Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ASM Clermont Auv V Munster

• 13-01-2008 12:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭

Anyone else as excited about the Tipoki/Mafi/Howlett V Rougerie/Bai/Malzieu battle as me? Not to mention O'Gara V Brock James, should be a cracker.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

Anyone her what DOC said on the way out to the pitch? The sky sports guy had to apologise for the bad language :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

the ref was completely in the way for that try

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Thank fcuk no try. I'd settle for a losing bp at this stage. Clermont look quality.

Were going to be hammered. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Try Cleremont

what was the ref thinking saying that payne knocked it forward. it rolled backed towards the line and clermont have a try now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Horan out on the wing again, suprise suprise.

carney needed to hit into horan to drive back in and towards the line more

20-6 HT. We need a converted try to get into a LBP position. We need to take them on big time at the start of t 2nd half with extra man.

Horan on the wing again, what a joke. We need a fkin try. Wallace looks the most dangerous forward as usual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

20-6 HT. We need a converted try to get into a LBP position. We need to take them on big time at the start of t 2nd half with extra man.

Horan on the wing again, what a joke. We need a fkin try. Wallace looks the most dangerous forward as usual.

Wallace let in the second try though..... I cant understand that for such a experinced player why when he is the pillar follow the SH???? And what happens Minoni throws a gregan ball to Ledezma and try

Just looking at the replay on SS of Munsters try that wasnt. Should have been given according the analysts. Fcuk that ref, hes falling for their codology. We'll get em in the 2nd half!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Lordy lord...damage limitation here we come...particularly idiotic first 15 from Munster though. "Let's keep kicking the ball to the most devastating backline in French rugby in our own half"...yes lads that'll work...d'oh!

Nothing wrong with that Munster try either. Clermont playing the ref like a violin...Joubert a bloody disgrace, guy should get a trial for an Italian football team, he's that good/bad....

Stev_o wrote: »
    Wallace let in the second try though..... I cant understand that for such a experinced player why when he is the pillar follow the SH???? And what happens Minoni throws a gregan ball to Ledezma and try

True, that was poor. Going forward hes the most dangerous.

Just looking at the replay on SS of Munsters try that wasnt. Should have been given according the analysts. Fcuk that ref, hes falling for their codology. We'll get em in the 2nd half!

exactly. it was a decoy that worked really well. clermont knew their only chance was to throw their hands ups and the ref went for it. 14 points there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

20-6 HT.

Horan on the wing again, what a joke. .

Yep, bleedin nightmare....Carney should have got that ball....sigh..Note to Marcus Horan...You're a bleedin prop forward!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

What a stupid pass by O'Gara 2 meters in front of the line.

Looks like Flannry learned a thing or two from Clohessey. Dont xpect too see him on a rugby pitch for a long long time.

Definitely against the run of play. We'll take it. :D

Fingers crossed for the bonus points lads!!

The English commentators are so hoping we don't get a BP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Stupid question say it ended 23 all.
    Is it 2 points each for both teams or just the one point for the draw

EDIT:Its ok I got it its 2 points each :) draw would be nice :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,160 ✭✭✭randomer

Why was that not a red card? A punch to the face straight in front of the ref?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Should have been a red card! Some v odd decisions going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Quinlan was holding his jersey, what was he meant to do? Red card wouldn't have been warrented.

Amz wrote: »
    Quinlan was holding his jersey

Then it would be retaliation and a punch.

stuart barnes is completely talking through his ass. so biased!

Ref has been atrocious. Clermont have been the dirtier side but not by 3 cards to none.

Flannery deserves a long long ban for that stamp. Disgraceful.

I can see Flannery missing the six nations, but it depends whether he looked down or not.

randomer wrote: »
    I can see Flannery missing the six nations, but it depends whether he looked down or not.

The fact that he stamped twice to me says it was intentional look down or not.

Maybe. There was someone "at" his leg, so if he didn't look down he may get away with it, or at least that will be his defence!

But there wasnt, he stamped on an unprotected head....twice.

Very cowardly and disgraceful. He deserves at least 6-8 weeks for that.

Great second half!!

So what happens now? ....Do we need to get a BP against Wasps and deny them a BP?

suppafly wrote: »
    stuart barnes is completely talking through his ass. so biased!

Agree 100%. Hate da prick! Great result. Never has a defeat felt so much like a win. Good comeback from 20-3 down. At least its in our own hands now! We win were thru, we lose were out. What a game Wasps should be.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

we need to win by more than one point against wasps. thats it

jamieh wrote: »
    Great second half!!

So what happens now? ....Do we need to get a BP against Wasps and deny them a BP?

no we just have beat wasps by at least a point

But there wasnt, he stamped on an unprotected head....twice.

