Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Incident at the weekend

• 10-12-2007 2:38pm

I was at a 21st in the Wicked Wolf in Blackrock on Saturday(Yes I know its a kip shhh). We were upstairs so we could see Blackrock dart station from the window. One of my mate's younger cousins from the party was trying to hope the dart from what we could see and two Eastern European security gaurds grabbed him from behind while slamming him on the ground. They smashed his head off the concrette and were punching him in the back so me & most of the lads in the pub ran down. I normally wouldn't get involved in stuff like this but I was so steamed about it that I ran down and started pushing them calling them scumbags etc.. They kept saying the young lad fell on his face not knowing that we seen everything... no punches were thrown as my friends were holding me & some other guy back. It was just an absolute disgrace to see. These guys were like 25 +, built and just generally huge compared to the guy they were beaten up. I dont agree with the fact that he was trying to hop the dart but what he got for it was wrong. The police were called and the older people from the party(including my mother who wanted to kill me for getting involved) gave a statement and told the guards exactly what they seen. The two security guys were arrrested so something good came from the incident. I am just so angry about the whole thing. This young lad was at most 18.....HOW ****ING DARE THESE ****HEADS COME OVER HERE AND GET THEIR KICKS OUT OF BEATING UP PEOPLE. Makes me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Two bullies is hardly an indication of anything only two bullies- no need to be bigoted.

Rent-a-cops and bouncers have always been gob****es- The job attracts that type. What else is new. Glad they got arrested though- there goes the job full sure.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

oh dearie me, another send them back to where they belong thread. :rolleyes:

the Guards got them, hopefully they'll get their just desserts. And hopefully your mate will get fined for skipping through without a ticket. Alls fair and all that.

maple wrote: »
    oh dearie me, another send them back to where they belong thread. :rolleyes:

the Guards got them, hopefully they'll get their just desserts. And hopefully your mate will get fined for skipping through without a ticket. Alls fair and all that.

Wasn't a mate and I already said I disagreed with him hoping the dart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

SetantaL wrote: »
    Rent-a-cops and bouncers have always been gob****es- The job attracts that type.

Nice generalisation there mate. :rolleyes:

As for the OP, when you see Eastern European do you mean Polish, Lithuanian, Hungarian....what?

Or is it a case of just another person not being able to tell the difference?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

KaG1888 wrote: »
    HOW ****ING DARE THESE ****HEADS COME OVER HERE AND GET THEIR KICKS OUT OF BEATING UP PEOPLE. Makes me sick.

I agree they acted in an appalling way but this is a ridiculous statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

Well its your mates fault in the first place, he shouldnt have hoped the dart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Kaldorn

maybe its cause i am no where near the DART but i thought this guy was like Mr fantastic and was able to physically hop over the dart.would you not say nunk on or jump the gate or fail to pay or leg it through...hop the dart..obviously a southside thing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

I was at a 21st in the Wicked Wolf in Blackrock on Saturday(Yes I know its a kip shhh). We were upstairs so we could see Blackrock dart station from the window. One of my mate's younger cousins from the party was trying to hope the dart from what we could see and two Eastern European security gaurds grabbed him from behind while slamming him on the ground. They smashed his head off the concrette and were punching him in the back so me & most of the lads in the pub ran down. I normally wouldn't get involved in stuff like this but I was so steamed about it that I ran down and started pushing them calling them scumbags etc.. They kept saying the young lad fell on his face not knowing that we seen everything... no punches were thrown as my friends were holding me & some other guy back. It was just an absolute disgrace to see. These guys were like 25 +, built and just generally huge compared to the guy they were beaten up. I dont agree with the fact that he was trying to hop the dart but what he got for it was wrong. The police were called and the older people from the party(including my mother who wanted to kill me for getting involved) gave a statement and told the guards exactly what they seen. The two security guys were arrrested so something good came from the incident. I am just so angry about the whole thing. This young lad was at most 18.....HOW ****ING DARE THESE ****HEADS COME OVER HERE AND GET THEIR KICKS OUT OF BEATING UP PEOPLE. Makes me sick.

I hope your friend has learned his lesson! As for your generalisation at the end, it's a bit silly, they don't have to be another nationality, there are going to be people in security lines of work worl-wide who are in it for the wrong reasons and tend to have major power-trip issues. Are you trying to say you've never heard of an IRISH garda or bouncer goign to town on a young lad for practically nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭l3LoWnA

IOne of my mate's younger cousins from the party was trying to hope the dart

Hope the dart would....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

DEY TOOK ER JEBS!!

tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    DEY TOOK ER JEBS!!
    Had to be said :D

I wouldn't normally make a generalisation like that but I have been hearing stuff like this more and more. Its just really starting to piss me off & I made a stupid comment. Also, I did say I disagreed with him hoping the dart and he wasn't a friend of mine... Sorry if I offended anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭High&Low

Kaldorn wrote: »
    maybe its cause i am no where near the DART but i thought this guy was like Mr fantastic and was able to physically hop over the dart.would you not say nunk on or jump the gate or fail to pay or leg it through...hop the dart..obviously a southside thing..

