Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Home treadmills

• 17-12-2007 4:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭

Hi guys, i am about to invest in a treadmill for home.

I seriously need to get back exercising. Have gained a lot(loads) of weight in the last 12-18 months, after having lost a fair bit. I dont have gym handy in my general area, but i most likely wouldnt go there anyways out of self-consciousness. Fortunately (or not), im not busy on the work front these days, so i would not have any excuse not to have a good go at it.

Im on a slight budget but, i was wondering does anyone have any experience of buying the treadmills in the argos cataloge?

All i want is something i can run on. Nothing fancy. Im around 5'6 or 7 so i dont need a massive treadmill or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

I would avoid treadmills as they are damaging to your knees, not as effective as you think ( your legs only do half the work because the treadmill drags your foot back, instead of your foot pushing you forward) and one pound out of every four spent on them goes straight to the Nazis. You evil bastard.

How about a rowing machine? combine that with a 20KG dumbell set and you can get a great home gym going?

And remember, no 4th reich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

http://skievat.blogspot.com/ this is a great no equipment required daily workouts that you can do in your home all you need is a bit so space. Might be worth a look.

Also i am not a big fan of threadmills, personally i think the money is better spent on a reasonable quality bike that you can use to get in some functional excercise along with a free weight set.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

If you're really interested in getting fitter get a pull up bar for your door (> €20 at Argos, or a higher spec'd one for about €50 at www.irish-lifting.com)

Head over to www.simplefit.org for a beginners program that's weight free.

If you buy yourself some weights (about €200 for a decent set) you can get a decent strength program on www.startingstrength.net/workouts

Or, to really get fit, head to www.crossfit.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

The trick to home excercise equipment is to get something that you can hang clothes on. Because after a month or so that's what it'll be doing! :D

Another vote against a treadie here I'm afraid. To lose weight running you will need to build up the amount of time you spend running. After the initial "excitment" wears off you may find it very hard to do 30 - 60 (or more) mins on a treadie. FWIW I would strongly advise a decent pair of trainers and road running, it's a much better and more varied workout and will do you a lot more good.

If you really don't want to be seen out and about (and believe me, no-one bothers looking at runners so you'll be pretty anonomous) then a rowing machine would give you a better all over workout. Dunnes have Everlast "rowers" on sale at the moment for something like €15 - 20. It's basically stirrups, elastic and a handle but if you buy it and never use it you haven't lost as much money as if you buy a full treadie. And if you do use it a lot then you know that it's worth investing the cash in something better in a couple of months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Get a weights set
    http://www.irish-lifting.com/product_info_equipment.php?cPath=1_15&products_id=260
    you can buy more plates once you get stronger.

If you were to limit yourself to only say 1-3hours exercise per week then IMO this will result in the most fat loss. If used correctly and doing decent exercises

Check www.exrx.net

While you are not lifting your body is still burning calories to build and maintain your new muscle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Boru.

I used to be in the fitness equipment industry and still keep up to date with the latest models and specifications. Personally I find a home treadmill VERY useful. Even though I work in a gym, their is something wonderful in waking up, walking into your own "gym" looking like crap and running HIIT sprints for 15-20 minutes, then walking into the kitchen and collapsing at the table to a fresh cooked salmon breakfast (throw it under the grill before you go running), and then taking a leisurely shower. I love my mornings. :D

With that said - I wouldn't waste my time with Argos Models - there has never been any comeback with a defective product save with great arguments and protraction. Also, they rarely get top of the range equipment - and that's what you need if you want a good treadmill - one with proper shock absorbency and decent incline and speeds. I'd recommend any Horizon or Trimline Model as they come with lifetime guarantees and you can beat the crap out of them and they still look and act brand new.

But - be warned - they are expensive. I personally wouldn't train on a treadmill below a 1,000 Euro - if it's cheaper than that I can't be up to spec.

Of course - there are many more ways to skin a cat and get in great shape. 15 Minutes of Hindu Squats, Hindu Push ups and Bridging would kill most average fitness participants and all you need is your own body - which you already have. Believe me 500 squats, 250 push ups and 5 minutes bridging is enough to get in spectacular shape - and it's free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭gufcfan

Thanks for the replies guys. I have to say that despite what anyone says to i'm still going to be stubborn and get a treadmill.

When i lost weight before it was mostly down to diet, say 60%, and the other 40% excersise. The excersise was stretches and then walking for long periods or running.

