Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Play to 600 people...

• 10-01-2008 1:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭

As those who frequent the pub will know, Thursday nights in Fibbers regularly play host to dizzingly large amounts of students care of it's famous €3-a-drink promotion.

The gig would serve as an axcellent opportunity for any band looking to build a following by playing to the city's largest ready-made audience with the best sound in town.

I will be using the night to promote bands playing Friday nights or who are really good but as yet unknown.

As a way of upping the gig nights in the pub on the other nights to this crowd I can now offer Thursday night slots to bands.

The catch: Regularly treating 600 folk to cheap drink means the gig is unpaid. This should be no problem to most bands as there's certainly no obligation to bring a crowd.

The other catch: You must be a good band!

To get a slot email info@iapr.ie

All styles welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

As those who frequent the pub will know, Thursday nights in Fibbers regularly play host to dizzingly large amounts of students care of it's famous €3-a-drink promotion.

Great, lots of drunk people listen to you music, thats good!

The gig would serve as an axcellent opportunity for any band looking to build a following by playing to the city's largest ready-made audience with the best sound in town.

Ok, thats good, what sound system is installed?

I will be using the night to promote bands playing Friday nights or who are really good but as yet unknown.

As a way of upping the gig nights in the pub on the other nights to this crowd I can now offer Thursday night slots to bands.

Fair play.

The catch: Regularly treating 600 folk to cheap drink means the gig is unpaid. This should be no problem to most bands as there's certainly obligation to bring a crowd.

Ok, so your not covering any of the bands cost, and you've still bring in a crowd with you :confused: Also if you think anyone is being fooled into thinking the bar is still not making a profit even with the cheap drink, blah there not losing out at all

The other catch: You must be a good band!

Sure dont all bands think there great :D

To get a slot email info@iapr.ie

All styles welcome.

Ok, i don't wanna get into a argument but i fail to see how this is good? Maybe its a typo on your part about the crowd, but lets say you've 3 bands on stage, how can you use the 3 bands playing on the thursday to promote the ones playing friday, unless of course there playing both nights, are they? I can't see the benifit other than getting to play with a a great sound system for free! Or have i missed something Tom?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭Trev M

I heard you eat babies Tom is this true?

I dont see why there's a need to jump down the fella's throat cause he's offering bands a chance to play in a decent music venue with decent sound.

His terms are clear, Im sure its most likely a typo about having to bring a crowd. Ive worked with Tom in the past , he's a grafter and he's a shrewd man when doing business of all the things he is he's fair in my experience.

Amongst a few alternatives -

Bands can go pay some spa the privilegde of playing in front of no one, or a bunch of their mates that they had to flog 100 tickets too to break even.

Or

Actually get off their arses and rent a venue themsleves and do all the organising, sound , blah blah themselves...and sure isnt every band knocking around Dublin doin that? Of course they are.

Personally I thinka self organised gig benefits bands on many levels, but its hard work to do well, and most bands dont have the capability in my experience unless they manage to pull together. Easier said than done in my own bitter experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭eoin5

Sounds like a great opportunity to me, I couldnt count the amount of gigs in the Voodoo and Dorans where we would just be playing to friends and the other bands. To a good confident band its a ready made croud there to be won over.

Hay look, its Trev and Tom.....I smell gigsmart? Correct me if i am wrong. ;)

I've worked with Tom before too. I just don't see why there is no money on table for the bands, even 50euros would be something...? Not jumping down anyones throat. Yes this guy is very far from the worst, i've done this thing before for far worse promoters. The only real benefit is thats there is meant to be 600 odd people there...

Laws of average says not every single one will like the music getting played so its not all roses.

Your option A so to speak is very valid and should be avoided at all costs!

