Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheltenham Ante-Post Bets

• 09-01-2008 7:32pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭

With Cheltenham only 2 months away I was wondering have people any antepost bets on and what are they?

I have:

Champion Hurdle
    Ebaziyan 36/1 (betfair)
    Silent Oscar 40/1

Gold Cup
    In Compliance 40/1

Sun Alliance Chase
    Negus De Beaumont 80/1

I also got a big tip for the Champion Bumper for Time Electric from the breeder himself.Who is currently at 9/1 with betfair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

I backed Iktitaf (RIP) for the champion hurdle at 34 on betfair and layed it back at 24. Had a free bet to win 600 til fate intervened.

Also tried to get a monster price on Ask for the champion hurdle for a small few quid. No one interested tho. Not certain he's even gonna go hurdling now, so his betfair price (46 to back last time I was on) is pretty ridiculous.

Backed nickname for the champion chase at 42 and layed back at 22 giving me a free bet to win 500.

I really like the look of trafford lad, was hoping for a big price on betfair before he ran last weekend but alas no one would bite. After sunday's performance he might be a bit slow for the ballymore (which apparently is his target). Possibly on for the 3 miler on the friday if he were mine. Will probably hold off and wait to back him for next years RSA chase :D

The dogs in the street were certainly barking for Time Electric before he won at Leopardstown and he won impressively. God knows what Willie Mullins and Noel Meade still have to unleash still tho. Corkskeagh Royale has looked a damn good horse so far too. Altho as we all know Meade's Cheltenham record is hardly anything to write home about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

Gold Cup :: Aces Four 25s generally, not really seen this season so far but should run in the Aon Chase and then onto Chelt. Might just have a squeak if gets good ground. Gave Denman a scare in the Royal and Sun Alliance last year before nearly falling 3 out and is one to keep an eye on

Also Tidal Bay for the Arkle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

we have four aces bet since last years cheltenham at 33s.. i have stuck with ferdy murphy this last 2 years there:D as said above four aces looked as good as denman that day BUT as he progressed as well as denman..hopefully better..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

shiibata wrote: »
    we have four aces bet since last years cheltenham at 33s.. i have stuck with ferdy murphy this last 2 years there:D as said above four aces looked as good as denman that day BUT as he progressed as well as denman..hopefully better..

I think i can safely say, Aces four is no where near as good as Denman. do you thinDenman would have had any trouble in the Charlie Hall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

I think i can safely say, Aces four is no where near as good as Denman. do you thinDenman would have had any trouble in the Charlie Hall

no harm in hoping:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

will be doing a lucky 15 on the following

Harchibald (CH)
    Time Electric (Bumper)
    Trafford Lad (Ballymore)
    Pedrobob (Arkle)

Can't see any problems, bar the fact they are all Irish. €25k for a euro lucky 15. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭ChuckProphet

what's peoples thoughts on hardy eustace for the ch? currently around 40-1 on betfair. willl he even go for ch or is he defo for the world hurdle?

Must say i don't know the answer to this. Dessie Hughes and Conor O'Dwyer seemed to think he did stay at ascot. If he runs and runs well in the AIG the champion will surely be hard to resist. Nothing stands out in the CH the way Inglis Drever does in the world hurdle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Ive backed Francochek @6/1 last week for the Triumph.

I believe Harchibald would skate home in the CH, and 7/1 would be free money, if he wasn't such a dammed bollix of a horse.

And if a horse can be described as a wankker, he would be that too.

Must say i don't know the answer to this. Dessie Hughes and Conor O'Dwyer seemed to think he did stay at ascot. If he runs and runs well in the AIG the champion will surely be hard to resist. Nothing stands out in the CH the way Inglis Drever does in the world hurdle.

I dont want to get sucked into HE for the CH like I did last year, but I got 6/1 on him, had him in an e/w double with My Way De Solzen, and he really shouldn't have been caught on the line for a place.

