Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SLA RPG - Game thread

• 13-12-2007 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭

1 post per turn allowed lads so use it wisley! Im a little early but to heck with it any problems or questions or anything i can do to make the game better just drop me a PM: so without further adue ...... LETS GET IT ON ......

Game Turn 1

The rain taps lightly on your bedroom window. Your eyes closed you can feel yourself breathing slowly you have woken to a new day. The first day of your new life as an operative of SLA industries, your memories of last night are faded and jumbled. Maybe you shouldn’t have had so much of that free booze they were handing out at your graduation party. Then again it was free and you feel that was the last free handout SLA industries will be giving you for a long time to come. You remember your fellow class mates from meny. (SLA’s training facility for all operatives on the planet.) All partying hard you wonder how many will live to see the follow on reunion one year from now. You allow yourself a few moments to reminisce over the last 3 years of your life. Locked away from the world training to be an operative and now that day has come.

With an audible grunt you roll out of bed, bare feet hitting the cold floor. You dress quickly as you only have another hour before registration at SLA Central, from there You’ll be assigned a squad and then you must meet your new squad mates. You still wonder was it worth putting your name down for active squad duty, should you have gone alone as a solo operative? But from what you've herd green Solo operatives usually die fastest. You leave your apartment on the lower east side of mort central and start making your way towards the central HR and admin offices. Today you think to yourself you will be assigned to a squad of operatives and quite probably take your first even BPN assignment. Secretly hoping and praying you don’t get assigned sewer duty the thoughts of being neck deep in waste fills your stomach with bile.

After a short journey on the gauze rail train you arrive at central HR and admin offices. The building is impressive in its sheer size and architecture although you weren’t really given a chance to admire it for long. You enter the building and are immediately set upon by several large burley looking security personal (most of them stromers). You are told that you are required to give a formal retinal scan for identification which you do and are promptly directed to a waiting area filled with operatives of every size, race and gender. Hundreds of them all standing, sitting and talking. After what seems an eternity of waiting your name is called along with several other operatives by a tall skinny pale faced man in an expensive looking suit. He addresses you when your name is called. "Congratulations Operative welcome to squad 457A43245.21 please walk through the door over there" says the man in a oily slick tone he points to an open door which seems to lead into a smaller room. You walk towards the door and step into a room with several other operatives just standing around all of whom seem to be eyeing each other up trying to gauge each other. "Squad 457A43245.21" you muse to yourself well one things for sure we'll defiantly have to change the squad name and decide on a squad leader. After a few more minutes the same man that addressed you earlier enters the room.

"Ladies and Gentlemen my name is Mr Smite I will be your SLA representative over the next few weeks over the course of the last few years SLA has introduced this programme to assist new operatives coming into the field our evaluation of operatives during this time has led to numerous successful operatives gaining top level positions withing the company. Think of me as your mentor I’m not here to judge you or to rate your progress. But instead I’m here to help in anyway I can. I will give you a few moments to get to know one another then we must proceed. I can offer you two choices. You can take one of the several Blue BPN's i have here, but you wont like them they are mainly low level, low pay blue BPN duties. Rat infestations and sewer duties, baby sitting street crew maintenance teams that sort of thing. If you don’t like the sound of that you can dismiss these and head directly to the Slayers Crib and try your luck there for a better paid BPN. I will give you a few minutes to discuss this amongst yourselves then I’m going to need an answer"

Mr Smite starts to jot some notes down on a clip board and is seemingly oblivious to you all. As you turn to face your squad you wonder how the rest of your squad will react to this news.

Time to decide ........

[End of turn 1]

Remember folks your only allow 1 post per game turn in the game turns thread so use it wisely. AS a suggestion i would recommend you all have a quick chat on the COMS channel thread. Decide if you’re going to accept a crappy blue BPN or head to the crib. And then decide on a squad leader (if you want one) and address Mr Smite with your answer. I’m going to assume you don’t have a squad leader until such time as you decide on a squad leader and let me know.

Cheers lads and good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

"Mr Smite, any chance of a run down of what you have on the BPN and Blue books? I'd like something I can come back alive from - but the stormers bored so perhaps something a bit more ... entertaining?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

Game Turn 1 (a)

=================
    You address Mr Smite asking him about the blue BPN's, Mr Smite looks up from his notes to look at you and for what seems to be a moment Mr Smites Pen is still jotting something down in his pocket notebook and suddenly stops.

"Blue BPN's indeed" Mr Smite says "Of course i see you want all the information before making an informed decision, Very wise" Mr Smite produces a sheet of paper with a list of 4 Blue Low level BPN's and hands them too you.

"Currently Mr Vance those are the only Low level BPN's SLA Industries are willing to assign your team" Says Mr Vance "upon sucessful completion of several low Blue BPN's we will allow you access to several higher grading Blue BPNs, Once those are complete you will have access to the medium level SLA station analysis BPN's" Mr Smite pauses for a moment "However you will of course be allowed access to the medium SLA station analysis BPN's should you successfully complete BPN's in the Slayers Crib, let me assure you the number of BPNs you need to successfully complete in the crib is allot lower than the number of Blue BPNs your going to need to complete. However the crib is a dangerous place." he pauses for a moment to scribble some more notes down and then continues "are you sure you want to even consider Slayers Crib many new operatives are afraid of the crib and the BPN missions that are given out there they can be well paid but quite dangerous."

