Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Opinions about Polish immigrants

• 06-01-2008 1:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭

I wonder to know what is your personal opinion about Polish immigrants. Are you sick of them or like them? What do you think about your new Polish neighbours? Are there problems with them? Is it easy to work with them?

What about comparing them to other foriegn people in your neighbourhood?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Dennis the Stone

I love them all and they love me, lets all have a cup of tea

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,974 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I can see this thread getting controvertial........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

I don't have much of an opinion on Polish people.
    Any of the ones that I have come across have seemed to be friendly, decent, hard working types.
    I don't know any socially and I don't know anyone who has any Polish friends.
    Like most other immigrants to Ireland they don't seem to integrate into the community much, they seem to stick with their own.

I don't like the way that Eastern European workers have taken so many jobs, particularly in the construcion industry, but I'd blame the government for this as opposed to the Eastern Europeans themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

I think they are Polish.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

Like most other immigrants to Ireland they don't seem to integrate into the community much, they seem to stick with their own.

w00t, I'm different, I only have Irish friends (here).

As to the question, those I know are all very nice. Comparing them to the other immigints in my neighbourhood, I like me better I would have to say!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭JMCD

Majority of them are fine......good workers and also really nice people.

I don't have much of an opinion on Polish people.
    Any of the ones that I have come across have seemed to be friendly, decent, hard working types.

I don't like the way that Eastern European workers have taken so many jobs, particularly in the construcion industry, but I'd blame the government for this as opposed to the Eastern Europeans themselves.

I'm friends with a Polish guy and woman, like what has been said above very hard working, majority do stick to their own sometimes partly due to the usual "you took our jobs!".

The guy I know get less than the minimum hourly rate and he works hard for it. I know a lot of people will blame them for the lack of jobs but it's not there fault, the blame lies with the employers and our government, my friend asked once before to be paid the rate but was told he would be sacked. They are being exploited, employers paying under minimum wage know it's more than what they would get back home.

The only worrying thing is that a lot of them like other foreign workers are here to make money, when they do that they go back home. This will result in less cheap labour, industries and other places of work closing, less demand for housing, houses lying empty and prices falling etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Seem alright, quite insular. Despite being a majority I currently work with alot fewer Poles than other migrants so its hard to say.

Irish women are slightly proportionately better looking. Although Poland has less fat women. Anyone who thinks otherwise usually hasnt met more than 3 Poles.

As for jobs most Poles, while greatful, think our open door policy is insane, that basically any scumbag from home can emigrate here no problem. Needless to say they wouldnt be too happy if it was the other way around and Anto and his mates smoking hash down the back of the bus could move like that to Poland (if their economy was better/they could sell drugs there for greater profit)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

hellboy99 wrote: »
    The only worrying thing is that a lot of them like other foreign workers are here to make money, when they do that they go back home.
    Why is that a bad thing? Would you rather they claim social welfare here rather than looking for work elsewhere?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I know a few from work and they seem dead on. One of them threw a house party for new years and it was class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭justshane

I thinl polish people are generally nice, genuine hardworking people. it goes without saying you'll meat a few idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭WooPeeA

It's probably because of the differences between Irish and Polish culture and mentality.. But I think it's just a matter of time.
    Yeah.. It's true. Polish are cheaper. Immigration is one of the prices that west coutries must pay for being united.

But look at the other side. Most of the powerful modern economies were build with the "waves of immigration". For ex. look at the States.. Maybe Ireland is next?

djpbarry wrote: »
    Why is that a bad thing? Would you rather they claim social welfare here rather than looking for work elsewhere?
    I'm glad to see that they are not like other foreign immigrants, just here to live off the state. All I'm saying is that if the bulk of them are here to make money and then return home this will be a major contributor to our economy going down hill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

I work with a fair few, all seem to be hard working and genuine people.

Oh, and the ladies are hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

I'm glad to see that they are not like other foreign immigrants, just here to live off the state.
    Other foreign immigrants like?
    All I'm saying is that if the bulk of them are here to make money and then return home this will be a major contributor to our economy going down hill.
    Why?

