Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

making dublin UGGlier

• 20-12-2007 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭

what is it with UGG boots that every girl in Dublin is wearing them? they have got to be the UGGliest thing around and in that sense they wear their name incerdibly well. i have yet to see a girl look sexy in them. Im sure they're comfortable but wear them in your own home as they were intended to be worn ffs!!!

i drove through donnybrook the other day and it was kiddies disco day in the stadium. There were litterally 150 clones standing outside, all with their uggly boots and creppy hair. it made me chuckle and cringe at the same time, and i was wondering also if we've gone full cycle and the 00s will be laughed at the same way the 80s are now, and i'm expecting a revival of the moon boot any time soon

girls, word of advice, UGGs make you look fuggly

Try the fashion and appearance forum.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=464

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭shrapnel222

Try the fashion and appearance forum.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=464

i might get lynched in there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

i might get lynched in there!!!

Where's the issue with that?

Its fashion, it'll change. Concentrate on bigger and more important issues. I'm sure homeless people would be delighted with Uggs

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

What's with all the Ugg bashing of late?? They're comfy as fook.. Leave us alone.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭cance

xzanti wrote: »
    What's with all the Ugg bashing of late?? They're comfy as fook.. Leave us alone.. :rolleyes:

you look like a fúcking hobo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Gegerty

Ever see a naked bird with just a pair of uggs on with her legs up over her head? Man they're sexy!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,463 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

cance wrote: »
    you look like a fúcking hobo.

A comfortable hobo

Gegerty wrote: »
    Ever see a naked bird with just a pair of uggs on with her legs up over her head? Man they're sexy!

only yore ma, and that was rank tbh. google for more info.
    xzanti wrote: »
    A comfortable hobo

fair point.

and warm too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Sorry girls,

I tell my sis and my missus that I think they look cack aswell!

:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,396 ✭✭✭✭Karoma

Moved from After Hours.

pssst! The OP implied that you're all UGGly!

FAPPETS, ATTACK!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Ffs, not another ugg thread.

Thread locked. Anyone looking for fascinating and original opinions on UGGs, do a search. Not that you'll actually find fascinating and original opinions, but you'll find lots of threads nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,137 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Bounced back to After Hours as per Karoma's request.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I thought Uggs had gone out of fashion? Maybe I'm just out of fashion! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Not nice imo but jeez, people can wear what they want.You've some cheek telling another poster they look like a fucking hobo.
    I bet you're dead stylish OP :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

i drove through donnybrook the other day and it was kiddies disco day in the stadium. There were litterally 150 clones standing outside, all with their uggly boots and creppy hair. it made me chuckle and cringe at the same time, and i was wondering also if we've gone full cycle and the 00s will be laughed at the same way the 80s are now, and i'm expecting a revival of the moon boot any time soon

thats it though, alot of women are basically sheep

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Only whores wear uggs... or so i hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭jamieh

I was in Shannon airport last week and saw a guy wearing UGG's!!!! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

what i don't get is with this freezing weather these boots are actually quite practical, but then girls aren't the smartest so they don't cover their legs. it makes no sense.

btw this isn't a complaint :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

OH MY GOD!!! Another UGG thread! I'm not just saying this because I'm a girl but I think Uggs look great on some girls....not been a lesbian either there! lol! I have 4 pairs now...all real note! It's the fake ugg wearing messy hair umpa lumpas that you have to weary of. If they're worn with style and some class they can look very well end of. And they're comfy so fcuk off all UGG haters! :D

I'll be warm for xmas while you might aswell be sitting in a freezer.....in the nip..........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

uggs + short skirt = legs that look fat.

uggs + jeans = legs look fat

uggs + * = legs look fat

also...

uggs + time = material goes to **** and girls look like they have deformed feet because they end up walking on the arches.

therefore

uggs = ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

uggs + time = material goes to **** and girls look like they have deformed feet because they end up walking on the arches.

therefore

uggs = ****

That's only the cheapy fakes. The real ones don't do that.

Not nice imo but jeez, people can wear what they want.You've some cheek telling another poster they look like a fucking hobo.
    I bet you're dead stylish OP :rolleyes:

never said anyone looked like a hobo to be honest-just that these boots were ugly.

as for style, i pretty much go under the radar with the way i dress. understated as they say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Why that crepe hair and ugg boots connection though? If you see a girl with boots like them you can almost guarantee that they'll have the hairstyle and if they have the hairstyle you can almost guarantee they'll have the boots! You rarely see one without the other!

As for being the ugliest things around, some of you are probably too young to remember legwarmers or cullottes!! Hopefully they never come back.

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    OH MY GOD!!! Another UGG thread! I'm not just saying this because I'm a girl but I think Uggs look great on some girls....not been a lesbian either there! lol! I have 4 pairs now...all real note! It's the fake ugg wearing messy hair umpa lumpas that you have to weary of. If they're worn with style and some class they can look very well end of. And they're comfy so fcuk off all UGG haters! :D

I'll be warm for xmas while you might aswell be sitting in a freezer.....in the nip..........

all the other ugg threads (did a quick search) are in the fashion forum. to be fair i've never been there in my life.
    as for warm feet. LOL. men have always worn shoes that keep the heat in, whereas for you girls it seems like a revolution to wear something that keeps your toes warm, as for the freezer bit, well the freezer in my house runs at about -20 degrees celsius, so the day it does get that cold in Ireland, i'll make sure and buy some shoes made by those world experts in living in arctic conditions: The australians!!!;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭prod_igy

jamieh wrote: »
    I was in Shannon airport last week and saw a guy wearing UGG's!!!! :o

lol, did u see ya man Rys Meyers weraing them in a picture on the paper there a while back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

UGGs seem to add about 10lbs to the legs of every woman who wears them.