Mr Smite places the Blue BPN Contracts on the table and then says "Choose then To the slayers crib or one of the following Low Level BPN's, but choose wisley once the decision is made it cannot be taken back"

=====================
    Payment: 50 Credits per Op
    Details: Squad required for Night Time Patrol Downtown Central Resident District, Sqaud will be assigned a squad of shivers. ensure residents are not disturbed
    Payment: 20 Credits per Op + 5 credits per carrian killed
    Enter Central Sewer system and destroy Carrian Nest Bonus per Confirmed Carrian Killed.
    Payment: 60 Credits per Op
    Details: Squad required to Patrol Downtown Central before tonights GoreZone Games. Ensure all stormdrains are closed and streets are cleared of civilians
    Payment: 50 Credits per Op
    Details: Squad required to escort Street/Sewer Maintenance Team for cleanup operation in downtown Central. Change of clothes and/or hazard suits are required.

Mr Smite looks at you smiles an oily smile and says "Im afraid i cant tell you what missions are at the Slayers crib you'll have to go their yourself thats outside my jurisdiction, talk it over with your squad Mr Vance please and let me know but the longer you wait the more chance you have of loosing these BPN's since there are other squads starting today aswell you know."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

"What a bunch of Fethheads."

The frother swings her boots off the table and turns and looks at Vince

"Really did you go to the island at all or is your shiney suit sooo tight that it is restrticing the blood flow to your brain that you can't remember that walking slab o'damage is a vatbaby ?

Or are you planning on hauling around a decaying stormer carcass until you reach an op level high enough to try and date that witch who runs Karma?

As for the fething rest o' ye can ye no read ? "

She springs to her feet, turns to Mr Smite and states " I'm for killing Carrians and seeing if this lot," she rolls her eyes in the driection of the rest of the team " can hold thier piss first before trotting into the canibal sector for a fething picnic."
    With that she balls up the BNP sheet and lobs it at Tobias Bernard Atol head saying
    " Ye have my vote as long as we get of here before I get bored and start drinking."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

If you are going to start drinking, make sure you have enough to share.

Smite, it seems these BPN's are dangerous enough for a Frother to undertake.

*Tobias picks up the crumpled paper and flattens it out on the table, ensuring each one is laid out neatly, he then stacks them in a small pile and pushes all but the Second BPN to one side*

And since our resident Brain Waster appears to not care, I believe we are interested in this one

*Hands over carrion killing duties 101*

Put that in your notebook.

"Tell'in ya what Tobby if you ken rack up a higher carrian kill count then me and Clyde here, we'll buy you a bucket o' Slosh. That is if ye ken get past Deth's Door"
    Ro goes back to absently mindedly stroking her Claymore.

*shrugs shoulders and starts checking my medical kit*

Whenever ye' are ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭qwertz

Having noticed somebody mention his glorious race Nonn awakes from his slumber. He pushes his long hair behind his head and stands up. He quickly surveys the room and briefly glances at each of the others present.

"Well, well, well, what a pretty picture! A human, a stormer, a frother girl and another human. The five of us make a great little club, don't we?"

Nonn walks over to the desk, smiles, and waits a moment for the human to move aside. Fortunately he doesn't seem to get the message and Nonn has to push the little human to the side. Just a nudge, nothing serious, at this point it still is all fun and games.

"You got to watch where you are going, my human friend," he says with a little smile on his face, "Wouldn't want to hurt yourself before our first taste of blood."

He picks up the sheet of paper, reads it, turns around to face each of the other squad members, scratches his unshaven chin and turns back to the bureaucrat.

"Fine with me, Mr. Smite, fine with me." He turns to tba and says "Let's kill us some Carrians then, my friend. That ought to be fun."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Eglon grunts. "So be it then, If we're going to waste our time then lets get on eith it. I still think Vigo should consider a career as a janitor if this is the kind of work he aspires to. Doesn't sound like he has the sack to make it as an operative, let alone a squad leader."

[Game turn 2]

There seems to be a dangerous light in Mr Smites eyes as Tobias addresses him. "indeed Mr Atol i intend too" Mr Smite then addresses the squad. So you have chosen to accept a blue BPN mission. By agreeing to run this mission you agree to the terms and conditions as specified in your operative contracts that you signed in meny. Failure to complete a BPN will result in heavy sanctions, a fine or quite possibly even a decrease in SCL level." Mr Smite continues "There have been several updates which i suggest you read i will post them up on the board along with your mission details, i strongly advise you read them carefully then move out. My office is in this building on the 23rd level corridor 4. room 2.09 once your mission is complete please come and see me and your SCL levels will be modified as appropriate and payment will be made in full to you all. Good luck now if you will excuse me I have another 14 squads to brief today" with that Mr Smite hands you each a small folder with mission updates and your mission details and payment details:

================================================
    [UPDATES]:
    (31) Hours ago a large carrien nest was discovered by a street maintenance crew cleaning out storm drains in sector 37 of the central district.
    (29) Hours ago a shiver squad was sent in to exterminate the nest, they didnt return.
    (21) Hours ago we sent several operatives from a kick murder squad into the nest who proceeded to exterminate the nest. They returned to report the nest was destroyed however the carrien rat hive leader had escaped into the sewer systems.
    (16) Hours ago a street maintenance crew went missing from the P3 level of an underground parking facility above the central hill-springs shopping mall.
    (15) Hours ago several shiver units sealed off the P3 level of the parking facility reporting carrien infestation.
    (4) Hours ago shivers had reported an increase in size and ferocity of attacks from the carrien's on their front lines from and have requested operative support.