I have to say that i favour running.

Back to treadmills, i have my eye on an argos model that is around the 450 mark(sorry Boru!), that comes with either a cross or bike. Just checked it ya... York Inspiration Treadmill and cycle, €449.99. I know the price sounds really low but as I said before, i'm on a budget.

I enjoy running more than other excersise, even though at the moment i wouldnt last very long...

I have some weights and a bar in the house, but i always felt that to be quite boring, although i do realise that they are effective. Maybe when i'm feeling in better shape after a few weeks of treadmill I can take that up.

At the mo, i feel crap most of the time because my diet is crap. If i had a treadmill in the gaff i'd at least have a reason to eat better so that I'd be able for the treadmill.

Thanks for the replies.

I mite keep yee posted on progress in the future.

Good stuff mate and I wish you the best of luck with it. Just one thing though, an I do understand about the budget, York Treadmills are NOTORIOUS for breaking down within a few weeks. The other problem is there is NO service agent in the country. I;m talking blown motors, oil leaks, spillages, ripped treads and of course the infamous case of the flying spring (4 years ago one of our competitors sold a York T-Mill, the spring on the folding bar snapped and hit someone in the face, narrowly missing their eye - that was fun).

If it breaks down you can't get it fixed. The other problem is that the springs and the shock absorbers are non-existent or useless. You run the risk of really damaging your joints, and of course they are uncomfortable to run on. There's a reason they're going cheap and having free (also cheap and unreliable equipment) thrown in - it costs them more to keep that crap then to give it you at that price.

Get a treadmill, but save and invest in a decent one that you can train on for years, not weeks. You could get a HORIZON PARAGON 308 for just under 2,000 spectacular machine that will save money in the long term. Still it's up to you. If you do go for the York though and it breaks pm me and I may be able to get one of my old service buddies to take a look at it for you.

All the best,

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

gufcfan wrote: »

I have some weights and a bar in the house, but i always felt that to be quite boring, although i do realise that they are effective. Maybe when i'm feeling in better shape after a few weeks of treadmill I can take that up.

Start both at the same time. No reason do delay.

If you really don't want to be seen out and about

Nail on the head.

Problem is that I was on a reality tv show, and that was how I lost weight before. While I thought it was great at the time, it was too far removed from my usual routine, so when it came to going back to looking after myself on my own, I ended up being worse off than I was before i started in the end.

What i did take from the experience was that diet is a huge part of it. I dont mean diet as in, starvation, but as in, eating plenty of the right foods and nearly completely cutting out other stuff. If i manage to get used to the routine of using the treadmill at all ye never know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Boru. wrote: »

Get a treadmill, but save and invest in a decent one that you can train on for years, not weeks. You could get a HORIZON PARAGON 308 for just under 2,000 spectacular machine that will save money in the long term. Still it's up to you. If you do go for the York though and it breaks pm me and I may be able to get one of my old service buddies to take a look at it for you.

All the best,

I bought a Horizon, I wouldn't be putting to much hope in their customer service. Never again will I go near them.

Good stuff mate and I wish you the best of luck with it. Just one thing though, an I do understand about the budget, York Treadmills are NOTORIOUS for breaking down within a few weeks. The other problem is there is NO service agent in the country. I;m talking blown motors, oil leaks, spillages, ripped treads and of course the infamous case of the flying spring (4 years ago one of our competitors sold a York T-Mill, the spring on the folding bar snapped and hit someone in the face, narrowly missing their eye - that was fun).

If it breaks down you can't get it fixed. The other problem is that the springs and the shock absorbers are non-existent or useless. You run the risk of really damaging your joints, and of course they are uncomfortable to run on. There's a reason they're going cheap and having free (also cheap and unreliable equipment) thrown in - it costs them more to keep that crap then to give it you at that price.

All the best,

Thanks Boru. I'll keep that in mind. With what you have said i might steer clear of the Arg... Catalogue.

2 grand is so far out of my budget it's not even funny.

I mite settle on a bike. I dunno. Ye reckon sub €1,000 treadmills are inevitably crap or dangerous, or both. Maybe i will go for a bike for now. Surely a cheap one of them can't be too bad? Any suggestions?

