Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

if you could introduce a law...

• 07-12-2007 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭

Now, i'm not talking about any old law, like "Wo/men have to walk around topless all the time", but actual law that you would like to see enforced, and law which could actually be introduced.

Personally, i would like th Right to Silence removed. Or if it cannot be removed, it should be changed that invoking the right to silence indicates participance in the offence. In all fairness, why should people ahve the right to silence? The only ones that use it are the ones who have something to hide...

Also, i would like life to mean life. Not 30 years/out after 5 or 7 on good behaviour.

And change prisons back to bread and water and breaking rocks.

Granted, it's not good for someone who is incorrectly found guilty, but thats a very very veery minor ammount of people, and if it means there's less crime, well it's all good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭kev_s88

some sort of law that bans all junkies on homeless ppl from being on the streets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

kev_s88 wrote: »
    some sort of law that bans all junkies on homeless ppl from being on the streets

Yep, include all begging though - I mean chuggers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭doubledown

Instant ban from driving FOR LIFE for drunk drivers.

No exceptions. NO second chances. NO excuses.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

I think the muslims in this country should be watched and regulated a bit, before it turns into an england type affair where we have die hard mosque preachers inciting rage.

I know there are decent muslims, but we'll just have to say to them "listen, sorry about all these regulations and rules, but your brethren are ruining it for you. We have to protect our good country from these crazy fools".

Fcuk political correctness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Ninja_scrotum

doubledown wrote: »

That's a very good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

24 hour open hours, or at least staggered opening hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Uh, uh, another one. It shouldn't be a defence for someone to state their family situation/previous run in's with the law -> If these things really mattered they wouldn't have done what they did in the first place! I'm sick of hearing people getting reduced sentances because "they haven't been to the attention of the Gardai in 6 months, and he's off the Crystal Meth 3 weeks now" because it obviously doesn't matter that he has 40 previous offences including assault, theft, burglary, gbh, traffic offences, drug offences, etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,396 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

License, regulate and tax the legal sale and consumption of Marijuana.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

kev_s88 wrote: »

Should the day ever come when you find circumstances have left you with no home, friends or family I hope you might come to realize that your attitude towards homeless is missplaced.

Maybe you should ask yourself some more mature and thoughtful questions, like why as a society does everything centralize around having an address? For somebody who has no home, income or ability to keep minimum levels of cleanliness do we give them only the bare minimum to survive and make the process difficult and time consuming?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

doubledown wrote: »

Agreed.

Also I'd like to see custodial punishment that actually is a deterent for career criminals rather than than what it is (at best) an occupational hazard or (at worst) a badge of honour.

Perhaps something like solid solitary confinement rather than the the period of free schooling they get to make contacts, become more hardened whilst they finish off their apprenticeship. Probably work out cheaper on the taxpayer too to just lock em up and throw away the key for a specified period.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

In order to open a driving School you must first

a) Have a drivers license
    b) Pass a test that shows that you have the ability to teach someone else.

Everyone takes a fixed amount of lessons (10?) before taking their test
    Once you have the 10 lessons you get your test in under 2 weeks.
    You can fail twice without having to re-pay for the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Corrupt politicians, even the smallest bit of corruption should get a month in jail and permanently removed from office. They need to learn they serve us not the other way around.

Anyone that rapes a child should be castrated, there's no point in them having a penis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

A law to force the building of more prisons, for mandatory sentences to suit certain crimes and for the banning of suspended sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Force all unemployed people to work doing various tasks - building roads, doing traffic signals at building sites, cleaning the streets with shoebrushes, that kind of thing. Confiscate and destroy all material possessions of anyone convicted of theft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Death penalty, reserved for those who commit 1st degree murder

It would save millions of tax payer money, which can be spent on an even Bigger spire

Castration for Rapists + Paedo's.
    I saw a documentry recently about how they do it in america. Certain states allow it and its up to the decision of the inmate, results in a lesser sentence. Id make it mandatory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭-Leelo-

The children of drug addicts to be taken from them immediately after birth until the parents are in a fit state to take care of them. I know it happens in some cases, but not all unfortunately. It infuriates me to see junkies with kids that they couldn't give a crap about while there are so many couples who would kill for the chance to have a child but for some reason or another, they can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

I'm sure there is one but how about a law that holds prerequisites for consideration for Government posts? And, formal submission of a set of goals to be achieved in office and timeframes. If these aren't met or improved upon, out. I really believe good politics could be grounded in good business. The democracy being the customer being provided the service.