Its seems the carriens have made a nest somewhere either on level P3 of the underground parking facility above central hill-springs shopping mall or in the sewer systems just below the parking facility.

[Your mission]:
    BPN: 201243434.234
    Colour: Blue
    Payment: [35 Credits] per Op + [5 credits] per carrien killed (remove head or tail as proof) you will also gain a .2 increase of SCL level if you successfully complete this mission.

Heading: Enter Central destroy Carrien Nest by killing the carrien hive leader Bonus per Confirmed Carrien Killed.

Details:
    Your squad has been given the assignment of destroying the carrien infestation under the hill-springs shopping mall. It is of the UTMOST importance you do not let ANY of the carriens escape into the mall. We predict loss of civilian life if the carriens make it into the mall. This is totally unacceptable and you will fail your mission if this scenario occurs. Penalty for failure of this mission will result is a .3 drop in your SCL level you will forfeit any payment of the mission however the bounty of +5 credits per carrien killed will still be paid to operatives in full. Intel suggests the carrien nest is actually in the sewer system under level P3 of the shopping mall's underground parking facility. Somehow the carriens have found a way from the sewer systems into the lower levels of this facility. It is also important you find out how they got from the sewers into the parking facility. So when you complete your mission the breach can be sealed. In order to completely wipe out the nest you will need to find and kill the carrien hive leader. The leader will be easily distinguishable from the other carriens as the hive leader will be larger, more aggressive and allot more dangerous than the other carriens you'll encounter. Many an operative has fallen from underestimating the size strength and raw power a carrien hive leader has. Don’t make the same mistake. Once the hive leader has been neutralized the rest of the carriens will scatter.

The shiver units onsite are at your disposal and are yours to command as you see fit however be warned mismanagement of the shiver units or any loss of shiver life through the course of your actions that are proved to be through bad orders will result in HEAVY sanctions that could include operative termination from SLA industries.

YOU DO NOT HAVE TO KILL EVERY CARRIEN IN THE NEST, JUST THE LEADER HOWEVER THE MORE CARRIENS YOU KILL THE LARGER YOUR BONUS WILL BE

=================================================
    You look up from reading your mission brief and Mr Smite is gone, you didn’t even hear him leave. You are all geared up and ready to go unfortunately you have no Intel on the facility at the moment. You tack up and roll out you all step into a carriage of the gauss rail train and head in the direction of the shopping mall

[END OF TURN]

====================================================
    It is assumed that you are now on your way to the facility. the train will arrive there soon every seat on the train has a keyboard and mini screen that has a connection to SLA's info web if you want to try and grab some Intel on the building before the mission gets underway you can post what you are looking for in the game turns thread. Possibly also you can discuss tactics of the mission in the COMS thread as the game progresses. if you dont want to do any info hunting let me know or just say nothing I'll give you guys until 4PM today to post something that way everyone gets plenty of time to think about what they need to find. The more intel you have on the place the better your mission will run. if you don’t want to post it in the game turns thread you can PM me your question too.

*Tobias checks his reflection in the window*

I'm looking up 3rd eye to see if this is getting press coverage, there might might be elements of the report that would interest me.

Then I'm going to look up the mall, my interest is levels P4 and P2 and possible connection routes, lifts, vents etc. In paticular how the Hive leader got from the sewers into the section.

Lastly I want to check out the onsite Shiver squad, numbers, armament, status and squad leader, I also want to send a message.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    +BPN:201243434.234
    +MESSGAE SHIVER SQUAD
    +HOLD POSITION
    +OPERATIVE SQUAD ENROUTE
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

3rd eye are on scene the reporter is a human female called Chasey Lane, she is giving a report into the mysterious circumstances of the closing of parking level P3 in the mall’s parking facility.

“No details have yet to emerge about level P3 and there have been no reported casualties as yet. Sources close to 3rD eye say that an operative team has been dispatched to investigate. For now the mall remains open and its business as usual for residents here in hill-springs more on this story as it develops. Im Chasey Lane and your watching eye on central live on 3rd eye”

There is no Level P4. The shopping mall has 4 levels of shops and 3 sub levels for parking P1 to P3.Your looking at the building schematics now and P3 is the lowest and largest of the parking levels there isn’t anything else beyond that. The connection routes between all levels are several stairwells and a main lift that connects every level. There are several types of vents through the car park on all levels air, water, power but access to that kind of information is restricted. Its not available to the public. (your logged on through a public server remember) you’d have to hack it to get more information. And you don’t have allot of skill with a computer. (You do however notice Vigo take out an Oyster Laptop and is tapping away furiously)
    How the carriens got it is anyone’s guess. You cant find any info about that.

