Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Crash this morning..aaaaaaahhh

• 24-12-2007 11:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭

Merry Xmas or what !

I was driving on the road, had indicated to turn left, slowed down ready to take the turn in the road.
    Car behind me came up the side of me , causing major damage to the side of my car,
    Called the guards, they came out ,took details and told us to sort out between ourselves.
    The person driving the car admitted liability at first but then has been they will see what their insurance company say

Will the other persons insurance company challenge the claim. It will cost a lot to get my car repaired and i was in the right , i was following the rules of the road.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Were you in the left lane for turning left? which side did yer man crash into - right or left?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 549 ✭✭✭WUSBDesign

Did the guards breathalyse the driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,121 ✭✭✭andrew1977

faceman wrote: »
    Were you in the left lane for turning left? which side did yer man crash into - right or left?

There was no left lane for turning,i indicated ,slowed down, went to turn into the road and the person came up on my inside.

WUSBDesign wrote: »
    Did the guards breathalyse the driver?

Nope the guards did not breathalyse either me or the driver
    When i called them to come out , they said could we not sort it out amongst ourselves ,that it wasnt a requirement for them to attend the scene of a crash.
    I insisted they come out as i need it for when i claim off the other persons insurance

Nightmare on xmas eve for me,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

Bad luck Andrew.

I wouldn't accept the guards stance. Although he didn't rear-end you, he hit you from behind which AFAIK, amounts to the same thing- automatically his fault.

Is it the way that you have a cheap car and they want yer man to cough up a grand for it and leave it at that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

andrew1977 wrote: »
    There was no left lane for turning,i indicated ,slowed down, went to turn into the road and the person came up on my inside.

Im confused... you were turning left, obviously we drive on the left hand side of the road.... so as you slowed down to turn left, he came up your inside? In other words he UNDERTOOK you while you were turning left?

That seems inconceivable! I can understand if he overtook you on your outside (right) and was stupid enough to not leave enough of a gap.
    However to undertake you when you are turning left is just ridiculous! Are you absolutely positive this is what happened? And if so, are you absolutely positive you did not have you right hand turn indicator on by mistake?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Im equally confused. Was he driving on the path or was there a hard shoulder he was driving in?? :confused:

The gardai are only required to get involved if someone is hurt but if you request it they should turn up to take statements.

cantdecide wrote: »
    Bad luck Andrew.

I wouldn't accept the guards stance. Although he didn't rear-end you, he hit you from behind which AFAIK, amounts to the same thing- automatically his fault.

Is it the way that you have a cheap car and they want yer man to cough up a grand for it and leave it at that??

No i want it professionally fixed up proper, its 2004 Nissan Primera, in great nick . I aint looking for a quick buck, i want my car fixed to the state it was pre crash.Fingers crossed, could do without the hassle and worry on Xmas eve

Saruman wrote: »
    Im confused... you were turning left, obviously we drive on the left hand side of the road.... so as you slowed down to turn left, he came up your inside? In other words he UNDERTOOK you while you were turning left?

That seems inconceivable! I can understand if he overtook you on your outside (right) and was stupid enough to not leave enough of a gap.
    However to undertake you when you are turning left is just ridiculous! Are you absolutely positive this is what happened? And if so, are you absolutely positive you did not have you right hand turn indicator on by mistake?

100% the person undertook me on the left, I indicated well in time, slowed down and proceeded to take the turn left in to the place i was going, taking my time, the other person hit my smack bang in the centre piece of the 2 doors.Unbelieveable is right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

i'm still as confused as faceman.

were you as far left as the road would allow?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Bad luck, but it sounds very odd.

If you were turning left how was there an almost car sized gap on your left?:confused:

Cremo wrote: »
    i'm still as confused as faceman.

were you as far left as the road would allow?

I was doing the turn correctly, not out in the middle of the road or in too close not to get a safe turn , the driver of the other car had come up on the inside, not on a hard shoulder , but a small area for cars to park beside a shop, i dont know what they were at , nightmare

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

I was doing the turn correctly, not out in the middle of the road or in too close not to get a safe turn , the driver of the other car had come up on the inside, not on a hard shoulder , but a small area for cars to park beside a shop, i dont know what they were at , nightmare
    I would not be so sure that the other driver is 100% at fault. Youy have a duty of care to ensure that any move you make is a safe one. Indicators are simply an indication of intent, they do not confer any right of way.