Very cowardly and disgraceful. He deserves at least 6-8 weeks for that.

Just rewound it and watched it again. Uh Oh Spaggettio! He's in trouble.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

I've just been on RTE Sports site and theres no mention of the game,score,team...nothin!! Whats the craic there?? Anyone fill me in on that??

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

jamieh wrote: »
    Great second half!!

The win will definately be enough if we deny them the losing bonus point. If wasps get a losing bonus it gets more complicated. As best as I can figure it

If wasps pick up a losing bonus then will come down to a head to head record (possibly three way if CA take five points in Wales) as three teams will be on 19 pts. In the case of this three way tie Munster will go through as we will have picked up 11 points against the other two teams in the head to head as opposed to Wasps and CA. who will have 9 points each. In case of a tie between only Munster and wasps it will come down to tries scored (currently 2-2). In the case of equal tries scored it will be points difference so we would only have to win by more than one point. (So I think wasps could lose by less than 7 but score more tries and go through, or is it points diff first then tries? EDIT- Checked the ERC website and this is possible)

I think :)

Just rewound it and watched it again. Uh Oh Spaggettio! He's in trouble.

Yea the second i saw it I said he'll be in deep water. i never can bring myself to defend players when they do that. Its a pity cos i dont want best in at hooker again, maybe Jackman mite get in for Ireland now although he cant throw to save his granny!

Gridlock wrote: »
    I've just been on RTE Sports site and theres no mention of the game,score,team...nothin!! Whats the craic there?? Anyone fill me in on that??

Sky doesnt exist too RTE. ;)

Flannry deserves to sit for the rest of the season tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭NotWormBoy

What happens if Munster beat Wasps by a single point? It comes down to tries scored in the two matches between them doesn't it?

(edit, just saw Marco's post, I was trying to work that out myself, cheers dude)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,981 ✭✭✭✭phog

Amz wrote: »
    Quinlan was holding his jersey, what was he meant to do? Red card wouldn't have been warrented.

If a player punched everytime his jersy was held then we'd have a free for all. A punch should always be penalised by a red card.
    Ref has been atrocious. Clermont have been the dirtier side but not by 3 cards to none.

The 3 cards that were issued were well deserved so how many cards would you have given against Munster - you need to exclude the Flannery incident as it wasn't picked up by ref ot TJ.

BTW - a stamp on the face is not acceptable.

phog wrote: »
    If a player punched everytime his jersy was held then we'd have a free for all. A punch should always be penalised by a red card.

If players were to be sent of everytime punches were thrown we'd have atleast 1 sending off every match.

Wallace called it perfectly, munster were just as dirty but they did it alot more sublte where as Clermont just didnt have the experience/sense too get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,981 ✭✭✭✭phog

The stamping incident here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n0soxm9uFYQ.

Not conclusive about whether he knew he was stamping on a head or not - still not acceptable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

26-19 to Clermont in the end, but a brilliant comeback by Munster earned them an invaluable BP that effectively knocks the French side out of the competition. It looked as if they were down and out during the first half but once again they showed what they were made of in the second half with a spirited recovery.

Munster mightn't be a flashy side, like Leinster are on occasions but by god they give it there all and thats why they've been so successful in this competition over the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭remus808

Holy feck, my heart near stopped at the end with that drop goal attempt!! Worked out ok in the end though :D Glorious in defeat from Munster... Dodgy ref though!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,676 ✭✭✭jayteecork

Flannery could be out for the rest of the season, and deservedly so, that was ****ing shocking. Could have EASILY taken the guy's eye out.

Munster were dog haunted to come away with anything there. Besides a ten minute spell in the second half they were utterly outplayed, and couldn't even score 15 versus 13.
    Ref was awfully biased.
    I'm saying all this as a Munster fan.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

jayteecork wrote: »
    Ref was awfully biased.

I agree with most of your post except what ive quoted. In the first half a thought mignoni was the ref ffs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭matt cork

great game and can't wait for next week, going to be can't watch tv for me!! (as a wasps fan)

in relation to the flannery incident, stamping on a player head is of course un acceptable but i'd like to give him the benefit of the doubt here as it looks to me as if he was trying to rid of the hand/arm holding him as he moved round the back of the ruck

as a point aside can someone please do away with stuart barnes, officially top of my most annoying list!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

jayteecork wrote: »
    Ref was awfully biased.
    I'm saying all this as a Munster fan.
    I don't really see how that was the case tbh. Yes there were 3 sin bins but they were for blatant offences. 2 clear cut professional fouls and a punch in front of the ref. Munster may have been on the edge themselves but thats the way it goes. Not all infringements can be expected to be seen. Aside from that what other controversies were there?