What relevance is this?
    None. Im whinging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

For the Champion Bumper it will be interesting to see how the Nicholls trained Take Me There runs if he stays in the declarations for his Saturday race. He's currently quoted a a price of 33s in a few of the high street shops and if wins on Saturday he'll be cut in a fair bit. He's won both his starts with ease. Of course there is the risk he will be switched to hurdles soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭Sligored

Zaarito;
    Have had a tip for the last 2 weeks from the friend of the trainer C Murphy for his horse in the bumper in cheltenham.
    He reckons this horse is better than brave inca at this stage. i got him at 65s on betfair last week.
    He asked me not to give this tip out until today.
    i see he is down to 27/1 now on betfair and 33/1 on paddys.
    He has ran twice and won twice so far.he is running at the end of this month in ireland in a prep race.
    The perils of ante post betting are obvious so its up to ye at this stage.
    Fingers Crossed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

RedPeppers wrote: »
    Gold Cup :: Aces Four 25s generally, not really seen this season so far but should run in the Aon Chase and then onto Chelt. Might just have a squeak if gets good ground. Gave Denman a scare in the Royal and Sun Alliance last year before nearly falling 3 out and is one to keep an eye on

Owner has stated elsewhere that he is not running in the Aon and will struggle to make cheltenham. New target may be Aintree. Obviously has problems

Sligored wrote: »
    Zaarito;
    Have had a tip for the last 2 weeks from the friend of the trainer C Murphy for his horse in the bumper in cheltenham.
    He reckons this horse is better than brave inca at this stage. i got him at 65s on betfair last week.
    He has ran twice and won twice so far.he is running at the end of this month in ireland in a prep race.
    Fingers Crossed
    not in training i think unless he went back recently. i would have given him a right chance in the supreme if he had gone hurdling. Who reckons he is better than brave inca and at what stage, your mate or murphy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

careca wrote: »

Time Electric (Bumper)
    Trafford Lad (Ballymore)

Great minds :)

Got Time Electric at 16's on betfair and Trafford Lad last week at 38's (that was before he was defeated at Navan).

They would be my 2 Irish bankers for the meeting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭careca

Sizzler wrote: »
    Great minds :)

Got Time Electric at 16'2 on betfair and Trafford Lad last week at 38's (that was before he was defeated at Navan).

They would be my 2 Irish bankers for the meeting!

If fairness Colonel Sanders mentioned them before me.

thats a great price on Time Electric. Sneaked into the owners/trainers bar in Leop the day of his bumper and the mullins women were talking about him for Cheltenham, before he won. Very impressive up that leop hill.

Time Electric was visually impressive and travelled very well on goodish ground so once the form holds up, he must have a very decent chance at Cheltanham. I have a feeling Leopardstown form might hold up at Cheltenham this year given the ground was goodish, which is highly unusual.

Its a major pity Corals no longer have shops over here. Often have very competitive prices ante post and are usually the only one of the 'Big 3' (apart from one or 2 exceptions) to really take on a short priced horse at the head of the mkt (moscow Flyer in 04 champion cahse and Voy por in December's tingle creek being 2 examples). You can bet online with them but only via visa and in sterling only.

PS Time Electric is 10s for the champion bumper with Corals :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 davidjay

Ruby at any price for Cheltenham top jockey

any thoughts on a speculative punt on kicking king for the gold cup, currently 33-1. If he wins Sunday that price may seem big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

by the way t. Taffe was talking i dont think he'll win sunday, only out to shake off the cobwebs, but 33/1 could be a huge price if he runs any sort of a race.But I still dont think he'll be sharp enough to beat denman or KS come march so it ould have to be an e.w bet

dotsflan wrote: »
    by the way t. Taffe was talking i dont think he'll win sunday, only out to shake off the cobwebs, but 33/1 could be a huge price if he runs any sort of a race.But I still dont think he'll be sharp enough to beat denman or KS come march so it ould have to be an e.w bet

yeah was thinking of laying him later on. if he turns up on the day he won't be near that price. can't see him troubling the front 2 after 2 years out but u never know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Lets be honest for KK to come back after an injury like that and win any race it would be considered an epic recovery, but to win or even get placed in the Gold Cup, well thats along the lines of the Seabiscuit story :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭dotsflan

Sizzler wrote: »
    Lets be honest for KK to come back after an injury like that and win any race it would be considered an epic recovery, but to win or even get placed in the Gold Cup, well thats along the lines of the Seabiscuit story :eek:

What a great story it will be:p:p

Anyone have any opinions on Halcon Generaldis as an e/w for the Gold Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭terry mac

meriwether wrote: »

For whatever reason, some old donkey seems destined to fill one of the Gold Cup placings almost every year...

terry mac wrote: »
    For whatever reason, some old donkey seems destined to fill one of the Gold Cup placings almost every year...

I thought his top weight lugging performance in the Welsh National would distinguish him from being a donkey.

Fair enough, donkey's the wrong word, I'm referring to horses like Turpin Green, Take the Stand, Sir Rembrandt, Commanche Court etc. good staying handicappers, that get placed in Gold Cups,

Welsh National is a bad race to go looking for Gold Cup credentials, much more relevant for Aintree...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭decies

The jock wrote: »
    With Cheltenham only 2 months away I was wondering have people any antepost bets on and what are they?

I have:

Champion Hurdle
    Ebaziyan 36/1 (betfair)
    Silent Oscar 40/1

Gold Cup
    In Compliance 40/1

Sun Alliance Chase
    Negus De Beaumont 80/1

I also got a big tip for the Champion Bumper for Time Electric from the breeder himself.Who is currently at 9/1 with betfair.
    The champion hurdle is coming home to waterford where it belongs :)
    Sizing europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭HiCloy

I can't see the ground being soft enough for him, and don't think he'l leven run for sure on good. Maybe if it rains a lot. He's a good horse tho, but more suited to running in softer - he should make a trip to ireland at some stage

HiCloy wrote: »
    I can't see the ground being soft enough for him, and don't think he'l leven run for sure on good. Maybe if it rains a lot. He's a good horse tho, but more suited to running in softer - he should make a trip to ireland at some stage

had ideal conditions in last years pillar and couldn't get near top class 3m chasers. A plodding handicapper yes, possible gold cup winner no. However as has already been said more than one one paced plodders have run into places in the gold cup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭tubey

Iv'e done a double

Twist Magic - Champion Chase - 2-1
    Kauto Star - Gold Cup - 6-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭BrianTheMessiah

Make it a treble and throw in Inglis Drever in the World Hurdle. 7/4 is just plain giving away money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Sophocles - S.N. Hurdle 25/1
    Ebaziyan- Champion Hurdle 25/1
    Pedrobob - Arkle 16/1
    Trafford Lad - Ballymore Hurdle 14/1

Did a €1 ew lucky 15 today!
    O'Maras in Ennis give the prices off oddschecker so the best available can be got.
    On the off chance that it comes up it would exceed the max payout though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 davidjay

Kicking King has no chance of beating Nickname on Sunday

Make it a treble and throw in Inglis Drever in the World Hurdle. 7/4 is just plain giving away money!

Best of the three bets by a mile...

When was the last time more than 2 of the championship race favourites won?

terry mac wrote: »
    Best of the three bets by a mile...

When was the last time more than 2 of the championship race favourites won?

The treble is just 20/1.
    I wouldn't be too keen on laying it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 669 ✭✭✭pid()

Sligored wrote: »
    Zaarito;
    Fingers Crossed

No longer 33s on paddys, he's 25/1 now.

Tamarinbleu is now 8/1 for the Champion chase.

I think that represents a great opportunity for someone to lay him off.

Firstly, he needs heavy ground to win.
    Likelyhood? Unlikely.

Secondly, if the ground comes up like that, wouldn't nickname be a far more likely winner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭Redlancer

I think Aitmatov @ 16/1 for the World Hurdle is a great bet to make the frame although you have to hope he does not go down the Champion Hurdle route. He got 2mile4furlongs in heavy ground. I think he could trouble Inglis Drever and outside of Inglis Drever its hard to pick anything else.

