Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should women drink pints of Guinness?

• 13-01-2008 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭

I am for the wimmins indulging in a drink or two, letting their proverbial hair down and having the craic with their menfolk. Especially when towards the end of the evening they get a little amorous.

However, there is one thing that just does not seem right to me - wimmins drinking pints of Guinness. Pints of lager, pints of ales, even a glass of Guinness, not a bother. But pints of Guinness? It just seems, well, wrong.

Discuss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

I say thee nay!!!

Theres just something a bit.... off about it. Guiness seems way too heavy for the wimmins delicate constitutions, would be very surprised if I found out one was well into them and not from the backarse of nowhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Mrs trout tells me wimmins should be allowed drink pints of whatevertheydamnwellplease ... including the Guinness*

If your bitter half (see what I did there ?) drinks the same as you, then you have an easy round, and an excuse to let rip in the wee small hours, and then blame herself.

*albeit with a dash of blackcurrant to take the sting out of it.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

There's a young one where I work and it's frightening to see her put away pints of Guinness. She's only a little slip of a thing and you'd swear she was drinking water the way she goes through it with seemingly little or no effect on her. If only to stop this abomination (and her showing the blokes up) I say let them stick to glasses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

No problem with it at all. ;)

Now, if they want to sweeten it with a bit of blackcurrent, then we've got a problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

I was over on the mainland for a weekend, in Wales, and some bint got a pint of Arthur's with blackcurrant.

She got one of them long Knickerbocker Glory spoons, you know the ones, and proceeded to stir the pint into a suddy mess, then eat the head off it with the spoon :eek:

What an eejit.

As for wimmins drinking pints of the black stuff, meh, I don't care what the wimmins do, as long as they bring me my beer at regular intervals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Stky10

As long as they stand their round, and don't get silly stupid drunk... they can drink what they want for all I care.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

As long as she is cooking a nice dinner for me and it isn't MY Guinness, she can drink what she likes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

Now, if they want to sweeten it with a bit of blackcurrent, then we've got a problem.

:eek: Sacrilege.

Of all the indignity - wimmins drinking pints of Guinness with blackcurrant.

Down with that sort of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Aside from being delicious, pint for pint Guinness has fewer calories than semi-skimmed milk, orange juice and most beers. Just another reason why I love my pints of black :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

N

I agree, that's almost sacreligious.
    The only thing worse than that is when you get a Guinness and they draw a face in it.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Women in general tend to have smaller hands then men, as such the pint glass looks disproportionate in the hand of most women.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Boston wrote: »
    Women in general tend to have smaller hands then men, as such the pint glass looks disproportionate in the hand of most women.

Surely the ultimate anti wimmin argument.

I can see it now:

"YOU LOOK WRONG!!!"

DesF wrote: »
    I was over on the mainland for a weekend, in Wales, and some bint got a pint of Arthur's with blackcurrant.

She got one of them long Knickerbocker Glory spoons, you know the ones, and proceeded to stir the pint into a suddy mess, then eat the head off it with the spoon :eek:

I abhor violence against women, but you know, just sometimes...

g'em wrote: »
    Aside from being delicious, pint for pint Guinness has fewer calories than semi-skimmed milk, orange juice and most beers. Just another reason why I love my pints of black :D

Sorry, run that by me again, I didn't quite understand what you're on about.

g'em wrote: »

All I heard there was "delicious" and "pints of Guinness".

The rest was all just mumbo-jumbo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Endasaurus

Jaysus this board is busy :eek:

Is this blackcurrant thing as god awful as it sounds? Have any Brothers ever chanced it and lived to tell the tale? Would ruin the stuff as far as I'm concerned, never understood it.

What are these calorie yokes when they're at home?!

zaph wrote: »
    I abhor violence against women, but you know, just sometimes...
    I actually had to get up and walk away with head in my hands Brother zaph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Sorry, run that by me again, I didn't quite understand what you're on about.
    As a wimmin I just wanted to speak out regarding my support of fellow wimmins drinking pints of Guinness. Unfortunately I let my wimministic tendencies get the better of me and started to waffle about other nonsense. My sincerest apologies...
    Tom Dunne wrote: »
    All I heard there was "delicious" and "pints of Guinness".
    See above Tom, my bad. Consider my lesson learnt :o
    Endasaurus wrote: »
    I'm not entirely sure myself, but I have to sort of pretend to know so I can Moderate the-forum-that-is-not-to-be-spoken-of. If anyone finds out feel free to drop me a PM. Grassy-arse ;)

DesF wrote:
    I actually had to get up and walk away with head in my hands Brother zaph.

A wise course of action Brother Des, although any reasonable judge would accept that you were provoked and could not be held responsible for your actions.

Endasaurus wrote: »

I believe they are some kind of gas heater? No?

Yes.

Also the eponymous lady in Steve Winwood's 80's hit, remixed to great effect in that Call on Me video by Eric Prydz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Tbh, I'm not a fan of wimmin and pints of Guinness, I agree it looks wrong. In fact, I'm not a fan of women drinking pints of anything. It might be because I'm quite petite and I look silly drinking pints. However, it's up to the wimmin in question! I've actaully never really tasted Guinness, the only time I've had it is when I make beef and Guinness stew... which I'm making tonight. mmmm, beef!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

I like guinness with Tia Maria in it but wouldn't really have a full pint.:cool:

moco wrote: »
    I like guinness with Tia Maria in it but wouldn't really have a full pint.:cool:
    :eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

:eek::eek::eek::eek:

:eek:What?:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,427 ✭✭✭Dr Strange

TM is a no-no.

