Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Preview Nights

• 18-01-2008 9:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭

Well fellow racing enthusiasts. With under 2 months to go to the Cheltenham festival I think it is time again to spread the word of any dates and times of up and coming preview nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Hoofer

There is a good cheltenham preview on Racing UK at the moment.They are chatting to a few trainers as well about their chances and prospects at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

Well folks, we ran one in the Goat Grill in Goatstown last year and will be doing the same this year on 28th of February. Will post details of the panel as we confirm them - should know by the end of this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭BrianTheMessiah

I was at the Goat last year. Can't remember much about it. Ivan Yates is a tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

I was at the Goat last year. Can't remember much about it. Ivan Yates is a tool.

You don't remember much because it was so bad you sought solace in your pint and another and another. I only got the last 40 mins but it was desparate. A huge amount of re-organisation needs to be done and thinking about the panel. They had some of the quietest guys in the world on the panel. at least the Stillorgan Park preview put Russell and Tony Mullins on the same stage. Its like having Dunphy and Ted on the same stage. And then you have a few people who know what they are talking about and then the "all duck or no dinner" man.....well lets stop there!!!

Cantoris wrote: »
    You don't remember much because it was so bad you sought solace in your pint and another and another. I only got the last 40 mins but it was desparate. A huge amount of re-organisation needs to be done and thinking about the panel. They had some of the quietest guys in the world on the panel. at least the Stillorgan Park preview put Russell and Tony Mullins on the same stage. Its like having Dunphy and Ted on the same stage. And then you have a few people who know what they are talking about and then the "all duck or no dinner" man.....well lets stop there!!!

Thanks for the vote of confidence Cantoris :p

Last year was the first year we did it so it was a bit of a fire brigade job. Surprisingly enough a lot of people didnt want anything to do with the night as it was the first night we did it. We learned a lot from it and will use that to our advantage for this year. It was dragged out towards the end and probably should have been nearly over by the time you got there. Come along on time this year and I'll promise you a preview night that wont bear any resemblence to last years. One of the names you've mentioned above has confirmed he will be here for this year.

Also just one question in general - would you prefer lads who talk a lot but talk a lot of sh1te or would you prefer to listen to someone who doesnt say much but most of what they say makes sense??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

have to admit...did go to a few of these a few years back,,got really fed up with them man they tell ya nothing ya dont know already!",,talk about an excersise in "the bleedin obvious"!...maybe some are ok..but overall found them soo predictable, and basically fodder for poor sods who bet maybe twice a year..maybe thats who their aimed at,,in which case fair enough,....but for any racing fan or folks who work in the game,,,their a waste of time and opinion ,,,,,,thats my rant anyway.....

ciao'...Baggio.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

mccarte2 wrote: »
    Also just one question in general - would you prefer lads who talk a lot but talk a lot of sh1te or would you prefer to listen to someone who doesnt say much but most of what they say makes sense??

IMO you need jockeys and trainers who aren't afraid to give out some information (that may seem obvious). I have been to a fair few of these and as mentioned you really don't learn a lot. THe only two people I got any enjoyment from were the Mullins brothers (Tom and Willie).

They have no problem telling it as it is. Tom totally dismissed Willies champion hurdle hope (a few years back) saying it wouldn't get up the hill in a horse box. He was spot on. Then Willie told the crowd that one of his horses in NH chase would def be placed at a big price. He was second at 20/1. Thats the type of thing you need, not "I think Kauto Star could win the Gold Cup, but Denman has a chance also".

There you go.... Clear as mud.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 snowydot

I've Heard Ferdy Murphy is doing one up in a hotel outside Omagh (bit far away), i'll try and find out more details.

mccarte2 wrote: »
    Thanks for the vote of confidence Cantoris :p

Last year was the first year we did it so it was a bit of a fire brigade job. Surprisingly enough a lot of people didnt want anything to do with the night as it was the first night we did it. We learned a lot from it and will use that to our advantage for this year. It was dragged out towards the end and probably should have been nearly over by the time you got there. Come along on time this year and I'll promise you a preview night that wont bear any resemblence to last years. One of the names you've mentioned above has confirmed he will be here for this year.

