Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Joining the Army.....for a girl.....

• 15-12-2007 4:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14

hey! I've recently come across all the threads about the military! I thought this would be a good start to finding out some more information about joining the army if your a girl.

Most people dont take it seriously when i say i want to join the army! As i don't look the type of girl they would stereotype to be in the army! But i am actualy really interested in doing so. I am 17 in a few days and i hear its possible to start now? I was talking to a guy who claims to be in the army and hes 17! I could never imagine myself in a 9-5 job when i leave school and the army almost seemed perfect when i considered it! I did for a while want to become part of the gardai...but i thought id step it up a notch! :D

Do women get the same opportunities as men? I understand that there are different entry requirements etc....and how exactly do they start you off?

Are most men for or agaisnt letting girls join the army?

please leave whatever information you have!

xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭ChapOfDRyans

The pdf is an equal oppertunities employer

if your able for i dont think many would have a problem but like every thing else there are always 1

but be sure its for you,if it was me i would join the reserves first for a year then if you like it go to the pdf

eamonn.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

When I read the thread title I thought the OP was a lad trying to impress a girl
    Oh well:o

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

micmclo wrote: »
    When I read the thread title I thought the OP was a lad trying to impress a girl

Likewise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Poccington

You can send away for your Application Form now, but must be 17 to actually start the Recruitment process(I think). Mairt and Irish_Army01 will be able to clear it up for ya though.

The entry requirements aren't really that different. Women get an extra bit of time on the run, but that's it as far as I know.

As for whether men are against women joining the Army, they shouldn't be. I'm training now and there's a girl in my platoon who puts in just as much effort as everyone else. As long as that's done, why should anybody care?

Best of luck in your application and hopefully you'll enjoy it, I know I do.

but be sure its for you,if it was me i would join the reserves first for a year then if you like it go to the pdf

I wouldn't bother with joining the Reserves, it's not the same at all. The only way to find out if it's for you or not is to just go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Poccington wrote: »
    I wouldn't bother with joining the Reserves, it's not the same at all. The only way to find out if it's for you or not is to just go for it.

What a silly statement. It may not be the same but at least she would get an idea of what it's like.

She'd just be wasting her time.

If she went for the PDF now she may be able to get into the next lot of Platoons going in after the New Year. Or she could go to the Reserves, wait a few months for her paperwork, medical etc. to get sorted, maybe go on one Camp, do footdrill and maybe fire the Steyr and then go to the PDF.

Now, why spend the guts of a year in the Reserves doing what is done in a matter of weeks in the PDF...... Just to see whether you like it? As I said, it'd be a waste of time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 wanabmodel

micmclo wrote: »

ha!!!!! :D

k so many questions....firstly!....whats a platoon??

and... i dont understand exactly how it works?..if i send off for an application form..do i then do a entry requirement test if they accept it? or do i train and then do the test? becuase i would of thought you would need some trainig to run 1.5 miles in 13 mins :eek: ha!

and say if i find out its not for me do i just leave? i dont understand how they start you off! like what do they start you off doing..if ya get me...??

and....:D do many girls join the army now?...i hope i dont end up distracting the guys haha just messin! how would i go about it if im still in school? and what exactly is the recruitment process! :confused: i dont know any of these words......sorry!

xxx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

My advice is join the reserve and get a taste of army life its not for everyone it can be a big culture shock comin off civie street having people shouting a bawling at you.
    Its not really a big deal to leave some paper work and buy yourself out not sure of how much but it gets dearer the further you go.
    Army life is not all about goin off to foreign countries and driving round in jeeps it can be monotinus and boring.
    And if you dont like getting dirty you might want to think again.
    But again my advice join the reserve think long and hard and most of all enjoy what you do remember this is what your gonna do for the rest of your working life.
    Best of luck with whatever you choose to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

I'd say join the RDF, finish your Leaving Cert then give the PDF a try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

wanabmodel wrote: »

As i don't look the type of girl they would stereotype to be in the army!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

Poccington wrote: »
    She'd just be wasting her time.

If she went for the PDF now she may be able to get into the next lot of Platoons going in after the New Year. Or she could go to the Reserves, wait a few months for her paperwork, medical etc. to get sorted, maybe go on one Camp, do footdrill and maybe fire the Steyr and then go to the PDF.