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I assume you looked in your left wing mirror prior to making your turning manouver? If so how did you miss a car coming up your inside and if you didn't why did you continue with your turn? I'm not saying you were at fault here, obviously someone crashes into you from behind, they're mostly to blame but surely some quick thinking could have averted the impact or at least lessened any damage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,085 ✭✭✭✭Stark

The car was probably on the road behind him when he looked in his mirror. If he was in the middle of a turn when the car crashed into him, then the other car would most likely have entered the layby after he started the turn, judging by the relative speeds that would be involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭fasty

It's getting to the point where people can't post a thing on this forum without getting the third degree. I'm sure the insurance companies will decide who is to "blame". I personally feel for the OP and don't give a hoot about the details.

Thats madness... andrew was this car behind you? Did you notice him there before? Or is it a case he was in the lay by or parking area and pulled out, not seeing you?

Either way its his fault, im just curious how this driver was so monumentally stupid.. it just boggles the mind how this happened.
    I would not worry about the insurance, just call your insurance company, tell them what happened and that thankfully you should have a garda statement to back you up.
    fasty wrote: »
    It's getting to the point where people can't post a thing on this forum without getting the third degree. I'm sure the insurance companies will decide who is to "blame". I personally feel for the OP and don't give a hoot about the details.

Its not the 3rd degree.... He posted something that was so far beyond reason without actually explaining it properly. Needless to say a lot of us were confused. Its simple curiosity. You can not post about something like this without giving a proper account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

What's so difficult to comprehend ...the guy behind him wasn't paying attention. When he realised he was about to crash, he tried to gain some extra braking distance by passing the car. Obviously he didn't want to chance his luck with oncoming traffic, so he tried the handy little parking bay on the left ...

...which turned out to be juuust that bit too short :D

You can call me Sherlock from now on :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Peasant, you've explained it more clearly in your post than all the other posts combined. I finally understand what happened now

Sounds like a nasty accident and it wasn't your fault OP

micmclo wrote: »
    Peasant, you've explained it more clearly in your post than all the other posts combined. I finally understand what happened now

Sounds like a nasty accident and it wasn't your fault OP

Eh... it was not peasant that had the accident... he is just explaining what he thinks happened from andrews sketchy details. :rolleyes:

Its very likely this is exactly what happened but Andrew has not given all these details, he has not explained where the car came from, if it was behind him or came from the parking bay or dropped out of the sky :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

It also sounds like someone taking a left turn from a right hand lane.. and getting hit mid turn from another driver in the left hand lane..

Orange69 wrote: »
    It also sounds like someone taking a left turn from a right hand lane.. and getting hit mid turn from another driver in the left hand lane..

No that only makes sense on a dual carriageway, and andrew did not mention a dual carriageway.

The only other scenario that makes sense is this car entered from the left and was in a merging lane, tried to get past andrew on the left, did not anticipate him turning left at the next junction and there we have a crash.

This scenario makes little sense as it would be a very stupid junction layout that would allow that to happen... Then again... in this country its always possible

Saruman wrote: »
    Eh... it was not peasant that had the accident... he is just explaining what he thinks happened from andrews sketchy details. :rolleyes:

:rolleyes: to you too
    The OP didn't explain it very well and everyone was jumping in with questions and nobody seemed too sure what happened.
    I was just commenting that Peasant explained it well and now I can easily picture what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

I think op needs to look up the accident site on google maps and post the link... :)

The rolling eyes were because you are taking what peasant said as what actually happened. It probably is but like i said and you said yourself, the details were so sketchy that everyone, including peasant are trying to figure out what happened.
    Peasant got his scenario from all the questions posted by everyone else and andrew sort of answered them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭trellheim

somebody lashing up a bus lane without permission.

e.g. normal driver turning onto Jervis St in Dublin off the Quays has to cross a bus lane which a lot of people dive into quite early ...

alternatively it could have been sunday and so driving in the bus lane is allowed but some people think it's 24x7 and so will try and turn from the middle lane

all by way of example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

trellheim wrote: »
    somebody lashing up a bus lane without permission.

e.g. normal driver turning onto Jervis St in Dublin off the Quays has to cross a bus lane which a lot of people dive into quite early ...

alternatively it could have been sunday and so driving in the bus lane is allowed but some people think it's 24x7 and so will try and turn from the middle lane

all by way of example

In your example, permission or not is irrelevant to deem who's at fault.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

I've actually nearly had 4 (would have been serious) crashes driving about today and none of them would have been my fault.

I swear it seemed like people were just driving really **** today. obviously minds are elsewhere or something

miju wrote: »
    I've actually nearly had 4 (would have been serious) crashes driving about today and none of them would have been my fault.

I swear it seemed like people were just driving really **** today. obviously minds are elsewhere or something

Christmas Eve and stressed out last minute shoppers. Avoided the car this time round but saw some seriously crazy **** this time last year.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

agreed , will be following suit next year. I honest to christ consider myself lucky today I didnt become another statistic especially after some twat in a jepp was driving down the wrong side of the road on a narrow back road :eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭djeclips

Exact same thing happened me as the Op.

