Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cash team/Tournament team

• 06-12-2007 8:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭

Ok just want to throw something out there. It may work, it may not work. It could be the dumbest idea ever, i dont care but i just want to get a feel for what people consider themselves to be and maybe get a little series going.

I prefer playing tournaments to cash.
    I think i'm better at tournaments than cash.
    If i could only play 1 or the other, it would be tournaments.

Guess this makes me a tournament player. Obviosuly its the other way around for cash game players. Those of you that are stuck in the middle, we'll give you an atari jaguar option to keep you happy :)

I semi propose an idea to pitch tournment players against cash game players. I'll put a public vote up and if players would be interested in playing the series make a vote and if we get a lot of interest, we can look at picking 8 players from each list and pitting themselves against each other for some bragging rights (because if tournie players win, cash game players will still never accept that tournie players are better;))

We could have 5 rounds...

A nominal live MTT tournament....min €50 buyin in any casino around Dublin that gets 40+ runners..All 16 players taking part plus the additional donkament players

A live cash game.....2 tables of 8 players, 4 cash + 4 tournie players...play for a set amount of time and calculate who's up what after the predetermined amount of play time.

An online cash game....similar to live but may have to be 10 handed, with a select 5 from each group taking part and doing something similar to above.

A 2 table online sit and go (if this can be organised)

A live 2 table sit and go in some chosen casino.

We could decide points based on numerous things but not even gonna think about it unless we get some interest.

Like i said, its probably a ridiculously dumb idea that will never work, so be it but if we need to do something soon before this whole poker forum because a fckin joke because the divide is massive at the moment.

Its a public poll so vote if you're interested. If you's make the effort, i'll make the effort.....Adios!

In talks with CHLs for this so we could have a venue that can host private cash games and Sit n Gos for us

Cash game pro or Tournament donk? 48 votes

I, the cash game pro, am 92.17% sure we will come out on top
    0%
    I'm a tournie donk and my read says we will wins the pokah
    39%
    DEmeant0rbohsmanmdwexfordRbkpnutsphantom_lordDuff Man Jr.Ste05cardshark202pok3rplayaMacspowerBandaraAKQJ10TommyGunnePrimewiseVan DiceGrafterMuddyDogConbro 19 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    60%
    mewsosmurphrorycsickpuppyShufflesnicnicnicWhite KnightbopsLazareeggieJools Pokerkakak1FlushdrawredzerdrogRusshbottom feederJayminatorsemibluffaarymarkbombjack2 29 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Atari Jaguar
    without my brilliant ability to look into your soul at the table I would be nothing...

...tourney donks ftw - people who grind cash have a very sad poker existence

that is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭fuzzbox

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    I'd be in - but the live MTT would have to have a decent structure. And the cashgame stakes would have to specifically avoid the possibility of Busto in one session.

You could just have a fixed buy-in and the cash game player who wins all the money would be the winner of the table ..... oh wait....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Atari Jaguar
    Yeah Lloyd. If theres enough interest we can look at structures etc but i agree on both points.

Its good to see though that resident cash pro Mr Fuzz has decided to run scared.....:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Atari Jaguar
    Tony i can think of plenty of other ways to spend your time but I like the way you think my friend – Bizarre, but interesting ;)

i'd be up for this, although im unsure what category I’d be in - ohhh yeah im a donkamentfish, but i do love a challenge!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Atari Jaguar
    Valor is rooming with me in prague and were playing 20 HU where the blinds rise and 20 where they don't the looser has to buy the winner into the EPT Monte Carlo

Atari Jaguar
    nicnicnic wrote: »
    Valor is rooming with me in prague and were playing 20 HU where the blinds rise and 20 where they don't the looser has to buy the winner into the EPT Monte Carlo

If i was you, i'd start playing now! Thats a marathon!

I know the result before you start...you're definitely looser than him :p

I know Wes....sometimes i need an escape from work and i have all these ideas floating around my head! Might aswel put them down in writing!