It was constructive criticism. I wasn't having a go. The first year is the one that is most important as it sets the tone for everything that comes after it. It will obviously have glitches etc but has to be well organised. And no doubt you learned a lot and I will go along this time round. Its only around the corner from my parents place. And if For Paddy The Plasterer is heading to Chellers you have a good starting point.

I do believe these nights are very informative. The Stillorgan Park has the right mix. Jonathan Powell (I think it is) said last year to lump on Ouniphoja each way at 10s. He knows the Nicholls yard well and he said it would not be out of the first three. Collected the place money. Tony Mullins stumped up that his brother really fancied Black Harry. Backed him at 20s each way that night and bar the fall at the last would have collected a few bob. These guys are insightful. They talk their mind and don't hold back but they are good. Tony Mullins is not a bad reader of the form book. He spends enough time plotting them up so he needs to know the form. But you also need the banter. All "duck and no dinner" throws in the odd cringe one liner but Russell and Mullins are classics. Mullins wanted Russell to commit to Pedrobob but Russell wouldn't so he told Russell to go down to his owner, who was in the audience, and tell him yes or no!! This went on for about five minutes. It was great comedy. So the mix is important. People are paying €10/€15 for a bit of insightful info and a bit of craic. One is no good without the other. The Submarine suffers from that a bit as it is insightful with Jum McGrath etc on but it is boring enough.

Good luck with it and I think its for Wexford GAA so I will be supporting again anyway. Stillorgan Park is for my own club Kilmacud Crokes. Roll on the purple and gold, whether it is the Crokes or the Ford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭AdamantApproach

The boys in the College in Galway have been doing one with Barney Curley for years and it is very well run, does not drag on, and is always informative.

Wasn't Graham Bradley supposed to do the one in the Goat Grill last year despite his being warned off? :eek:

Organisers have a lot to learn imo...

The boys in the College in Galway have been doing one with Barney Curley for years and it is very well run, does not drag on, and is always informative.

Wasn't Graham Bradley supposed to do the one in the Goat Grill last year despite his being warned off? :eek:

Organisers have a lot to learn imo...

Bradley was going to be involved until I took a phone call from the Turf Club telling me that if he was involved it would be an automatic disqualification for the 2 trainers on the panel. He also rang both trainers and told them the same.

Bradley should have told you that himself. He knows the terms of his warning off. He cannot attend a meeting where Horse Racing is the subject of discussion. Purile idiotic childish insluts will not be allowed in this forum

Could you enlighten us on a few of those?

Bradley should have told you that himself. He knows the terms of his warning off. He cannot attend a meeting where Horse Racing is the subject of discussion.

The ban / warning off was put in place in the UK but no-one was sure whether it was the same on this side of the water. But anyway, sounds like you've your own axe to grind with him so I'll leave you on your way.

The rules are clear on the matter and Brad would have known. As would the trainers/jockeys who were also due to attend. A quick piece of research would have been easy to conduct.

As regards his book, his constant references to Brian Wright as a great guy and great friend are nauseating to the extreme, especially in light of subsequent events.

His book casts him in the role of victim, and a role it undoubtedly is, as the whole piece is a work of fiction.

The rules are clear on the matter and Brad would have known. As would the trainers/jockeys who were also due to attend. A quick piece of research would have been easy to conduct.

As regards his book, his constant references to Brian Wright as a great guy and great friend are nauseating to the extreme, especially in light of subsequent events.

His book casts him in the role of victim, and a role it undoubtedly is, as the whole piece is a work of fiction.

Trainers didn't know.

Other than Brian Wright, do you have any other decent lies that were told. Every book, whether written by a sporting or other celebrity has a few little fibs in it. If the whole book was a piece of fiction, can you give us a few decent ones that we would know the context of?

Sorry have not logged in for a while. If you want to put up your e mail there and I will bring the book to the races for you. You can have it, read it, and then come back on here and tell me what you think of Brad after reading the book in lights of events that occured since it was published.

[mod edit] I will not entertain any more personalised attacks in this forum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭decies

Cheltenham Preview in Waterford 28th feb woodlands hotel
    John Francome,Mike Cattermole,Davy Russel,Henry de Bromhead etc
    Will have more information at a later date for you.
    Pm me later in the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

decies wrote: »
    Pm me later in the week

This was an enjoyable night last year, ill defo be going again this year.