I had my heart set on a mill tho. Can anyone suggest a cheap mill. Seems everyone here might have different ideas about what cheap is, but stick to what you think is cheap but not crap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 swx22000

Keep away from those cheap treadmills, athey are bad M'Kay. My recommendation is to find a flat field you can walk/cycle to, and loads of vegetables and fruit. You can buy some nice rain gear, but it doesn't matter as long as you keep moving you won't get sick with all the vitams going in and you dry yourself after

I think i might give the morning run a try. I have made plans to do so, so many times, but i never follow through...

Ill try to do it in the morning. We'll see. I have soccer this eve. An hour of astro. I find it tough and i cant keep up with most of them, but i enjoy it all the same.

When i lost weight before, even though i wasnt exactly fit... as my body was still adjusting to the new chassis, i was able to hold my own in the local soccer team. I was thrown in for the senior side in annual friendly against the B team, owing to lack of numbers after an injury. I held my own and was not too tired after the game(Won a penalty and set up a goal). Now, if i ran the length of the field, i would have to rest before i could do it again. Need to gain willpower if anything...

Bill, I'm genuinely surprised to hear that. Do you mind if I ask who you bout it from?

gufcfan - if you want to try running I wrote up a program for another poster that I think you'll find both fun and effective. You can read about it here - http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=54409591&postcount=4

If you have any questions just pm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭accensi0n

I think i might give the morning run a try. I have made plans to do so, so many times, but i never follow through...

I find it very hard to get up that half hour earlier to go for a run. Then you have the days where you jump out of bed straight away and head out not a bother and think to yourself, "why can't I just do that every f**king day?".

accensi0n wrote: »
    I find it very hard to get up that half hour earlier to go for a run. Then you have the days where you jump out of bed straight away and head out not a bother and think to yourself, "why can't I just do that every f**king day?".

As i said in my initial post, i'm not too busy on the work front at the moment. Meaning that i'm looking for work at the moment. Therefore, i think it a good time to try to get into excersising again...

Right, soccer was not mentioned in the first post. Just sounded like a bloke trying to get rid of a belly, with no specific need to be able to run in daily life. In which case weights are perfect for fat loss. And as mentioned a cheap treadmill could cause trouble, while cheap cast iron free weights will work the same as expensive ones.

Some people feel the need to invest money in equipment, thinking you have to spend something for it to get results. Some need a monetary investment as motivation to keep up the exercise. So people in gyms use fancy machines to feel they are getting value for their fees, while using a €10 chinning bar could get better results than some €20,000 machine.

I have no reason to run, so do not run. If I was playing soccer I would run on a pitch, weather is no excuse, you should be practising in similar circumstances as to what you will play in, i.e. the cold and possible odd shower. Cold weather makes you keep up the running since it warms you up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭clawsthefirst

OP if you're on a budget try freecycle, there's always unwanted fitness equipment there for free. I bagged myself a crosstrainer from there (which I now use for the soul purpose of hanging up my coat!).

accensi0n wrote: »
    "why can't I just do that every f**king day?".
    Because there is no real penalty if you do not do it. I cycle to work everyday, so I cannot just give it a miss. I have to cycle, rain sleet or snow, sick or hungover. Risk of losing your job is good motivation ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

Bill, I'm genuinely surprised to hear that. Do you mind if I ask who you bout it from?

I'd rather not say, I don't blame the shop that sold it. It took well over 3 months to get an issue looked at plus a load of other problems. Maybe I was just unlucky.........

rubadub wrote: »
    I have no reason to run, so do not run. If I was playing soccer I would run on a pitch, weather is no excuse, you should be practising in similar circumstances as to what you will play in, i.e. the cold and possible odd shower. Cold weather makes you keep up the running since it warms you up.

Appreciate the suggestion. I think that the biggest problem here is motivation. I just can't seems to motivate myself long enough to do anything about my situation.

On the subject of cold weather... as soon as i'd have jogged as far as the gate, i'd be plenty warmed up, trust me...

I have to say that im surpised at the amount of constructive suggestions ive gotten since i posted the thread only this morning. Thanks guys

OP if you're on a budget try freecycle, there's always unwanted fitness equipment there for free.

freecycle???

fill me in a bit on that. not a clue what yer on about... cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭clawsthefirst

there's a website called freecycle.org where people give away things that they don't want. likewise you can put up an ad looking for whatever it is you require. think you need to set up a yahoo email account to be able to use it.

cheers. will check it out when i get the chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭celestial

Hi OP,

I think that when we decide to get serious about the weightloss again the first thing we do is start getting big ideas about treadmills and all the running we'll do once we get it...usually you just won't run very much!! I have an exercise bike at home and even though I go to the gym and work out hard regularly I don't use it all that often at all - simply because it can never be the same as going to the gym and having the motivation of ppl working out around you - plus, it's just kinda boring.