Now, why spend the guts of a year in the Reserves doing what is done in a matter of weeks in the PDF...... Just to see whether you like it? As I said, it'd be a waste of time.

As you have claimed here plenty of times you come from a military family. maybe she doesn't. If she went straight for PDF with no idea at all of what it's like and pulled out that is a place that somebody else could have had that really did want a life in the PDF. There are only a limited number of places available at any one time. Some poeple can't take the discipline etc and at least she'd get a taste of discipline in the RDF. You'd be surprised at how many join the RDF and can't accept the discipline in it. And it isn't a fraction as draconian as a PDF recruit is subjected to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

and... i dont understand exactly how it works?..if i send off for an application form..do i then do a entry requirement test if they accept it? or do i train and then do the test? becuase i would of thought you would need some trainig to run 1.5 miles in 13 mins :eek: ha!

and say if i find out its not for me do i just leave? i dont understand how they start you off! like what do they start you off doing..if ya get me...??

and....:D do many girls join the army now?...i hope i dont end up distracting the guys haha just messin! how would i go about it if im still in school? and what exactly is the recruitment process! :confused: i dont know any of these words......sorry!

xxx

go up to any barracks ans ask them for an application form, or get one online, fill it in, send it off, then youve to pass an interview firstly, if that goes well you have to do a medical and then finally you have the fitness test

you will need to be running a bit to be able to pass the test, and practice sit ups and push ups, there on the test too.

if all goes well youll get a letter sayin the date your starting, so you arrive at the barracks that day with your bags packed, your platoon(about 30 people who will be training with you) will start that day too, then its 6 months of training to be a soldier, youll live in the barracks during the week and usually get out most weekends, if you look at the top of this forum one of the lads has a blog on-going about his recruit training that hes doing at the moment

theres plenty of girls in the army and plenty apply so you shouldnt have any hassle once you do whats required!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

As a warning, I applied to the medical reserves a couple of months ago. It took about a month for me to hear anything back at all (I had to go to the barracks) but they sent my details off to the Guards,

havnt heard anything since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

In some subunits you will begin parading (training) immediately and get the footdrill out of the way while the paperwork is being processed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

xxx

if you dont know that you're fcuked :D

:cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 250 ✭✭Bam Bam

As a warning, I applied to the medical reserves a couple of months ago. It took about a month for me to hear anything back at all (I had to go to the barracks) but they sent my details off to the Guards,

havnt heard anything since.

Don't worry about that its a standard security check that every potential recruit goes through.

Your unit will be in the process of arranging medicals and will contact you with details when they have been finalised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Dirty Dave

hey! I've recently come across all the threads about the military! I thought this would be a good start to finding out some more information about joining the army if your a girl.

Most people dont take it seriously when i say i want to join the army! As i don't look the type of girl they would stereotype to be in the army! But i am actualy really interested in doing so. I am 17 in a few days and i hear its possible to start now? I was talking to a guy who claims to be in the army and hes 17! I could never imagine myself in a 9-5 job when i leave school and the army almost seemed perfect when i considered it! I did for a while want to become part of the gardai...but i thought id step it up a notch! :D

Do women get the same opportunities as men? I understand that there are different entry requirements etc....and how exactly do they start you off?

Are most men for or agaisnt letting girls join the army?

please leave whatever information you have!

xxx

Regardless of what other people tell you, I'd say the best thing you can do is try the reserves first. When I was 17 I was obsessed with getting a cadetship in the army - it was all I wanted to do. I did the interview for it a few weeks after I did my leaving cert and obviously failed miserably (I hadn't a clue about army life, it was my first interview ever - didnt know what I was doing).

So, undeterred, I decided to go to college and join the reserves in the meantime. After a few weeks in the reserves, I realised that army life would not be for me - I spent about 5 years in an infantry unit in the FCA and while I enjoyed it immensly, I realised that I would definitely not like to do it full time. It gives you a small snapshot of military life for a couple of hours a week and a few camps and weekends etc.

It gave me an idea of the higher military standards the PDF are held to and the sacrifices you have to make to be a professional soldier and I decided that the "dream" wasn't what I thought it was!

Try the RDF first to be honest....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Flying

Although I think the RDF is not what it should be, it would be advised to go there first if your 17, as if you join the PDF and dont like it, well it is a big drop in confidence if you leave mid training, which a lot of people do.

Also at 17 you might want to think of finishing your education and have a look around at other options.

