Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Introduce yourself & your "reason" thread

• 13-01-2008 1:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭

I wouldn't call myself a non-drinker though I plan on going clean for the next few months at least.

I'm cutting my sugar intake so needless to say beer is out. 8 days off the beer now, have turned down 2 nights out already & on friday went out with a friend and had some non-alchoholic stuff in the czech inn.

Already feel better, much less tired all the time. I acknowledge this could be to do with cutting out sugar/chocolate etc too.

Anyway I've always found it annoying that if you choose to not drink for a night people really demand a reason for it. I've known people who even try to make you drink if you're on anti-biotics!

I like getting drunk sometimes but have gotten sick it being the only thing to be done when socialising. I only have one friend who never drinks & he doesn't get stick over it at all - as he has a "reason", he's never drank in his life. Though if I don't want to for a night I get the Spanish inquisition. Anyway the sugar thing will be my reason but I'm hoping that if I don't entertain the questions they may go away!

Have you all got "reasons" for not drinking or just don't enjoy it/never interested?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

As I may have previously mentioned elsewhere, it's my love for beer that requires me to lay off it. Still waiting though.:(

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭thusspakeblixa

I never have drank, just had some bad experiences with family and friends drinking when I was younger, and I guess that turned me off it from an early age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 186 ✭✭NonDrinkersClub

Meds forever! Used to drink, but I always knew it didn't agree with me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Mr.M

I had a "bit" of a fondness for it so some of my friends issued me a challenge to see how long i could stay off it..early last week it just went past the one year mark and i've no real interest in getting back on it again tbh..i actually remember my nights out no anymore which is a big bonus..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

not arsed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

Two reasons for me: Made me do things I regretted, and also trying to cut out unhealthy food & drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Recently realised that lately I've been hitting the drink in a big way in order to forget about certain things that I need to get sorted. Decided after a crying episode (oh yes, I am *that* girl) that it was time to stop. If I'm going to sort my head out I need to do it sober.

Haven't had a drink since New Year's Eve. Might not seem that long but I'm happy. Have been to the pub twice in that time and have no intention of not going out with my friends. As far as I'm concerned, if you can't go to the pub with your mates and not have a drink then you really do have a problem.

Liking sobriety so far, and the extra cash has been wonderful :)

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭Richie860504

Been trying to give it up for a long time now but wasn't able to go out and not drink. Also diagnosed with depression. So been goin to a doctor for a while now and started goin to see an alcohol counsellor, Was given antabuse there on Thursday so hopefully this will help me stay off it now. Wanted to give it up but just didn't have the willpower. Wanted to give it up because it was messing up my life and costing a fortuneand also made me a completley different person and not the nice kind either.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,250 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

Hi everyone I just wnna say that it's so refreshing to come across a forum like this on the net cos i honestly didnt think there were a lot of people like me. I wouldnt say i'm a non-drinker cos i do have the odd drink but that is very rarely. I have just never been into the whole pub/club scene and i know i never will be. I just hate the way people act when they are under the influence of alcohol and i dnt feel very safe goin out either tbh cos the city is just a nightmare on a Sat night. I love to go to the cinema or out for a meal but I guess sometimes you feel like you're missing out on something if you dnt go to the pub mainly because everyone else goes but at the end of the day I'd rather be curled up in front of the tv with a good dvd then be out in a crowded bar and not being able to breathe or hold a conversation for that matter because of the deafening noise!

well that's my opinion on the whole situation!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Do a lot of running (road races etc.) and was adamant that performance wasn't affected by having few. On a non-comp night, I might even indulge quite heavily.

Then realised that although the drink mightn't affect performance directly, it WAS affecting sleep and I didn't appreciate how critical that was. Every bit as significant as diet really. You don't sleep properly at all with alcohol in your system.

Now happier, more energy (mentally) and far less prone to downers. :) It's an uphill climb socially on the orange juice. But more than worth it - true buddies will understand.

Funnily enough I didn't pack it in as a NYear thing... nor did I go cold turkey. I started scaling down from mid-Dec and had a real good Christmas. Much great feeling of self-control too. I have odd pint now - maybe one a weekend/every 3 weekends. But no longer feel like I am in some willpower fight. I may go on a bender again in future but it'll be a time of my choosing and I'll walk away again afterwards.

Going to fulfull lifelong dream to buy top racing bike on the money I save. In short, highly recommended.