Your option B is the done thing. Its not that hard, remember Wayne's World 2? 1 Band and someone on the door, a few flyers, practice the show and turn up to the venue when the soundguys says so! Bring all your mates and start from there, any profit is in your hand etc. If your good enough you build up the following and keep going until some has an exam and the whole thing falls apart :rolleyes:

As for the babies eating thing...no comment :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭judas101

i can personally say that i'd play for free if guarenteed a good crowd.

as would (should?) most fledgling bands.

whether i'd bust my hole to bring everyone i knew is a different story.

one point tho: if the best unsigned band in ireland played there and no one came theyd not get another gig but if some crappy teenages packed the place theyd be asked back.

i think the distinction has to be made between a 'good band' and a good band if you get me. but alas, it's the way things are.

got a bit sidetracked there. still worth doing for young band who want people to hear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭Thomas from Presence

I'm sorry this post is more directed to people who know that there is approx 600 people EVERY Thursday in Fibbers. There is obviously no obligation on a band to bring a crowd if we're turning people away by 1am.

The sound sstem isn't what makes the sound good (though ours is very well equipped). I'm a musician, I've played Fibbers and from that perspective I have the stage monitored to the best specs for its size and calibrated by professionals. I also hired the best soundman I could find. The sound is incredible. Go hear!

There's no money on the table because I blagged money off my boss to pay for the sound man to have the gig on. Many bands have offered to pay me to play that night but out of principle I refused. This way is fair. I certainly won't be paying a band to play in the place when it's already stuffed. If you don't like that then don't apply for a slot!

In the real world bands have to pay to get supports on tours. This is a guaranteed music loving crowd. If a band can't see the worth of investing in petrol and time to play the gig when they need to build a following for their other gigs there then they might think about getting a manager ASAP! ;)

The Friday nights in Fibbers net bands at least €400 on door without them bringing ANYONE so my theory is that if a good band combines a Thursday with a Friday and a mailing list after a good Thursday set, posters etc. then they'll make more than a €50 allowance.

The reality is that bringing just your friends to a gig won't cut it in the long run. Playin gigs were there are people willing to ingratiate themselves with new music is far more beneficial. To make money go for one of our other nights Saturday (which is paid, i.e. we pay you, only originals gig in town with fee for the BAND) or Friday (best door take in town, keep the door till 1:30am, engineer, till operator and low hire rate).

judas101 wrote: »
    i
    whether i'd bust my hole to bring everyone i knew is a different story.

one point tho: if the best unsigned band in ireland played there and no one came theyd not get another gig but if some crappy teenages packed the place theyd be asked back.

i think the distinction has to be made between a 'good band' and a good band if you get me. but alas, it's the way things are.

got a bit sidetracked there. still worth doing for young band who want people to hear them.

You don't have to bring anyone.

Regards what makes a band good enough to play a Thursday: That is for me to judge. Thats my job. If I think you're not going to at least entertain the people in there then whats the point in me spending money to showcase you to them? Especially if I think you'll empty the place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,247 ✭✭✭goodlad

Well it does sound like a good opportunity for an up and coming band. But anyways, the money thing shouldn't be a problem. Caus i know for a fact that fibbers don't hold to there deals. They agree on paying a band X amount for a gig and then at the end of the night they hand them less and feed them some bull**** about the place wasn't as packed as they wanted it. But apart from that, yeah its a nice opportunity

goodlad wrote: »
    Well it does sound like a good opportunity for an up and coming band. But anyways, the money thing shouldn't be a problem. Caus i know for a fact that fibbers don't hold to there deals. They agree on paying a band X amount for a gig and then at the end of the night they hand them less and feed them some bull**** about the place wasn't as packed as they wanted it. But apart from that, yeah its a nice opportunity

You know for a fact eh? I know for a fact you shot Kennedy so there. Jaysus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Ive heard of getting monkeys for paying peanuts but this is a step further. Any self respecting musician whether they be students or otherwise should get SOMETHING. Exposure? Name a band that has made it big or moderately big that has played in Fibbers. If you arent paying a penny and expecting any band to sacrifice 2 hours to play never mind set up, pack up and commute, you arent living in the real world. You will get what you deserve with the deal you are offering.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

In fairness, it's a damn good way to be heard and to get experience playing to large crowds. Fair enough, you don't get paid but if 10 people like your music and go to your next gig, that's another €50 or €80 (depending on how much you're charging).