Atari Jaguar
    Flushdraw wrote: »

I know Wes....sometimes i need an escape from work and i have all these ideas floating around my head! Might aswel put them down in writing!

ffs that spelling police dude cash player will be onto me again now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Atari Jaguar
    ffs that spelling police dude cash player will be onto me again now

Nicky, genuine Q. Do you guys coach each other in your respective disciplines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Sounds good - maybe finish it all of with €100 grudge match - winner takes all, open to every one, there are no rules and needling is encouraged.

Atari Jaguar
    bohsman wrote: »
    Sounds good - maybe finish it all of with €100 grudge match - winner takes all, open to every one, there are no rules and needling is encouraged.

I'm hoping this is Grudge Match III..

Tournie pros v Cash donks....sorry did i get that the wrong way around....

Atari Jaguar

Lazare wrote: »
    Nicky, genuine Q. Do you guys coach each other in your respective disciplines?

yes Valor has really improved my understanding of cash games but now were both s hit at tournaments after my teachings

Atari Jaguar
    yes Valor has really improved my understanding of cash games but now were both s hit at tournaments after my teachings

lol. Seriously though, sounds like a perfect arrangement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Nicky & Valor discuss strategy:

4.jpg
    I don't care if you have a 'read', its -EV to fold sets.

Atari Jaguar
    More like this.........

karatelfm7.jpg

Atari Jaguar
    pmsl

Atari Jaguar
    any one got a picture of when someone is telling homer something and we see he is thinking of a bear balacing on a ball

Atari Jaguar
    Right, enough of the messin.

Sorry Tony for draggin your fine thread off the rails, I'll play, tourney side I s'pose.

Atari Jaguar
    I was about to crack the whip on the trolling...players tend to switch off if theres too much of that in a thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I'll do this... (probably)... could be interesting...

Atari Jaguar
    I was about to crack the whip on the trolling...players tend to switch off if theres too much of that in a thread!

there's a bit of a difference between digressing and trolling Tony; discuss

Atari Jaguar
    there's a bit of a difference between digressing and trolling Tony; discuss

Will this do you Nicky...maybe one of the maths lads can help you understand it :)

img28.gif

Atari Jaguar
    Will this do you Nicky...maybe one of the maths lads can help you understand it :)

img28.gif

is the answer 9.23

Atari Jaguar
    is the answer 9.23

you forgot to carry the 1...

is the answer 9.23
    :mad: Seriously lads, it means you Call, LDO. God you tournament players, how do you not see it, do we maths guys really have to spoon feed you's everything... :rolleyes:

Atari Jaguar
    Ste05 wrote: »
    :mad: Seriously lads, it means you Call, LDO. God you tournament players, how do you not see it, do we maths guys really have to spoon feed you's everything... :rolleyes:

((1)^k)+((2)^k)+......+((n-1)^k)+((n)^k) = ((n+1)^k)

Put that in your pipe and smoke it! I'm off to bed!

((1)^k)+((2)^k)+......+((n-1)^k)+((n)^k) = ((n+1)^k)
    Eh, insta-fold. Jeeze, at least give me a hard one.... :cool:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Atari Jaguar
    I propose 10000 €50 tournaments played over the next 500 years interspersed with an ongoing cash game that players can join and leave at will. It may be necessary to keep the cash game going to infinity give or take a few years but assuming a scientist invents the technology to re-animate dead tissue somewhere along the line and as long as all players are willing to allow their bodies to be placed in a freezer (which can be agreed on later, mine wouldn't be big enough for example) then I would be confident we could have this decided before man evolves on to the next level of existence. Might have to take variance into account though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭ianmc38

That sounds like the best way to sort it out Muso. +1 to keep with the maths theme!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 762 ✭✭✭Duff Man Jr.

I was gonna say this could be done at the IO, but why would any cash player waste their time at a sng when there 1000+ tourny donks in the room, most wanting to play cash, and 90% having lost their €4500 buyin.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Ste05 wrote: »

OK, I give up, google is no help. What the hell is LDO and why do you keep using it?

2+2 speak - Like Duh Obviously

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Repeat after me - "This is not 2+2, we are our own individual poker forum"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

lingospeak is for people not bright enough to properly articulate their own thoughts.

innit?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Atari Jaguar
    i see that us good tourney folk heavily outnumber the cash monkeys...