Regarding the Shiver Intel, in order to get access to this you can’t use the public access channels or the SLA info web that kind of info is restricted. You do remember from your training course at meny that SLA have monitoring stations called Station Analysis that Op’s can contact for further information. (you rolled very well on your SLA info by the way) After a few moments you get through to station analysis 112 and are given the information you requested:

2 Shiver squads have been deployed to level P2 of the parking facility. Currently they have setup a command post and barricade at the ramp way from sub level P2 to Sub level P3 of the parking structure. They have engaged in combat with the carriens several times and have taken casualties. There are 6 members in each squad and a team leader, Recently Sgt Johnson a SCL9A shiver sergeant has arrived taken command. So that totals 15 shivers on site. However the report doesn’t specify how many shivers are left alive after the last attack as they have suffered casualties in the last attack. They are all armed with standard Shiver gear (which is usually a stun baton, P44 blocker body armour and a browbeater gauss rifle which from what you remember is a glorified pee shooter) you can attempt to COMM Sgt Johnson on your COMS channel

=================================

(ok ok i know I said I wouldn’t interfere in the COMS channel but it makes sense)

While Sgt Shiver is connected to your COMS channel be VERY VERY careful what you say all previous communications that you’ve said on the COMMS channel thread he will not able to see but anything you say on COMS while he’s connected he will be able to hear. You can disconnect him at any time by telling me [DISCONNECT SGT JOHNSON]
    Once you issue that command he’ll be dumped off your COMS channel and any further communications you say from that point he wont be able to hear.

Nonn looks up information about the critters: (HP, strenghts and weaknesses, susceptibility to weapons...).

From what you can get on the SLA info web and what you remember from Class in Meny. Carriens are a Mutant Breed of creatures. Like dogs they hunt in packs and can be very ferocious when they attack using teeth and claws. They have extremely poor vision in sunlight, and have a hard Exo Skeletal shell like plate armour.

[I’m not going to give you the stats of a carrien my friend that would be too easy]

There are no medical or bio statistics available about the carriens as none have been captured alive to study.

From what you can ascertain though they are stronger and have faster reflexes than your average human. 1 carrien would be equal to an entry level operative in terms of combat skill however they have very low intelligence.

Game Turn 2 [Continued]
    =================

The train is just arriving at the platform to Spring-hills shopping mall when the vid screens pop on:

"This is Chasey Lane reporting live from Spring-hills, A few moments ago a large explosion was herd from the parking facility of the spring-hills parking facility where shiver units were deployed a few hours ago. As yet this news reporter can get no details from local shiver forces that have arrived on scene as to the source of the explosion. No one from the shiver units up here has been allowed into the parking facilities and have sealed off the area. And as of yet no Operatives have been scene more on this story as it breaks"

The train pulls into the station and you step out onto the platform and into an air of paranoia. Civilians instantly recognise you as SLA Op's and start to move out of your way. In the distance you can see the freshly arrived shiver units in 2 APC's they have just setup a barracade at the entrance to the P1 level of the parking facility. From here there are 2 entry points. you can go into the mall and work your way down or you can go past the shivers and into the parking facility itself starting at P1 and work your way down.

[END OF TURN]
    =======================

[I can provide bitmap Paint pictures of the facility if you wish]

Tobias moves over to the shiver unit holding the ramp at the entrance to the P1 entrance level, he toys with pulling out his pistol but decides against it. As he walks of the guass he sees the nearby profile of the third eye news truck close by.

Better not **** this up on television he thinks.

He walks up to the commanding officer.

"Shiver!, whats the sit rep, are you in contact with the forward barricade?

Also ahve you got a handle on the layout or are you all fresh off the APC?"

<snip>

"Ah, TV-crews, excellent. Let's give them something they won't forget for a while!"

Nonn exits the train and briefly surveyes the area. "Shiver units, what a waste of space." No point joining that happy little group since they have no flamethrowers for me anyways.

Nonn makes his way through the onlooking crowd and heads over to the entrance to the mall. There he waits to see if any of his squadmembers will join him to work their way down that godforsaken mall. Via the comms channel he says "Guys and gal, you are all welcome to join me on a little shopping trip before we sort out that rodent infestation in the basement."

/Following Tobias and continuing to try and raise Sgt Johnson on the comms. I unsling my assault rifle and head for the Mall Entrance.

Eglon slips a Mutilator glove onto his left hand and hefts a shotgun in his right hand, making his way towards the ramp to P1, pushing his way past anyone standing ebtween hima nd where he's going.

Ro follows in the wake of the stormer steping on the toes of any idiots that dont' get out of her way.

From what I've read The team has split into 2 groups.