For the record , GigSmart is not involved in any way , I have no involvement in any fibbers gigs , I have no involvement in Toms role organising these gigs.

Regardless , its a good opportunity for bands to do what they like to do (play in fornt of a crowd and win people over), in a venue where people generally will listen to a band if they are any decent.

Name a band thats played finners that have done well. I can name four that I know personally who have broken out beyond the usuall ****ness of the local scene. Morello, Me in the Park Mike Got Spiked and 20 Bulls Each. Amongst them , several US tours, Eurpoean Tours, An Asian Tour and a little stint in Canada. Its relaitive and generally nothing to do with fibbers directly , a good band works from the ground up and grafts. This is a pretty simple offer , you any good , play in front of a crowd win em over , then get a friday and get paid.

Its simple, there's no conspiracy , reality is most bands arent worth paying for ..... again out of bitter experience.

Ive no idea who you are uncle Bill , not that bothered , the local scene is full of people who know best , I thought I did at one point and my approach failed. Makin the most out of what available is the key for bands who wanna get off the ground and do something , like the previous 4 Imentioned as an example.

The gig on offer is a good place for a confident decent band to win a few hearts and develop on from there.

Im not gonna add to this , or ****e on any further, Ive been burnt out by the whole scene and the stupid arguements on the internet. PLay the gigs or dont , go to the gigs or dont , in the end its the bands decision about what fits them , maybe this gig does maybe it doesnt but Jesus lay of the conspiracy theories.

Trev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭AndyTheDude

I can remember one thread posted here by Thomas around a month ago. He was offering €200 for a band. That wasn't a good deal either, IMO. In case of a four-piece band that would be €50 per head: a minimum rate for musicians playing in small pubs in my city in Poland... 8 years ago. Is Celtic Tiger dead or what?

eddie73 wrote: »
    Ive heard of getting monkeys for paying peanuts but this is a step further. Any self respecting musician whether they be students or otherwise should get SOMETHING. Exposure? Name a band that has made it big or moderately big that has played in Fibbers. If you arent paying a penny and expecting any band to sacrifice 2 hours to play never mind set up, pack up and commute, you arent living in the real world. You will get what you deserve with the deal you are offering.

I've been involved in managing and playing in bands for over a decade now and I can promise you that if you put a good band on in front of a large music-loving crowd they will pick up a following if they are smart (mailing lists, t-shirts, CDs and the like).

People go to Fibbers because they like rock music in it's various forms. I'm putting my money where my mouth is by investing in the engineers wages and other costs to put on a gig, it's hardly unreasonable that a band would meet me half way by just showing up? It's not like appearing on community radio at two in the morning. These punters come back to the pub! They buy T-Shirts and CDs!

We're already the most generous venue in Dublin to bands and we have the cheapest drink for punters. I think that people are being a little unfair here given that the market for gigs in Dublin tends towards CHARGING bands and fleecing punters.

Nobody is getting a record deal or a life of coke and diamonds. They are getting a chance to ingratiate themselves to 600 sympathetic souls.
    If you want a paying gig in Fibbers we do them too on other nights. If you want to start building up a loyal audience then we now do that on Thursday.

Hay look, its Trev and Tom.....I smell gigsmart? Correct me if i am wrong. ;)

Sorry forgot to add :eek:.... youre wrong:D

I love musicians' attitudes.

I can remember one thread posted here by Thomas around a month ago. He was offering €200 for a band. That wasn't a good deal either, IMO. In case of a four-piece band that would be €50 per head: a minimum rate for musicians playing in small pubs in my city in Poland... 8 years ago. Is Celtic Tiger dead or what?

It's not a good deal for a professional band but they get paid differently in Fibbers. For an originals act it's better than the -€400 they get paid everywhere else in town.

feylya wrote: »
    I love musicians' attitudes.