Nunk, never heard of that? - must be a Blanchardstown thing!!!! Have heard of a South Dublin thing called "bunk"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

That's terrible alright, but the gardai did get them so I'm sure they got a 'warning' and were sent back onto the streets to beat up another young fella, dont you loooooove Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

<Note to self> Don't dodge fare next time traveling in Polmania

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭Kazu

That's terrible alright, but the gardai did get them so I'm sure they got a 'warning' and were sent back onto the streets to beat up another young fella, dont you loooooove Ireland!

so true :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Dragan wrote: »
    Nice generalisation there mate. :rolleyes:
    As a former rent-a-cop, I'd agree that it does tend to attract the wrong type of people - idiots who are just waiting for an excuse for this kind of crap.

Most security companies and clubs try to weed them out as they are financial timebombs for their employers, but it's a pretty low paid industry.

If you don't want monkeys(or gorillas), don't pay peanuts.

Nothing to do with nationality, it's about a lack of training & screening as well as the market favouring lowest-price providers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

This story has absolutely nothing whatsoever added to it by disclosing their nationalities (Which you didnt, but you get my meaning)... WTF does it matter where theyre from? Who cares? Would it be less offensive to the kid who got battered if they had been Irish? What has their naitonality got to do with it?

If you don't want monkeys(or gorillas), don't pay peanuts.
    Having seen some of the bahaviour in the Zoo, I agree. I dont want a bouncer who picks his bum-bum, or fiddles with his wigglestick

This story has absolutely nothing whatsoever added to it by disclosing their nationalities (Which you didnt, but you get my meaning)... WTF does it matter where theyre from? Who cares? Would it be less offensive to the kid who got battered if they had been Irish? What has their naitonality got to do with it?

I already said sorry for the generalisation but I have been hearing stories all the time about people being beaten up by non nationals over the last few months. Just pissed me off

As a former rent-a-cop, I'd agree that it does tend to attract the wrong type of people - idiots who are just waiting for an excuse for this kind of crap.
    Indeed, i have done both jobs and have often happily said that many in the industry are in it for the wrong reasons.

However, there is a massive difference between "many" and "all".

I wonder if you tried to hop through the New York subway turnstiles, you'd be shot.. 'course they'd probably assume you were some sort of terrorist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    DEY TOOK ER JEBS!!

tbh

got there before me :D

I already said sorry for the generalisation but I have been hearing stories all the time about people being beaten up by non nationals over the last few months. Just pissed me off

A mate of mine got the **** kicked out of him by 6 Irish boys in town a few weeks ago because he was Polish.

A girl i know was called a ****** and told to **** off home on a bus in town recently. She's Irish, just sexy and sallow skinned.

Twice in the last 6 months i have been told to "**** off home" by Irish people in town.... once at the Luas station and once coming out of a Polski shop after being in talking to mate of mine. I'm Irish as well.

Two of my friends ( Lithuanian girls ) were out in town on Friday night and were asked "You must be strippers right, all you Lithu's are strippers".

I can keep going with these stories, if you read enough of them second hand will you start making generalisations about Irish people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

A mate of mine got the **** kicked out of him by 6 Irish boys in town a few weeks ago because he was Polish.

A girl i know was called a ****** and told to **** off home on a bus in town recently. She's Irish, just sexy and sallow skinned.

Twice in the last 6 months i have been told to "**** off home" by Irish people in town.... once at the Luas station and once coming out of a Polski shop after being in talking to mate of mine. I'm Irish as well.

Two of my friends ( Lithuanian girls ) were out in town on Friday night and were asked "You must be strippers right, all you Lithu's are strippers".

I can keep going with these stories, if you read enough of them second hand will you start making generalisations about Irish people?

Is there anyone in Eastern Europe you don't know?

Mizu_Ger wrote: »

Millions of people, I've never been to most Eastern European countries. I know plenty of them who have come over here though. ;)

Personally i am a massive fan of Multi Cultural Ireland.

Mizu_Ger wrote: »
    Apart from the two he reffered to in that post?

Were they strippers? How come nobodys answering the question?

Nope, they weren't strippers, just hot.

Okay, okay, but how do you really know eh?

Maybe there are,

For

YOU know them.
    They're Lithuanian
    How did they get here in the first place
    BOTH are hot and they know each other. (Co-incidence, hmmmm, more likely they hang out somewhere where there are a lot of hot girls)
    They're minted (Can afford town on a Friday, try that on minimum wage in a shop)

Against

YOU know them.
    They're Lithuanian
    How did they get here in the first place.
    Can afford town on a Friday (Surely any good pimp worth a salt has his girls working on Fridays.

For carries the vote.

They're strippers. FACT

While your logic makes some degree of sense i can sadly guarantee that they are not actually stippers.

Besides, neither would have the patience to be a stipper and would end up beating the snot out of most of their customers........hmmmm.....i guess they could be Doms?

That's just not the same and you know, it. In fact it's the complete fecking opposite. No, they're strippers. It's my fantasy and I'm keeping it.

So anyway, how bout them evil foreign CIE Employees.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭alienhead

breathin our air

Even when it was the bears, I knew it was them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭MikeHoncho

Nationality has nothing to do with it. Sure some Eastern European people are scumbags but there are plenty of Irish scumbags too. I was approached by a poor Polish fella outside the pub the other night who had just had the living crap kicked out of him by a group of Irish lads his face was completly swollen and cut. He needed to use someones phone to ring the gaurds so I gladly helped. Dont know what came of it in the end. Poor fella was in bits.

This racist bullsh!t has to stop. I really dont want us to end up like America where everyone has to have a label on them. Can we not all just be people instead of Polish or Irish or Mexican or black. We need to learn from the mistakes of the UK and the USA and better integrate our new friends into this society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭johnnyflav

The OP, I'm guessing, doesn't have any means of identifying an Eastern European as anything other than a vague stab at their nationality. When Something as disgusting as a a random attck happens to someone he knows, it's very easy to point the blame and generalise a large number of people with broad sweeping statements about their origin.

I've recently been a victim of fraud (to the tune of €1800 and through no fault of my own*) and the only way I have of identifying the criminal is by his nationality(I won't mention where he was from). So from that experience I will always think of that nationality as thieving ******s.

(*For anyone interested, all this lad needed to take that sum of money was a sort code and account number, didn't even need an address or name. He had moved into a house I had previously renting, and must have found an old statement. I should also note that the local authority are paying his rent of €1600/month)

MikeHoncho wrote: »
    Nationality has nothing to do with it. Sure some Eastern European people are scumbags but there are plenty of Irish scumbags too. I was approached by a poor Polish fella outside the pub the other night who had just had the living crap kicked out of him by a group of Irish lads his face was completly swollen and cut. He needed to use someones phone to ring the gaurds so I gladly helped. Dont know what came of it in the end. Poor fella was in bits.

This racist bullsh!t has to stop. I really dont want us to end up like America where everyone has to have a label on them. Can we not all just be people instead of Polish or Irish or Mexican or black. We need to learn from the mistakes of the UK and the USA and better integrate our new friends into this society.

I agree that Ireland has plenty of Irish scumbags and I know its not just foreigners causing trouble. I was just sharing a bad incident with the rest of you. It isn't the first one I have heard and wont be the last. You whoever have to understand that not every foreigner comes into Ireland with the right attitude. I have alot of friends, colleagues & even an ex-girlfriend who are from Eastern Europe. I have just been hearing alot of bad stories recently and by seeing an incident at first hand boils the blood TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

KaG1888 I have 1 burning question still.................................................

did your man still catch the dart or did he have to wait for the next one?

ciaran76 wrote: »
    KaG1888 I have 1 burning question still.................................................

LOL,
    No he got thrown money for a taxi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

ciaran76 wrote: »

:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Seems to me that the problem here is that we're all bigoted asshole racist scumbags. Seems to me that you'd have to be pretty badly stuck to actually want to come here. As to the tanned hot irish girl, well what were the chances!

LOL,
    No he got thrown money for a taxi.

Why? He was trying to not pay the fare, which is illegal. Or do we just accept levels of illegality?

I have already said I didnt agree with him hoping the dart

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Trojan911

One of my mate's younger cousins from the party was trying to hope the dart from what we could see and two Eastern European security gaurds grabbed him from behind while slamming him on the ground. They smashed his head off the concrette and were punching him in the back so me & most of the lads in the pub ran down.The police were called and the older people from the party(including my mother who wanted to kill me for getting involved) gave a statement and told the guards exactly what they seen. The two security guys were arrrested so something good came from the incident.

Were these security chappies employed by the Dart or were they just on their way home from their other jobs?

If they were employed by the Dart then will he be suing for assault or at least popping into a solicitor for a chat? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

I wonder if you tried to hop through the New York subway turnstiles, you'd be shot.. 'course they'd probably assume you were some sort of terrorist.

Been to London recently?

Oh and its hopped. Hopped you see. Hopped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

HOW ****ING DARE THESE ****HEADS COME OVER HERE AND GET THEIR KICKS OUT OF BEATING UP PEOPLE. Makes me sick.

As much as I agree and would love to comment I better keep my mouth shut on this one, have been banned for it before! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 324 ✭✭johnnyflav

Of course there are different levels of severity of infraction. It's called justice. I don't think jumping a DART barrier warrants the punishment given by the two security men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭monkey tennis

Would have been handy if you had a camera phone to record them on, as evidence.

connundrum wrote: »
    Been to London recently?

Oh and its hopped. Hopped you see. Hopped.

I was thinking of adding that in along the lines of, "look what happened to de Menezes", but decided not to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

If he had been caught and taken to court, he would have got a slapped wrist and sent to bed early. At least this way he may never do it again.

What's the chances the next thread from the OP will be about the leanient justice system we have in this country:rolleyes:

it is a bit OTT though.