For anyone waiting for the Stillorgan Park preview, I believe it is not going ahead this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭Were-rabbit

decies wrote: »
    Pm me later in the week

Was told yesterday in Fairyhouse by one of the organiisers, there is also one on the 28th Feb, in the Headford Arms in Kells, Meath.

can not remember details beyond this at moment. will post more when get again. better to be accurate than misinform!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 karanja

Anybody know when the Belfast one is.Normally in the Europa.?

For anyone waiting for the Stillorgan Park preview, I believe it is not going ahead this year.

"“They were stars, even though I had to bribe them with tickets to our Cheltenham preview night in Dublin next month,” she says."

a quote from A Chronnicle rep in the RP bussiness matters section filed on Sunday 3rd feb.

Thought they sponsored the Stillorgan Park preview or have they moved to another venue?

Just confirming the panel for the Goat Preview Night on 28th Feb - organised by Dublin Branch of Wexford GAA Supporters Club - Free Admission - 8pm

Jim Bolger (MC)
    Ivan Yates
    Tony Mullins
    Denis O'Regan
    Brian Geraghty (part owner of Snowy morning)
    Jimmy Barrett (Trainer of Barker)
    Brian Flanagan (The Star)

Draw on the night for tickets to each day of Cheltenham as well.

On Stillorgan Park, I'm as baffled as you are but its a fund raising for my local GAA club and apparently they couldn't get a sponsor so its been abandon.

On the Goat, it is a very interesting line up. Tony mullins, whether you like him or hate him, is good entertainment and now doubt himself and Yates will have fun. O'Regan is a good catch. Will know the form on both sides of the water. Bolger is an interesting MC. He mightn't take any crap and should be able to move things along.

Should be a good night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭decies

Cheltenham Preview Night Thursday 28th February Woodlands hotel Dunmore Road waterford Admission 20 euro tickets from the venue book early last year was packed
    John Francome,Mike cattemole,justin carthy -chronicle bookmakers,Henry de Bromhead,Davy russell,noel o, brien-handicapper,noel cummins-bookmaker,pat keane irish examiner,MC brian gleeson -rte

Decies can we keep the glaring font sizes and colours down to a minimum please.

Goo line up in Waterford and looks like that's where chronicle have gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 FeedMeAStrayCat

Great bunch of guys Chronicle. Justin Carthy is a top bloke. Very knowledgable and invariably a great layer. I also like his snazzy clothes and 'hip' hair cut.

Feedmea... none of that questioned or on topic here. what being discussed enquiries and info re preview nights that might be on. When and Where with the only Who being who organising and the panel line up.
    :confused::confused:

sounds like you looking for fish!! (hence the fishing!)
    :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Cantoris think you may be right, just the RP quote was about a Dublin one. Am sure the answer will appear via an advert in a race card soon!! Not actually too concerned just curious now! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 scotia

does anyone have any info about the preview night in the glenroyal hotel, maynooth??
    Was there last two years and thought it was a geat night.

scotia wrote: »
    does anyone have any info about the preview night in the glenroyal hotel, maynooth??
    Was there last two years and thought it was a geat night.

Details were listed in last Saturdays Irish Field

glenroyal hotel, maynooth

Wed 5th March (8pm)

Panel
    N Carberry
    D McElroy
    J McGrath
    D McGurrin (T rogers)
    T Mullins
    N O'Brien
    T Taaffe
    Chair T O'Hehir

Admission 25 euro (incl 25 betting voucher)
    Tickets at door or T Rogers, T Flood and P Toolin Bookmakers.
    Doors open 7.30pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 scotia

Thanks for that were-rabbit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 TheDaddie

There is a preview night in the Salthill Hotel in Galway on the 3rd March and there is also a preview night on the 26th Feb in Hotel Westport, Westport, Co. Mayo.

Galway preview night will include Barney Curley, Alan Byrne and Peter Scudamore.

Not sure yet who is in the Westport one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 jimmy6904

Thurs 6th March Osprey Hotel Naas Co. Kildare

MC - Gareth O' Brien ATR
    Jessica Harrington
    Davy Russell
    David Casey
    Paddy Flood and more

Tickets at Boylesports bookies, €30 I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭roakey

anyone know of any preview nites in or around limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Aisling Kenny

Cheltenham Preview Night in aid of Direct Aid to Africa.

Giving a little back. No distance too far. No hurdle too high.

Get tips and advice for this year's National Hunt Festival, from our panel of experts

Wednesday 27th feb

Panel :
    > Barney Curley - Racing legend
    > Mick Fitzgearald - Leading UK based jockey
    > John Carr - Trainer of Champion Hurdler Sublimity
    > Nina Carberry - Leading Irish amateur jockey
    > Andrew McNamara - Jockey of Sizing Europe
    > Donn McClean - Journalist Sunday Times / TV Pundit
    > Noel O Brien - The Irish Handicapper
    > Ian Marmion - Bookmaker with Victor Chandler

The MC for the night is Gearoid Moynahan.
    The bookmaker present on this wonderful charity night is Victor Chandler and admission includes 10 euro free bet with Victor Chandler. So go on give a little - learn alot

http://www.helix.ie/2008_Q1/CheltenhamNight.htm
    Phoen bookings 017007000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭BrianTheMessiah

Anybody know of one in the Woodenbridge in Wicklow? They used to have one there, not sure if they're still doing them! Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭qzy

roakey wrote: »
    anyone know of any preview nites in or around limerick

There are 2 in Adare this year - Mon Feb 25th in the Woodlands House Hotel and on Sunday Mar 2nd in the Dunraven Arms Hotel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Amonsol

There is a good one coming up shortly in the Osprey Hotel in Naas. Cannot remember the date, around the 6th March.

Amonsol wrote: »
    There is a good one coming up shortly in the Osprey Hotel in Naas. Cannot remember the date, around the 6th March.

Info from todays Race card in Naas...

Osprey Hotel Naas
    Thursday 6th March 8pm

Panel
    Gary O'Brien
    Niall Cronin
    Paddy Flood
    Jessica Harrington
    Davy Russell
    David Casey

Tickets 25euro
    From Boylesport shops in Athy, Kildare, Naas Newbridge,Leixlip, Carlow town and Portlaoise

Oh said I would update when had details for this one

in Headfort Arms in Kells

Thursday 28th Feb 8.30pm

in aid of Navan Co Meath Mental Health Association

admission 25euro (incl light supper - tea/coffee etc.)

Panel

John Carr
    Gordon Elliot
    Philip Carberry
    Dryden Geary
    Norman Williamson
    Robert Cooper (ATR)

Special Guest Ferdy Murphy

MC James Griffin

Tickets from
    Headfort Arms Hotel, Kells
    Meath Chronicle Shop, Navan
    or at door on the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 SilkyCut

Any preview with John Francome or Tom Mullins is set to be a good night. Good info and a good bit of banter. Think the one in Naas is sponsored by Boylesports but it didnt say that in todays racecard?? From what I heard they had free bet and raffle for Cheltenham and Sunderland tickets. Hard to beleive it is just around the corner. What's everyone's NAP?

Dryden Geary
    Should I know him?

Was told who he was couple weeks ago.. trying to remember now.. :eek:

Oh he is from the TOTE.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭roakey

if anyone goes to a preview night, dont forget to be a sport and post up anything that is said. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

roakey wrote: »
    if anyone goes to a preview night, dont forget to be a sport and post up anything that is said. :D

especially if Tony McCoy is there. He is usually very honest when he is asked about his horses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 SilkyCut

I think davy Russell will be the man to follow at the festival this year. I would even go as far as to say that he will have more winners than the champ :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

What time is it starting tomorrow night Decies??

Went along to the Goat last night. After a few hiccups, it went really well. didn't cover any of the handicaps. Memory is slightly hazy but here is a quick synopsis.

Panel - Jim Bolger (can't see New approach beaten in guineas), Tony Mullins, Ivan Yeats, Johnny Ward (sunday indo), Denis O'Regan, ANO :)

Supreme
    TM - Willie quietly fancies fiveforthree
    IY - Cork All Star has the best form, good ground will suit better
    Snap Tie ew, Ashkazar ew

Champion Hurdle
    Osana only a handicapper, sublimity camp very quiet (TM said he talked to carr and he didn't talk up the horse for the first time ever), sizing jumping may let him down, harchi won't get there (TM), Katchit has course form, ew Blight Knight

Arkle
    IY said he would lay Noland all night at 7/2. TM said opposite, has the form. Most said to stay away though. Silverburn ew

Ballymore
    IY happy to lay Paddydeplasterer at 6s for 150K, no chance he reckons. TM likes Venalmar ew. Most liked Aigle Dor as Nicholls said one of best chances.