HAMMER MEET NAIL HEAD!

I still want this power adapter issue sorted by the way :D ehhehee

And I want money :p Let's talk ^_^

Talk to line6 then hahaha , Then as a referrel commission I want at least 15%:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

People go to fibbers to get hammered on 3euro a drink. The live band without having to pay them makes up the ballance on the loss.

Hey I remember that add a month back or so offering a band 200euro or half the door.

The more I think and read this thread the less it is adding up. Then again, its a free world and a free market.

Ok, I ain't getting all up in arms over this issue, I just can;t see the point in not paying bands for there time. I know of Tom(irrelevent) and I stand corrected on the Trev/gigsmart thing. ;)

So Tom, your giving a venue with a crowd and a engineer to decent bands to play for free. Ok, its a thursday night. I am sure there are 1000's of bands that will jump at you offer. But, pay the artist something, simple. Your paying the sound guy for his time, what makes the band any diff? There all part of the show?

I don't know that last tread about paying someone 400, so I can not comment on that.

As for Eddie, bars do not loose money on drink discount nights, sorry it does not happen.

The only simple reason as to why the bands are not getting paid is simple, they know they'll get the bands to play for free. With the promise of more gigs and paying ones. Yes the band can sell t's and cd's etc. 99% will not have any to sell.

Bands not seeing the need to invest in there product....well true, you need to practice, record and have something to sell. After all a band is simple a product. Bands don't need management at the "thursday night" stage of there career? Why pay a manager then a promotor before getting the money yourself!

Please don't hit me with the "you play for the love of it", crap....yes love can pay bills :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Trev M wrote: »
    Sorry forgot to add :eek:.... youre wrong:D
    So yiz didn't run gigsmart together then? Hmm...
    eddie73 wrote:
    Then again, its a free world and a free market.
    I'd have to agree, the issue of whether or not any band worth its salt will go for the Fibbers deal will be decided by the bands themselves. Personally I think it's a load of arsebiscuits and really the only argument these people seem to come back with is that "oh well at least we're not charging bands to play our prestigious venue". Sure, pay to play is sperm of the devil, but playing for free is only marginally better.

There is a lot of sense in getting your band out there and heard by as many new audiences as possible, I just take exception to the general tone taken by the Fibbers crew like they want some kind of special award for not ripping off bands. It's good that they at least have an ethos, but it's a damning indictment of how shiote the gigging scene actually is when people consider an unpaid thursday night gig to be as good as it gets, especially when said gig is even genre-specific.

Yes Tom and I did run Gigsmart together . Thats not the context or refernce in the original post , and the OP has acknowledged he has it wrong omplying I was involve din Toms /. fibbers operation. Whats your axe Mr Anonymous.?

Gigsmart is not involved in these gigs, Tom is no longer part of GigSmart.... in fact there is for all intents and purposes no GigSmart for the last 18 months or so. .

Trev M wrote: »
    Yes Tom and I did run Gigsmart together . Thats not the context or refernce in the original post , and the OP has acknowledged he has it wrong omplying I was involve din Toms /. fibbers operation. Whats your axe Mr Anonymous.?

Gigsmart is not involved in these gigs, Tom is no longer part of GigSmart.... in fact there is for all intents and purposes no GigSmart for the last 18 months or so. .
    My axe is simply this, you're flying off the handle for something you've supposedly no vested interest in just to stick up for your buddy and making yourself look dumb in the process. Example:
    Trev M wrote:
    Im not gonna add to this , or ****e on any further, Ive been burnt out by the whole scene and the stupid arguements on the internet. PLay the gigs or dont , go to the gigs or dont , in the end its the bands decision about what fits them , maybe this gig does maybe it doesnt but Jesus lay of the conspiracy theories.
    Enough with the crusade already, so you've been "burnt out", your input here is not required by law.
    Trev M wrote:
    I heard you eat babies Tom is this true?
    Someone posted a reply to the thread, and this was your super clever way of responding. I don't think anyone could really suggest someone this melodramatic could actually run a successful venue. If Thomas, or any promoter or gig booker for that matter, chooses to post up threads on a public board, we have every right to pick holes and query any aspect. I'm sure he knows if his threads are worded too much like an advertisement, they may not last too long, so open discussion can only be a good thing. Now would you ever chillax there horse. There have been more positive replies than negative, so you're getting in a tizzy about nothing tbh.

