Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F***ing culchies!!

• 19-01-2008 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭

Preface: Yes I know thwe majority of blame comes my way!!

Where I live, we accept that people will park outside for Munster home matches. People also need to come and go to their cars.

Seems straightforward enough.

Why do the bastards have to walk in the MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. one was waving at tme to slow down this evening...I was 30km/h below the limit (i.e any slower I'd be stopped) I kept going and his arm met my wing mirror (still walking on the middle of the road even though he could see me coming for at least 20 seconds!!

What the HELL are footpaths for if not for walking on!! Maybe this should be included as part of the national curriculum at Leaving, sorry Junior and Leaving Cert level so culchies that come to town can F*ing use the things instead of the middle of the road. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

Rant Over!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

You're from that place outside of Dublin too. Are there different classifications of culchies? :confused:

/ confused Jackeen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

clown bag wrote: »
    You're from that place outside of Dublin too. Are there different classifications of culchies? :confused:

/ confused Jackeen

:D:D:D:D:D

Cheers clown bag, that put the smile back on my face;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

anytime my country cousin :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭radioactiveman

you shouldn't have slowed down
    that'd learn him!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

your in trouble there son, you cannot hit a person on the road,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Sounds like the idiot walked into the car to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

It happens, **** happens etc.

you shouldn't have slowed down
    that'd learn him!!!
    It occurred to me, but I like my paintwork:p:p

old boy wrote: »

I accept that, but should it not also follow if that he has his choice of footpaths 5 feet to either side he should use one of them:rolleyes::rolleyes: Heaven forbid:eek:

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Yes you can, it's quite easy. Worst part is picking bits of hair out of the bumper though.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Try living close the Gaelic Grounds too, they would park on your head if you left it there long enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭RonMexico

How is Thomond park going to cope when it is full capacity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

when i lived in caherdavin a number of years ago, some IDIOT parked in my driveway, while attending a match in the gaelic grounds. My friend called round and parked up the behind of intruding car, the owner came back and was dancing a jig with rage, ringing the doorbell etc, which we obviously didn't answer for a very long time. the clown won't be parking on private property again in a hurry

Yeah some arsehole parked in front of my driveway yesterday so we parked behind his mercedes and ****ed off into town. The gimp had to wait about an hour and then had a go off me. I told him to bite the back of my sack.

99er stop publicising F.F. at every oppertunity, people were walking before you were a bad tought in your great grandaddys head, just because you were driving down the road, does not give you the right to mow down people, do you have a full licence, are you over 25, can you think properly, what kinda car do you drive,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭gaf1983

I like Ron Mexico and whatsgoinon's approaches to dealing with this problem, I suppose another solution would be to time perfectly the installation of your new electronic gates to coincide with big matches. Failing that you could always sue the intruders for trespass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

OP, was it that the 'culchie' was walking in the middle of the road, cos thicko car drivers parked up on the footpath not allowing for foot traffic to pass by? thus forcing them to use the road?

Doubt it tbh. Footpaths are pretty tall around there. Put people in a crowd and they start acting like cattle. Wandering out in front of traffic, ringing cowbells, making a low mooing noise. Tis all very strange.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,947 ✭✭✭✭phog

MarkR wrote: »
    Doubt it tbh. Footpaths are pretty tall around there. Put people in a crowd and they start acting like cattle. Wandering out in front of traffic, ringing cowbells, making a low mooing noise. Tis all very strange.

Where's round there? The footpath on the road from Hassett's X towards Parteen was blocked with cars as were the footpaths in around Mayorstone and Greystones.

Thomond Park had no after match facilities and with the bad evening all the supporters were going to stream out onto the roadway at alomse the same time - the gardai knew this and should have put a traffic plan in place and that should have at least included no traffic from Hassetts X to the roundabout near LIT.
    Local residents should have been well aware of the match and should have timed their journey around this where possible if for no other reason but to save time.

To the other posters highlighting drivers parking without due respect to local residents all I can say is - Clampers, Block them in and or Tow Trucks, there is no excuse for this type of bad manners.

99er stop publicising F.F. at every oppertunity, people were walking before you were a bad tought in your great grandaddys head, just because you were driving down the road, does not give you the right to mow down people, do you have a full licence, are you over 25, can you think properly, what kinda car do you drive,

If you don't like my sig that's just tough. build a bridge and get over it. Not up for discussion here.

What has this got to do with my Grandad???

I didn't mow someone down, he clipped my wing mirror.

I have a full licence
    I'm a logical thinker
    I'm under 25
    I drive an Opel Astra since yesterday, before that I had a Corsa. I've been driving 2 years and before you go criticising someone for giving me a licence, did you buy yours or pass a driving test ;)
    MarkR wrote: »

There were cars parked both sides which meant very little room for me to manouver, however there was plenty of room to walk SINGLE FILE on the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭RINO87

do LIT open their carparks for the matches? it'd be a nice little goldmie, maybe then THE STUDENTS WOULDNT HAVE TO PAY!!!!!!

clonliffe college make a solid fortune from events in croker, they charge a tenner!

ninty9er wrote: »
    If you don't like my sig that's just tough. build a bridge and get over it. Not up for discussion here.