Team 1 is currently stationed at the main entrance and consists of Hivemind187 and Qwertz

Team 2 is currently stationed with the shivers at the main entrance ramp to P1 and consists of TBA, Thaedyal and Raphael If you want to switch teams (or join them back up just issue the order in the COMS channel and i'll amend the next game turn to reflect this)

=====================
    [Game Turn 3]

Team 1 Stationed at main entrance:

Nonn disembarks from the gause rail train mumbling to himself about shivers. Being an operative and more importantly a brain waster makes you stand out in the crowd, people instantly recognise you and inwardly you get a chuckle at the look of recognition on their faces followed by fear and dismay at who and what you are. A small but noticeable space opens up in the crowd before you no matter which direction you go in people obviously don’t want to be anywhere near SLA OP's. "Folks round here are rich never like getting there noses dirty" you think to yourself with disgust, typical humans! You reach the entrance of the mall which up until a few minutes ago was a hub of hustle and bustle of everyday life, human traffic moving everywhere people moving around with shopping bags, dragging children kicking and screaming or walking their pets. The recent explosion followed by the arrival of your operative team seems to have created some tension which you can almost taste. An air of uncertainty seems to have settled from the crowd and the mall seems to have become allot quieter. You take up point position at the main entrance doors to the mall several security personal that were stationed here move back nervously from the front door and into the lobby area of the mall. You see why. Vigo Vance seems to be heading in your direction and has un-slung his automatic assault rifle he arrives at the front entrance and is standing in front of you. The rest of the team seems to have taken up positions at the main entrance to the parking facility at P1 over by the shivers. You are now left with 2 choices go into the mall and work your way down from here with the human just the two of you or go back and rendezvous with the rest of your squad over by the shiver T.O.C (Tactical Operations Centre) they have setup.

Vigo Disembarks from the gauze rail train and almost immediately you can sense the tension in the air. You are right behind the brain waster and he has suggested scouting out the front entrance of the mall before you proceed. You follow behind the brain waster who hasn’t seemed to notice you yet and like Nonn you also see the fear and shock in the faces of people as the brain waster passes by them. The closest you can compare it to is a pair of wolves walking through a flock of sheep. It just so happens one of the wolves is rabid. People also take notice of you. In your PP7 Exo Armor and your SLA Op's badge the rich folks around here wouldn’t normally be used to seeing heavily armed operatives stalking around the place. For the last few minutes you have been trying to reach Sgt Johnson on COMMS and have been getting nothing but dead static. when suddenly the COMMS Busrts to life

"QUICK O'MALLEY LEFT, *** $^&^% LEFT OVER TH*$E FIRE AT &&£$&^( W*^HR3's JOHNSON, **** $$*%'s BEEN HIT OVER HERE &$%^ HE&E" With that the COMMS Goes dead again.

You arrive at the entrance to the mall un-slinging your rifle you lock and load. 3 security personal catch sight of you and the brain waster they see you lock and loading
    and go sheet white and back away slowly hands on their gauss pistols moving back into the mall. From your estimate the shiver unit or what’s left of it down in P3 doesn’t have long left before there position is completely overrun. You and Nonn (the brain waster) seem to the the only ones over at this position they rest of the team seem to have converged on the main entrance to the parking facility by shiver command. you have the same two choices as nonn, Stay here with the brain waster and go down through the mall or go back and rendezvous with the team at shiver command. From where you are you can see the media Team heading in your direction

Team 2: Stationed at shiver command

As Tobias, Ro'Weena and Eglon Enter The Shiver T.O.C most of the personal inside freeze and snap to attention. 8 sets of eyes rest on you all watching with intent, Its so quite you could hear a pin drop. The shiver you addresses is a Private Anderson. "well si-si-sir Sit Rep is that 12 minutes ago we lost contact with the forward b-barricade on sub level P3 of the Parking Facility, due to an unknown explosion, From here we-we can monitor the vitals of the shivers down there. Sgt Johnson’s Vitals are low but he's alive. Carriens usually don’t leave survivors so we know he hasn’t been killed yet. and there are a further 3 shivers down there who's vitals are still green. They are alive too. We've lost radio contact with them and have sealed off the main lift access to the mall. The secondary lifts are locked down and we have a further squad of shivers on the stairwells at the entrance from the mall to the parking facility. We have only arrived in the last 18 mins so im afraid we don’t know any more than that at this time. Our Lt who is this squads C.O is on the way here. ETA is 7 mins we have no layout of the facility at this time the only person with that information is Sgt Johnson im sorry sir"

"What are you orders?"

[End of Turn]

==================================

There's an incoming transmission for Vigo and Nonn i'll post it on the COMS channel if you accept the call

***Comms Message (click to read)***

I put on my gauntlet and takes out my Fen, motioning down the ramp I say.

"Shivers take our six, we are getting your wounded out"

I turn on my shoulder mounted flashlight and slowly move down the ramp looking for clues of carrion activity, mainly blood, scratch marks. I'm also checking to see if there is any structural damage from the frag nade.

/Tap Nonn on the shoulder and jerk my thumb over my shoulder towards the rest of the unit headed for P3

"They're going to need medical back-up, are you coming or heading on into the mall from here?"

Eglon grins as he passes the blockade.

"Don't worry little shivvers, we'll bring your boys back safe and sound. Maybe even in one piece too."

Chuckling, the stormer heads down the ramp, moving up beside Tobias.

Without as much as recoginizing the puny human Nonn begins to walk further down the main entrance of the mall.

"Come along, Miss Lane, and don't forget your crew. Those security clowns won't give you any trouble."

Ro hears the 'waster grandstanding as thier type are wont to do and picks up the slack.
    She stare at the shiver quaking before her and fixes her grin on him.
    "Well now... Anderson is it ? you best be tell Tobis here just where your buddies be abouts so that we can go save thier sorry asses, the quicker and more presise the better and ye can hand over any more intel ye have to 'im."