...so it is possible that we can have a vote to ban them all and we'll have ourselves a nice plesant positive constructive educational open understanding adult enjoyable friendly forum??

(they can all migrate to 2+2 where they can happily talk ****e with the yanks)

thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

FWIW I'd take the cash players action in a MTT live or otherwise before most of the tournament players also.

Atari Jaguar
    pok3rplaya wrote: »
    FWIW I'd take the cash players action in a MTT live or otherwise before most of the tournament players also.

Thats the key word there. Most of the players wont make it to the final 8 and i'd take any bet these 8 will perform better than the cash players.

Overall or in the MTT part alone?

Also why does it have to be 8 each? 10 makes sense because of 10 handed tables and 6 makes sense because of 6 handed tables. 8 makes no sense.

I would take Robin, HJ, Reggie, Valor, Fuzzbox, VanDice, Pillowtalk, ROundtower, Pokerplayer and HalfBaked over 10 tournament players any day. It's not that i think the tournament players are bad, it's just I think all the aforementioned are better poker players overall, though there are some excellent tournament players on the forum too. I think nicnic would probably make my dream team and maybe one or 2 others.

Also the reason the tourney players are winning the poll is because half the cash game players (including me) voted atari jaguar :p

1 thing the forum seems to be lacking is input from any of the tourney players on the forum in terms of strategy posts in the HH forum. Fair enough, some people mightn't have the time, but it would be nice to see some of these people start commenting more frequently on hand histories whether they are cash or tournament hands....

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Atari Jaguar
    I picked tourney donk despite the fact that I have been concentrating on cash games for the last few months mainly because I'm assuming it's a case of which area you would chose to play and while I'm still a beginner when it comes to cash games I'm slightly above a beginner when it comes to tourneys. If we were talking mentality it would be leaning more towards cash games/math* angle. Should have picked Atari Jaguar tbh.

* Should rile somebody up

Atari Jaguar
    Overall or in the MTT part alone?

Also why does it have to be 8 each? 10 makes sense because of 10 handed tables and 6 makes sense because of 6 handed tables. 8 makes no sense.

I was replying to your 'taking cash game players over tournament players in a live MTT' comment. I didnt say it has to be 8.

Would you take the best 8 "cash" players over 8 random "tournament" players from boards in a donkament?

I think I'd probably play in this for the laugh if it got going btw.

Atari Jaguar
    Would you take the best 8 "cash" players over 8 random "tournament" players from boards in a donkament?

Is this a level?

The 8 best cash game players include Mr PT, Robin and RT who would also be in the best 8 tournament players on boards. Theres no way i'd take a group of random tournament players over the best cash game/possible all-round players on the forum.
    ianmc38 wrote: »
    Also the reason the tourney players are winning the poll

Theres no winning in this poll. If you vote in either category, you would be willing to accept a challenge to represent 1 team against the other. If some of the best cash game players dont fancy the challenge, thats up to them.
    The best cash game players > better than lessor poker players, be it tourney or cash. Simple.

However, I'd still fancy that the likes of Wes, Tony or myself could sneak the tournament portion of the proposed challenge because, well, it's a tournament. It's a format that levels the playing field.

But yeah, overall I would say any tournament team would be negative EV vs the lineup suggested by Ian. And the difference in expectation increases the better the deeper and longer we play.

I also voted Atari Jaguar.

Pretty accurate Lloyd. I'm disappointed though in your Atari Jaguar vote. You would have been great addition to the tournament team because of your ability in both donkaments and cash games. Grudge match 3 needs players like you involved...

hmmm ya silly question actually.

Atari Jaguar
    Tony, I'm bad at polls. Thought it was for who I thought would win - not would I play. I'll play for the tournament team even though I think on balance we lose a lot.

Cool..I think we could lose a lot aswel but i also think we could surprise a few. the MTT has a strong chance of being the 100 FO in CHL so it will be a good structure....thats one in the bag for you already :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 880 ✭✭✭eggie

Atari Jaguar
    When would this be on? New year?

I'll play for the craic