Other foreign immigrants like?
    I'm not going to start about that, been done here before and ended up turning nasty.
    Why?
    As I said previous:
    This will result in less cheap labour, industries and other places of work closing, less demand for housing, houses lying empty and prices falling etc...

Naos wrote: »
    Oh, and the ladies are hot.

There are a couple of things I don't understand about the Polish Culture.

Queue jumping... do you not know it is impolite? It is only two minutes and one day someone will beat you for shoving that granny aside with the trolley. Honestly.

Why do ye walk through people in impenetrable units, usually of three? Why can't you break free and accommodate the person/car coming in the opposite direction?

If ye don't believe in rounds why do ye accept drinks giving people the idea that you are participating?

Why do your rowdy young males chop wood when drunk/high? Is this a traditonal sport?

Buying rounds is retarded. It either slows down fast drinkers like me or forces slow drinkers to lamp a pile in when they are not ready. Honestly, rounds, grow up lads. What is the point in them?

Cant say Ive ever had one jump a queue (if anyone did they wouldnt currently be alive if they refused to get back tbh) but i agree about the 3 abreast footpath walking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭stakey

I'm glad to see that they are not like other foreign immigrants, just here to live off the state. All I'm saying is that if the bulk of them are here to make money and then return home this will be a major contributor to our economy going down hill.

Out of the 109,500 immigrants into Ireland in 2007, which group would you like to single out as sponging off of the state?

Would it be the 20,000 returning Irish (probably half of them fleeing their illegal status in the US). <MY CHOICE>

Would it be the 5,900 UK residents emigrating to Ireland?

Would it be the 63,100 EU nationals who have come to the country (more than likely to work, that's what I see on the buses and trains of Ireland everyday).

Would it be the 2,800 US residents emigrating to Ireland?

Or, i'm guessing you would like to paint the 17,800 immigrants from 'the rest of the world' with that mono-toned paintbrush of yours as spongers? Would I be correct or would you like to single another group out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

I have no issue with polish people coming to work here. They are part of the EU so they have ever right to. We have benefited greatly from the EU and the freedom of movement of fellow member countries citizens is part and parcel of being part of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

stakey wrote: »
    Out of the 109,500 immigrants into Ireland in 2007, which group would you like to single out as sponging off of the state?

Would it be the 20,000 returning Irish (probably half of them fleeing their illegal status in the US). <MY CHOICE>

Would it be the 5,900 UK residents emigrating to Ireland?

Would it be the 63,100 EU nationals who have come to the country (more than likely to work, that's what I see on the buses and trains of Ireland everyday).

Would it be the 2,800 US residents emigrating to Ireland?

Or, i'm guessing you would like to paint the 17,800 immigrants from 'the rest of the world' with that mono-toned paintbrush of yours as spongers? Would I be correct or would you like to single another group out?

You think that Irish people previously living illegally in the states (and therefore ineligible for state benefits) returning to Ireland are most likely to sponge from the state ? I am not seeing the logic behind your belief there.

My opinion would be that a higher proportion of nigerians/africans are here to sponge off the state than are the proportion of Polish or returning Irish. I base this on personal experience and social observation.

Re the op - I have never had a negative experience with polish people. In general I would have a high opinion of the contribution they make to Irish society. They are here for all the right reasons imo.

Morlar wrote: »
    You think that Irish people previously living illegally in the states (and therefore ineligible for state benefits) returning to Ireland are most likely to sponge from the state ? I am not seeing the logic behind your belief there.

Logic is simple, people living illegally in another country aren't going to be able to return home and land on their feet. The world isn't that simple. The majority of illegal Irish living in the states returning to these shores will probably need state assistance to get their lives up and running once they return 'home'.
    Morlar wrote: »
    My opinion would be that a higher proportion of nigerians/africans are here to sponge off the state than are the proportion of Polish or returning Irish. I base this on personal experience and social observation.

That's an opinion, but there is no proof of that. The majority of Africans/Nigerians (really just with stereotypes with that one) that I have met and worked with here work in the civil service and run their own businesses or are college students. Remember, 17,800 immigrants to Ireland last year came from the 'rest of the world' according to CSO figures. That also includes India, Pakistan, China, Malaysia and of course Africa. If i were to guess the breakdown of that group taking into consideration our importation of nurses, doctors and other professionals would you believe Africans are in the majority? And if so, would the majority (or higher proportion of them) be here to 'sponge off of the state', if you believe that, show me some evidence.