On a normal two way road with only a cycle lane to my left turning left into where I was living. Did the usual mirrors,check!Other car a nice bit beind me left signal,started turning and all I heard was the screeching of tyers. He came up the inide of me,his break marks up on the pavement and along the cycle lane.Clipped my wing and stopped about a cars length away from me so he was pretty moving it.Going towards rathfarnham from terenure just after the old sunday world building for those of you that know it,30 mph zone at the time.

He claimed I was in the middle of the road with my right indicator on. In the end only got 50/50 out of it. Had an assessor out from hibernian and all,he said basically "I had no right to cut off his right of way" and should have kept checking my inside mirror even though he was a nice bit beind me. Live and learn I guess.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭boomer_ie

Sounds like a Buslane on the inside of the OP.

I had an almost similar incident recently except I was the other car. I was driving down the buslane (legally) and the traffic to my right was slowing down, as I came level with a car on my right (front of my car level with rear of his car) he suddenly swerved into my path without looking. I ended up mounting a kerb, blowing a tyre and chipping an alloy. He admitted he didnt look and has agreed to pay all costs (€100 for tyre not sure yet for alloy).

Is the OP 100% certain he looked?

If he did then it is possible that the other driver was driving too fast for the conditions and failed to allow himself sufficient distance to stop should something "unexpected" happen.

On another note, has anyone noticed that NOONE takes into account that you are indicating and intend to turn left or right as appropriate. There is a possibility that this plays a factor as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

miju wrote: »

Apparently I'm a 'Cosy Dunt' according to a motorcyclist today. Stationary traffic jam blocking the exit to my estate. Someone kindly left a gap and I started to inch out to make a right turn. I look both ways and inch out a bit further. The nose of my car is far enough out at this stage to be well visible down the line in the left lane. As I said the traffic in the left lane is stationary but the right is clear. ie the side of the road I want to make my right turn onto. Obviously the danger is anything coming from my left up the clear right lane so my attention is primarily there as I inch out further to clear the back of the car blocking my view. The next thing I hear skidding tyres and then a motorcyclist mouthing obscenities.

So Yes I am a Cosy Dunt...For forgetting about suicidal motorcyclists hooning it past stationary traffic on the outside at 50mph and not noticing the car with its nose already pointing out between two stationary cars.

Its funny but this story is probably getting a very different slant as its told in another house this Christmas eve.

Don't get me wrong. I have the utmost respect for motorcyclists and the real cosy dunts that the have to put up with. I've seen cars make turns right in the path of a motorcyclist. I can imagine how scary it is. But in this case if you had have hit me you would have been to blame this time pal. My mistake this time was to forget the golden rule. 'Assume everyone else on the road is a moron about to do something stupid'

Calibos wrote:
    I've seen cars make turns right in the path of a motorcyclist. I can imagine how scary it is.

As it happens, someone posted a thread here a few days back after her husband was killed by a motorist who made a right turn in his path.

Calibos wrote: »

So Yes I am a Cosy Dunt...For forgetting about suicidal motorcyclists hooning it past stationary traffic on the outside at 50mph and not noticing the car with its nose already pointing out between two stationary cars.

That realy is a suicidal speed and I find it hard to believe any biker would be crazy enough to do that speed past stationary traffic.
    So how do you know what speed he was doing? :confused:
    Or you just picking a high speed for make your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Keith C

By the sounds of thingd the op cut across a section of road that is used for traffic use (like a buslane) and was hit by a car that may have been in his blindspot but doesnt sound like they were doing anything illegal (undertaking etc..) just bad driving.
    I would lay bets that this will be settled 50/50 by both your insurers.
    Although the third party should have seen you indicating, you should have seen him in your wing mirror before turning.
    Not having a go at op, just an opinion :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Called the guards, they came out ,took details and told us to sort out between ourselves...Will the other persons insurance company challenge the claim. ...

I'd say the insurance company will try to wiggle out of it and do which ever loses the least money to themselves. Or increases your premium. For example get you to claim on your own and accept 50/50. Depends on the insurance company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

Aren't you supposed to check your wing mirror just before starting to turn?, sorry to hear about your accident but it does seem to be that you are maybe partially to blame for this through lack of observation.
    Bikers are thought to look over their shoulder just before turning (its called a "life saver" manoeuvre for obvious reasons).