Royal & SunAl
    Most discounted the fav (Air Force One). DoR liked Tidal Bay, but the yard is closed down because of virus. TM said not to discount Joe Lively and a few mentioned Leslingtaylor

Bumper
    Interesting that TM said he fancied Zaarito, he reckoned the form was better than apt approach. English have nothing to be feared.

I'll update more over weekend when I look at my notes and sober up :)

EXETER RACECOURSE PREVIEW EVENING

Tuesday, February 27th

A heavyweight panel of trainers comprised of Paul Nicholls (PN), David Pipe (DP), Philip Hobbs’ assistant Johnson White (JW) and the Racing Post’s West Country correspondent Andrew King (AK) with Alice Plunkett acting as the M.C.

A different format from the scores of preview evenings I’ve attended down the years (a brief discussion of the Grade 1 races before the break and a Q & A session in part 2) and also the shortest preview night I’ve ever attended as they rattled through each race in triple-quick time which, being a panel of trainers in the main is not surprising as they basically just talked about their own horses (mention of just one Irish horse all night) which is why some of the quotes are quite short.

SUPREME NOVICES’ HURDLE

They actually missed out this race until the Q & A session from the audience got a response. Alice was half an hour late and rather flustered!

PN We run Rippling Ring and he did a very smart piece of work with Celestial Halo yesterday and Ruby Walsh will ride him. He won very nicely at Doncaster on his only start over hurdles and had the class to be third in the South African Derby on the Flat. He has got to overcome inexperience but we think plenty of him.

DP (no mention of anything as wasn’t asked a direct question and he wasn’t exactly champing at the bit to reveal all so watch out for his entries!!!!!!!!)

JW We don’t have any strong fancies for the Festival this year but we run Snap Tie and he is one of many at the meeting we think can go well at big odds.

ARKLE TROPHY

PN Noland had a few problems after his chase debut win and was sick for a fortnight. We needed to get another run into him for experience which we did at Sandown where he jumped brilliantly and he will improve enormously for that run. I think it’s an open Arkle but Ruby said he wasn’t impressed with Tidal Bay ’s jumping when he rode him at Doncaster and I’m convinced he needs further. Ring The Boss is a horse I would look at of the bigger priced horses.

DP We don’t have anything for the race and Noland will take all the beating.

JW We couldn’t have been more delighted with Ring The Boss’ chase debut when second in the Kingmaker. He did an amazing piece of work yesterday with our fastest three-year-old and has a great each-way chance.

AK It’s not the greatest of races. Noland has all the right credentials and looks a solid 3/1 favourite.

CHAMPION HURDLE

PN We have nothing this year. If Sublimity was fit and well I would go for him but the rumours are that this is not the case. Therefore I think it’s between Sizing Europe and Osana. If I trained Harchibald I would put a pair of blinkers on him.

DP We decided to miss the Kingwell with Osana as we felt it was just a little too close to the Festival. He received weight and we got a head start in the boylesports but Katchit came to us at the last flight and we went right away from him again. We were very impressed by Sizing Europe at Leopardstown but they didn’t go that quick and we know we can jump fast and fluent at Champion Hurdle pace. We handle the track and we know we go very well at two-mile speed. (the impression given was that he felt that may not be the case for Sizing Europe and they would look to try and exploit it).

JW I think Katchit can go very well off a very strong pace and can come late and go very close.

AK This seems to hinge around the Greatwood Hurdle form. Sublimity won well on decent ground last year but I think it will be softer this year as they are already watering and will continue to do so if it doesn’t rain. If it is not soft then Sublimity comes right back into it but I don’t think Katchit is good enough. Sizing Europe would be my pick but 2/1 is very short.