They're like a mangled car crash of eskimo boots and slippers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Uggs are great, they save you the hassle of actually having to suss out the personality of a girl before judging them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

It was glad to read as to why so many ladies like their uggs. Comfy is indeed good.

See until now I wondered why so many of you wanted to look like mindless fashion clones, lumbering scummy tramps & total fools but your explaination makes a modicum of sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Ahh Uggs - possibly one of the worst things to happen ever. OK they may be comfortable but no guy finds them even remotely attractive. They smack of lack of effort and laziness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Down with this sort of thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Jeebus

Was waiting for another thread like this to come round. They seem to have had another surge in popularity.

Uggs look awful, all men will agree with this. They are always worn by women with jeans and an Abercrombie & Fitch hoodie. I saw three girls in Shannon airport walk by each other in literally the EXACT same outfit a week or two ago, the exact same right down to a tee.

It smacks of complete lack of confidence too, as if your fashion has to completely conform to whats 'in' at the moment. And don't give me that "they're comfy/warm" crack either - get yourself a pair of those fluffy slippers shaped like gorillas feet - they'll look better and all.

Such a vast amount of women dress the same these days that its prompted many discussions of this very subject between myself and my friends lately - all of which have ended with a split of opinion in the group : whether we should burn all of these people who dress the same on a steak, or pity them. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

i think there ok actually, (and im a fella).,
    see blokes get shoes specifically because there warm and comfy, why shouldnt the girls do the same?
    what does get on my nerves is those studenty lookin ones that wear manky addidas/reebok runners with the Oneils navy tracksuit bottoms that are too long and scraping off the ground with all frayed bits on the end oh and usually a hoodie, even in the rain they wear these bottoms.,
    anyone else know the type im on about.,lol., you'll see loads of them in town.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭dSTAR

Ahhh a good Aussie icon.

I do actually think they can look good on a really hot chick with a nice tanned pair of legs. I have seen lots of cute lil vixens pull them off real well but on some outer suburban trashbag they just look cheap particularly wearing those trackie dacks with writing on the ass .. no thanks. Apparently Pamela Anderson was spotted wearing them a while ago ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

KamiKazi wrote: »

thanks for posting that, didnt know wtf they where :confused:

My boyfriend thinks they are sexy on me with tights and a hoody

and he understands why I wear them and on one occasion tried them on himself*

babe if you're reading sorry but you said they were so comfy:D

My boyfriend thinks they are sexy on me with tights and a hoody

and he understands why I wear them and on one occasion tried them on himself*

babe if you're reading sorry but you said they were so comfy:D

of course he said that, he's no fool. one of the first lessons we learn about women. "how do i look? you look lovely darling". what you probably didn't hear is when he muttered: "just don't wear them in public okay?"

as for him trying them on, it says a lot about him really: 1) he likes you very much, 2) he has small feet 3)well we know what small feet mean :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I wear them under jeans for warmth and comfort
    €8 in Penneys, all you can see is a bit of black under my jeans

they're really ugly and I'm embarassed by them
    and if you wear them over jeans or with skirts they make your legs look fat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

so ye dont like uggs then lads....
    http://www.w3sh.com/archives/UGG-all-ads6-thumb.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

eo980 wrote: »
    Ahh Uggs - possibly one of the worst things to happen ever. OK they may be comfortable but no guy finds them even remotely attractive. They smack of lack of effort and laziness.

True. I wear mine only when I couldn't be arsed tying laces and I know I wont be getting out of the car, like last night when I collected my sister from work. (Great driving shoes, and great for making sure your pyjamas pants stay dry! Again, this is only when I wont be seen in public!) I don't have a problem if people want to wear them, I just don't really like them on me. My boyfriend has alway hated them, always called them my ugly boots, and I know few guys who find them attractive. That said, some girls can wear them and look great. It's just the other 99% who look awful! (Like me!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭TheB

vtec wrote: »
    i think there ok actually, (and im a fella).,
    see blokes get shoes specifically because there warm and comfy, why shouldnt the girls do the same?

We do.. but IMO they don't need to be as hideous as Uggs to do the job .. I have(lower) thigh/knee length (depending on whether you turn down the cuff) soft-as-butter caramel leather boots .. they are very warm and comfy (heel is high-ish but wide) plus they make my legs look both slimmer than they really are and about 4 miles long.. the only thing they have in common with Uggs is they are a similar(ish) colour..

I love them so much I bought a pair in black too! :D

Bx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

Femmy wrote: »

!= reality

she'd look hotter in heels too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Cremo wrote: »
    what i don't get is with this freezing weather these boots are actually quite practical,

Rubbish,

These are practical
    http://www.amazon.com/Danner-Fort-Lewis-200-Gram/dp/B000MSPZ96

Remember proper boots and skirts were fashionable?
    Those were the days :D

fortunately, some girls look hot whatever they wear. as mentioned though, she'd look better without them. Also, that's a photo trick, the leg is bent and the ugg is tucked under the leg, so it doesn't look like she has elephant stumps for legs as she would do if she were standing. on the other hand, if she were standing we wouldn't be looking at her shoes:D

but unfortunately most of the horrors wearing ugg boots look nothing like her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Kur4mA

I find it even stranger that anyone would let someones else's footwear bother them enough to go on about it this much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

No we still don't like Uggs. As mentioned she'd look far hotter in other footwear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

UGGs are ok looking though much prefer the knee height leather boots

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

how many chics would you encounter on a daily basis with legs that long? very feckin' few. don't delude yourself that just because one person with Peter Crouch disorder can pull them off everyone can.