She terks her thumb in Tobias' direction and then spins on her heel to peer in the direction that she knows the 'waster is coming from and addresses MS Lane on coms.

Team 1 Consists of Nonn and the news Crew (currently with no shiver backup)

Team 2 Consists of Tobias, Ro’weeina, Eglon and Vance (with Shiver Backup)

[Game Turn 4]
    Map Attached of the mall (my l33t paint skills)

Team 1:
    As you enter the shopping mall (area 7 on the map) you pass through a large foyer area filled with fresh living plants and calm classical orchestra music being piped through enormous stereo speakers. A large crystal light fixture hangs from the ceiling. This place just oozes money and it makes you sick to your stomach thinking of the waste these humans put into buildings like these. Behind you Chasey is starting to make a news report the camera is rolling as she gives an over the top fictitious account of the strange circumstances she is in at the moment with only a lone SLA operative to protect her. You don’t react to this statement but you can almost feel the camera pointing on your back. “better not screw this up” you think to yourself.

As you enter the main Communal Area (area 2 on your map) the mall seems strangely empty. Not many shoppers around. As you look up far above you. You can see a glass roof which looks up onto the rest of the levels of the shopping mall it is all quite up their not allot of movement. In this area there is a large fountain and a several trade stands all of which are closed up and the vendors gone. Most have signs up saying “closed for half day”, You smile inwardly thinking how cowardly these humans can be. Near the back wall of the communal area your in is a large contingent of shivers (they are all stationed next to area 5) have taken up cover positions behind a makeshift barricade has been assembled which seems to be blocking the entrance to area 5 (the stairwells down to the parking levels) they all seem on edge. Chasey’s camera man films them for a moment and then the first part of her report seems to be over. You Approach the shivers who start to dismiss you by saying the area is off limits to everyone. You irritably flash your SLA badge and with a look of shock on their faces the apologize and move out of your way. You enter the stairwell and immediately you see why the shivers seem to be on edge. The stairwell is on emergency power. Every now and then the lights flicker giving the stairwell that look from every horror film you’ve ever seen. Chasey doesn’t seem to be put out one bit. As a reporter you imagine she’s seen allot worse than this however the same can’t be said for chaseys cameraman. He looks a little unnerved but not a single word of protest passes his lips. You hear a noise from level P1 of the parking facility and decide (good old tactics roll) not to go too far down the stairwell without backup from your team. You have calculated that your team should still be somewhere on level P1 now so it would be best if you rendezvous with them now. You exit the door of the stairwell into level P1 cautiously the lights are off here only emergency lighting is available casting large pools of shadows everywhere suddenly something moves out from a pillar right in front of you catching you completely off guard……

Team 2:
    From your position Ro can see Nonn and the news reporter head into the mall. “idots” you think to yourself let the silly waster get himself killed. As you approach the entrance to P1 (area 1 of level P1/P2 on the map) the shivers behind you seem to tense up you can see why they are tense as the ramp leads down into the darkness that is most unusual since there should be lighting down their. The squad takes up defensive positions along the side walls coming down the ramp as the darkness envelops you all. Tobias notices the shivers first they seem to be reluctant to follow you and you can see why they are all fresh faced youngsters probably only just graduated from the academy. But they are following you though they seem to be lagging behind somewhat, Your shoulder lamps are all turned on and sofar you don’t see anything. There are still several cars parked here and there throughout this level of the facility. Nothing moves. There only sound are the occasional creaking of the water pipes above your heads and the fans that blow cool air into this level of the facility. You approach the security hut it’s a small room that is empty. With several screens that look out onto various area’s of level P1 unfortunately with the lights out its difficult to make anything out on the dark screens. The hut is empty since the shivers evac’ed and sealed off the parking facility only the guard from level P1 made it out the security guard from level P2 and P3 have not been seen since. Your squad does a full sweep and clear of level P1 of the parking facility and there is nothing hear it seems to be clean. You are just passing the stairwell when Vigo (who is the only one) spots nonn and the news crew emerge from the door leading to the stairwell they haven’t seen you yet either.

Eglon seems to be closest as he moves out from behind the pillar and they both seem to startle one another after a few brief moments of weapons raised at one another. A sharp look of shock followed by anger crosses nonn’s face and your sure you almost herd the cameraman let out a whimpering cry at first but he seems calm now.

[Team has been joined together again]

As you all regain your composure from the initial shock of meeting you the team stands down from here you have 3 choices of direction you can head in. 1) climb down the lift shaft, 2) head down the stairwell (better ask nonn about that vigo thinks to himself he has intel about it) or 3) you can go down the ramp to level P2. In the distance you hear a low pitch guttural screech “what ever we do we better do it fast they might know were already here” you think to yourself

[End of Turn]

============================

Ro get bored.

She takes out a can of slosh drinks it in one go, then injects a hit of rush.
    Reving up her power claymore she batters up and hits the now empty can so that it bounces off the wall along the left side of the rap.

As she watches it richochett down the ramp she lefts an obsence belch and takes out her pistol to take a shot at what ever sticks it's head out.

/turns and heads for the ramp.

(over the comm) "Call me if ye' need some one to patch ye' up"

/when I get the the ramp I start working triage for injuries

Eglon lumbers towards the stairs, aiming his shotgun downwards in case anything attempts to spring up and surprise him before he gets down there to meet it.

