Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you do every evening?

• 18-12-2007 9:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭

Just wondering....I know when some people finish work all they want to do is go home and relax and do nothing for the evening but I'm the complete opposite, I find myself going mad in the evenings and am looking for suggestions.

Just recently moved to Dublin (Howth) from down the country - where I lived with a big family and always had someone to talk to/do something with. Now I live with one housemate who's never there so I basically live on my own and am going mental.

Any advice anyone? I wish i could say that I have something I'm in to but i just don't know what it is....not any good at sports etc...

Any suggestions ladies? What do ye get up to in the evenings?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

Try rugby! I know you said you're no good at sports but my team is very social ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭SW81

Like Tag Rugby? I really am so unfit though, I don't look it but so unfit! Like the idea of Tag Rugby though, it always looks like good craic.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Like to stay active. I'm into martial arts for fitness, sport, and self-defense. Train and part-time teach about 3 nights per week plus Saturday mornings. Not into the pub-club scene, but do like to go out dancing with friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭SW81

Like to stay active. I'm into martial arts for fitness, sport, and self-defense. Train and part-time teach about 3 nights per week plus Saturday mornings. Not into the pub-club scene, but do like to go out dancing with friends.

That's great....see it's being idle that is getting me down, I hate it, too much time to think! Suppose not knowing many people doesn't help things either but that's why I'm looking for new things to do in the evenings...I just don't know what :confused:

I wish I was the sporty type!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

Hmm I know that feeling, kind of getting itchy feet myself lately during the week after moving away from friends...regards Tag Rugby, after googling it, the nearest to you is Sutton but that's not on until May (I could be wrong but that's what I found)

What about a drama group or something?? Should be one of them around locally. If not there should be lots in town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Lil' Smiler

umm.... i either see my other half, go out for some dancing (i'm a student), sit in with the laptop talking to people on gmail chat, go to the cinema, try meet up with friends, coach gymnastics on tuesdays & some other evenings, work in a clinic on friday evenings..

...nih not much to do, not a big fan of what's on tv, i've started to download shows from the states so i watch them instead of tv

although tonight i am watching my best friends wedding :) it makes me happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Might look into the whole drama club thing again myself! :) Used to enjoy it when I was younger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭Clare Bear

although tonight i am watching my best friends wedding :) it makes me happy!!

Me too :) I love Rupert Everett.

OP I live near enough to Howth and I'm kind of considering joining a drama group...even if it's just to do background stuff...I'll look in to it, see if there's anything local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

SW81 wrote: »
    Like Tag Rugby? I really am so unfit though, I don't look it but so unfit! Like the idea of Tag Rugby though, it always looks like good craic.
    No, proper rugby :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,756 ✭✭✭Jules

All depends on the day i have had, if it has been stressful i like to just chill out on the couch and watch tv and let my brain just turn to mush. Cinema, visit famill, friends. Spend time with himself.

All depends really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

I've been stuck in doing assignments every night for the last few weeks but that'll change tomorrow when they're all handed in and I can get back to my usual schedule of going to the gym in the evening then heading over to my boyfriend's or friend's houses for the rest of the night!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

I don't get home till 7 and then I have to make dinner which takes an hour to an hour and a half, depending on what we're having (including cleaning up). I try and do a bit of housework but I usually end up on the couch watching something pointless on TV. Last night I did a couple of hours ironing after dinner and held the ladder for my OH while he finished off painting the stairs and landing. Tonight I plan on picking up some presents on my way home, making dinner and doing some more washing and ironing. I used to go for a walk most nights but I don't have the time since I moved out of home, I really miss it, I kind of live in the country too so even if I had the time it's not very safe for walking :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭TheB

I've got busy evenings..

On a normal day I leave work at 4pm (ish).. go straight to the yard where I keep the horse.. usually arrive about 4.30 and there for roughly 2 hours riding and whatnot (includes lots of chatting and cups of tea with others there :o ) then home between 6.30 and 7pm.. Have dinner with OH as he gets back from Rugby training / the gym around the same time - we're both starving by then.. then around 8 ish we both take the dogs out for an hour or so..

Collapse on sofa at around 9 for some random telly and a glass of vino then bed around 10.30/11pm.. :)

Joining a club or something you are interested in is a good way to go..

Bx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Probably not a good idea when it gets dark so early but in the Spring/Summer there's some great cliff and wooded walks around Howth. At the back of the summit, down around quarry and Deer Park etc, nice views and on a reeeaally clear day you can see up to what must be Down...or Wales, I'm not sure which :o

And there's the icerink there for the next few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I'm of the "I like to chill in the evening" variety. I get tired easily and find work wuite exhausting. I get home at about 6.30, make dinner for me and my OH and usually eat in front of the tv, (bad habit, I know!). Then we usually do the crossword together, clean up and have an early night by watching a film in bed. The last 3 weeks have been crazy though so we haven't been home much. One night a week I clean the house, one night we'll go out to the cinema/dinner. I see my friends family at the weekends. We really don't do much during the week. I don't have the energy for it! Plus we're going travelling in April so we've got in to the habit of staying in more to save money.

