Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pat Paterson

• 12-12-2007 8:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭

I've been wanting to ask this since i started in September but i thought all would become clear after a couple of months and i wouldn't have to ask n00b questions.

It was making me epically curious yesterday because it was all over my desk during the exams.

It's really funny, but i have to know:

WHO IS PAT PATERSON??

I am.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,024 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

A gay wrestler

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

He's UCDs equivalent of Murt.

Murt loves tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭imarugbyball

These are cryptic responses people!
    Is he just a big mystery?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Brimmy

Myth wrote: »
    I am.

No, I am Spartacus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Stepherunie

He's my boyfriend, I'm officially the most envied girl in UCD.

And yes ladies, all those rumours are true.....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

No he's actually me - I just used red alert so people wouldn't bother me all the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

These are cryptic responses people!
    Is he just a big mystery?
    The second response was teh truth, hes a famus UCD alumni

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/University_College_Dublin_-_National_University_of_Ireland%2C_Dublin#Alumni

Ah Kap - that's no fun!

Pat is so great...

I somehow fear that Mulrooney is becoming Pat Lite - but no one can ever beat Pat *swoon*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

I'm Pat Patterson and so is my wife.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

He's all things to all men, and maybe even one lucky gal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭imarugbyball

Aw i kinda wish i didn't know now, the magic is gone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Its clearly not that pat. The real one is a far better wrestler

He's also less of a child molester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,478 ✭✭✭Bubs101

I like the way the link on the UCD page goes to the wrestler.

If it makes any difference, there was a load of Pat Patterson stuff in my scholl, Gonzaga, so there's a decent chance the actual Patterson comes from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Brimmy wrote: »
    He's also less of a child molester.

Id say the boys in Gonzaga would disagree with you
    Bubs101 wrote: »
    If it makes any difference, there was a load of Pat Patterson stuff in my scholl, Gonzaga, so there's a decent chance the actual Patterson comes from there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

That link is not the real answer. The Pat you are on about only entered the college in 2001.

No Pat Patterson during my time! I left in '02.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

Librocop's alter-ego who gives people €10 phone credit whenever possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭Zippitydoo

I left Gonzaga in 05 and didn't see a single pat patterson reference till I got to UCD...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭irish.rugby.fan

Pat Patterson has two caps for the senior Irish rugby team and a try against Fiji

Fact

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭boneless

He's an "Everyman" hero for sad arts students in UCD... when times are bad and essay deadlines are fast approaching, just call his name and all becomes clear... Yore Fcuked!!! :p

I was in bigjim's year in zaga (2002) - no PP references there at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

I want to know who he is?

Red Alert wrote: »
    I was in bigjim's year in zaga (2002) - no PP references there at all.

Unless I'm getting mixed up which I could be, I distinctly remember someone putting Pat Patterson **** in the jacks and it being removed on a near daily basis in 05. I'm probably wrong though

No, just not grasping what the lads are saying to you.

It appeared in UCD BEFORE gonzaga. Somebody who either had friends or family in UCD heard about the Pat stuff in UCD and started doing it in Gonzaga too.

Ya follow?

By the way, not only has he apperently been worshipped in Gonzaga, but ive seen PP scripture all over Dublin and a few places in Australia. Some TCD guy has a website tracking his movements and recording the best sayings.

But Im not sure if its still going, the fad has long died out.
    PP jokes appeared in UCD in 00/01 or so Im told, seemed to reach a hight around 03/04 or 04/05 and has declined since.

Like Finnegan's Break, its over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭simonrooneyzaga

i have some sad news.. its being reported on breaking news.ie that pat paterson has died tragically in a car accident. there will be a service held for him in gonzaga college at 6pm tommorow evening. he was a true inspiration to us all.

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

He's too young to go, he had such spirit about him.

I don't believe it, not Pat.

i have some sad news.. its being reported on breaking news.ie that pat paterson has died tragically in a car accident. there will be a service held for him in gonzaga college at 6pm tommorow evening. he was a true inspiration to us all.

YAWN

No, just not grasping what the lads are saying to you.