What has this got to do with my Grandad???

I didn't mow someone down, he clipped my wing mirror.

I have a full licence
    I'm a logical thinker
    I'm under 25
    I drive an Opel Astra since yesterday, before that I had a Corsa. I've been driving 2 years and before you go criticising someone for giving me a licence, did you buy yours or pass a driving test ;)

There were cars parked both sides which meant very little room for me to manouver, however there was plenty of room to walk SINGLE FILE on the footpath.

So you want 12,000 approx people to walk single file out from a match - dream on.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Personally I actually agree with the OP. Any idiot who thinks walking in the middle of the road against oncoming traffic is a good idea deserves to get his balls roasted via car battery. Ditto any Munster fans for that matter.

Oh No he di-ant!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Why not just ban all traffic from the area like croker when there is a game or concert on thus letting the pedestrians disperse quicker

sioda wrote: »
    Why not just ban all traffic from the area like croker when there is a game or concert on thus letting the pedestrians disperse quicker

for the bigger games we need to have a resident's permit from the local Garda station to get onto surrounding roads, A park and ride would be best, but where the car-park would be is an entirely different matter. Personally I'd build one between Coonagh and Clonmacken that could be used by commuters too. My dad has to use the Condell road every morning coming from Shannon and to put it mildly the Shunnel will take about an hour off his journey every day round trip.

There'll be 3 to 6 big matches every year in the New TP and they'll be another 3 or 4 matches in Gaelic Grounds - can the gardai not devise a traffic plan to cater for the after match crowds?

Banning predestrians from the road is hardly the solution. Things may ease a bit with the tunnel but there still needs to be some plan.

phog wrote: »
    Things may ease a bit with the tunnel but there still needs to be some plan.

Which is completely lacking at the moment. Bannin cars from Coonage to Sarsfield Bridge and St. Munchin's Church may help somewhat, but that's a massive inconvenience to everyday users who aren't residents

i passed my driving test 1st time of asking, where can they be bought, if people were walking on the road then a driver needs to stop and let them pass, you are begining to sound a little like your leader, arragont.

I don't have a problem with stopping to let someone CROSS the road, but when they are walking along a roadway for CARS, then they are in the wrong, it would be like me driving on the footpath and complaining about the damn pedestrians that were getting in the way....I shouldn't be there in the first place.

Listen, you made this personal, so to take issue with either my politics or my personality is out of line here. You say asking?? Driving licences as I'm sure you are aware could be bought well into the 1960s. None of the 3 of my grandparents that drive ever passed a test. Maybe I'm just assuming the handel fits the person, my mistake, apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭jonski

TBH when there is a match on I stay clear of that area , if I have to go that way then I just put up with what ever inconvenience I encounter . It is a fairly common occurrence in Ireland for people to take over the footpath and the road on the way home from these occasions .

There aren't that many games in the year and when there are I try to be pleasant to the people coming here for them . It is good for the city and good for them to go back home after having a positive experience .

I thought cars had right of way on roads except for pedestrian crossings and intersections with no lights?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭pyramuid man

I would suggest calling the guards and advising that an unknown car is parked on your property if they are parked in your driveway. Ask them nicely to tow the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

How can the OP claim to be a logical thinker and also a FF voter?

There have been 3 homes games this season in Thomond, is that reallly such a huge, massive inconvienence to you, OP, or are you just a sour type who loves to complain at things that slightly bother you?

jonski wrote: »
    TBH when there is a match on I stay clear of that area
    Nice thought, but not practical as I live in the middle of the disaster and wanted to get home before there was an hour long queue outside the gate.

How can the OP claim to be a logical thinker and also a FF voter?
    How can you ask such a stupid question???:p:p and anyway, relevance??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

I bet they were all waiting about for Deputy Peter Power's [FF] pre-election promised Light Rail System for Limerick City and its environs - http://www.limerickpost.ie/dailynews.elive?id=7814&category=Daily-Thu

Sorry to be off-topic :o

Getting right back on topic then; perhaps the people on the road were Green Party members who were just trying to get close to you to fawn around your ankles and generally agree with your plots :D

in any city on this planet, that hosts a big game the same happens, seen it in england scotland wales france, ever been to a game at the giants stadium, ever seen the miami heat, they all have major subways near, to assume i bought a driving licence, well just because your grandparents bought them does not entitle you to paint all old people with the same brush, with your attitude there would be no need for judges and jurys,, also i do not need any advice on polatics, if i remember you got short shift on the motoring forum for trying to ram your views down peoples throats, this is my last comment on this thread, apolozies to any 1 i have offended, as i am 2 near the other side to be making any enemies

Do you honestly think that anyone in this country is capable of putting a subway anywhere?? They can barely decide where to put a traffic cone let alone plan a multi-million euro project.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 64 ✭✭okshea

Just wonderin OP with the tage line of this thread being 'F***ing culchies!!'.How did you know this adventerous fello walking in the middle of the road waz a fxxxing culchie was he hearding sum livestock in front of him?in the the process of marrying his cuz(damn stereotypes!) or cud he as easily have been from o i dont know lim city,cork city bla bla etc.Or are all urban dwellers strictly footpath dwellers??Just wonderin dude,btw i aint a culchie!!!:cool:

How can you ask such a stupid question???:p:p and anyway, relevance??