I think Aitmatov is a good horse and Im hoping Meade trys to keep Harchibald and Aitmatov apart and that why I think he is a good bet. I also believe Simon will run in the Gold Cup and I think he could nab 3rd place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

I'm hoping Aitmatov goes for the Champion Hurdle. I think he's perfect for the race. I've backed him quite big for it and for the AIG on Sunday.

I'd like to see Fair Along go for the Ryanair but his big price probably means it'll be the Champion Chase instead, if anything. I haven't put money down either way yet.

In the Arkle, I backed Glencove Marina months ago and now have a nice free bet on him although I'm more looking forward to seeing him in the 2009 Gold Cup. I think Pedrobob is a more likely winner for this year's Arkle.

Going back to my Tamarinbleu post, there was some good analysis of his performance in the RP yesterday.
    Basically, they loved his performance, and Pricewise said he should be Joint Fav (make of that what you will).

What do people think?
    My first thoughts were that he was a stayer (winner over 2m5, 3m) who got the 2m1 due to the extremely soft ground.

But the post said he is a 2miler in his own right.

Also, Pipe has Well Chief also. He'l hardly run Tamar in the CC if WC is race fit.

But if he does- can we discount WC?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭raheny red

Keep an eye out on Celtic Bookmakers Aertel page (can't remember the page number). Everyday they will have enhanced prices on certain horses which are running throughout the festival.

there's a 8 page pullout in the RP today on the CH. Pricewise is recommending osana at 13/2. I'm starting to sway towards ebazayin e/w at a big price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Going back to my Tamarinbleu post, there was some good analysis of his performance in the RP yesterday.
    Basically, they loved his performance, and Pricewise said he should be Joint Fav (make of that what you will).

What do people think?
    My first thoughts were that he was a stayer (winner over 2m5, 3m) who got the 2m1 due to the extremely soft ground.

But the post said he is a 2miler in his own right.

Also, Pipe has Well Chief also. He'l hardly run Tamar in the CC if WC is race fit.

1st of all Well Chief is out for the season, even had he not been, Tamarinbleu (who would have Tom Scudamore in the plate) and Well Chief ( owned by DJ so Timmy in the saddle) would both run as that decision would be the owners not pipes.

Im actually saddened that we most like likely will never see the best of WC now, i think he would have made twist magic, VPU Tamarin or any other look like only an average 2 mile bunch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

The jock wrote: »

I have:

Champion Hurdle
    Ebaziyan 36/1 (betfair)
    Silent Oscar 40/1

Gold Cup
    In Compliance 40/1

Sun Alliance Chase
    Negus De Beaumont 80/1

One of my antepost bets In Compliance is already gone as he is out for the season.Negus de Beaumont has halfed in price as has Ebaziyan.Silent Oscar is on the drift but is due to run sunday.

Since my last post I have also placed bets on:

Blue Bajan 33/1 Supreme Nov Hurdle
    (Blue Bajans owner thinks it will win Champion hurdle some day)

Uncle Junior 26/1 A Bartlet Nov Hurdle

Silverhand 40/1 Triumph Hurdle

Halcon Genelardais 100/1 Gold Cup

Crumbs wrote: »
    I think Pedrobob is a more likely winner for this year's Arkle.

Pedrobob gone for the season, announced today

Well chief not expected to run this year either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭Crumbs

Crumbs wrote: »
    In the Arkle, I backed Glencove Marina months ago and now have a nice free bet on him although I'm more looking forward to seeing him in the 2009 Gold Cup.
    Glencove Marina out for the season now and possibly much longer.

Willie Mullins today: "He was the most exciting horse I've had for years ... I was really looking forward to him so it is very disappointing." :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

Kicking King ran very well at Gowran.It might need another run before Cheltenham though.Its been cut in the betting for the Gold Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 snowydot

Can anyone tell me if Hobbs Hill is injured?