The truth is that in less developed countries like Nigeria it is mostly individuals from affluent and middle class backgrounds that can afford the high costs of international migrations compared to those in the lowest rungs of society that may want to 'sponge off of the state'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,538 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Some late night simplicity. Polish like the vodka. I like the vodka. Me and the Poles get along just fine. :D

hehe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Logic is simple, people living illegally in another country aren't going to be able to return home and land on their feet. The world isn't that simple. The majority of illegal Irish living in the states returning to these shores will probably need state assistance to get their lives up and running once they return 'home'..

That is not logic. Thats re-stating an opinion and putting 'The logic is simple ...' infornt of it.

Irish people in the states never got one cent in handouts - they either worked or they starved. If you do that for several years you either have a strong work ethic or you dont survive. So your 'logic' in painting returning irish as more likely to be scroungers is not convincing.

You say that given 2 possible examples here - (a) Africans moving to Ireland (from the most extreme poverty on the planet) or (b) Irish returning from the one of the wealthiest nations on earth, given those 2 possible examples its the Irish returning are more likely to need state assistance ? You have yet to give any basis for this. Irish returning also have the advantages of having worked (on tax free high wages for decades), the language, religious cultural and social identity also family connections etc

*btw you prefaced your 'blaming the irish' with 'the logic is simple', i prefaced 'my more than likely the africans' with 'Its my opinion'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,977 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

I love people from Poland, nice ladies, hard-workers, sound lads (well the lads I worked with during the summer doing buliding work) and I love their football culture. All in all 9 out of 10 for me:D

Re spongers, I'd tend to think Romania/Bulgaria due to a couple of bad experiences with them. Though I try to stay out of threads like this because I'm admittedly racist. No real experiences with Poles though so couldn't say.

This thread is about Polish immigrants so I'm not going to go off the topic, sorry :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

I like the ones that I've met that have been sound, I dislike the ones I've met that have been arseholes. (I think I'll copy and save that sentence, could come in very handy for threads in after hours I think.)

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Honestly, rounds, grow up lads. What is the point in them?

Cant say Ive ever had one jump a queue (if anyone did they wouldnt currently be alive if they refused to get back tbh)

I imagine people like rounds because the night would be pretty boring if everyone in the whole place had to go to the bar for every drink.
    I don't mind people not doing rounds. I just think if you do let someone buy you a drink, you should at least try to buy them one back out of decency.

The polish brethren and I frequent the same shopping outlets, Tesco, Lidl, Aldi etc. You obviously think your posh and don't, but it happens every time I go out.
    The worst one was at the self service. I took half a step and turned my back to grab a plastic bag. When I turned back, some git with a handlebar moustache had stepped in, plopped his basket on top of my stuff and was furiously scanning with his elbows out incase I wanted to reclaim the till. And it wasn’t even busy.
    Now usually I don't give out because I can't lose my cool in a classy way, and I want people to like me. But this time I did and all I got was ŻŻŻżźŹźŻżŻź ....Polish for "Feck off you sap" What can you say to that?

Usually it is more a case of powering past you or granny en route to the till or the dairy section. More of adrenalin rush that way.
    Some poles even have an aversion for waiting the 10 seconds it takes for you to pick up your yoghurt and will engage stealth tactics such as standing uncomfortably close to you, or aiming a trolley to hurry you along.
    I have actually seen a Polish man training his son in the art of queue jumping.

In all fairness though, Irish genetics are fatally attracted to crushes of people in tight spaces.
    And elaborate and sometimes perilious, hedge hopping, boat stealing shortcuts that always take longer in the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

WooPeeA wrote: »
    It's probably because of the differences between Irish and Polish culture and mentality.. But I think it's just a matter of time.
    No, many or most Polish immigrants aren't immigrants at all, they are migrants, only here to get money and go, which is why there is not much integration.
    Yeah.. It's true. Polish are cheaper. Immigration is one of the prices that west coutries must pay for being united.
    Introducing the much poorer population of a country with 60 million inhabitants to a fairly well off country of four million inhabitants is a recipe for disaster. You'd better believe maximum quotas will be introduced if it gets out of hand.
    But look at the other side. Most of the powerful modern economies were build with the "waves of immigration". For ex. look at the States.. Maybe Ireland is next?
    The US is a fairly unique case, in that it was a large continent with tremendous resources and a small relative population in the last century or two. Economies generally don't become rich through immigration, they become rich and then economic migration follows. There will be both positive and negative effects from this.

I'm of mixed feelings about the Polish revolving door migrations to Ireland. On the one hand, our economy is overheating badly, so the leakage they represent might actually be doing some good. On the other hand, their lower wage requirements don't seem to be having much of an effect on inflation (people that employ them aren't reflecting the lower costs in lower prices), so all they are doing is taking up lower paid jobs from people who might need them, and introducing a section of society to Ireland that has no interest in being a part of that society.

Time will tell, I guess.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

King of Poland Drink Recipe
    Ingredients:
    25 ml Lemon Juice
    100 ml Vodka
    25 ml Scotch Whiskey

Directions
    Pour the scotch, add lemon juice, add crushed ice, then top off with the vodka. Serve in a highball glass, drink as a shot.

a mate of mines polish girlfriend mixed me one of these, this drink alone should be reason enough to like the polish population

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

If they speak English well and are polite, they're in my good books.

Unfortunately, a lot don't/are not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I wonder to know what is your personal opinion about Polish immigrants. Are you sick of them or like them? What do you think about your new Polish neighbours? Are there problems with them? Is it easy to work with them?

What about comparing them to other foriegn people in your neighbourhood?

I've a few Polish friends, and lads I've worked in bars and clubs with (bouncers).

I find them pretty similar to ourselves & I think thats one of the reasons Irish and Poles get along so easily.

Obviously there are difference's, and depending on the socio-economic back ground their views on things change alot too.

They're very well educated, unless your from a really poor area then third level education is a given.

The lads can be very aggressive & racist, and like us this comes out with drink. The women can be a little stand-offish, arrogant and in alot of case's down right ignorant. But once you get to know them they're fine and enjoy a good laugh and chat. Some of the ladies have told me they prefer Irish men as we treat them better than their Polish guys, but apparently we can't dance!.. :o

To sum it up, I find the majority a really nice people. But like everywhere, there's arseholes who are going to spoil it for the others.

I've worked with a lot of other nationalities & find the Poles easiest to get along with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭patrickolee

Only worked with three so far. All three were nice although one was a little lazy. The other two were normal, good craic. I like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭cellulite_sally

Is it not the same with any culture? you'll always get a few ***** and 95% of them are sound.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Any who i've worked with have been hard workers.
    I will always say hi to any I see on a regular basis or live near but most don't respond. Don't know what thats about. Its known as ignorance in Ireland though.
    But some do, which is nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Jackus

Hi, I'm polish, and I agree with most of opinions in this thread :) BTW If You have any questions about polish do not hestitate to ask me. I will try to answer if i can

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

God, what a retarded thread. Look, some Polish people are sound and some are arseholes. Just like some Irish people are sound and some are arseholes. Anyone who tries to generalise on a topic like this is demonstrating a considerable lack of intelligence.

Well, it's time for my opinions as a polish guy about other polish.
    Many polish workers (specially girls) tend to hurry up other poles. (Hurry up! Do it faster!)
    They are sad or just look like sad
    They (we) sit in canteen at one table - it looks like this table poles only. I tried to socialize with others (chinese, indian and irish) but my polish friends started looking at me and do comments and asking me why you didn't sit with us?

Laslo - we are talking about culture differences. They always exist!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

Moonbaby wrote: »

Queue jumping... do you not know it is impolite? It is only two minutes and one day someone will beat you for shoving that granny aside with the trolley. Honestly.
    it isn't just the Polish, it's lots of Europeans, west and east. People in Holland are constantly pushing past me in queues for buses and stuff like that, pretty much moving me out of the way in the process....one of these days...smack! boom! straight to the moon!:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Jackus wrote: »
    They (we) sit in canteen at one table - it looks like this table poles only. I tried to socialize with others (chinese, indian and irish) but my polish friends started looking at me and do comments and asking me why you didn't sit with us?