I am not for women in the army but I do think that anyone who joins has guts, which is admirable in this day and age of slobs.

im just joined the reserves just waiting to get the paperwork done(talk about slow) any i really want to go on to the pdf as a regular solider and was wondering is there anybody here making a career out of it and not just a stop gap

well you really cant tell whether its for you or not until your in it a while, everyones career in the army will be very different depending on whether your in the right place at the right time(with the right army number) etc etc...

it took me a few years to realise i didnt want to do it for the rest of my life so subjectively thats an answer youll have to find out for yourself, although on the other hand mairt hit 22 years recently if i remember correctly so it is being done a lot!

oh rite thanks

do you thinks its a good way of sustaining a life and family etc
    i no what the pay is but do you think its good?(not that it would matter if you liked it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I was talking to a guy who claims to be in the army and hes 17! I could never imagine myself in a 9-5 job when i leave school and the army almost seemed perfect when i considered it! I did for a while want to become part of the gardai...but i thought id step it up a notch! :D

I'd recommend the guards.

I'm not being sexist, but its my experience that alot of girls don't stay in battalions & regiments too long after training and will end up in a nine-five job in time.

Sorry to sound negative, but that just speaking from personal experience.

oh rite thanks

do you thinks its a good way of sustaining a life and family etc
    i no what the pay is but do you think its good?(not that it would matter if you liked it)

i know some people disagree with me here but i think its a terrible way of sustaining a life and it was one of the main reasons i left, the pay isnt good at all compared with what it is possible to make out there, the pay overseas is great but as i said, your overseas so its damaging to any relationship you have or kids etc...

from what ive learned, the army is a good experience, ive seen a lot of stuff not many have but its not necessary, if your young enough, id say go and get a degree with good financial rewards at the end and then youll be set up for life in a few years instead of still being on rubbish wages for a lot of effort(that is required in the army)!

the way i see it now is that a job is a job, so you should get one that will not have you struggling through life, you wantto be comfortable and be able to support a mortgage, family etc....

when your job becomes your life(or the thorn in your side! :rolleyes:) its not a good thing, just my humble opinion!

king-stew wrote: »
    i know some people disagree with me here but i think its a terrible way of sustaining a life and it was one of the main reasons i left, the pay isnt good at all compared with what it is possible to make out there, the pay overseas is great but as i said, your overseas so its damaging to any relationship you have or kids etc...

from what ive learned, the army is a good experience, ive seen a lot of stuff not many have but its not necessary, if your young enough, id say go and get a degree with good financial rewards at the end and then youll be set up for life in a few years instead of still being on rubbish wages for a lot of effort(that is required in the army)!

the way i see it now is that a job is a job, so you should get one that will not have you struggling through life, you wantto be comfortable and be able to support a mortgage, family etc....

when your job becomes your life(or the thorn in your side! :rolleyes:) its not a good thing, just my humble opinion!

Regarding relationships I would tend to disagree as it is dependant on the induviudal, my own father has done a total of 22 Tours in his time in and we were fine again it is down to the person.

As for pay it is good in comparison to people on min wage in tescos etc and also the free health care,pension etc

Flying wrote: »
    Regarding relationships I would tend to disagree as it is dependant on the induviudal, my own father has done a total of 22 Tours in his time in and we were fine again it is down to the person.

As for pay it is good in comparison to people on min wage in tescos etc and also the free health care,pension etc

perhaps it is down to the individual but 22 trips overseas is 12 years or so, who wants to be away from their family for that long??? i done 6 months and it was enough! im confident for those 12 years he was away he spent every one of them counting the days till he got home, you only get one life so why spend so much of it wishin you were somewhere else!?

as for pay, the people on minimum wage in tescos have a good wage in comparison to the children starving in africa! ya cant look at it like that, you have to look at what your capable of earning then decide if your on a good wage or if you can do better!

free health care is great....

most decent jobs have a pension scheme now, armys pension you pay for ever week out of your wage packet just like every other job!

is there over time in the army or is it just ur 9-5 and thats it plus weekends of course and ur 24hr watch

its half 8 till half 4 monday to friday, maybe 1-2 duties a week, could be a weekend, exercises in the summer that last a few days to a week and then 6 month overseas trips and thats most of it!

is there over time in the army or is it just ur 9-5 and thats it plus weekends of course and ur 24hr watch

If the army paid overtime we would be all millionares ;)

It is 0830 to 1630

You then have escorts that can start as early as 0500 until 1700, exercises,24 hour duties, it is not a regular job and you can do up to 80+ hours a week

perhaps it is down to the individual but 22 trips overseas is 12 years or so, who wants to be away from their family for that long??? i done 6 months and it was enough! im confident for those 12 years he was away he spent every one of them counting the days till he got home, you only get one life so why spend so much of it wishin you were somewhere else!?

as for pay, the people on minimum wage in tescos have a good wage in comparison to the children starving in africa! ya cant look at it like that, you have to look at what your capable of earning then decide if your on a good wage or if you can do better!

free health care is great....

most decent jobs have a pension scheme now, armys pension you pay for ever week out of your wage packet just like every other job!

As to answer the above, some people make sacrifices to pay a mortgage and going oversea's is one way to pay lump sums off, also you dont get to do much soldiering at home so oversea's is the best place to earn it.

I have done 7 trips, 3 Unifil, 1 KFOR, 1 East timor, 2 Eritrea (cant spell)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 857 ✭✭✭Corega

Something I never figured out, are the tours volunteer only or does your whole company/batallion have to head off?

Most of the time you volunteer but some people are detailed also to go oversea's

Flying wrote: »
    As to answer the above, some people make sacrifices to pay a mortgage and going oversea's is one way to pay lump sums off, also you dont get to do much soldiering at home so oversea's is the best place to earn it.

I have done 7 trips, 3 Unifil, 1 KFOR, 1 East timor, 2 Eritrea (cant spell)

yeah i agree, but its the sacrificing that ive had enough of, i decided i was sick of sacrificing things to have others so now i want best of both :D

so check back with me in 4 years and ill tell ya if it was the right choice!:)

so would ye say that being in the non commisssioned ranks is not a good way to make money or sustain a family or just have a good income

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

at the end of the day,do what YOU want to do!no one joins the DF just for money,if you want to soldier and live a life less ordinary then go for it.there is no point in going to college for 3/4 years if you do not want to or working in a job you hate!I plan on joining GS next year,my 2nd choice would be army...it's just a case of what YOU want!these are peoples opinions,there will always be people who have good experiences and those who have had bad ones,you wont know for yourself until you try it!!

eroo wrote: »
    at the end of the day,do what YOU want to do!no one joins the DF just for money,if you want to soldier and live a life less ordinary then go for it.there is no point in going to college for 3/4 years if you do not want to or working in a job you hate!I plan on joining GS next year,my 2nd choice would be army...it's just a case of what YOU want!these are peoples opinions,there will always be people who have good experiences and those who have had bad ones,you wont know for yourself until you try it!!

That was a brilliant reply...made a lot of sense!! Your right about how i will only know until i try it myself!! Its a really hard decision! From some of the comments i feel maybe it isnt right for me! But at the same time it seems so exciting! And much more appealing then going to college!!

would i have to leave school now if i joined? and i wouldnt even consider the pay! as long as i like it thats grand! but i guess when i get older id probly have a change of mind...

and as for the fitness tests!....situps...pushups...id fail miserably!! hahaha!! ah well :( i guess ill just av to find something else :( i guess the guards would be good??......i just love being outdoors and having fun! especially working with the majority guys would be much better!...i get along with them much more!!

God i would be laughed at joining the army...I wanted to be a model then a guard now the army ha...!

and i wouldnt consider any of you sexist it is probly true woment would end up in a 9 to 5 job or a housewife! there even half as physically strong as men which would be needed in the army! well at least im not....

xxx

maybe you shuold post up some pics, just so we can judge your size compared with the backpack of course, thats all!! :p;)

here,here!!:D;):p

That was a brilliant reply...made a lot of sense!! Your right about how i will only know until i try it myself!! Its a really hard decision! From some of the comments i feel maybe it isnt right for me! But at the same time it seems so exciting! And much more appealing then going to college!!

would i have to leave school now if i joined? and i wouldnt even consider the pay! as long as i like it thats grand! but i guess when i get older id probly have a change of mind...

and as for the fitness tests!....situps...pushups...id fail miserably!! hahaha!! ah well :( i guess ill just av to find something else :( i guess the guards would be good??......i just love being outdoors and having fun! especially working with the majority guys would be much better!...i get along with them much more!!

God i would be laughed at joining the army...I wanted to be a model then a guard now the army ha...!

and i wouldnt consider any of you sexist it is probly true woment would end up in a 9 to 5 job or a housewife! there even half as physically strong as men which would be needed in the army! well at least im not....

xxx

Fitness
    Relax,with training you will pass the fitness test.They will send you info on how to train,there are also great fitness programmes to be found
    eg http://www.armyfit.mod.uk/
    fitness will be quite tough when you do your recruit training(16 weeks) but you will get fitter as you go on..

Choices
    well,you have answered your own question my dear!you don't really want to go to college and you love the outdoors...enough said!

Male/Female
    Your sex(steady lads:rolleyes:) matters **** all!women can soldier just as well(and in some cases better than) men.Don't be put off because you think you will be weak...hah!you have nothing to worry about,as i said if you start going for runs and start doing push-ups and sit-ups you will be fine..just takes time to get fit!stick with it though

btw,what age are you?if you are 17 you can apply whenever you want,but do your Leaving Cert first as it will always give the option of going to college in the future..

Finally,would you like my honest advice?
    go join RDF and see what you think..rather than going in to PDF as a civvie without a clue of army structure/training/drills/commands etc.Then if you still want the Army,by all means go for it..If you are 17 go to your local barracks,ask for Army Reserve(Infantry:)) and join.You then go on and train for your 2 weeks Recruit camp on Bere Island during early summer...I'm loving RDF,by the sounds of things you will too...and hopefully you will go on to join PDF!
    Good luck with it,and any questions about RDF just PM me!

maybe you shuold post up some pics, just so we can judge your size compared with the backpack of course, thats all!! :p;)

king and Chap,leave it out lads,she is asking for our advice and posting comments like that won't do **** to help her..if you've got nothing useful to say then don't say anything at all:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

+ she's 17?!

what are you implying:D

im 18 btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭trellheim

Go for it. Join now. When you get out [ if you decide to ] you'll have done things most people would never dream.

You'll have met the best friends you will ever meet and realized that the pain barrier is a myth - and you'll be able to hold your head proud and say "I did that"

HAHA!!....BOYS...There all the same...:D

well...in that case i will upload a picture, if that helps you in anyway?? :p....ok wait ive no idea how it wont work! ha ha sorry!

Thanks eroo for the pm by the way! You answered one of the questions ive bin wondering for a while! I didnt realise you could be in the army part time and still do your leaving cert!! yay...this is starting to sound more appealing now!

I know you say not to worry about fitness....but i think id find it hard to start running...especially in the cold! It kills!! i cant run for a bit...but im quite unfit :(

And yes Simona...Im 17!

and trellheim that is so true! I think im gettin more convinced to join now....

xxx

I didnt realise you could be in the army part time

well,its just 2 hours a week,usually 8-10 o clock mid week..it wont be exactly like permanent Army,but it will give you some idea of army work...also,you will get out of it what you put into it

Sounds good to me! And where do you train? And are most of the woment there masculine? ha not in a mean way but strong if you get me...xx

hah,ya i get you.not really,there are some real eyecatchers in both PDF/RDF...from what you have told us..i doubt you will fit into masculine.then again,it being the internet you could be lying..:p:eek:

well excuse me!! i dont lie thankyou! ha....guess it is the internet and you cant trust people!but ya...this is me....

<snip> Hagar <Snip>

Not the best picture to upload i know! ha I do look quiete skinny in that picture, but i do have more mucle in person!Well i hope to think i do!ha

eyecatchers!ha, id say you guys get distracted very easily!lol

Actualy i spoke to one women in the army once in the higher options thing in the rds and i got to go in one of the tank things was amazing!:D

xx

eroo wrote: »
    king and Chap,leave it out lads,she is asking for our advice and posting comments like that won't do **** to help her..if you've got nothing useful to say then don't say anything at all:p

get a grip mate!

come back to us when youve actually been in the army haha :eek:

what was it, "boy scouts with attitude"??? haha priceless

OP, yeah theres girls in the army that are really teeney tiney(serious) so you shoud have no bother! you prob should join the RDF first though, all the FCA warriors will give ya a bit of an inside look!

and i know i know, no FCA anymore blah blah

im so drunk :o

YOWZAA!!!!!! :p

great minds eh? postin at the exact same time eh?!?!!

sorry sorry eroo will give out to me! i take it back!