You can't expect some of the more experienced musicians to ignore every Fibbers thread, the impulse is simply too strong not to chime in. I doubt anyone could really say the chance to gig without paying is something a new band could afford to pass up. I've already explained my thoughts on this many times, its something every band has to do until they get good enough that they can move on. It's a means to an end, or at least should be, doesn't help that the OP is demanding "good bands" to play for free. Bit of a paradox, that.

Ok you win . Jesus relax no one is flying of the handle.

Ok, I ain't getting all up in arms over this issue, I just can;t see the point in not paying bands for there time. I know of Tom(irrelevent) and I stand corrected on the Trev/gigsmart thing. ;)

So Tom, your giving a venue with a crowd and a engineer to decent bands to play for free. Ok, its a thursday night. I am sure there are 1000's of bands that will jump at you offer. But, pay the artist something, simple. Your paying the sound guy for his time, what makes the band any diff? There all part of the show?

Maybe in time expenses will be paid. As of now I don't think I have to. The band that is good but has no audience knows that this is far better than paying for the gig as well as their expenses. The type of band that would play can also play a Saturday were they can get a fee but by playing this they can do both in a short space of time.

I'll cover expenses in time but it was hard enough work to get the funds to pay an engineer. Considering the place is rammed anyway I'll need an incentive in the form of some good bands before I'll start upping the stakes.
    As for Eddie, bars do not loose money on drink discount nights, sorry it does not happen.

Very true, otherwise we wouldn't do them. The margins are somewhat tighter though.
    The only simple reason as to why the bands are not getting paid is simple, they know they'll get the bands to play for free. With the promise of more gigs and paying ones.

Absolutely. I don't have to do this. It does not benefit me personally. If I did happen across a band that would bring some of that Thursday crowd in on another night due to this scheme then I would reward them well. It works both ways.
    Yes the band can sell t's and cd's etc. 99% will not have any to sell.

Thats for them to sort out. A lot more than 1% would have this sorted actually.

I would advise any band that doesn't sell T-Shirts to suss that immediately. You can get them for a fiver a pop and flog them for twice to three times that.

Please don't hit me with the "you play for the love of it", crap....yes love can pay bills :p

All my arguments are economic. Love can only pay the bills if you marry into wealth.

Savman wrote: »
    It's a means to an end, or at least should be, doesn't help that the OP is demanding "good bands" to play for free. Bit of a paradox, that.

A fair request surely? The concept of a good band playing their own material with no following is totally intelligible. There are plenty of bands that I have coached up a following for by exposing them to bigger crowds because musically they were good. There's no point exposing a poorer band to a large audience as firstly the band becomes more known for being lame and secondly it empties the venue!

People don't take chances with unfamiliar material.

It's different for covers bands. A good cover band should never pay for free because their repertoire is well known to begin with. If they play it well then that is a draw in itself and so a pub will pay accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I CANNOT belive this thread. I'm genuinely at a loss.

Why don't bands get paid? Because the night would not be worth running and then there'd be no organised weekly nights that bands could play at.

I HAVE a beef with playing for free. But that beef is based on promoters who are seeking to take money from people paying to see your band and then not share that money with you. Fibbers promoter here has clearly stated that the place will have a crowd regardless. There is no onus on the band to bring a crowd - yet they will not be playing to an empty room.

