Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

lap dancing club

• 07-12-2007 10:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭

anyone know the full story, just heard tail end of something on the radio thurs , something different for kk for a change:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭MsFifers

Apparently Whispers Lap Dancing clubs have purchased The Widows and some concerned local people are not v. happy about it!

Can't say I'm over-enthusiastic about it myself - but then I was raised by a feminist and have this strange and old-fashioned idea that objectifying women into nothing more than sex toys isn't a good basis for equality. I know - I'm a dinosaur! :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

To be honest it certainly didn't add anything to Waterford,
    imho its of no benefit to Kilkenny and as such should not go ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,814 ✭✭✭Bards

They should call it Whiskers to keep all ye Cats happy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

"down with that type of thing"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

Does it not seem a bit weird to people that we're getting a lap dancing club but we're still not allowed drink after 1.30?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭zootroid

it doesn't really bother me, but i don't think its the right location for it - across from the theatre. john street area would be better.

not sure how well it would do though, i reckon that once the novelty wears off it will struggle. i can certainly think of better ways of spending my money!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Personally, I would have no interest in a lap dancing club. It will probably only appeal to stag parties. It should really be situated up a side street opposed to one of the major streets in town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

wheres the widows?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Near the Pump House Opposite the theatre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

A lot of these places have opened up then closed down again. If this one comes about, it probably won't last either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭wheres me jumpa

Well Kilkenny is such a drink tourist (hens, stags etc.) town that they could keep a business like this going. I definitely wouldnt go to a strip club in my hometown!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭drdre

ergonomics wrote: »
    Does it not seem a bit weird to people that we're getting a lap dancing club but we're still not allowed drink after 1.30?
    That is abit weird :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 OMEGA-KNO3

they should have made one in Carlow cause thats where i live and Kilkenny is a bit too rural to have any type of club like a lap, poll or strip club and Carlow already has an sex store so why can't it be here we had a few brothels around graiguecullen so why not a strip club here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Ha! Rural

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Eh, having lived in both towns I'd rank Kilkenny and Carlow pretty much the same for ruralness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Any word on this?

Kilkenny's got a sex shop as well dontcha know! At the moment it's got two oddly shaped shrubs outside the gates with blue lights wrapped around them. God only knows what they mean. :eek:

I saw them alright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭JohnC.

I think I heard on the radio this morning that the club got permission to go ahead.

I saw it in the mirror.
    Now all you have to do is sit on your hands!

heard its free tonight, anyone going down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,757 ✭✭✭Deliverance XXV

Plug wrote: »
    heard its free tonight, anyone going down?

Nah, got a birthday party to attend tonight. Besides, herself would tar and feather me. :o

sure bring her out there aswel, she might change her mind;)

Well, one thing's for sure. It's generating a LOT of free publicity for the proprietors.....

no lap dancing tonight or nothing only drink and stuff. Its over 21's.

That must've been a big disappointment for you, Plug :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,473 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Is this one run by the Latvian mafia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

did this open already? anyone going to admit to going to it?

Apparently so. There were pics of the dancers in yesterdays Daily mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭scatty

zootroid wrote: »
    it doesn't really bother me, but i don't think its the right location for it - across from the theatre. john street area would be better.

not sure how well it would do though, i reckon that once the novelty wears off it will struggle. i can certainly think of better ways of spending my money!
    as regards location it is almost opposite sex shop !! Johns street already has to deal with rampaging hen / stag parties .lap dancing clubs / sex shops and numerous nightclubs /pubs yet no playground or organised youth facilities i think we can all see where kilkenny is heading !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,494 ✭✭✭JohnC.

I heard it being talked about on Newstalk about half an hour ago. They had a guy there on Friday night doing a vox pop with patrons, protesters, etc. There had been talk about this not being suitable for a historic medieval location. But there was a tongue-in-cheek comment made that stuff like this, and worse, went on during medieval times, so it is actually appropriate:) The sex shop up the road was also mentioned by supporters of the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 seankk

Any idea which Newstalk programme this was? Interviewed on Fri. night muself with the craic about medieval practices!

I think it was the Sean Moncrieff show in the afternoon. Was the guy who interviewed you a bloke with an English accent? If so definately the moncrieff show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

anyone know who owns it or is running it?. are the irish people or foreigners?.

Stephen wrote: »
    I think it was the Sean Moncrieff show in the afternoon. Was the guy who interviewed you a bloke with an English accent? If so definately the moncrieff show.

Thanks off to listen to the podcast. Guys out fromt running the club appear Irish. Try www.whispers.ie for more info on place. Interstingly, they're targetting thirtd level students in Waterford. Sure sign that they're not making a fortune!!

Who here is aganist this lap dancing club? I don't see nothing bad and about it. Only a bit of a laugh and another reason for old folk to complain. I say get in with the days, were not living in 20th century catholic ireland anymore:rolleyes:

Plug wrote: »
    Who here is aganist this lap dancing club? I don't see nothing bad and about it. Only a bit of a laugh and another reason for old folk to complain. I say get in with the days, were not living in 20th century catholic ireland anymore:rolleyes:

Predictable 'right-on' post. I'm against for one and anybody who bothers to do a bit of research into lap-dancing and sex clubs would be . The direct links to trafficking of and gross exploitation of women are well proven and the idea that this is harmless fun is frankly bull****. I'm a 42 year old left-wing man, not a Legion of Mary type, and far more liberal on social issues than most of those visiting sex clubs. Ask any Rape Crisis centre in a town with a sex club and you'll find out the truth. Meanwhile check out these links if you want the truth!

http://www.nuigalway.ie/ssrc/documents/The Nature and Extent of Trafficking of Women into Ireland for the Purposes of Sexual Exploitation (2000-2006) - 2007.pdf

http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:iJAbeeYwpyAJ:www.protectionproject.org/ireland.doc+lap+dancing+and+trafficking+of+women+ireland&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=7

http://www.glasgow.gov.uk/NR/rdonlyres/AF8653FD-9FC4-4DE6-8238-CE629C7D6C3E/0/LapdancingReport.pdf

I'm also against - so now!! :p

I know people involved in the voluntary organisation Ruhama which works with women involved in prostitution, and I would agree that those types of clubs are not as harmless as it would appear.

The annoying thing is - when you say you are against, you immediately have to clarify you are not some Holy Mary/Joe clutching rosary beads!

Anyone who thinks its harmless - would you like your little sister working in one? (And if anyone is thinking of a witty rejoiner to that question - i don't want to know!! :D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,387 ✭✭✭EKRIUQ

seankk wrote: »
    Predictable 'right-on' post. I'm against for one and anybody who bothers to do a bit of research into lap-dancing and sex clubs would be . The direct links to trafficking of and gross exploitation of women are well proven and the idea that this is harmless fun is frankly bull****. I'm a 42 year old left-wing man, not a Legion of Mary type, and far more liberal on social issues than most of those visiting sex clubs. Ask any Rape Crisis centre in a town with a sex club and you'll find out the truth. Meanwhile check out these links if you want the truth!

http://www.nuigalway.ie/ssrc/documents/The Nature and Extent of Trafficking of Women into Ireland for the Purposes of Sexual Exploitation (2000-2006) - 2007.pdf

http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:iJAbeeYwpyAJ:www.protectionproject.org/ireland.doc+lap+dancing+and+trafficking+of+women+ireland&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=7

http://www.glasgow.gov.uk/NR/rdonlyres/AF8653FD-9FC4-4DE6-8238-CE629C7D6C3E/0/LapdancingReport.pdf

Welcome to the board Holy Joe:rolleyes:

BingoBongo wrote: »
    Ha Ha:D

BingoBongo wrote: »

Been called lots of things in my time but having opposed SPUC and the Anti-Divorce brigade, this one's definitely a first. There's a difference between opposition to sexual exploitation and religious fundamentalism Plug-some day you'll find that out!

What's SPUC stand for?

Society for the Protection of Unborn Children.

Oh... them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭ergonomics

I would be against it's placement rather than the club itself. I think it would be more suited to the John Street area rather than Parliament Street where the pubs are relaxed, good for a quiet drink and with little or no hen or stag nights. Most of the people who drink there regularly don't really like clubbing or loud, cramped pubs blaring dance music. Also, I would assume the majority aren't impressed by dealing with hen or stag nights drinking way too much and making a tit of themselves and not giving two craps about other people, as long as they're having fun (not to tar ALL stag and hen nights like that though, some can be quite civilised). I fear that stag nights will start appearing in the Pumphouse or Anaconda or Cleeres and ruin the nights out for those of us who don't enjoy the 'John street' atmosphere.

ergonomics wrote: »
    I would be against it's placement rather than the club itself. I think it would be more suited to the John Street area rather than Parliament Street where the pubs are relaxed, good for a quiet drink and with little or no hen or stag nights. Most of the people who drink there regularly don't really like clubbing or loud, cramped pubs blaring dance music. Also, I would assume the majority aren't impressed by dealing with hen or stag nights drinking way too much and making a tit of themselves and not giving two craps about other people, as long as they're having fun (not to tar ALL stag and hen nights like that though, some can be quite civilised). I fear that stag nights will start appearing in the Pumphouse or Anaconda or Cleeres and ruin the nights out for those of us who don't enjoy the 'John street' atmosphere.

I agree ergonomics in relation to Parliament Street-I'm a reasonable regular in Cleere's myself, but I relaly think that the idea that this would be OK somewhere else in town is no less acceptable. At the risk of Plug and Bingo Bongo or whatever getting hot under their anti-clerical collars, I really think the civil rights and human rights issues here are too urgent. The least anybody who considers these sex clubs to be good harmless fun should do is to arm themselves with the facts. The three links I posted already give plenty evidence of this sick, seedy industry.

I think ergonomics would be a great name for a lapdancing club. :D

(But I still dont approve of them!!!;))

The lap dancing club is up stairs somewhere. Its not like if theres a bunch of slappers standing bollock naked outside telling people to go in. Its quite around there.

Is it identifiable from the outside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Lapdancin is just a dickie tease ...Its like the kilkenny women TBH , its just another langtons with poles if u ask me :D:D