I smile, look at the brainwaster beside me and motion down the stairs.

Coming?

To the human next to him, with a mischievous grin on his face Nonn says, "Just keep smiling and you will get what's coming to you."

To the news people: "Miss Lane, are you ready to go? Come along, no time to loose."

To the shiver unit: "Seargant, take up position in the front."

That's going to be fun!

While the team begins to split into their squads and gear up the shivers do the same, There are 8 shivers in total 4 go with each team (trust me for Vigo's and Ro'weena's sake their going to need some backup support)

=============================
    Team 1 (down the ramp)
    Ro'weena
    Vigo Vance

Team 1's NPCs
    (4 shivers)

Team 2 (down the stairs)
    Eglon
    Tobias
    Nonn

Team 2's NPC's
    (News Crew)
    (4 Shivers)

==============================

Game Turn 5

=========
    Team 1
    =========

As Ro'weena's belch echoes all round, the empty can of slosh bounces nosily down the ramp into the darkness ahead. The claymore in her hand hums nosily for blood, and just for a split second you almost swore your power claymore winked at you. Muttering to yourself angrily you see the shivers looking at you and as you scowl they quickly avert there eyes to anywhere apart from your general direction and move closer to Vigo.

Vigo starts down the ramp with the shivers close in toe, but notices that the Shivers are quite afraid of the frother, she intimidates them there all fresh faced out of the academy probably never seen a jumped up frother before. This better not effect there combat effectiveness you think to yourself.

Once down the ramp the darkness of level P2 swallows you, this level of the parking facility is bigger than the last. The parking area seems to be twice the size of the last and you can just about make out the back wall of this parking area in the darkness. The barricade is on ramp leading down into level P3 at the end of this area. However once you reach the bottom of the ramp their appears to be no sign of the can. So far the shivers seem to be keeping their cool as far as raw recruits go their doing it by the book standard 2 X 2 formation. After a sweep of your immediate surrounding area there is still no sign of danger. from your position You can see the ramp at the far end of the parking area that leads to the ramp to P3 and the shiver barricade (though you cant see the barricade yet). there is a strange orange glow coming from level P3 and you can smell something not quite right in the air. the air doesn’t taste right, neither of you can put your finger on it but something doesn’t add up.

As you finish your patrol of the area you come across the security guards hut on this level. unlike security on the last level this hut is empty, and the power has been cut, there is only darkness inside the windows has been smashed and the guard missing from the hut. You are almost to the ramp when you Round the corner by the lifts from where you are you both can see a parked jeep. Ro'weena spots something beside the jeep and at first glance its a little hard to make out you almost missed it and the rush seems to be hitting your blood stream now. from where Ro'weena is she can see a pair of legs that stretch back behind the jeep you can't see what or who their attached to. One of the legs is twitching violently, shaking and jittering.

Suddenly from far below you, both of you hear sporadic gunfire, from what you make out its coming from level P3 below you. Its faint but you can hear it. The sounds echoes off the walls faintly so your not such part of P3 it came from. As the sound of gunfire fades Vigo spots a head sticking up from behind the parked jeep. What ever was behind the jeep must have been hunched down behind the bonnet and you couldnt see it. the vaguely human shape lets off a beastly screech and only then can you see in the glow of the emergency lighting its a carrien. its furry mouth is matted with blood, and it appears to be chewing something .... its eating. from where vigo is standing he can just about see underneath the jeep and its is one of the security guards from one of the parking levels either P2 or P3 and he is quite dead im afraid. The carrien hasnt spotted your team yet. Vigo lets a sigh of relief as the shiver squad as young and inexperienced as they are do not freak out at their first live engagement and fall in behind Vigo flanking him on both sides. two are crouched two are not. They appear to be waiting for orders.

You can either sneak around the carrien and head for the ramp to P3 and the shiver barricade directly or surprise attack this carrien right now. He appears to be alone. The choice is up to you.

=========
    Team 2
    =========

From where he is standing Eglon can see Ro'weena blech quite loudly and then toss the empty can of slosh down the ramp and into the darkness. Shotgun in hand you move swiftly and silently as you can (well you are a stormer after all) in the stairwell taking up a covering position to allow the rest of your team enter. Sofar so good.

Tobias enters right behind Eglon assault rifle out and scanning the darkened corners of the stairwell for any signs of threat which sofar their are none. looking down the stairwell into the darkness you can just about make out the ground and the door to level P3 and as the shivers enter the stairwell the door to level P3 bangs shut below you.

Nonn enters the stairwell right behind eglon the green shivers are right in front of nonn. At least they'll soak up some damage if we get hit you think. as with the others when you enter the stairwell the only thing you see is the emergency lighting flickering on and off and a few moments ago you herd a door bang beneath you. weather that was something entering the stairwell or exiting the stairwell is anyones guess.

The team moves slowly down the stairwell for any signs of movement. you reach the bottom of the stairwell to find it empty. The only thing you see down here is the door that leads into area P3 of the facility. You cautiously open the door into level P3 all the lights are off here not even emergency lighting is working. There are many many parked cars strewn everywhere as you exit the stairwell and into the parking level you fan out taking cover behind what ever you can cars, pillars, way off in the distance you can see the glow of firelight. Its at the other end of the level where the shiver barracade is. its only then you realise its not firelight its just plain fire, the barricade is on fire. You strain your ears and eyes desperately trying to find signs of the carriens but you cant seem to find any.
    This does not bode well.

