week in Lanzorote.

I knew it! :D

Great post numbersix99!

Elmo wrote: »
    Annoboy cause another M C D ish moment on boards. lol

Yes. And just for the record - I am Derek Mooney.

Seriously. I am.

Byyyyeeeeeeeeee!!!!! :D

Yes. And just for the record - I am Derek Mooney.

I knew you where off your head on drugs on that episode.

Being sarcastic to a sarcastic comments does really work! damn.

ScumLord wrote: »
    The holidays are a bit middle of the road (now I haven't watched loads of this show, I can only take watching so much of seeing RTEs finest swaning around in the sun) but the holidays are all to resorts or packaged, boring! I suppose that's where your aiming and what you've got to work with.

Hi...er... Scumlord...

We do feature independent package stories each year. In two weeks time, for example, we have an independent story in Chiang Mai, where we sent a presenter to learn how to become an Elephant trainer. Plus, we've a special coming up in March dedicating an entire episode to trekking through the jungles of Papua New Guinea. They're there at this very moment.

Because it's a mainstream show, we have to feature different types of holidays, and because package is statistically the most popular type of holiday here, we have to represent that.

Just so you know, I'm trying really hard not to sound like the guy who wrote The roaring Twenties, who leaped into defensive-mode on boards.ie and ended up driving himself crazy. wish me luck.

I am waiting for chadjared to arrive. :)

Hello numbersix99 - Derek here.

Just wondering when you're going to hire me again. My dealer was shot recently and I need you guys at Frontier Films to start supplying me with coke again.

Regards,

Derek.

Numbersix99, what you said is all well and good, but when will the Colombia Special be on?:D

When RTE approve our lead presenter: Oliver Stone. Can't understand why they aren't getting back to us....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

No Frontiers is just a ripoff of BBC Holiday and a piss poor one too. Numbersix99 you should get yourself a better job.

Perhaps as an Air Hostess? Then you could do some proper travel!

Woooo, if that is your real name, No Frontiers was devised before the age of reality TV and heavily-formatted shows. All travel shows were pretty much the same. It's tough to do a mainstream travel show in any other way (look at the Beeb's spin-offs of Holiday, none of which lasted).

Thanks for the career advice, although to become an air hostess I'd have to undergo some major gential surgery. But I'll keep it in mind.

Cheers,

E

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Elmo wrote: »
    This is strange if RTE didn't send anyone to the Beijing Olympics everyone would be giving out. Bizzare.

How low can you go is a low budget holiday show. Ryanair should sponsor it.

Yeah, but no need to empty the gaff and leave only the porters and cleaners.

i wonder will Kay Sheehy get a nice little number like she got in the Japan World Cup. Kay had a big background in sport;)
    Woooo, if that is your real name, No Frontiers was devised before the age of reality TV and heavily-formatted shows. All travel shows were pretty much the same. It's tough to do a mainstream travel show in any other way (look at the Beeb's spin-offs of Holiday, none of which lasted).

Thanks for the career advice, although to become an air hostess I'd have to undergo some major genital surgery. But I'll keep it in mind.

Cheers,

E

After some of the ones I've seen,a day ward might do you:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,268 ✭✭✭mountainyman

But they're not well paid

Are you claiming that when you got Diarmuid Gavin to Travel to japan he wasn't well paid and that he didn't stay in a luxury hotel?

MM

Thanks for the career advice, although to become an air hostess I'd have to undergo some major gential surgery. But I'll keep it in mind.

Cheers,

E

Numbersix99 I doubt that is your real name either?! You come on here with a username that is equally as ridiculous as everybody else's and then scoff at other people's. Very professional!

Do you even work for RTE? I think your just coming on here trying to be the big man!

And don't get me started on Dirmud Gavin!

Hi MM,

No, as far as I remember, Diarmuid did stay in a luxury hotel. His trip to Japan was a dream holiday, the kind of holiday someone of his age would splash out on. I ended up going to Japan a year after diarmuid gig, on a personal holiday, and was surprised at the range of affordable hotels in Japan. I was in a 4-star hotel in Kyoto for just over 100 Euro a night!

I can't go into too much detail on his fee, but let's just say it was hardly spectacular, and far below the usual rate a presenter like himself would receive.

Woah, take it easy there, Wooo, there was no scoffing I assure you. Oh dear, that's the last time I make a Simpsons reference to set the scene.

I don't work directly for RTE, I work for an independent production company that make No Frontiers, but I do work on the show.

I assure you that I'm not trying to be the big man. I'm of medium height.

....and numbersix99 realises why most people (except the Roaring Twenties writers and Dave McSavage) just stay away from threads about themselves or programs they're involved in on boards.ie

Ya just can't win E. Ya just can't win.

Woah, take it easy there, Wooo, there was no scoffing I assure you. Oh dear, that's the last time I make a Simpsons reference to set the scene.

I don't work directly for RTE, I work for an independent production company that make No Frontiers, but I do work on the show.

I assure you that I'm not trying to be the big man. I'm of medium height.

Oooh look at you with your witty Simpsons references. (so 1998!) Maybe you should take some of that comedy talent and write some decent scripts for your show.

So what you are saying is that my license fee is paying you today to spout nonsense on boards.ie? No wonder ppl complain about value for money from RTE.

I say bring back Christy Keneally. That was a man who new a good holiday when he saw it.

woooo232 wrote: »
    Oooh look at you with your witty Simpsons references. (so 1998!) Maybe you should take some of that comedy talent and write some decent scripts for your show.

So what you are saying is that my license fee is paying you today to spout nonsense on boards.ie? No wonder ppl complain about value for money from RTE.