It appeared in UCD BEFORE gonzaga. Somebody who either had friends or family in UCD heard about the Pat stuff in UCD and started doing it in Gonzaga too.

Ya follow?

I gather that now but there was clearly no way i could have known that given that school goes before college.

Ya follow?

Its what the lads have been trying to tell you, but despite how crystal clear they were being you seemed unable to understand.

Anyway, best of luck in college

I hear that if you look in the mirror and say his name three times he appears behind you and rapes you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭TheThing!

In a similar way to the Toa, he is undefinable, because to define something is to place limitations on it. He has none

Has 'Hilpers' finally disappeared from common parlance? It's another of the pre-modularisation UCD vocab items.

I still use it, I refuse point blank to go to the Arts Cafe.... just Hilpers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭scop

In 2001 or so mates of a guy in AgSci started writing abuse about him. Over time it just got out of hand. Thats the sad truth of the matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Has 'Hilpers' finally disappeared from common parlance? It's another of the pre-modularisation UCD vocab items.
    I still use it since A) I hang out with a lot of old UCD people and B) it sounds better.

scop wrote: »
    In 2001 or so mates of a guy in AgSci started writing abuse about him. Over time it just got out of hand. Thats the sad truth of the matter.
    heard that aswell, but never from anyone who actually knew a guy called pat patterson. Did you personally know a guy called Pat Patterson in agisci in 2001?

I had always felt it was just a ridiculous name in an piece of graffiti which people thought, hey that is funny. No coincidence that it was at the same time the Hoff and Chuck Norris jokes were flying about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭FledNanders

I'm Pat Patterson and so is my wife.

and i'm Ironbar and so is my wife.

*football365 allusion?*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭Breezer

I never knew of this Hilpers place, however I can assure you that at least the Forum Bar lives on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭the evil lime

Breezer wrote: »
    I never knew of this Hilpers place

It's what is now called the Arts Cafe. I don't think it's been Hilpers for years, certantly not in my time.

Nor in mine but I still like saying it, works much better than the Arts Cafe.

It's like sticking it to UCD and there UCD name changing of everything. (I'm in a defiant move, bear with it)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭seraphimvc

now i remember where did i see this name...:)the toilet graffiti!

he is everything...i guess?one thing i can comfirm tho,since i know him AT toilet,i am assuming that's where he from.aint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,454 ✭✭✭cast_iron

heard that aswell, but never from anyone who actually knew a guy called pat patterson.

That's because his name was not Pat Paterson. He was from the class of '01, but I don't think it really caught on until the 2002/2003 session. It was a bunch of civil engineers that did it on their mate for laugh (it started in the eng block), and, as was said above, it caught on.

He was actually a fairly shy guy, and, believe it or not, he was entirely mortified by the whole situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

As far as I recall it was still going strong when I left in 05-06. 04-05 was definately the year of the pat, you couldnt get away from the crafty fecker

"Pat Patterson's philosophy of philosophy is **** philosophy"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

Breezer wrote: »
    I never knew of this Hilpers place, however I can assure you that at least the Forum Bar lives on

It remians "hilpers" to all and sundry who frequented UCD up till 2003/2004. Beyond that the "arts cafe" took over. Over priced ****hole

cast_iron wrote: »
    That's because his name was not Pat Paterson. He was from the class of '01, but I don't think it really caught on until the 2002/2003 session. It was a bunch of civil engineers that did it on their mate for laugh (it started in the eng block), and, as was said above, it caught on.

He was actually a fairly shy guy, and, believe it or not, he was entirely mortified by the whole situation.
    Ok I dont get it. If his name wasnt Pat Patterson then how was it about him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

Oh my god i just went into the library jacks and pat paterson is written around 4 times in 1 cubicule.I didnt know everyones talkin about him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

ah Im in second year and notice last year there was a lot more mentioning of him, the forum bar does live on, although hilpers? wha?

there is another pat-like character in the making that roams the science building............(not science bum) although also a cool guy

it seems this was discussed before

http://http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-219176.html

also more pat related info.
    http://http://soundtracksforthem.blogspot.com/2004/09/ucd-toilets-and-cult-ofpat-patterson.html