You inch forward slowly keeping a tight formation from behind you comes a scream. You spin around just in time to see 3 carriens leaping over the bonnet of a car and onto one of the new recruits. "Jesus they move fast" says one of the recruits next to eglon. The recruit being attacked has a carriens jaws locked around his throat and reflexively the recruit’s finger squeezes the trigger on his gun causing a random bust pattern of bullets to fly off into the darkness. A car alarm rings out somewhere in the darkness.

[comabt round 1]
    the other 2 carriens barrel into the middle of the group. Tobias seems to react to the situation faster snapping his rifle up he takes aim and squeezes off a few rounds of his rifle at The carrien who in total shock hasnt a chance to react screaming in pain it fumbles back and smashes into the side of a parked car as the bullets rip into his mid section. Nonn reacts next bringing up his Assault rifle (im not using ebon abilities unless you want me to mate PM me and tell me if/when you want to use ebon abilities) and fires unfortunately the wounded carrien still has some fight in him and rolls underneath the car as nonn's bullets puncture the car door ripping leather interior asunder. Eglon scans for the other carrien and sees it engaged with the other shivers. the wounded carrien is under the car and doesnt seem to want to come out so eglon decides he's going in. Flexing his huge mussels eglon does the impossible. Gripping the front of the car tightly he heaves with all his might and flips the car up into the air. The car sails into the air and flips into the air as it hits the ground it rolls twice and lands upside down on its roof 10 feet away exposing the wounded carrien grinning like a lunatic the stormer mutters "hello dere" and punches the carrien as hard as he can [CRITICAL HIT]. Eglons mutilator glove certainly lives up to its name as the carriens head explodes covering eglon in gore. The other carrien breaks away from the group of shivers to sink its teeth into the stormer (as it now sees you as a primary threat) the carrien hits and takes a chuck out of your arm its razor sharp teeth lacerating your wrist (take 2 points of damage to your left arm (which will regenerate end of turn 5))

[combat round 2]
    Nonn seems to be the next quickest to react takes careful aim and the carrien latched onto the stromers arm and fires hitting the carrien in the chest sending the carrien spinning into the air like a rag doll. the 3rd carrien comes tearing into the fray its mouth fresh with blood of the shiver. and hurtles into Tobias slashing and mauling. (take 3 points damage to your chest) the shivers act next and all attack the carrien that nonn shot at. in a combined fire assault they take down the carrien with shots to its head, neck and body. in the end one of the shivers puts a boot through the skull of the still twitching body of the carrien after that it doesnt move. Tobias now engaged in combat with this shiver feels the pain throbbing in his stomach but full of hate and fury now squares off against the only remaining carrien. First tobias puts the carrien off balance with a fake lunge attack and at the last moment swiftly kicks the carrien into the groin, it doubles over in pain. [CRITICAL HIT] The Mutliator glove delivers a massive electrical blow to the head of the carrien rendering it imobile as the still twitching body of the carrien glides across the floor towards eglon. It is stunned for the next combat round. Eglon calmly walks over to the carrien on the ground and squarely puts his boot down on the head of the carrien. with that all too familar squishing sound as the skull of the carrien is crushed the carriens body twitches once more then finally stops

COMBAT OVER
    ======

As the sounds of combat fades away in your ears the parking facility becomes deathly quite again. you certinaly made enough of a racket any carriens on this level really well and truly know your here now. you can hear skittering in the darkness and a dull patter of feet. From behind you a voice squeaks out “please tony please please tell me you got that on tape” you cant see anything yet. what you do now is up to you.

[END OF TURN]

/With hand signals and hushed instructions

"Stay low. Be quiet. Follow me. Cover each other closely."

I start to sneak around the carrien, lowering the barrel of my rifle towards it, trying hard not to think about (gorge rising) .... the fur.

Clutching my chest, I look at Level P3.

***Comms Message (click to read)***

I follow the wall around to the right hugging it and scanning under cars I pass by.

Ro waits for Vigo Vance to get his kill on and scans the area alert and watchful.
    She signals the shivers to tighten formation on her posistion and waits to see if she will need to mop up the carion or if Vigo has the metal for it.

Eglon rolls his shoulders, glancing at his arm wound which is already beginning to close itself up.

"Rite, now we've gotten warmed up," Eglon says, grinning. "Were's da rest of dem?"

Seeing Tobias begin to advance Eglon follows behind him, keeping his eyes open and his weapons ready.

To the news crew, with an enraged tone in his voice: "Tony, I take it that you got all that on camera."

To the other exterminators: "Guys and gal, let't not forget to collect the heads and tails so we get our commision."

Time to reload...

NOTICE

ALL PLAYERS

Please do not post anything further in this thread this game is considered closed. Game 2 will start in a moment when i post the opening prologue to game 2 (which takes place after game 1)

All will be revealed shortly

Furthermore please do not use the COMS Channel or game turns thread for game 2 until further notice

all will be explained in the prologue.

Cheers lads (and ladies)