My advice to you is to focus on the simple things that work. No.1 get your diet sorted - you know yourself that this is the main factor in shifting flab. You can run on a treadmill til your blue in the face but you'll just be poorer and sweatier as a result - but prob not any lighter! I would focus on getting your diet right and buy a small weights set - you'll be amazed at the satisfaction, focus and motivation you get lifting weights. Plus it's a great fat-burner. I have dropped two inches from my waist on minimal - and I mean MINIMAL - cardio - I just lifted heavy things and ate like I should. Running on a treadmill is a waste of time really - it's nice to do it as a change from other activities but for your purposes just forget it for now.

celestial wrote: »
    Hi OP,

I think that when we decide to get serious about the weightloss again the first thing we do is start getting big ideas about treadmills and all the running we'll do once we get it...usually you just won't run very much!! I have an exercise bike at home and even though I go to the gym and work out hard regularly I don't use it all that often at all - simply because it can never be the same as going to the gym and having the motivation of ppl working out around you - plus, it's just kinda boring.

My advice to you is to focus on the simple things that work. No.1 get your diet sorted - you know yourself that this is the main factor in shifting flab. You can run on a treadmill til your blue in the face but you'll just be poorer and sweatier as a result - but prob not any lighter! I would focus on getting your diet right and buy a small weights set - you'll be amazed at the satisfaction, focus and motivation you get lifting weights. Plus it's a great fat-burner. I have dropped two inches from my waist on minimal - and I mean MINIMAL - cardio - I just lifted heavy things and ate like I should. Running on a treadmill is a waste of time really - it's nice to do it as a change from other activities but for your purposes just forget it for now.

I take you point regarding having big ideas about starting running and treadmills and that, but i chose a threadmill as a starting point because i enjoyed it anytime ive used it.

I joined college gyms years ago but dint keep it up more because i dint feel like i fit in there so i left it alone after about 2 months of 3 times a week for an hour.

I have weights at home so i think what i will do for now is have a go at them.

There are big and small weights, but ill stick to small for now. my "regime" started this morn and i have eaten 2 slices of toast, a big orange, 2 bananas and 2 apples. That would be good but if i can cut bread out of my diet it will help 100pc i think. I know exactly where im going wrong diet wise and i know that i should be drinking lots of water to help digest what i do eat... So i think from now i should maybe try to make sure that (A) i cut bread out of my diet (B) drink plenty of water(drink very little of anything at the moment, not even alcohol) (C) do some weights every day.

On the subjects of weights. What do people think is a good plan for that. How about for first few days to just use weights that are not putting much pressure on. To be doing the movements more than anything and then after every 4-5 days to get progressively more challenging... What sort of time do people recommend spending at that? I have no idea. at least if i have some info on how long i should be doing it and that it is likely to benefit me, i have a chance of sticking to it. I just know that if i can get a routine going at home that it will stick.

As said in an earlier post, i did lose a significant amount of weight in the past, only to gain twice the amount i had lost(maybe more). It was on a reality show that i did it and towards the end of it i felt great and felt like i could climb a mountain every morning when i got up... and a few times we did... but christ... that was so far removed from the daily stuff i do at home that it was so difficult to apply what i had learnt on the trip.

Rant over...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I bought a Horizon, I wouldn't be putting to much hope in their customer service. Never again will I go near them.

Have to say found the opposite, I bought a Horizon Paragon III, only let me down the once they had someone out almost straight away and it was a simple fault, actually not even a fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I take you point regarding having big ideas about starting running and treadmills and that, but i chose a threadmill as a starting point because i enjoyed it anytime ive used it.

don't let anyone put you off the treadmill,not having a go at people who say it is useless. It is what you like doing and that is the main thing, surly by mixing your work out on the treadmill it is going to help you loose weight as long as your diet is right.

I started mid October 16st 8lb. Use my treadmill 2-3 times a week with my rower 4 -5 times a week. Am at 15st 6lb now, it is working for me at the moment, though I do know to kick on I will have to introduce weights. Go with the equipment that you like, as you are more likely to stick at it.