When I was single I was never home so I feel your pain OP, at suddenly being free in the evenings. You should definitely come to the ladies beers on the 18th (it's looking like) of January. Good chance to meet new people!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Cheese Princess

In spring/summer I play tag rugby two nights a week. In winter I play netball one night and then do something else active on another night. This year it's yoga, last year it was indoor soccer. I'm not very good at any of those sports but it's a totally social thing for me and it's great fun.
    I'd usually try to meet up with a different friend one night a week in town for maybe some tapas or the cinema or drinks. And there has to be one chill out night at home for catching up with housework and watching crap tv.
    And sometimes I go on "dates" with my boyfriend :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

I have study Group on Mondays

College on Tuesdays

I do my ironing or some other boring household thing on wednesday

College on Thursday

Either working or in the pub on friday

Either working on my house or in actual work on saturday and Sunday

I wish i had time to be bored :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

I go home do a homework with my 7 year old, make dinner feed the clan, tidy up, get daughter ready for bed.

sit down and cuddle with my man... then do some washing... and ironing... then off to bed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

When I get home from work, all I want to do is lie on the couch, which I do until about 7. I make my dinner, watch tv, go for a walk, or on Thursdays run Girl Guides. I go home to my parents on a friday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Jules80 wrote: »
    All depends on the day i have had, if it has been stressful i like to just chill out on the couch and watch tv and let my brain just turn to mush. Cinema, visit famill, friends. Spend time with himself.

All depends really!

If you can pull him away from wow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

i tend to just feck around online, but am weaning myslef off that slowly.. in nz the usual thing would be to go for a walk by myself (with dustin, my mp3 player) around the city, and then go home to my fella, we'd chill and that for a while, and most nights there's a few tv shows we watch together (except thursdays, i watch boosh on the big telly, and he watches californication on the small one... priorities...)... but time would mostly be spent chatting and stuff, or he'd watch telly while i'd read, and i recently bought a thousand piece jigsaw that i want to do in my free time, so ill sit in the corner and work on that while listening to some music.

very uneventful, but it's so peaceful, i really just love it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Mrs. MacGyver

I read most evenings or watch Coronation st.

On Thursdays myself and my fella go shopping and out for tea and buns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭metaoblivia

I go to the gym almost every day after work. I usually get home between 7:15-7:30, at which point I eat dinner, and then relax by reading a book, listening to music, or watching TV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 sawyer yum yum

i do feck all except fall onto sofa, pull out recliner and watch tv for about 2 hours and then shower and get into bed (bout 10pm) Its just a really really bad habit i've gotten into over last year. I live southside, d. 12 and really need to get myself out and about over there........know no-one except my bf's family. Any suggestions? Not into gym/sports and not into going on the piss except on Fridays. Thanks in advance for any ideas guys!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 sawyer yum yum

narco wrote: »
    i tend to just feck around online, but am weaning myslef off that slowly.. in nz the usual thing would be to go for a walk by myself (with dustin, my mp3 player) around the city, and then go home to my fella, we'd chill and that for a while, and most nights there's a few tv shows we watch together (except thursdays, i watch boosh on the big telly, and he watches californication on the small one... priorities...)... but time would mostly be spent chatting and stuff, or he'd watch telly while i'd read, and i recently bought a thousand piece jigsaw that i want to do in my free time, so ill sit in the corner and work on that while listening to some music.

very uneventful, but it's so peaceful, i really just love it :)

hmmmm, doing a jigsaw.........i could do that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

you should, it's quite fun,and you get a pretty picture at the end of it too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

I do volunteer work 3 times a week, I enjoy it and its very rewarding... You have to be able to commit to it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

been in college for what seems like forever & always seemed to have SOMETHING to do in the evening - anything but study. now im working i seem to just watch tv or go online. thinking about taking an evening class in something like art, used to love it back in school & itd be nice to try it again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

I usually get home from college between 4 and 5. I pick my daughter up from the childminder, bring her home, give her her tea, play with her, give her a bath, into the pyjamas, she is allowed 15 minutes of Dora/Mickey Mouse/Winnie the Pooh then I put her to bed.

Once she's asleep, I go downstairs and I am usually sifting through a mountain of her laundry. Washing, drying, ironing, folding, sorting into piles, putting them away, putting stuff aside thats too small for her to go to the Oxfam shop. Then I pick up all of her toys and put them away. I have to wash her play kitchen down every night because she pours milk and other lovely stuff (toast, sausages, grapes, beans, spaghetti, yoghurt etc) into the sink of it and it'll stink if its left sitting. After that, I get her bag ready for the next day - pack nappies, wipes, creams, favourite teddies, two changes of clothes and her clothes for the morning. Then I steep porridge for us both to have in the morning.

She goes to bed at 7pm. I get finished with all of her crap at about 8.30.

Then I sort my own laundry, get myself ready for college the next day. I'll do some study, then I'll watch maybe 1 hour of television, then I go online around 11pm, and to bed between 12 and 1.

I have no time for fun :|