Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RECON 1st Airsoft Div

• 11-01-2008 6:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭

right been working on this idea for a while now ,
    launching the newest airsoft team ,Marine Recon 1st airsoft div,
    as you can see by the name the team will primarily based on the USMC force recon teams ,
    team will consist of 12 people with the core team made up of 6 regular players at hrta and a mix of new and casual players,

loadout will consist of M4's and team uniforms of usmc marpat woodland and desert bdu's

we also launched a bebo page till a permanent webspace can be set up,http://www.bebo.com/marinerecon1stdiv

also a team mobile ph number for information,

anyone intrested recruiting will take place over the next 3 weeks at hrta starting tomorrow so please if you have any intrest in being part of a full time team pm me for information

Recon2.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

nice logo thingy.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

its the team patch ,just needs a slight change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Irish Trinity

good luck setting up the team lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

Load out is M4s? Does this mean you'll be hanging up your beloved P90 Gatling?

Good luck with the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

what camo you using?

Gatling wrote:
    launching the newest airsoft team ,Marine Recon 1st airsoft div,

Gatling did ya know that "div" means Idiot/thick/fool in english slang.,lol :D:p

kd were going with woodland Marpat ,and desert .

also the team is signed up for the night op next month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Fair play Gatling, hope it works out great!

why dont you sign up when you have your gear zero

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Ohh, we better get a move on with our team.

Note on patch: Looks nice but will it be practical to use on uniforms?

yeah it will practicial ,going to be edited slightly ,but will still look pretty much the same ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,561 ✭✭✭andy_g

i will have the team ph number up tomorrow on the teams bebo page again for any information needed contact myself or gatling.

regards andy:cool:

im at HRTA all day if anyone wants to sign up tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭sci-ops

Gatling, all the best with the new team m8. As much as I would like to enlist in what would essentially be my preferred type of team (American etc...) I am in college on Saturday's for the next 3 months or so. Besides, I just purchased aload of the acu gear (or will be, the wife is in New York next with a shopping list :D) and don't have the cash to purchase some woodland just yet.

All the best though. Like the patch, even if it ain't quite the finished article.

sci-ops ,you join in anytime in the future ,its going to take a while to get everybody kitted out in the team loadout

due to a total feck up on my behalf ,myself and andy g couldnt makes todays session , but we will both be there next week with 4/5 team members,if any one wants to join

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Popanddrop

You maybe should consider widening your choice of weapons to create a better team

loadout is based on the USMC Force recon teams.
    M4A1.
    Kimber II 45s .
    M4O siper rifle .
    M14 marksman rifle .including the EBR
    M249 .

thats the current Recon loadout ,thats we are going with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

Popanddrop wrote: »
    You maybe should consider widening your choice of weapons to create a better team

Weapons don't make a team better. Give 10 fools M249s against 5 experienced players with the rifle they've trained with and my money is on the rifle, not the saw. Just because the weapon selection is limited doesn't mean it's bad or wrong or even restrictive. It means that if that person isn't used to that gun, they'll just have to start from scratch. Expanding the range means lack of coherence between weapons as well as lack of uniformity. Force Recon don't chop and change their selection to get more recruits, why should a team basing themselves on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Popanddrop

Gatling wrote: »
    loadout is based on the USMC Force recon teams.
    M4A1.
    Kimber II 45s .
    M4O siper rifle .
    M14 marksman rifle .including the EBR
    M249 .

thats the current Recon loadout ,thats we are going with

ya that is a grand line up

why dont you sign up when you have your gear zero

Thanks for the offer mate i would except i just got the P90 and some Russian camo, and ordered a bunch of hi caps :o lol

worth a try. vests are undecided yet ,maybe just chest rigs and camel packs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭penguin-o7

just an opinion but camo should be the same but vests should be personal preference.

recritment this saturday ,will also need a few hands to set up a base in HRTA ,paul gave permission a couple of weeks ago to put a new base some where in HRTA still deciding on where best to place it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

fix up the bus and make your base mobile :p

was thinking that already want to mount the jet ski on the roof to use as an observation post

If you're doing that, I want the motor out of it first. I'd hazard a guess I could get it going.

what you making the base out of gatling?