I'm reading the nay-sayers posts above and thinking, on the same Thursday night, there's a good chance you're dragging your gear into Temple Lane to pay 70 quid to play to yourselves for few hours. With the same effort you could just drag your gear to Fibbers and play your set to a load of punters? It's infinitely better practice and you save yourself the 70 quid.

Yes bands put in hard work and money to be a band. Yes they are a product which can be worth charging for.

But Tom also has a product. A service which he can provide to bands. Something he has put effort and money into, manifested in the turn out in Fibbers every week. Playing to these turn outs is valuable experience for any new band.

Tom needs bands.
    Bands need gigs.

Ok, assuming that Tom get something for his troubles and he gets enough to pay an soundman. Maybe its the Venues fault for not coughin up enough cash?

The simple fact is that Tom is getting GOOD bands as chosen by HIM to play on HIS night with the promise of gigs on another night that are paying gigs. He can pay himself and his soundman but not the bands themselves. So there lies the issue. I am not saying that he has not clearly laid out the T&C's of the night, my issue is them T&C's.

Yes you can drag yourself into TBMC for a session, but there 5 hours long and you can take a break :)

So, Tom is providing a Product you say. So is that band, as you pointed out too? It works both ways, considering he hand picks the bands so his night does not nose dive, then there should be a reward for the band, a $$ reward and not oh, you can play here again next thursday and then maybe a friday?

Yes maybe he is above all the other guys out there so I'll give him that.

As pointed out by Tom, maybe he will cover expenses in the future, but he feels he does not have too. There you go...Come play for me but only if i say your good enough and by the way, I ain't paying you for your troubles.

In the end of the day if the budget is not there its not there, this is just my 2 cents, which you cna pay the bands with ;)

Ok, assuming that Tom get something for his troubles and he gets enough to pay an soundman. Maybe its the Venues fault for not coughin up enough cash?

Essentially yeah, but crucial point on that front is that they are in business and they don't need the band. [/quote]
    The simple fact is that Tom is getting GOOD bands as chosen by HIM to play on HIS night with the promise of gigs on another night that are paying gigs. He can pay himself and his soundman but not the bands themselves. So there lies the issue. I am not saying that he has not clearly laid out the T&C's of the night, my issue is them T&C's.

I could ask my soundman to do it for less than his usual fee but he will tell me to f-off. He's French. They have very pronounced sense of workplace entitlements and are quite passionate about labour issues in general. My wages in Fibbers are the same regardless. Personally I'd love to be able to pay the bands as well but I can't.

The inspiration for this night was the amount of bands offering to pay me a premium and my soundmans wages to be allowed play to that crowd. This way they can play it without having to that. Pay to play sucks. We will of course continue to reward bands financially fairly as we usually do.

So, Tom is providing a Product you say. So is that band, as you pointed out too? It works both ways, considering he hand picks the bands so his night does not nose dive, then there should be a reward for the band, a $$ reward and not oh, you can play here again next thursday and then maybe a friday?

I don't see how I should reward a band for not emptying the pub on it's busiest night! That's what they would call 'protection money' in the states. I didn't mean I'd reward a band with another gig. This gig is the opportunity to help improve numbers for the door gig they may be booked for in the future. It's not an obligatory step in the booking process though obviously I will be recommending my Friday headliners play it so that they can improve their followings and therefore their financial returns in real terms.

I've already tested it with my own band who are really very good and successfully drew more bodies to our Friday show after playing a Thursday the week before. :D
    Yes maybe he is above all the other guys out there so I'll give him that.

Oh you! :o But seriously thank you. I'm a musician too and I am trying to make a better deal for everyone than the usual one in town. I want to see a culture where bands that make the effort are rewarded. The current poor standard at the moment can be helped if bands get more back.
    Come play for me but only if i say your good enough and by the way, I ain't paying you for your troubles.

A little trite. I believe that there are tangible benefits to playing the show and I only instigated this because so many people who agree wanted to pay me for this night. If anyone doesn't agree that their are benefits then there's no gun to their head to play it but for those that to see it's worth I'm not taking their money for it either!

ok,

I've still my gripe about it, but you do agrue me very well. If people where giving you money to play the night then you a big man not to take it.

