Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carlow slang

• 22-12-2007 5:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭

I had a great conversation with a chap from Galway last night who said he could sum up a Carlow person in 4 words..
    Ey?
    Lad
    Quare
    Foundry

I have to say he wasn't far wrong:D I don't say Foundry as much as I used to though

Any other common words/phrases regularly used in Carleh??

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

OK, please enlighten a non-Carlovian (or whatever the correct word is!).

Foundry?

• Registered Users Posts: 20 centrino

Foundry - Nite Club in Carlow Town, probably the most popular one there!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

I always made an effort not to use those words, and to say 'the foundry' but recently I've noticed myself saying 'well lad' to some of my friends.

it's a slippery slope..

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

centrino wrote: »
    Foundry - Nite Club in Carlow Town, probably the most popular one there!!
    Aaaahh ... tuigim anois! So ... "Foundry last night?" would mean "were ye on the pull last night?", etc, etc. .... ;)
    Mordeth wrote: »
    I always made an effort not to use those words, and to say 'the foundry' but recently I've noticed myself saying 'well lad' to some of my friends.
    Ah, it's all right, Mord, we all know yer lad is yer best friend, and that you spend most of your time attending to his needs ... ;)
    Mordeth wrote: »
    it's a slippery slope..
    I bet ... >_>

(Seriously, thanks centrino, I was wondering what tf she was on about!)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,402 ✭✭✭✭road_high

"Well" would be a big one alrite...like everyone in this side of the country!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭carlowboy

"In fairness" is a big one as not many people from outside the county say.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭patrickc

blagardin or do you know that sort of way

• Registered Users Posts: 4,478 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

- I do be
    - Fair (as opposed to Quare....I was fair drunk)
    - Locked (as in.... I was fair locked, or ... I do be locked at the weekend)
    - Oh jaysis (as in.... oh jaysis I was fair locked)

• Registered Users Posts: 26,558 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

tulla - tullow.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭tommycahir

Don't forget the eternally famous "Carla" ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Undergod

Quare is the main one really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

the way ye say sound! every weekend i do be laughing at that!

also when speaking to one person i find ye say "ah lads that was quare funny"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭Paddy@CIRL

With my better half being from Carla' I've picked up the following ...

Ha' - or a Hat as it is better known as to the rest of the country.

Carlow people tend to work from a 25 letter alphabe', the letter 'T' seems to have made it's escape ...

emo!! wrote: »
    the way ye say sound! every weekend i do be laughing at that!

i do be..!

A lad from Kildare told me the other day that he'd never heard the phrase "skitting" and thought it was a Carlow slang. That's hardly right is it? I thought it was everywhere.

Nah Im sure thats around the country.

• Registered Users Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Loveless

do be do be do be do be doo! there's a phrase I think I've only ever heard used in Carlow which is: sprongin' (bull****ting)

v. sprong, sprong·ing,
    v.intr.
    1. To speak foolishly or insolently.
    2. To engage in idle conversation.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,752 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

You doing abit of hedgecutting tonight??"

never heard that one!

Ah deadly, "cousint" is on that slang.ie site! I remember that!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Nead21

Cremo wrote: »
    tulla - tullow.
    haha my boyfriend's from tullow, he hates it when i call it tulla.....but im glad to hear im not the only one!!:D (although i do it to take the piss out of him!)

"vegables"

"vegables"

Although I think that might be Ireland as a while!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

please stop taking the pissing out of Carlow??

I'in from tulla, an me Ma learnt me to spake proper when I was quare Young..... RIGH ?

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Mylow

Undergod wrote: »
    Ah deadly, "cousint" is on that slang.ie site! I remember that!

I remember that as well.

Other favourite was...'I'll axe me mudder'

• Registered Users Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

"I do be quare glad a havin a ha' in de pockeh ommy jackeh of a cowelled aaevnin' ouh with de bize!!!!!!!!!!!!"

I'm from "tulla" and work in Borris so am aux fait with the bulk of the shoddy pronunciation. I have slipped into using it deliberately myself although I try not to, honest!

• Registered Users Posts: 49 mullanimal

lads make sure ye get carla represented well on slang.ie...

the book is coming out soon and counties are competing for their place in it...

twould be fair ill if ye didn't make it into the top 10!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

- oh jaysus lad thats savage!!
    - I'm quare drunk
    - cousint! ha ha!! the amount of people who think it ends in a d/t is shocking :D
    - I hopped myself last night - I injured myself last night

• Registered Users Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Quarehawk :)

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭steve66

Well I don't where these originated from, and I guess they all would would not be descriped as slang
    But when i was going to school, there were phrases like
    "hows she cuttin?"
    "up the yard, Benjy" a reference to a character on an old tv
    program called "The Riordans"
    Then there was and still is the ubitiquos "Man"
    as in "Hey man, whose yer man?"
    "Dunno, Man. Hey man, do ye know who yer man is"
    No man"
    Then there is "Bud"
    "Flip" was also used extensively in my schooldays as in "flip it anyhow" It was a substitute for the F word.
    "More power" although that would have been said by adults when I was a child. It's best said in a very gruff voice. I think it was more of a graigcullen saying.
    "coddin" although I see that's a kilkenny phrase.
    I have heard my father say "he's not a worth a stocking ****e" or something like that.
    Is "no problem" still used all the time?