WILLIAM HILL TROPHY

PN We will run Ofarel D’Airy and Le Volfoni and if Mister Pointment misses Doncaster this weekend due to fast ground, it is likely he will also run and he’ll go well wherever he runs.

DP An Accordion is very talented. He is still a big baby and lightly raced so has lots of potential. The blinkers helped him concentrate with his jumping when he won at Doncaster last time out and we purposely missed the Racing Post Chase for this. Over the Creek probably wouldn’t be quick enough and if he goes anywhere it will probably be the 4m National Hunt Chase. Abragante disappointed on his last two starts but he is showing signs of coming back to his old self at home.

JW Monkerhostin would be the best hope of our entries. He is also in the Gold Cup but we will probably give Paul Nicholls a chance and run him here instead! We are also likely to run Boychuk who is a real satyer than would prefer decent ground.

CROSS COUNTRY HANDICAP CHASE

PN We plan to run Royal Auclair who may run again before the Festival and Le Duc but this will go to the Irish, most likely a J P McManus-owned horse.

FRED WINTER JUVENILE NOVICES’ HANDICAP HURDLE

PN We may run Pierre Lunaire here as he wouldn’t be good enough for the Triumph Hurdle.

DP We have six horses in mind for the Imperial Cup-Festival race bonus (not necessarily the Fred Winter although Gaspara completed the double for the stable in this race last year – when pressed which he was unsurprisingly rather shy!)

BALLYMORE PROPERTIES NOVICES’ HURDLE

PN Breedsbreeze is our number one hope and Ruby is very sweet on him (he was short and sweet!)

DP We have no runners for this race.

JW We’ll probably run County Zen who was third in the totesport Trophy last time out and Pigeon Island has franked that form. He’s a tough horse that worked well yesterday and looks very good each-way value at a big price.

AK Group Captain’s win at this course last time out was very impressive over a trip probably short of his best when beating a Henderson horse that the yard think a lot of so I think he has a massive chance.

ROYAL & SUNALLIANCE CHASE

PN We run Silverburn and Ornais. The handicapper has given Ornais 156 for his last win and has Silverburn on 142 but we know Silverhand is in a different class to Ornais. He looks as well as we’ve ever had him and has a great chance, in fact, I think he is one of our best chances of the whole meeting.

DP Speaking to Denis O’Regan last week I think there is a good chance they might step Tidal Bay up in trip and run him here but Howard Johnson’s horses are not going well right now.

JW I’m not sure we’ll have anything this year as Gold Medallist is more likely to go for the Jewson and Pancake will only run if we get soft ground.

AK I really like Albertas Run who looks just the ideal sort for this race as he had a touch of class over hurdles, stays very well and his last run was very impressive.

QUEEN MOTHER CHAMPION CHASE

PN Don’t read anything into jockey bookings as it will be up to me and I would say it is very likely Ruby will ride Master Minded and Sam will ride Twist Magic as they are the horses they have won on this season at Newbury and Sandown so it makes sense it stays that way. I worked both of them together yesterday over 5f and they both went brilliantly. Master Minded has really impressed me with his improvement but I admit his jumping is a concern. As for Twist Magic, forget his Ascot run on that ground plus that is more of a stayers track than Cheltenham , and he’ll love Cheltenham . Fair play to Tamarinbleu for winning at Ascot on soft ground but I think it will be a different ball game on decent ground.

DP We haven’t decided whether Tamarinbleu runs here or the Ryanair and won’t until much nearer the day when we know the likely conditions plus what is turning up for each race as you can get late non-runners. I know Paul thinks Ascot was too soft for Twist Magic but I also think it was softer than Tamarinbleu appreciates. He’s still filling out so is still improving and has been a revelation since blinkers were fitted.

JW We run Fair Along for whom nothing went right when he was Arkle favourite last year. He wants all of two miles but gets no further and we think he has an each-way chance at a decent price.

AK I think Voy Por Ustedes has an impossible task and now wants 2m4f if not even 3m. On decent ground I would go for Twist Magic and on softish ground it would have to be Master Minded.

NATIONAL HUNT CHASE

DP (In the Q & A session I asked if Over the Creek goes here for a handicap or the SunAlliance) If Over The Creek goes anywhere it will be here. (he then looked me dead in the eye and said) And he would have a very, very, good chance.