Best of luck with it. I did try the same thing in the ill fate kip around the corner many many years ago...

Maybe, we should all try become French....works for him ;)

Later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭Magic Eight Ball

Stop your bitching the lot of ya!
    Thomas/fibbers are offering a great opportunely to any willing bands out there to play to a decent sized crowd, and get a little exposure.

So their not paying the bands! Big deal!
    Their being up front about it.
    If you have a problem with the arrangement then don’t get involved.
    This is supposed to be an advertisement not a debate.

Best of luck with the gigs lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Fair enough Bill.

I just see playing worthwhile gigs without trying to command a fee in the same light as handing out demos to anyone who'll listen and allowing downloads for free. It's just something you gotta do to start getting your music out there.

If you were a financial graduate a few years back and refused to do a free stint in a good company you'd soon find that the half of your class that did get the experience, though it was tough going in their first year, soon got on to the next level. Sticking to a principle of not working for free can hold you back I think.

From my experience, if you do your stint of free gigs and demos etc and make a success out of it, you then have very little trouble getting cash from promoters for gigs and maybe a few quid online or in Tower Recs for your recordings.

But I still say, what Fibbers has to offer is worth playing for free for if you're a band with a bit of talent starting out. You're benefiting from Tom's gig promotion/venue management service and your paying him in kind with your performance.

You can get small cuts of the door from other promoter's nights which are usually much more sparsely populated but to be honest, a band will benefit far more from playing to a few hundred people than getting a poxy few for a gig to a half full, half interested room.

Always good to challenge people like Tom in public, as Bill has, because the devil is often in the detail. But for me, as a business graduate and musician, this deal stands up ;)

Stop your bitching the lot of ya!
    Thomas/fibbers are offering a great opportunely to any willing bands out there to play to a decent sized crowd, and get a little exposure.

Their being up front about it.
    If you have a problem with the arrangement then don’t get involved.
    This is supposed to be an advertisement not a debate.

Best of luck with the gigs lads.

This is a public forum for people to discuss things. As mentioned before Tom put his post on there, for what? Not to be discussed? If its an advert, then adverts.ie is the place...:rolleyes:

Again, I never questioned his lack of info, its all there in his 1st post. :rolleyes:

I questioned the T&C's, maybe read the full tread 1st. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭JimiTime

I think there is a couple of things here.

1. I do think this is a great opportunity, and would commend thomas rather than villify him for doing it.

2. Most Originals bands that I've come accross (I'm in one myself), are cr@p IMO. I tried to support the scene by going to random gigs. It was just too painful. Maybe others think the same of me, but there you go:)

3. The 'good oul days' of bands getting paid to play is still there, its just that they're cover bands! Somewhere along the line, it became uncool to play covers. But we must remember that the likes of The Beatles were playing 2 hour sets with both covers and originals. Somewhere along the line, it divided into covers 'or' originals. This divide came at a price for artists unfortunately. The thing is, I think alot of the bands out there would not be capable of covering songs well.

4. i think the idea of vetting bands and only getting the good ones is the key to getting a scene going! If I knew a venue hired the best bands it could through a good vetting procedure, then I would go to the venue and check it out! Though a different genre each night would be ideal. i.e. Funky friday, Indie thursday, metal wednesday etc etc. If the venue went out of their way to get the best they could of these genre's, then I think punters would come based on the fact that they know that there is going to be only good bands. We must remember, that people like to go out and dance and enjoy themselves. Most don't want to go to an 'art' gallery, which is what the originals scene can be. Its like sit down (or stand) and be quiet, there is an artist on. At best you might get a mosh with heavier acts.

Anyway, thats my 2 cent. I'd say hats off to u Thomas, hopefully this is just the beginning of a change;) Shame about your Gigsmart association though, thats a chink in the armour:D
    J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

Bands are not been marched in at gun point to play for nothing. Therefore if they play I can only assume that they see some benefit from it. If they feel hard done by maybe they could form a type of musician's union and fight their corner. Otherwise there's not much they can do.