dex by the look of that ski i dont thik its ever gonna be running again.,lol the hovercraft would be class though, it only uses a 2 cyl engine and is pretty basic to run.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

ok guys heres the plan for saturday Dex you get the jet ski working, Richie you get the hovercraft working and gatling you make it bus look like this

technodromeflame.jpg

You'd be surprised, I've pulled out jetski motors in the past that looked like hell but after a good clean and some tlc. The hovercraft is doable too. The skirt is intact for the most part and all the fingers are in place. The fan cowl is solid but a new rudder and pair of thrust destroyers. Easily made. Then engine would need a new mount and all the decklids need replacing. Again, easily fabbed. I'd need to see underneath it to check the piping is ok to the float ring and the skirt itself. Throttle would need to be re run for the new engine and the steering could do with an overhaul. It's functioning as it stands but the push/pull bars are sagging, they need bracing and protection.

With the right materials and a few hands you'd have that up and running in a few days

ok guys heres the plan for saturday Dex you get the jet ski working, Richie you get the hovercraft working and gatling you make it bus look like this

technodromeflame.jpg

LOL., the third dimension from the turtles.,lol,

what ya say we get the hover craft up and running and dont tell anyone dex.,lol.,:D

Hate to tell you this mate, but they might hear us coming!

It'd be a great defence system though. Park it's arse to oncoming fire and the backwash would blow the bbs away or off course.

lol., yeah i hadnt even thought about that actually., would be untouchable., :D

The hover craft wouldn't be hard to do up. If Paul was up for it I'd be more than willing to help doing it. Prop engines aren't a million miles from what I do for a living anyway. Depending on how powerful it is I reckon you could sit 3-4 people in there including the driver.

That'd look bad ass with a pintle mounted M240 or M249 on it hurtling down the field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Site-Ops

Lads.... I wouldnt mind joining up as one of the 12 apostles.... Maybe not one of the main 6 but a casual might suite until I get permission off the War Dept to be excused full time. women... cant live with em. Cant live with em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

NakedDex wrote: »
    The hover craft wouldn't be hard to do up. If Paul was up for it I'd be more than willing to help doing it. Prop engines aren't a million miles from what I do for a living anyway. Depending on how powerful it is I reckon you could sit 3-4 people in there including the driver.

That'd look bad ass with a pintle mounted M240 or M249 on it hurtling down the field.

i'd gladly offer my m249 for mounting :)

been everybody is off topic ,this is what you want ,

USN_hovercraft.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

been everybody is off topic ,this is what you want ,

USN_hovercraft.jpg

You able to afford the fuel requirements for that?

Yeah, that's what I'm making in my garage. I snuck a pair of CFM56-7a engines out of work in my back pack the other day. If it doesn't work I can always flog them, one set of fan blades alone is worth half a mil.

I would genuinely spend some time getting that thing up and running if it was viable though. I'll have to have a look at the underside and pressure test it. However, there is one stipulation.

Whatever team I'm on, has dibs on using it.

I'm not spending weeks repairing something that's going to mow me down.

I saw that thing in action in a documentary once., its a beast. although i think their putting them out of service.,

They're replacing them with a better model. Those ones are horribly inefficient. They actually use two jet engines to power the props on the back and the air cushion underneath. The newer ones are getting better engines that provide more thrust for less fuel. They're also reconfiguring the deck as far as I know. They want it modular

being its a marine assault vehicle ,RECON troops will be availble to mount beach head assaults and or general skirmish duries,
    must be in the off topic thread

Agreed, might be a good idea to have this all moved.

anyone see the russian caspian sea monster now that would be an ideal project if you could find a garage large enought and 8 jet engines to build one ,that or do a firefox and hmmmm careful wording here "borrow" one from russia

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Ikranoplan or something like that they called it. You might have a job turning it at HRTA the field is not big enough ;)

anyone intrested in signing up tomorrow,recon are an all weather team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭cpb

anyone intrested in signing up tomorrow,recon are an all weather team

Once you don't sleep in :D:D:D

cpb wrote: »
    A dirty dig that was lol :)

cpb wrote: »
    i didnt sleep in last week,just forgot to arrange my lift :o:o:o:o

dont worry il be there

i dont sleep in the first place

anyone intrested in the team were planning a full weekend at hrta next weekend ,saturday and sunday to prepare for the night-op