What? What is wrong with putting Tia Maria into Guinness?

That's like saying what is wrong with men ironing their own clothes, or watching Corination Street when the match is on.

shudder

Guinness ahould not be sullied with any extra ingredients.

If Uncle Arthur wanted us to have Blackcurrant, or Tia Maria flavoured stout, he would have added them at the time he was creating this famous, delicious liquid.
    Preusse wrote: »
    TM is a no-no.
    See.
    What? What is wrong with putting Tia Maria into Guinness?

Very eloquently put Brother Tom.

If Uncle Arthur wanted us to have Blackcurrant, or Tia Maria flavoured stout, he would have added them at the time he was creating this famous, delicious liquid.
    Quite right, Brother DesF. And he would've gone bankrupt within weeks of introducing it. Or, and I hate to think of it, we could all be sipping that stuff, probably with a little umbrella thingy in it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Guinness tastes fúcking wretched.
    There, I've said it. :cool:

The-Rigger wrote: »

The-Rigger banned. For life.

I'm sending somebody around to where he lives to have some sense beaten into him.

Hmm. OK. Do you like blackcurrant ? Or satsumas ?

The-Rigger banned. For life.

I'm sending somebody around to where he lives to have some sense beaten into him.
    Wait, wait, wait.

Is The-Rigger a Brother or a Brotherette, because with an attitude like that, I reckon she's a Brotherette tbh.
    trout wrote: »
    :D Well played.

Is The-Rigger a Brother or a Brotherette, because with an attitude like that, I reckon she's a Brotherette tbh.

Ok, perhaps I was a little hasty. But it is a measure of how appalled I was at such a statement.

The-Rigger - prove you are a wimmins. Or not.

Glass houses brother! I wouldn't touch that sh1te!
    I wouldn't be into that excercise sh1te you were trying, ya big metro! :D
    Wait, wait, wait.

:D Well played.

There are other kinds of alcohol. Guinness tastes how it looks, sh1te.

Guinness tastes how it looks, sh1te.

S/He said it again, s/he said it again....stone her/him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Guinness shouldn't be tampered with! I'm no fan of drinking the stuff but i KNOW not to mix it! :rolleyes:

I'd drink pints of other beers, i've never given the black stuff a good try, it does look funny being drunk by wimmin.

Also men look funny drinking cocktails ;) particularly ones with umbrellas and straws in them :eek:

There are other kinds of alcohol. Guinness tastes how it looks, sh1te.

Heretic!
    Cathooo wrote: »
    Guinness shouldn't be tampered with! I'm no fan of drinking the stuff but i KNOW not to mix it! :rolleyes:

I'd drink pints of other beers, i've never given the black stuff a good try, it does look funny being drunk by wimmin.

Also men look funny drinking cocktails ;) particularly ones with umbrellas and straws in them :eek:

Well said. Good woman.

*pats Cathooo on the behind*

Cathooo wrote: »
    That's why we don't.

Preusse wrote: »
    S/He said it again, s/he said it again....stone her/him!

What's the big hoopla? Do you like the taste of every alcoholic drink/beer/stout/spirit you've ever tasted? Honestly :)

Yet on the flip side, you are all very understanding of Brother Trout going fruity, and getting exercise! :p

*pats Cathooo on the behind*

oh god thanks! :o

Des I've seen men drink the cocktails, it's just wrong, no men i was hanging out with though ;)

Any man that chooses one of these

vakantiegoed-links-cocktails3-groot.jpg

over this

Guinness%20PInt.jpg

should be made turn in his man-card and have a compulsory sex change

What's the big hoopla? Do you like the taste of every alcoholic drink/beer/stout/spirit you've ever tasted? Honestly :)

Yet on the flip side, you are all very understanding of Brother Trout going fruity, and getting exercise! :p

I never...uhm...err.....he's at it again.....down with that sort of thing!

In fairness ... Brother zaph suggested I stick a cork in it, a champagne cork no less, Brother DesF basically told me I get what I deserve for eating fruit regardless of being clinically dead at the time, and you called me a fuppin' metro! All very understanding indeed ;)

BTW ... I don't consider rugby to be exercise ... not the way I play. I tend to trot from set piece to set piece, pausing only to hit people who stray into my line of sight. Kinda like a hippo charging at trees ... it's hardly exercise. :cool:

Very true Zaph! I'll send any on their way when next I see it happen

Hmmmm cocktails

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Two girls I work with, both very slim, can nearly drink more Guinness then I can water. :eek:

In fairness ... Brother zaph suggested I stick a cork in it, a champagne cork no less, Brother DesF basically told me I get what I deserve for eating fruit regardless of being clinically dead at the time, and you called me a fuppin' metro! All very understanding indeed ;)

lol, I did, that made me :D.

BTW ... I don't consider rugby to be exercise ... not the way I play. I tend to trot from set piece to set piece, pausing only to hit people who stray into my line of sight. Kinda like a hippo charging at trees ... it's hardly exercise. :cool:

LOL, Brilliant, that actually sounds entertaining Brother, albeit a bit strenuous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I agree! The only thing that should be put in a pint of Guinness is more Guinness! :mad::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Well getting back on track. I knew this girl in college who could drink everyone else under the table. She won the yard of ale twice and was able to down a guinness in 2.8 seconds.

She was only about 5 foot and not a pick on her :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Guinness%20PInt.jpg

Go back up with that and tell the barman to put a proper head on it. :mad: