Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€31,000 to spend on new car

• 29-12-2007 8:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭

In March, what should I be looking for?

I have a 06 Passat and love it, only I'd never by the same car twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭corkandproud

BTW, I'm liking the V50SE Lux, Passat Highline maybe, X Trail, Grand Vitara but there's no clincher there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

ive a Honda Accord and its fantastic car. i love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Audi A4? BMW 3/5 series?

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

Get a 2nd hand BMW Z4 3litre and smile smile smile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

My mam has a big petrol engined automatic Xtrail... Its a dog to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

youd get 2 decent 2nd hand cars for that money

Must be new (Company car), 1st reg, no demo's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,132 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

I have a 06 Passat and love it

You're easily pleased ;)

If you want a change for the same lease money, maybe try the new Mondeo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

New Renault Laguna III 1.5 dci should come in under your budget.

Runs for cover.

unkel wrote: »
    You're easily pleased ;)

If you want a change for the same lease money, maybe try the new Mondeo...

I drove the Mondeo and was interested in the 2.0 Zetec Estate but the dealers were a shower of pr1cks, no interest in dealing.

Laguna's banned from the fleet due to their recent history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭port

I drove the Mondeo and was interested in the 2.0 Zetec Estate but the dealers were a shower of pr1cks, no interest in dealing.

Laguna's banned from the fleet due to their recent history.

I'm very pleased with new model Mondeo,try another Ford Dealer.I dealt in Downey's Portlaoise.

• Subscribers Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭TCP/IP

new mondeo all the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

New Mazda 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭C_Breeze

I'd also suggest looking into a Mazda 6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Why not? If it aint broke don't fix it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

I'd spend 1,000 on a used toyota and the rest on lotto tickets.

no good cars for sale new at that price range :(

also you have a 06' passat... that car would do me for 20 year... trying to show off or what ? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭2stageturbo

In March, what should I be looking for?

How about a Subaru Legacy ?
    Not sure if you would get one for that money but it could be worth a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Legacy 2.0 R starts at an on the road list price of €33.5k. only 140bhp.

Is your budget based on list price or what you can get the car for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 674 ✭✭✭what_car

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Legacy 2.0 R starts at an on the road list price of €33.5k. only 140bhp.

Is your budget based on list price or what you can get the car for?

the accord has 155bhp, go for one of these. excellent to drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,558 ✭✭✭CyberGhost

Maybe I'm missing something, but I simply don't get how can you pay 31,000, for a Citroen, Renault, Opel, Ford, a Golf or Toyota.

When, for that price you could get maybe a year or two older but much better, BMW, Audi, Mercedes or even a Jaguar.

What motivates you to pay that much money for a low/mid class car? is it an insurance? tax? or can you trade it in later easier? resell value?

I'm not arguing, I'm genuinely curious, cause I see a lot of people pay that kind of money for cars of that class and I simply don't get it, what am I missing?

The other day, I went to autotrader to search for a Civic Type R 02-03', the prices were around 8,000 pounds, then I looked at BMWs, and you could get a really good 3 or 5 series for that price, I couldn't imagine handing 8k for a civic, it's a Civic damn it, Type R or what it's still just a Civic, even it's dashboard's plastic is lower quality than BMW's.

what_car wrote: »
    the accord has 155bhp, go for one of these. excellent to drive.

It being €5,000 over budget would probably be an issue.....

CyberGhost wrote: »
    Maybe I'm missing something, but I simply don't get how can you pay 31,000, for a Citroen, Renault, Opel, Ford, a Golf or Toyota.

When, for that price you could get maybe a year or two older but much better, BMW, Audi, Mercedes or even a Jaguar.

What motivates you to pay that much money for a low/mid class car? is it an insurance? tax? or can you trade it in later easier? resell value?

I'm not arguing, I'm genuinely curious, cause I see a lot of people pay that kind of money for cars of that class and I simply don't get it, what am I missing?

The other day, I went to autotrader to search for a Civic Type R 02-03', the prices were around 8,000 pounds, then I looked at BMWs, and you could get a really good 3 or 5 series for that price, I couldn't imagine handing 8k for a civic, it's a Civic damn it, Type R or what it's still just a Civic, even it's dashboard's plastic is lower quality than BMW's.

Personal choice.

Some people may simply want a Civic Type R, not a BMW or Merc regardless of how the quality of plastic on the dashboard feels. Someone might choose a BMW over something else for different reasons too.

Equally someone might like a new car over a second hand one. If nobody bought new cars then there would be no nice second hand ones out there to choose from.

PS. the OP is getting a company car so he/she is not parting with any of his/her own money.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

I have the SE Lux spec, sweet jebus it's nice. Saw a red V50 in the UK, amazed but it worked really well, not sure if there was additional body kit, but car looked amazing.

Does that get any cupholders Dyflin? had a S40 SE from work and it didn't have any! (apart from under the armrest or somewhere crazy)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

You get four cupholders, two in front (ditch the ashtray, filthy habit ;) ) and two in the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

Some people will look at the whole car, not just a dashboard.

JHMEG wrote: »
    Some people will look at the whole car, not just a dashboard.
    And some people will look at a dashboard, and not the whole car.
    (which is why people buy A3's I think...)

bazz26 wrote: »
    Personal choice.

Some people may simply want a Civic Type R, not a BMW or Merc regardless of how the quality of plastic on the dashboard feels. Someone might choose a BMW over something else for different reasons too.

Equally someone might like a new car over a second hand one. If nobody bought new cars then there would be no nice second hand ones out there to choose from.

PS. the OP is getting a company car so he/she is not parting with any of his/her own money.

Ah, fair enough, different people like different things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Could the OP's company not just wait till July, when the price of diesels should fall a lot, and cost a lot less to tax for the company too?

OP the 1.6 Passat is gone anyway, now replaced by the more powerful, more economical and much torquier 1.4 TSI.

E92 wrote: »
    OP the 1.6 Passat is gone anyway, now replaced by the more powerful, more economical and much torquier 1.4 TSI.

Techically yes but there are still plenty of brand new 07 model year Passats available at dealerships. My uncle just bought another one despite me telling him this. :rolleyes:

I think you are missing something. On the flip side of your coin, I can't for the life of me imagine why someone would blow €40k of their money on a 1.9 tdi A4 that's rediculously cramped inside, with an out of date engine when for €6k less they could get a bigger car in the Passat with practically the same components, with a better, more powerful 2 litre diesel, more "extras", a 3 year warranty as opposed to Audi's joke of a 1 year warranty, and in my opinion just as good looking a car? What is it that makes people spend €6,000 on 4 rings that are made from chrome painted plastic?
    And a Civic type R will blow away any 4 cylinder 3 series, any 4 and some 6 cylinder Audi's, and the majority of C-classes on Irish roads (as there are so few big engined c classes). Now why would I want to pay for a badge and some better looking plastic? What sense does it make?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I presume the SE Lux is higher spec, or am I after missing something?
    It has everything you need as standard(and is a higher spec than the already very highly equipped SE model).

S.I.R wrote: »
    I'd spend 1,000 on a used toyota and the rest on lotto tickets.

no good cars for sale new at that price range :(

also you have a 06' passat... that car would do me for 20 year... trying to show off or what ? :rolleyes:

Company Car, must be changed at 100,000KM

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 man utd 07/08

maybe you have more money than brains because why the fu*k would you be asking people what to spend 31k on??????????????/:confused::confused:

maybe buy what YOU want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 man utd 07/08

Biro wrote: »
    I think you are missing something. On the flip side of your coin, I can't for the life of me imagine why someone would blow €40k of their money on a 1.9 tdi A4 that's rediculously cramped inside, with an out of date engine when for €6k less they could get a bigger car in the Passat with practically the same components, with a better, more powerful 2 litre diesel, more "extras", a 3 year warranty as opposed to Audi's joke of a 1 year warranty, and in my opinion just as good looking a car? What is it that makes people spend €6,000 on 4 rings that are made from chrome painted plastic?
    And a Civic type R will blow away any 4 cylinder 3 series, any 4 and some 6 cylinder Audi's, and the majority of C-classes on Irish roads (as there are so few big engined c classes). Now why would I want to pay for a badge and some better looking plastic? What sense does it make?

WHO SAID A GHIA 2007 FOCUS WOULDNT BE AS GOOD AS A BMW FOR 31K????BECAUSE ID BET THE FOCUS WOULD BE BETTER IN EVERY WAY EXCEPT POWER!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭djfattony2000

maybe you have more money than brains because why the fu*k would you be asking people what to spend 31k on??????????????/:confused::confused:

maybe buy what YOU want

Twat...

I must say the Octavia L&K is of interest, I'd love to see one on the road but they're special order.

http://ws.skoda-auto.com/download//eng/catalogue/LaurinKlement_ENG_0906.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

maybe buy what YOU want

Jaysus, HOW MANY TIMES

It's NOT the OP's money
    He MUST change his car
    It MUST be new
    the company WON'T wait til July.

If you can't respond politely to the OP don't bother at all!!

I've taken somew time to get to the conclusion and many people won't like it

1.6 Auris Sol with Leather, Toyta fitted sills and skirts, Full Bluetooth and Voice Control, Leather Just shy of €32k, but it'll be well specced and You'll know it's not just another 1.4 Auris. Fu<k everyone else.

I don't know how hard it'd be to find a 1.6 to test drive though??

Alternatively get a Fiat Bravo 1.9 JTD Sport 150 Bhp as opposed to the 120 BHP. Comes in Below €29k but add a few toys and you've the fleet budget spent. Plus a discount would be negotiable.

There's also a 150 BHP 1.4 T-Jet petrol

A view from outside the box. They're the same size as the D-Segment of 10 years ago anyways and probably have more interior space than the V50 (which is also a great choice if I wasn't spending my own money)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭Moanin

Lexus IS 220?

WHO SAID A GHIA 2007 FOCUS WOULDNT BE AS GOOD AS A BMW FOR 31K????BECAUSE ID BET THE FOCUS WOULD BE BETTER IN EVERY WAY EXCEPT POWER!

What are you on about?

Moanin wrote: »
    Lexus IS 220?

Over 40K?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

full house Skoda Ocatvia Estate with everything in the book - especially DSG. Might even get leather for that €€

or, +1 on the Brava 150bhp Sport with everything - leather, 18" rims,etc - looks fab .

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Biro wrote: »

Are we talking about buy new cars only Biro? or any car?

Cause for half the price, I'd take this,
    http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=672026

And I'd still prefer it to a Passat.

I guess we just have different tastes.

As for Civic type R, I agree, it's an awesome car, I really love it, but I imagine reselling it will be a nightmare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭JMULL

Volvo S40 around that price

Are we talking about buy new cars only Biro? or any car?

Cause for half the price, I'd take this,
    http://www.carzone.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=672026

And I'd still prefer it to a Passat.

I guess we just have different tastes.

As for Civic type R, I agree, it's an awesome car, I really love it, but I imagine reselling it will be a nightmare.

And for almost half the price again you could have a similar year Avensis or Mazda 6 diesel with half that milage, so it does depend on different tastes.
    Reselling a Civic Type R is not a problem. Look up the UK prices on them. They're holding more value than most cars for their age and original price.

Does the title of this thread not explain the scenario...

NEW CAR.

I drove the X Trail petrol today, impressed with the ride quality and the pick up was very smart (far better than the Sportage).

If I could only get Cruise into it I'd take it straight away I think.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

It's amazing the no. of posters who simply ignore OP's basic needs and trot out the same old hackneyed opinions. This thread is another example.