I say bring back Christy Keneally. That was a man who new a good holiday when he saw it.

Oooohhhh retro No Frontiers references!

Christy was a gas man - nobody could take a cruise on the Shannon quite like him. Remember the time he went to Amsterdam and the whole episode was just following him around quite obviously off his face after a mushroom muffin? That one was class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

Christy was the best esp the blue train in SA one.

also why cant Duncan and his daughter be given a slot

dodgyme wrote: »
    also why cant Duncan and his daughter be given a slot

That would be TV Gold!

Christy was indeed the man. Unlike that bloody gardener twat Dirmud Gavin that they seem to use for everything now.

Anonoboy, too true... too true.

Christy was indeed mighty fine. Although he was around before I started working on the show, I enjoy his stories, particularly the Blue Train in SA and Savannah. He's a great storyteller. Duncan and his daughter was indeed an idea we came up with for this year, but it didn't happen (I think due to availability, but I could be wrong). It's an idea we will certainly come back to. If you guys have any other ideas for presenters, feel free to post it here. We do like to hear feedback from the public, and try to respond to everyone that does.

Whatever your reservations against RTE, they are approachable. I once emailed RTE News as a member of the public, to complain about a story, and the RTE New Editor replied within a day!

Woooo232, I assure you that I've only spent 15-20 mins posting here on boards.ie, and since I don't take a lunch hour (instead a Eat-Sandwich-15-Minutes) or go for ciggie breaks, I can safely say that my posting isn't using up license fees.

Whatever your reservations against RTE, they are approachable. I once emailed RTE News as a member of the public, to complain about a story, and the RTE New Editor replied within a day!

Yeah, yeah go back to your commie RTE comrades instead of registering a new account here to defend your little show with your witty remarks.

Genius. You sir are in possession of wit of a Wildean standard. Bravo!

Now.... isn't there some wrestling that you should be toddling off to watch? :rolleyes:

I'm pretty sure no one in RTE is a communist. Eoghan Harris was for a while, until the wind changed direction.

Woooo232, I will make you love me if it damn well kills me!

I

Woooo232, I will make you love me if it damn well kills me!

Are you that desperate for ratings that you need to come on here to make people like you in the vein hope that they will tune in and keep your gravy train on the air?

I bet you are writing this from a beach in the Caribbean or somewhere else living it up on our license fees.

numbersix99 = Kathryn Thomas.

Hi Kathryn!

Are you that desperate for ratings that you need to come on here to make people like you in the vein hope that they will tune in and keep your gravy train on the air?

People? No, Wooo, just you.

AnonoBoy, I'd say Kathryn has better things to do than post here.

Ah g'wan outta that Kathryn! Sure we know it's you, you're codding noone with this carry on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

"Duncan and his daughter be given a slot"
    That would be TV Gold!.

as long as the trip is not the ukraine! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

That moaning wench Fiona looney or gloomy as i like to refer to her, on the telly again with the kids holidaying.

FFS..............the whole RTEcentric awarding of junkets to their own knows no bounds.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,126 ✭✭✭homah_7ft

the majority of the holidays are actually supplied by tour operators, tourist boards, etc.

I try to avoid the series so someone is free to contradict me but I don't ever remember seeing this highlighted during an episode.
    We get this support in return for crediting the airlines, hotels etc, which acts as both a return for the supliers, and also show the general public how to contact airlines, hotels, etc if they're interested in what they see. The purpose of No Frontiers is to be informative/suggestive as much as entertaining. So it's meant to be more like a travel article than the Running Man ideas you guys seem to crave ;-).
    Informative up to the point where you don't lose your free holidays. Not exactly high-end journalism.

That moaning wench Fiona looney or gloomy as i like to refer to her, on the telly again with the kids holidaying.

FFS..............the whole RTEcentric awarding of junkets to their own knows no bounds.:mad:

Going on holidays in Lahinch is hardly what I'd call a junket! :rolleyes:

Grand - people hate the show. What I don't understand is how you think anyone makes a holiday show - who are RTE going to get to present it except for television presenters? Of course the presenters don't pay for their holidays.

If they got members of the public to do it they'd be pretty ****e. And the ones that weren't ****e would be asked to do more and would become television presenters and then you lads would be giving out that it's RTE giving 'junkets' to their own again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Going on holidays in Lahinch is hardly what I'd call a junket! :rolleyes:

Grand - people hate the show. What I don't understand is how you think anyone makes a holiday show - who are RTE going to get to present it except for television presenters? Of course the presenters don't pay for their holidays.

If they got members of the public to do it they'd be pretty ****e. And the ones that weren't ****e would be asked to do more and would become television presenters and then you lads would be giving out that it's RTE giving 'junkets' to their own again.

Complete BS Anoboy - sorry to be blunt, but complete Bollix.
    Looney and the kids were in a 5 star resort in spain last week and another place in france i think it was the week before..............not just in lahinch this week.
    They used to use loads of Joe soap the public in previous series, and seem to have dropped them now in favour of these RTE heads.
    My point is the nepitism in RTE is unbearable.
    Anyways, Fiona Loonery is Shoitte on the telly.

People? No, Wooo, just you.

Yeah like sipping champagne on the French riviera. :D
    Anonoboy wrote:
    I wouldn't go as far as to say I hate the show. It sickens me more than anything. I don't see "traveling" as spending 2 weeks in a resort only leaving on package tours. A travel show should encourage you to travel and see new things not lie on a beach all day going red. This show just looks like a perk for RTE, 10 minutes to camera then off to the free bar.

It's not Kathryn Thomas I have a problem with either she does seem to know what she's doing and does go to interesting places.