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Longfield wrote: »
    Aren't you supposed to check your wing mirror just before starting to turn?, sorry to hear about your accident but it does seem to be that you are maybe partially to blame for this through lack of observation.
    Bikers are thought to look over their shoulder just before turning (its called a "life saver" manoeuvre for obvious reasons).
    Not only having to check your mirrors, but turning your head to check your blind spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

I doubt he was doing 50, but you were there not me, but what if it had have been an emergency service vehicle going faster than 50? I am sure you would have seen that though....... That said, as a motorcyclist, I probably would not have found myself in his position as I tend not to overtake at junctions. I think he did not do himself any favors but think, had there been a collision, you might have ended up as being deemed responsible.

My mistake this time was to forget the golden rule. 'Assume everyone else on the road is a moron about to do something stupid'
    Amen. :D

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭B00MSTICK

Ya there are some muppets about alright, was making a right hand turn into am estate in a village, so I did the usual, mirrors, indicate right, move into position, apply breaks and waited for a gap to make the turn. A couple of seconds later, (I mean as long as it takes to say a short sentance) I hear screeching and the sound of a car mounting a kerb and then flying past my inside! Gives me a look saying it was my fault basically.

I know its terrible but do you ever wish someone who almost hit you actually did? Just a little? Without causing harm to yourself ofc. Might make them think twice about driving their Starlet GT turbo at 80 in a 50 zone completely oblivious to other cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

That's for a right turn, no?

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Wow, I felt sorry for this poster instantly! Not because of his crash, but becuase he posted it here and got the third degree! Chap was probably feeling bad enough as it was and then BAM!"! The boards bitches finished him off! :D

[EDIT] BITCHIN AT A CINEMA NEAR YOU .. THE BOARDS BITCHES .. AND THE THIRD DEGREE, AND WACKO ON THE DRUMS. BEWARE ... THEY'LL GET YOU .. USUALLY FROM THE LEFT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

esel wrote: »
    That's for a right turn, no?

Both, if you're a biker I seriously suggest taking some lessons, this is safety lesson 101.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

Not Your Ornery Onager

Both, if you're a biker I seriously suggest taking some lessons, this is safety lesson 101.
    Thanks for the advice, mate. It's only been about 130,000 miles since my one and only prang (car's fault, obviously).

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

bubby wrote: »
    Wow, I felt sorry for this poster instantly! Not because of his crash, but becuase he posted it here and got the third degree! Chap was probably feeling bad enough as it was and then BAM!"! The boards bitches finished him off! :D

[EDIT] BITCHIN AT A CINEMA NEAR YOU .. THE BOARDS BITCHES .. AND THE THIRD DEGREE, AND WACKO ON THE DRUMS. BEWARE ... THEY'LL GET YOU .. USUALLY FROM THE LEFT!

And now you are just bitchin for a bitchin with all your bitchin about bitchin.
    Enough bitchin please. :D

OP It kinda helps if you are hoping for a little bit of sympathy, that
    1 - you are genuinely in the right, and not just think you are.
    2 - give adequate details to paint a clear picture.
    Anything else, well just bend over and take it like a man.:eek:

I nearly had a similar situation recently, I was stopped in traffic, intending to turn left at a filter, but traffic ahead was going straight and waiting for lights to turn green, there was no room to go left, just as the cars started moving some dozy bint behind me, also intending turning left, decided the footpath was an undertaking lane and proceeded to do so. A fountain of abuse and cacophony of horn later, she was in no doubt that her brainless maneuvre was totally unacceptable and not allowed to go unrewarded.:mad:

Thanks for the advice, mate. It's only been about 130,000 miles since my one and only prang (car's fault, obviously).
    Longfields comment was totally justified. Even in a car, it is recommended you look over your left shoulder just before turning left, if not for the sake of your cars panels, but for that of child cyclist you failed to notice and currently in your blindspot.

Of course as a motorcyclist, life saving checks are all the more important when you are the crumple zone and your panels are all manufactured one-offs.

Not Your Ornery Onager

I do check when turning left. I always thought it was the look over the right shoulder that was the 'lifesaver' though.

Not your ornery onager

I do check when turning left. I always thought it was the look over the right shoulder that was the 'lifesaver' though.
    The left one is mostly just for saving other peoples lives, so pehaps not that important in some eyes.

kudos though on the misfortune free driving record, not having a go, as you probably dont even realise the amount of checks you do without thinking, but it is useful to point out to less experienced motorists when an incorrect statement should not be taken as fact.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The gardai are only required to get involved if someone is hurt but if you request it they should turn up to take statements.[/QUOTE] Thats nonsense the first thing you do in an accident is call the gardai to have a report if the case goes to court. If the driver in the wrong changes his mind and says that he was right theres no point taking him to court without a police statement to back up your case.