Rigsby wrote: »
    Bands are not been marched in at gun point to play for nothing. Therefore if they play I can only assume that they see some benefit from it. If they feel hard done by maybe they could form a type of musician's union and fight their corner. Otherwise there's not much they can do.

I've thought that myself, the union thing that is. Problem is, we're dealing with musicians:) 'Why has nobody realised how amazingly talented I am?':D Awww you gotta love us:) A sensitive, but principled bunch:D

I used to play gigs in an East Coast venue for a bearable fee. One band started undercutting everybody as they had lower costs. The place is uneconomic to play in now. The best way to improve rates is to improve quality. I'm a hundred thousand percent behind JimiTime on this point.

Thanks to all who helped argue the benefits with me. I will say I quite enjoy arguing the dialectic. It makes us sure of what we are doing by testing it. I have found this a genuine growing experience. Hugs to every one (no dropping the hand Unclebill! :P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

JimiTime wrote: »
    I've thought that myself, the union thing that is. Problem is, we're dealing with musicians:) 'Why has nobody realised how amazingly talented I am?':D Awww you gotta love us:) A sensitive, but principled bunch:D

If that's the way they are, then they have two options - put up or shut up !! :D:p

Quote of the year so far.

JimiTime wrote: »
    Somewhere along the line, it divided into covers 'or' originals. This divide came at a price for artists unfortunately.
    Agree, if a band can mix both, ne'er a free gig shall cross their path.

Savman wrote: »
    Agree, if a band can mix both, ne'er a free gig shall cross their path.

Indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 53 ✭✭Bazuki

Just a quick thing on this.

I think it is a fantastic idea. Alot of bands from outside Dublin, including the one I'm in, can benefit from gigs like this. When they go to do a gig in town, they can be at a loss, as the fan base is not there. Whats the point in coming in, doing a gig and paying a venue etc. when you're going to end up with a loss?

Gigs like this are perfect. They allow to build up a fanbase so when you do go to do an idipendent gig, you'll make the money back and hopefully some money for a pint too. I'd be willing to play for free if it ment this.

Best of luck with this, should be a great venture, and as you would expect, I've hit you up with an email to play. ;)

-Seán

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I'd be interested in this. Played enough gigs to poorly populated venues. If you can guarantee a good crowd then I'd have no problem playing for free. Really don't see why there's so much bitching here.

i'm struggling to close this can of worms......

Tom, i'd never drop the hand....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 418 ✭✭Alanthroneus

To be honest i didnt get paid when i played in fibbers..... Who the **** cares?
    The people that play in fibbers( and no offense intended here) arnt exactly the biggest thing since sliced bread...

I played bass with a band called Djinn there a few times and i just did it for the craic .... i don't care about money cuz i like playing music....Also fibbers is great fun to play * except if you are tall ...:) So even making €200 a night would be good..:)

between 5 people thats 40 euro each which is

* does maths......
    13 pints on a thursday and i have one euro left over :)

So what is the problem.....??????????

( studying for exams at the moment, how i long for fibbers)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 263 ✭✭filament

i really can't believe some of the ridiculous ****ing responses here. Some one is offering an opportunity, take it or leave it since some of you are obviously above getting some free marketing

Another bump? For crying out loud stop overreacting, it's just a discussion to see if the particular deal holds water and it would appear that it does. There's fly by night promoters spamming these boards every week so it's no harm to ask some questions to separate the good from the bad. At least anyone reading this thread has gained pretty much everything they need to know on the gig, which wouldn't have happened if nobody responded to the original post.

And therein lies the irony, the image of the venue is still intact so having someone from Fibbers answer replies is a good PR move. Personally I don't see the harm, alls well that ends well etc etc.

I wholeheartedly endorse this product and/or service.

Is the can closed now?