WEATHERBYS CHAMPION BUMPER

PN The Irish will win it!

DP We’re not sure Big Eared Fran goes here yet (there have been rumours he has had problems).

JW Keki Buku would probably be our best chance of a winner at this year’s Festival. He has not run since easily winning at Uttoxeter in October beating Henrietta Knight’s good novice Calgary Bay .

WORLD HURDLE

PN We have nothing in the race but Howard Johnson’s string are not right at the moment which would be a concern for Inglis Drever. I saw My Way De Solzen in the paddock on Sunday at Fontwell and thought he looked big and well so wouldn’t be at all surprised if he ran a big race.

DP Lough Derg is an absolute superstar and even after a very hard race winning on Sunday he was kicking and bucking and as a fresh as a daisy the next day. The World Hurdle is a different story and although he should run a sound race, he has it to do. I was impressed with Kasbah Bliss at Haydock and A P being back on Wichita Lineman will help his chances.

JW We have nothing – it has to be Inglis Drever

AK I am not sure anything can beat Inglis Drever apart from himself, I’m sure he’s a monkey. I’m sure Wichita Lineman has purely been trained for his race and I hear rumours they may put headgear on him for the first time. I couldn’t rule out Lough Derg as he is game as the day is long. Wichita Lineman each-way for me.

RYANAIR CHASE

Again, this race was missed out until the Q & A session was there were limited quotes

PN I don’t think it actually looks that competitive which is why David should run Tamarinbleu here and not the Champion Chase! We run Turko who drops back in trip from 3m from when second in the Irish Hennessy and we think that will suit him.

DP Our Vic has a favourite’s chance but I do think 2m5f is a bit sharp for him around Cheltenham . Ideally 3m is his trip around here.

AK Our Vic is the one to beat

RACING POST PLATE

PN Gwanako would be our main hope. He had a nice run round the other day on his first look at British fences. (the impression was left there was plenty of improvement to come)

TRIUMPH HURDLE

PN Celestial Halo would be our main hope but Franchoek will be very hard to pass. We probably left him a bit underdone when beaten by Sentry Duty who is also probably very decent himself and he worked nicely with Rippling Ring yesterday. Five Dream would prefer it soft. I think Askkazar wants further.

DP Ashkazar was very impressive for us at Wincanton on his hurdling debut but the ground was too soft at Chepstow next time and he did it nicely at Sandown afterwards. He will be a lovely horse for the future and he is very well built for a 4yo with a real engine. Wherever he goes he will run well (suggesting the Supreme with an age allowance or the Fred Winter could yet be an option).

JW We have two possibles but Hibiki will have to win well at Ludlow to take his chance and it is more likely than not that The Grey Berry will bypass Cheltenham .

AK Franchoeck keeps improving, has got the form in the book, does not stop in front and has Cheltenham form so has everything you look for in a Triumph Hurdle horse.

GOLD CUP

PN Both Kauto Star and Denman are outstanding horses. Kauto Star has not missed any work since his scare after Ascot and will be very, very hard to beat but Denman worked well this morning and has done nothing wrong. Neptune Collonges put up his career best effort at Wincanton last time and Star De Mohaison could also run if Exotic Dancer doesn’t show up as his owner would be keen to have a runner.

DP I’d be a Kauto Star man. He’s won a Tingle Creek and Gold Cup and I would only switch to Denman if it came up bottomless.

JW Kauto Star.

AK On paper it is a match but Kauto Star is just unbelievable as he gallops, stays and has speed. I would prefer Kauto Star to Denman if it is not soft ground. I think Neptune Collonges is a flat track horse so the each-way value lies with Halcon Genelardais at 40/1 especially if it is softish ground.

FOXHUNTERS’

PN We will run two, Thisthatandtother and Lou Dun Moulin Mas. Thisthatandtother was beaten at odds of 1/8 last time out but he returned home with loads of problems and was lame. The big doubt is whether he will stay as he has never won beyond 2m5f and it is touch and go whether he will run.

GRAND ANNUAL

PN Andreas will almost certainly try and win this race for a second year running rather than take up his Champion Chase entry.

DAVID NICHOLSON MARES ONLY HURDLE

DP We run Gaspara who won at the Festival last year and all is going well with her preparation.