Easily, I lowered myself to be understood by someone of below average intelligence, or in other words, a FF voter.

It's not very relevant, I just think you could easily have parked your car and walked for 10 mins to get home and gone back for it later, rather than whining about people wanting to get out of the lashing rain as fast as possible. Limerick is a much better place because of HEC games, but you'll always get a few begrudgers.

okshea wrote: »
    Just wonderin dude,btw i aint a culchie!!!:cool:

It was the hand movement he made at me, the one farmers use when herding cattle and sheep to tell traffic to slow down/stop

It's bothering me a bit though. If it had been a Landcruiser of BMW coming towards him, would he still have pushed passed or would he have moved in

@oldboy re: motors, I've made the majority of my posts, which number over 2500 at this stage, in the motors thread, so to say I "ram my ideas down people's throats" is another slur which I will refute. I express an opinion and if I hold it strongly enough I will continue to do so. It is inevitible that I will disagree with people in fora, just as they disagree with others, but just because I have a political party in my sig doesn't give anybody the right to be pig ignorant about it and accuse me of arguing more of in a different manner to any of the 80,000 plus members of boards.ie. Just like many people here express the opinion that a rational person could not support FF and say it many times over. Doesn't mean they're ramming it down my throat. Just means I'm getting to them:D:D

It's not very relevant, I just think you could easily have parked your car and walked for 10 mins to get home and gone back for it later, rather than whining about people wanting to get out of the lashing rain as fast as possible. Limerick is a much better place because of HEC games, but you'll always get a few begrudgers.

1. Where do you suggest I park my car?? in someone elses' driveway?? You've got to be kidding on that one. spaces....hen's teeth and all that jazz. Anyway why should I get soaked through so that some idiot can walk in the middle of the road where I should be driving.

2. I can put up with the parking inconvenience, but I refuse to believe that any normal person would consider me a begrudger for complaining about one bad pedestrian. Thomond Park is a great venue, my dad was even up there on Saturday and got completely soaked through. But it was all in the spirit of the game.

to the melody of Seven Drunken Nights

Well as I came home after the match, drunk as drunk could be, I saw a car outside the door where my aul car should be; so I calls the kids and I says to them, could you kindly tell to me, who onwns the car out in the drive, where my aul car should be.

Ah you're drunk now dad, you silly aul fool for to all tis plain to see, that there's no car out in the drive where your aul car... **hey Seánie....who owns the car in the driveway??**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,410 ✭✭✭jonski

2. I can put up with the parking inconvenience, but I refuse to believe that any normal person would consider me a begrudger for complaining about one bad pedestrian.

All this over ONE pedestrian , including the topic title , for something that geatly benefits the city . I guess I am not normal then .

Wow, all this whining over one person, doesn't make the OP look petty at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

worlds-smallest-violin.jpg

ellenmelon wrote: »
    worlds-smallest-violin.jpg

I have a smaller one :D:D:D:D:D

but thanks for the thought

to quote a fabled bard, where ingorance is bliss tis folly to be wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Fremen

A little off-topic, maybe, but I've had someone in Dublin speed up when I crossed a road in order to try and make me hurry, presumably. He's just lucky he didn't live near me, his car would have been in for quite a battering if I ever came across it again.

Fair enough, drivers have right of way on the road, but is it ok for them to threaten people's lives when that right isn't respected?
    (By the way, I'm not claiming you did, OP)

on another thread the o p says that he is an ard scoil boy, does that mean that
    he is a pimply faced youth who
    drives an opel astra
    strikes people who walk on the road while in contol of the said car
    calls munster supporters fxxxing culchies
    a one boy f.f publicity machine
    shops both sets of grand parents for buying driving licences
    accuses me of a crime, namely buying and using driving licences
    judgeing my the amount of posts he has on boards spent more time on line rather than studying
    has two points of view his own and f.f. which are actually one and the same

on another thread the o p says that he is an ard scoil boy, does that mean that
    he is a pimply faced youth who
    drives an opel astra
    strikes people who walk on the road while in contol of the said car
    calls munster supporters fxxxing culchies
    a one boy f.f publicity machine
    shops both sets of grand parents for buying driving licences
    accuses me of a crime, namely buying and using driving licences
    judgeing my the amount of posts he has on boards spent more time on line rather than studying
    has two points of view his own and f.f. which are actually one and the same

Listen, the OP has established more than enough to show he's a little on the slow side, there's no need to keep hammering the poor guy.