Thats a good point.

I've a really good Polish friend (female) who gets bullied by other Poles for trying to mix with her Irish work mates. She had to move out the home she was renting with some other Polish girls for the same thing.

She finds the biggest obstical to making new (Irish) friends here are her fellow Poles.

But mostly they're a good lot. I've tried learning some Polish, but my Polish friends tell me to leave it alone as its so damned hard to learn and there's enough Poles here speaking English.

Heard a joke from one the other night...

Four lads travelling on a train across Europe.

One Russian, one Cuban, one Polish & one Irish.

The Russian takes out a bottle of really good Vodka, take one sup and throw's the bottle out the window.... "Hey, thats expensive vodka" says the Cuban lad ... "Soo, what the fvck. I'm Russian & in Russian we have lots of vodka, too many in fact"...

Further down the tracks the Cuban takes out a fine cigar, lights it up, takes one pull and throws it out the window.. "Hey Thats a really fine Cigar. The finest, we can't get those in Poland" says the Pole, to which the Cuban says "Hey I'm Cuban cigars are everywhere in Cuba"...

After thinking about it for a few moments the Irish guy grabs the Polish fellow and fvck him out of the moving train...

Looking on in shock the other's shout "HEY ........." ... "Hey me bollix" says Paddy "I'm Irish and we've lots of ................." :D

it will keep me laughin for the rest of day :)
    Mairt - don't listen them, try to learn few words. Imagine You go to Poland and go shopping ask somebody about something. Most of Poles specially older than 30 speaks polish and bit german or russian language only.
    OK, the topic of thread is about opinion about poles....
    Poles are proud of polish food. They recon that is better than Irish, and sometimes they say is one of the best on the world. Which is bull**** in my opinion. Sometimes I just hate it, specially bad smell of pickled and/or boiled cabbage.
    There is no better breakfast than irish...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,046 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Our economy wouldn't have taken off in the way it did had it not been for folks such as the Polish.
    Irish, Polish, American, I've seen 'em all queue jump. Are you saying the Polish do it more than others?
    Why do ye walk through people in impenetrable units, usually of three? Why can't you break free and accommodate the person/car coming in the opposite direction?
    Usually when I see someone polish on the street they are either by themselves or with a mate. I've never come across this impenetrable wall you speak of.
    If ye don't believe in rounds why do ye accept drinks giving people the idea that you are participating?
    As the Gopher says, rounds are just a silly idea and anytime I've been drinking with a Pole they have bought their fair share.
    Why do your rowdy young males chop wood when drunk/high? Is this a traditonal sport?
    Where have you seen this? I've been in and around them for the last three years and have never seen or heard this, not once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

eo980 wrote: »
    Our economy wouldn't have taken off in the way it did had it not been for folks such as the Polish.
    Nonsense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I worked with a Polish girl who I was very good friends with. She's gone back to Poland now but we keep in touch. She's coming back o visit soon.

Our room mate is Polish and is just weird. She doesn't seem to know how run a house i.e the little daily things you do at home. She puts the heating on and leaves it on all night when she is in bed. When we said it to her she didn't seem to know how a heating system worked at all. Another example is that the lightbulb went in the main bathroom. We have an en suite so I only use the main bathroom if I'm taking a bath so we presumed the room mate would change the lightbulb. 4 days later I went to have a bath and realised the lightbulb was still gone. We have no windows in the bathroom so she had been showering and doing other things in the dark for four days!

I'm taking from these two examples that you can't tar all Poles with the same brush and like us, there are some that are sound and some that are wierd!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

i was an exchange student in france last year, knew quite a few polish people. difference was we were all foreigners. in my experience they were grand people, great fun once you got to know them and once they got to know you.
    and to whoever says polish people skip the queue, youve obviously never been to france, its a free for all, no rules no etiquette!
    dont know any polish people here unfortunately.

I have an Irish relative in London, she will only socialise with with other Irish people, not that they don't like Londoners (mulitcultural, can't just say English here) it's just she prefers to keep with the Irish.