Also, formal, structured regulation for processes in both the HSE and Education Authorities. So many times i've heard of things going under due to a lack of formal structure. If you lessen the chance of error then theres more chance it'll go right. It would also help to get rid of the Irish mentality of "ah, it'll be grand" in places it really doesn't belong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

ScumLord wrote: »
    Anyone that rapes a child should be castrated, there's no point in them having a penis.

Ah, the Middle Ages. Let's bring back the pillory for racists, and the Iron Maiden for pushers, and hanging, drawing and quartering for terrorists while we're at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

You should not be able to get the dole if you cannot find a job after 3 years.

Or, can get it as long as you want as long as you can prove you've been looking for work. Businesses could start providing a receipt of application, piece of headed paper or whatever, simply stating the person applied for a job.

What if you never learned to read or write, can barely speak functional english and are for all intents and purposes a total idiot unable to learn anything?

Could be management in the HSE I guess...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

The price of petrol/diesel can't be increased at the pumps the same day that the preice of a barrel of crude oil rises. It can only be increased after being transported, refined and delivered to the individual filling station.

I really like this thread. Someone should email it to "De ah, Guverment".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Deregulation of the alcohol industry...like most of Europe.

Michael McDowell tried to sort it out a few years ago, only for the vintners association to put the squeeze on FF, which was an awful shame.

Michael Martin reckons that deregulation would be "damaging to society". Pull the other one, you nonce!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Make monkeys mandatory!

Michael Martin reckons that deregulation would be "damaging to society". Pull the other one, you nonce!
    To go off topic for a second, I don't think deregulation would work here with our infrastructure.

You know what I love most about going to foreign cities? That I can go right into the city centre for dinner at 6pm, have a couple of glasses of wine, then go see a show or go to the cinema, or go for a walk or something, perhaps go to a cafe and have more wine or a beer or two, then wander out to the nearest bus stop or train station, get a train or a bus within 5 minutes and get off somewhere remotely close to where I'm staying.

Try doing that in Dublin and more often than not your night is ruined by standing at a bus stop for half and hour freezing your balls off or paying €30 for a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,199 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

A few people have referred to tougher sentences. The bottom line is, they don't work. Harsher sentences do not have any real affect on the level of serious crime. At least to any level that would offset the millions and millions the increased prison numbers would cost the state. I have never read a study that has suggested otherwise.
    Asbad wrote: »
    Death penalty, reserved for those who commit 1st degree murder

It would save millions of tax payer money, which can be spent on an even Bigger spire

The years of prison time and appeals at the state's expense don't really save money.

seamus wrote:
    Try doing that in Dublin and more often than not your night is ruined by standing at a bus stop for half and hour freezing your balls off or paying €30 for a taxi.

QFT!

Another example of the half-assed nature of pretty much everything in Ireland. So frustrating trying to be proud of this nation at times.

I'm reminded of that saying, something along the lines of "if you want to mess something up, put it before a committee". Whats wrong with just setting some rules, a standard, a methodology, and fulfilling that? After the standard is set up, its a matter of filling in the blanks. Too much power being passed down maybe? Poor planning/micro-management?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Ban monkeys.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Here in France once on the dole you take home 80% of your last wage for 3 months. This is so you don't have to change lifestyle between jobs (keep the same flat, car, etc...).

After the 3 months are up you begin to lose money every 2 weeks *unless* you can prove that you have been looking for work (refused application letters).

After a while if you still haven't found any you get lots of free training but you won't be on 80% of your last salary but a lot less so that it doesn't ever become confortable to be out of work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

Ponster wrote: »
    In order to open a driving School you must first

a) Have a drivers license
    b) Pass a test that shows that you have the ability to teach someone else.

Everyone takes a fixed amount of lessons (10?) before taking their test
    Once you have the 10 lessons you get your test in under 2 weeks.
    You can fail twice without having to re-pay for the test.

This is coming in. By Jan 2009 all driving instructors will have to be registered with the RSA and have qualified for an approved driving instructor permit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Lock up bullshítters...I mean lock them up.

These **** who say deregulate alcohol-Irish people can't handle alcohol- fcukers don't know when to stop.

These jackasses who take cocaine- we listen to them on the radio and TV and value their opinion!!!

For fcuk sake all they are out for is to promote themselves, at any cost.

Get a bit real here,two bit 'celebrities' total shítheads,who use the media to try to further their own career are leading us down the garden path!!!

Tell these cnunts to crawl back under the stones the came from under and do the only thing they abhor...ignore them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

All Convicted peados, sex offenders and cruel basta*ds in general to be put on an island to starve to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,199 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

dancor wrote: »
    All Convicted peados, sex offenders and cruel basta*ds in general to be put on an island to starve to death.
    Isn't that a bit....cruel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ah, the Middle Ages. Let's bring back the pillory for racists, and the Iron Maiden for pushers, and hanging, drawing and quartering for terrorists while we're at it.
    They can't be cured can they? There's something wrong with they're brains and allowing them to breed would only put another child in danger. I think it's perfectly reasonable thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Sangre wrote: »
    Isn't that a bit....cruel?

Suppose, but it would be a law ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

dancor wrote: »

And joy riders/muggers/burglers/con men/cnunts who kick people on the street as well????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭colliegG

Have one giant methadone / needle exchange on bull island. We could put a huge electric razor wire fence around it with guard towers to make sure inmates don't wander out. All junkies convicted of street crime are rounded up by squads of Gardai (called facilitators), and transported there. They stay for as long as it takes them to stop being such a cancer in society.

Giant belching chimneys are optional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

Make all civil servants/HSE/Teachers/County council officials accountable in their jobs, if you don’t perform you get fired, just like the real world.

B.I.K. tax for civil servants who park in town free of charge, just like the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Revamp the drug laws. All drugs should have to pass the same set of criteria laid down by independent medical professionals, sociologists, economists etc. e.g. set relative scores for potential physical harm (e.g. overdose ratio to recommended/typical dose), addictivness, harm to society, harm to economy, have levels set at which they should be legal or not, each drug given a relative score. All currently legal drugs would be subject to the exact same testing, all supposed tradition should not come too much into it as there is already a huge bias towards currently illegal drugs which may have had centuries of traditional use which is skewed due to their relatively recent prohibition and forced underground use and hence the true tradtional/normal use is skewed due to propaganda & ignorance. e.g. if certain legal drugs were made illegal in the early 1900's people would regard users in the same way as some currently illegal drugs- as degenerate thieving addicts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I hate the rain. I'd make it illegal to rain in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Mairt wrote: »
    I hate the rain. I'd make it illegal to rain in Dublin.

I'd make it illegal for you to make laws. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

One law I would like would be that if you come to our country respect our beliefs and rules as you expect us to do when we come to yours.
    I was so angry about the teddy and islam incident its total double standards. If we travel to countries such as sudan/dubai etc we are expected to cover up in respect of their beliefs and can be punished if we do not. yet when they come over here they do not respect ours (e.g. the argument to wear a turban wearing gardai or a burka in work).

I also agree with the drunk driving suggestion there should be no second chances.

Oh and no access to satellite tv, internet, drugs or mobile phone in prison.its supposed to be punishment not a feckin holiday camp

ok so thats laws...oh well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

illegal possesion of a firearm, 10 years, possible parole after 7.

crime involving a firearm, 20 years, no parole.

causing injury with a firearm, 25 years, no parole.

causing death with a firearm, LIFE, no parole.

the usual considerations for accidenal injury/death and justifiable self defence would apply

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Vaschuk

A crime to dismiss or attack someones Religious views, or lack of. For example saying a Christian is stupid would in exceptional circumstances be liable for punishment, or saying an Atheist is morally corrupt.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

In addition to life driving bans for drunk drivers I'd add jail time. It doesn't have to be a long time, but enough to deter people, say 2-4 weeks. They don't muck about in the States, you get done for a DUI and you have a good chance of ending up in pokey for a while. Just ask Keifer Sutherland.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,359 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Vaschuk wrote: »
    A crime to dismiss or attack someones Religious views...saying an Atheist is morally corrupt.

Ooh, estebancambias won't like that last bit :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Misrepresentation of the people act.

Extra punishment for abuse of power.
    Government officials and high up civil servants who are proved to be corrupt, on top of any sentence they might be getting (thought they usually get away with it), get an extra special bonus for abusing a position of power.
    Expulsion from ever holding a public position/office, revocation of right to vote and time in a national arse rape facility.
    The price for minor corruption needs to be so harsh that its unthinkable.
    For those that think deterrance doesn't work at least they won't able to get back into power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,619 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

zaph wrote: »
    Ooh, estebancambias won't like that last bit :D

Haven't heard that name in a while, does he still post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I'd pass a law banning loud music in pubs. Sure, have music but it shouldn't be so loud that you can't talk to someone who's standing right beside you.

I'd also get ban all boy racers who drive like idiots. Crush their cars.