Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why do we become clean freaks at Christmas?

• 19-12-2007 6:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭

I have been going mental this year, like other years, cleaning ridiculous things like the tops of doors and skirting boards and even painting the house and it all just HAS to be done for Christmas. Are any of you girls the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

It is mental, I left the house this morning and my mum was defrosting the freezer with a hairdrier(?!) and when I came back later in the afternoon she was doing the cupboards and told me she'd found a jar with a best before date of 1995 :O

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,656 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I started recently sail boat sitting, and I clean, polish, oil, sand, and varnish a little bit each day, rather than pay rent. It's a grand trade-off, living dockside in a harbour and near the beach. So it's continuous and not X-mas seasonal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭MLE

foxy06 wrote: »
    I have been going mental this year, like other years, cleaning ridiculous things like the tops of doors and skirting boards and even painting the house and it all just HAS to be done for Christmas. Are any of you girls the same?

I do the bare minimum, maybe if I didn't have two kids to look after Id have more energy but there is no point in my house as they would have it messy quicker than I can tidy.:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭foxy06

know how you feel I have 2 little ones myself. But when I haven'e got the energy to clean the house I'm sitting worrying about not getting it done!! So glad this only happens this time of year!!

Well fair play to you then for all that cleaning. Im going to mother in laws christmas day so maybe the fact that Im not the hostess ( with the mostess) is allowing me to be extra lazy this year.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Snap on the two small kids thing. Im usually delighted if I can see the surface of the dining table, any more than that will have to wait till my kids start college. Although I did get the urge to take down cobwebs the other day, so there must be something in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

MLE wrote: »
    Well fair play to you then for all that cleaning. Im going to mother in laws christmas day so maybe the fact that Im not the hostess ( with the mostess) is allowing me to be extra lazy this year.

Ya lucky thing, you get outta cooking this year. I unfortunately am going to my mother house and have to cook for both my parents, my brother and his wicked wife the their two kiddies.. NIGHTMARE!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

Yep our "Spring" clean is at this time of year, don't know why, ust like having everything perfect! My little one (3) has been joining me on a massive cleaning buzz, she even hoovered for me yesterday and cleaned/scrubbed the bath :D

/me runs off to reports l3LoWnA for child labour voliations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

I've just logged on after blitzing my apartment and saw this thread! lol.
    My hands are raw from scrubbing the bath with cif...minus rubber gloves :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

Ah yeah sure there's loads of people visiting etc!!

And also things like christmas tree needles, i suppose christmas lights might make it easier to see dust around the place, bits of tinsel floating around etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

I'm finishing up in work today so I have the whole day tomorrow to do all the horrible jobs like washing the windows, cleaning out presses, cleaning the oven, sorting out the hotpress as well as the usual tidying, dusting, hoovering, washing floors, cleaning bathrooms etc. I hope to get as much as possible done tomorrow so on Chrismas Eve all I'll have to do is give a quick hoover and wash the floors (damn black tiles :mad:). I'll have to get ironing done first though, never got around to it last night :o

Jules80 wrote: »
    Ya lucky thing, you get outta cooking this year. I unfortunately am going to my mother house and have to cook for both my parents, my brother and his wicked wife the their two kiddies.. NIGHTMARE!!!!!!

Wicked wife... I think you meant your favourite sister in law who you love even more than your sisters :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Just finished polishing my shelves in work!! Is that worse than giving your home a scrub for xmas?? :D

Piste my mam defrosts the freezer with a hair dryer too!! Mammys can be a bit mad sometimes cant they ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I have the in laws down and I know for a fact that she snoops in my presses.

Had a massive spring clean last weekend...

The house is lovely and tidy now. Will Blitz it at the weekend, Sweep out the front, rake the back garden, polish the door handles, wash the windows.

Then the cleaner is back next friday....WOO HOO!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

i get extra freaky at christmas, but most certainly not more clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

narco wrote: »
    i get extra freaky at christmas

Bom-chicka-wah-wah! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

Bom-chicka-wah-wah! :D

LOL :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭ellenmelon

yeah! and its odd cause im not the tidiest person ever either. im grand cleaning anywhere else (work etc) but at home it just doesnt happen.

there's just nothing nicer than being in a tidy house, like my mum says. and i agree with her. ill feel more relaxed on christmas when i can kick back and not see a mess around me. cause its just me and my partner i dont HAVE to tidy but i will..probably tomorrow while himself is out finishing his shopping.

id say dont think too much into it... :D

MLE wrote: »
    Wicked wife... I think you meant your favourite sister in law who you love even more than your sisters :D

Knew there was something a miss there!!!