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭MLE

I have more fun without it, I like feeling in control of what I do/say and not drinking gives me this control.

leahyl wrote: »
    Hi everyone I just wnna say that it's so refreshing to come across a forum like this on the net cos i honestly didnt think there were a lot of people like me. I wouldnt say i'm a non-drinker cos i do have the odd drink but that is very rarely. I have just never been into the whole pub/club scene and i know i never will be. I just hate the way people act when they are under the influence of alcohol and i dnt feel very safe goin out either tbh cos the city is just a nightmare on a Sat night. I love to go to the cinema or out for a meal but I guess sometimes you feel like you're missing out on something if you dnt go to the pub mainly because everyone else goes but at the end of the day I'd rather be curled up in front of the tv with a good dvd then be out in a crowded bar and not being able to breathe or hold a conversation for that matter because of the deafening noise!

well that's my opinion on the whole situation!

So glad you like the forum! I completely agree with you...the city is a total nightmare on a Saturday alright. I used to live just outside the city centre and every weekend we'd find a load of puke and piss all over our front porch. I'm also a big fan of staying at home with a good DVD instead of going out to some smelly noisy pub. Cinema's great too - just saw Sweeney Todd and it was pretty good (a lotta singin' though). You should come along to the Quiz I'm organising soon...it'll defo be a place where people can talk! It's in Dublin though, dunno where you're at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 842 ✭✭✭Weidii

I didn't have a sip of alcohol til I was 20, my reason was that I had a bet on with my uncle since I was 12 that I wouldn't drink Til I was 18, and I didn't take it up straight away after.

Must try to give it up again for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

Hey good forum :)

Been on boads ages and never seen it before, i dont drink
    because im a alcoholic and get voilent from drink...

Good to be here k.

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭curehead

Been on boards ages and never seen it before, i don't drink
    because im a alcoholic and get violent from drink...

did you not have a few cans the other night according to your post on heroin

de nial is not just a river in egypt

I suppose alcoholics and non-drinkers are quite different types of people for obvious reasons.

To summarise the different reasons given:

1. Full-Time Non Drinker - includes all those who can't / don't drink due to medical / moral / taste / life choice reasons
    2. Occasional Non-Drinker - those who occasionally drink for social / comfort reasons but may think of themselves as non-drinkers during long periods of non-drinking
    3. Alcoholic - those who feel they are dependant on alcohol but usually wouldn't call themselves non-drinkers / occasional non-drinkers even if they are no longer drinking

I think alcoholism frightens many Non-Drinkers. Seeing the effects of alcoholism on others may even be a reason why they don't drink. For those Non Drinkers that are less familiar with alcoholism, it can be hard to understand it and they may feel they have nothing in common.

Any opinions?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Fobia

I'm similar to Bottle of Smoke, I'm just giving it up now, and only temporarily. I'm trying to cut down majorly though. I'm not a heavy drinker by any means, I'd normally go out 2 nights a week, get drunk, but don't tend to embarass myself or anything like that.
    I'm cutting down because A) I have an awful lot of alcoholism in the males of my family, and really don't want to turn out like most of my uncles/grandad did. B) I can't afford to drink that much right now, though I've been playing it cheap for a long time now for that reason. Drinking prior to the club and only Fosters once inside ;) C) I just got back from Amsterdam last week and my body needs a serious break from all drugs for a while. Detox if you will.

Also, I have a car so can get away with not drinking while out without anyone blinking an eye - I'm the designated driver!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

This is a great idea. I am going to use this club to motivate me. Thank you all. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Just wanted to point out that I think this forum is for people who have decided not to drink, as opposed to some kind of AA meeting :)

I wouldn't consider myself a non-drinker, but a very occasional one, perhaps 2-3 times a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

I've been reading this forum since it started but have only posted once before I think.

I've given up drink for months at a time in the past but kinda went downhill in the past. Like a lot of Irish people I kinda struggle in social situations and have used alcohol a crutch. It's not a solution though.
    I've realy cut back since New Years Eve and it's brilliant to wake up on Saturday feeling fresh and not spending the weekend being paranoid did I insult someone from work while drunk the night before. Liking the extra cash in my pocket too.
    It's gives me so much time to do other things like this trying to get fit (must update my fitness log on boards) and I might sign up for the 5 a side football I've been reading about here.

So I've set myself a goal of staying off drink until St. Patricks day and another lad in work has done the same. We promised to fine each other €50 if we fail so that's extra motivation. And I signed up to a marathon in April so I can't afford to be drinking with my shocking lack of fitness :(

And it would be so much easier if rock shandys or even a Diet 7up weren't such a rip off price!!
    Fair play to the people who started this forum and organize the events, it's a great idea.

My one tip for people is if you are in Dublin, get a cineworld card. €20 a month and it pays for itself after a while

zAbbo wrote: »
    Just wanted to point out that I think this forum is for people who have decided not to drink, as opposed to some kind of AA meeting :)
    QUOTE]

Actually, this forum is for both drinkers and non drinkers who are interested in participating in non drinking events. You're right though, this is not the place for AA meetings! That's not what we're about :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

I wouldn't call myself a non-drinker though I plan on going clean for the next few months at least.

I'm cutting my sugar intake so needless to say beer is out. 8 days off the beer now, have turned down 2 nights out already & on friday went out with a friend and had some non-alchoholic stuff in the czech inn.

Already feel better, much less tired all the time. I acknowledge this could be to do with cutting out sugar/chocolate etc too.

Anyway I've always found it annoying that if you choose to not drink for a night people really demand a reason for it. I've known people who even try to make you drink if you're on anti-biotics!

I like getting drunk sometimes but have gotten sick it being the only thing to be done when socialising. I only have one friend who never drinks & he doesn't get stick over it at all - as he has a "reason", he's never drank in his life. Though if I don't want to for a night I get the Spanish inquisition. Anyway the sugar thing will be my reason but I'm hoping that if I don't entertain the questions they may go away!

Have you all got "reasons" for not drinking or just don't enjoy it/never interested?

You could always drink whiskey instead if you're so worried about excess sugar in beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭ricey

curehead wrote: »
    Been on boards ages and never seen it before, i don't drink
    because im a alcoholic and get violent from drink...

did you not have a few cans the other night according to your post on heroin

de nial is not just a river in egypt

ya i did but that was called a relapse!

Hey Lads - yiz are gettin' a bit hardcore here - remember you are among non-drinkers, many of whom are that way by choice and not because they have drinking problem. This forum is about socialising...so remember who your audience are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭elekid

I'm 24 and I only started drinking when I was 21, after I finished college. And when I say drinking I mean at most 2 drinks and only on very rare occasions. I was never really into it and neither were any of my friends or my brother so I've never felt any pressure to drink. When I was younger I used to hate when my parents came home drunk and acting different to normal so I swore I would never be like that myself. I don't really like the idea of not being in control of my actions. I've also always made sure I have a stack of games to play and dvds to watch so if I'm not meeting my friends for a meal or going to the cinema I still have plenty to occupy me. In fact I haven't had any alcohol so far this year and I think I'll keep it that way :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Cocobells

I really cant understand most people in this thread, ive been drinking since i was about 14, every weekend, I live for the weekends, going out having a buzz with your mates, clashing heads, getting rat arsed, pulling birds, and yes im nearly 30. enjoying the high life. I dont know what everyone else is doing, enjoy your time curled up beside the fire with a book is all I can say you boring ***** you're not welcome down my local :)

• Registered Users, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

You're really clever alright!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Cocobells wrote: »
    I really cant understand most people in this thread, ive been drinking since i was about 14, every weekend, I live for the weekends, going out having a buzz with your mates, clashing heads, getting rat arsed, pulling birds, and yes im nearly 30. enjoying the high life. I dont know what everyone else is doing, enjoy your time curled up beside the fire with a book is all I can say you boring ***** you're not welcome down my local :)

You probably can't understand much at all Cocobells.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭LaVidaLoca

The whole point is that just because people in here dont drink alcohol, doesnt mean they have to sit at home being boring.

The link between alcohol and having fun is cultural, not essential.

I party all night and dance till dawn a **** lot more sober than I did drunk. And I enjoy it a hell of a lot more. And I dont have to spend all day in bed feeling like **** the next day.

Think of it like this: Imagine you grew up in a culture where every time anyone went to listen to music, they took Ecstasy first. A culture where most people literally couldnt imagine listening to music without doing this. Going to a gig would automatically equal being E'd out of you head. The only music available would be mind-numbing thumping techno, - no rock, no jazz, no funk, no classical or anything else, because music=MDMA.

Thats kind of where Irish culture is at with alcohol, except not just with music, with all types of fun - music, socialising, 'pulling birds'.

There are other countries on the planet where people do these things without being completely mashed out of their heads. And as a result they enjoy them more: The make real lasting friends on their nights out, meet members of the opposite sex they are actually attracted to and dance to music that they actually like.

I would say that people who live like that are "enjoying the high life" a lot more than most Irish.

• Registered Users, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Well said , sadly theres too many "sheep" in this country that regurgitate the same old prattle as mentioned above!:rolleyes: