Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

does anyone on this forum play for fun anymore?

• 06-12-2007 9:19am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭

there's alot of "the bottom line is the only thing that matters" on the forum. its all about maximising every edge...

people wont play this tournament or that cash game... does anyone play €5 sit and go's with their mates anymore?

personally i used to play alot of games for the fun of playing, dit tournaments, 5 euro games, but the more and more i played €50+ games i stopped playing home games and friendly games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

I thought I still played for fun until my last homegame. A dark day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

shouldnt this be in the after hours forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,092 ✭✭✭Glowingmind

I still play for fun. The way i play could never be described as serious.
    There's very little opportunity for me to play small stupid games though. Most of my close friends don't play poker at all. The closest i get to a "fun" game recently would be an irregular drunken €50 home game with some poker friends that my brother and a couple of boardsies organise.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I played a fun game the other day in the Fitz. It was fun because I made a large profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

5starpool wrote: »
    I played a fun game the other day in the Fitz. It was fun because I made a large profit.

I've been playing a little internet cash recently and I reckon about 60% of my sessions are fun. On the whole so far it's been volatile but still +EfunV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Bandara

I play completely for fun, yes I want to win money but if I don't I still enjoy playing

Common sense on money management and its easy to enjoy poker as a pasttime and get a lot out of it socially and otherwise*

* This statement is mainly due to the fact that I'm ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

I only play for fun.

I'm no where near good enough to try and play for profit. The time needed is just beyond me.

Having said that I still haven't had to add to the 20 euro's I started with in my PPP account and I only plat SNG's or 1000+ seat MTT's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

For me the fun has been completely drained out of the game, I think when I finally got to grips with what the "long term" really meant is when the last ounce of fun left the game for me. I actually don't really play that much any more nowadays because I don't want to risk/ tie-up alot of money in a BR and neither do I want to re-start a BR at the low levels because it feels like a waste of my time, I'd rather spend an evening watching telly or a movie or doing other stuff rather then grinding 4 - 6 tables of 50NL - 100NL and I'm not willing to put up a BR for anything higher, kind of like a catch 22 situation for me really.

Although I've only myself to blame I never left much money on-line for a BR and I was happy taking out a small profit every now and again whenever I wanted to buy something for myself, I always made sure I was never relying on 1c of my Poker income for anything other then luxuries for myself and so whenever I've wanted anything like a new flat screen or a PS3 or a new laptop I just cashed out some money and bought it. This way my BR never ever got over about 3k and I was happy with it, I busted my BR of about 2k over about 3 months, firstly by just running badly/ playing badly and being down a good few buy-ins (while moving down appropriately) until I was down playing 50NL and one night I came home drunk and busted the last 1k with a mental 2/4 HU session... :( so now I'm just taking time off and I may or may not go back to grinding certainly not for the next while though... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Played a game of chinese for apr 3 hours the other day where point was less than 2oc and enjoyed It immensly.Only lost @.2k Result.lol.fix.

Occassionally play home games where the biggest pot would be 20 fyfes and enjoy them.

You need the pain though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭Shadowless

Meh I'm in final year now and I've more or less quit online altogether for the time being. I still play in DCU on Monday's and the odd fiver home game with mates but its mainly the social element that appeals to me. I've far too many other things to be grinding these days than micro-stakes hold-em!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

After a night out a quick spin up or down is always enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Apart from €10 rebuy drunken gamblefest in the house with mates,
    I play for money. If I have fun while doing it all the better. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭RedJoker

I usually play a fun game of horse with a friend for a fiver while I'm running the UCCPokerSoc. 10K starting stacks with 25/50 blinds, we're going into the third day for the same fiver. Nothing beats drawing to a KQ9 in razz and making him fold when he draws a K on 4th and pairs his upcard on 5th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Everyone starts off playing for fun.

Then some start taking it seriously and improving (if they stick with the game) and the next thing is they can't go back to playing the games they played before because they are basically just taking money of friends and people who haven't got a clue.

They find themselves either encouraging their friend the fish to put a decent portion of his weekly salary on the table so they can clean him out again or else they make the honest decision to go play with people who take the game a little more seriously and are committed to playing for decent stakes.

Once you make the decision to play for decent stakes against people who are in parts decent and in parts deluded you have to take the game even more seriously or you are the value. And nobody with a competitive bone in their body wants that.

Finally you just accept that you get a kick out of gouging peoples money from them and the more money the better and realise that while having banter and sticking it in with ye olde gutshot and a middler can be fun in a home game it gets old even in a home game fairly fast. Scooping a nice tasty cash pot or steamrolling a final table is a much bigger buzz and whilst you may remember the old times fondly but you just have to accept it. You are an addict now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

i still play for fun...dont really play much but when i do its to relax..if i make money(rarely) then its a bonus!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

ollyk summed it up for me.

Friends of ours mentioned that we should get a poker table set up when we move to our new house and we could play some fun poker,we're probably talking .01/.02 here. I explained to them this is just about the last thing a serious poker player would regard as fun, if I had to play some sort of game like that for fun I'd rather get away from poker and chill out and play some board game like Risk or Monopoly.

For me fun in Poker at this stage is synonomus with Danger, I still go on the odd Poker joyride,shortstacking in BIG PLO games. Great fun when it works out, vomit inducing when it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

I can still enjoy tenner or fiver sit and gos with my friends, but thats probably because we're very competitive and dont enjoy losing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I'm kinda like Ste above. I played quite a bit online at the start of the year and then I went to Vegas and enjoyed the poker immensely. Since then i've played very little live poker as playing with the idiots that play in my local casino doesn't interest me. They're not all idiots mind - the rest are nits and they are also no fun to play against.

That's also why I play so little online now too. Even to play cash online I need to set minimum of 2 hours aside and I just feel there are other things i'd prefer to do with my time.

I did have a very enjoyable game of 10/20 stud the other week in the casino but that is largely because it is so long since i've played stud. Playing the live 1/2 game doesn't interest me as generally it's full of a load of tight passive players playing the minimum stack. The 2/5 game is full of idiots playing a shortish stack too but the play is absolutely awful. I've taken shots at this but after a losing streak I realise I need a huge br for it! I don't have that though and don't want to grind to get it!

I guess my poker is now reduced to getting the occasional fix when I've nothing else to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭RoundTower

I can still enjoy tenner or fiver sit and gos with my friends, but thats probably because we're very competitive and dont enjoy losing.
    don't you get used to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Gillybean72

I would say I was playing for fun, I take the game serious, but dont get too down if I have a bad beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,158 ✭✭✭BobSloane

I play for fun but then again I'm a masochist

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

The fun for me comes from buying myself nice things with other people's money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

ollyk1 wrote: »

Then some start taking it seriously and improving (if they stick with the game) and the next thing is they can't go back to playing the games they played before because they are basically just taking money of friends and people who haven't got a clue.

They find themselves either encouraging their friend the fish to put a decent portion of his weekly salary on the table so they can clean him out again or else they make the honest decision to go play with people who take the game a little more seriously and are committed to playing for decent stakes.

Once you make the decision to play for decent stakes against people who are in parts decent and in parts deluded you have to take the game even more seriously or you are the value. And nobody with a competitive bone in their body wants that.

Finally you just accept that you get a kick out of gouging peoples money from them and the more money the better and realise that while having banter and sticking it in with ye olde gutshot and a middler can be fun in a home game it gets old even in a home game fairly fast. Scooping a nice tasty cash pot or steamrolling a final table is a much bigger buzz and whilst you may remember the old times fondly but you just have to accept it. You are an addict now.

I like this post olly,I'm sure a lot of players can relate to this.
    The real fun part for me are big buyin tournies,i see a lot of guys nervous,and scared in these tournies,as if they have forgotten why they started playing.I still enjoy cash games but not as much as i used to simply because it's a must do,and only when i'm winning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

when were ****faced or baked homegames can be a good laugh.

boring when your sober tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭thechamp87

I find it fun having ridic amounts of cash that i took from people who are dissillusioned about actually being good at the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

thechamp87 wrote: »
    I find it fun having ridic amounts of cash that i took from people who are dissillusioned about actually being good at the game.

is this the three handed home games with you mark and ross your on about adam

Trippie wrote: »
    is this the three handed home games with you mark and ross your on about adam

no i was referring to some of the times i've played with you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

phew i thought u were talkin about me... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭(CH3)2CHOH

ollyk1 wrote: »

I think I'll just go and remove PPP from the laptop and shred the cards now.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭Trippie

all jokes aside i dont think ive ever played against you? am i right or is my memory terrible

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

When I started playing seriously the fun drained from 1/2 live cash games from me as I was effectively at work (at that time). Its still like that though I've dialed back the cash action. I still love tournies and they are still fun for me but where I would have played 4 nights a week I now play 1-2 and I'm much more selective about them.
    When I play for fun I dont care about the buyin and will usually play lower buyin's simply because they are more fun.

Still the best fun is to be had playing a hard bitten serious sng with mates who can play and from whom no quarter is asked nor given. Like CS, those people arent playing for the cash, they are playing because they couldnt bear the thought of losing to the others. :)

I've found that in any game, the best fun is to be had where its a battle of equals and its played hard and for keeps but where no one ultimately gets hurt.

DeV.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

ps: the GJP Headsup league here has been some of the most enjoyable poker I've played (beyond the p*ssed-drunk gamble fests with mates).

DeV.

Trippie wrote: »
    all jokes aside i dont think ive ever played against you? am i right or is my memory terrible

ha i'm kidding. you did sit to my left once in the jackpot 2/5 in september and you folded kings on a Q high board to my reraise allin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Yeah I do. Think I've played 3 tourneys this year. Last one being IPO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭valor

Gotta make that money yo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

when i started playing snooker i played purely for fun and was rubbish. I preferred the game back then than i do now. I got pretty good at it (HJ be nice please, no abuse), started making centuries and the better i got, the less fun it became. I cant go down the club and mess around with a mate anymore, i ruin it for them because i cant switch off and not play competitively.

Card games like Switch or those makey-up games your friends come up with are great craic, but nl holdem tournaments - the fun is in winning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,563 ✭✭✭kinaldo

Marq wrote: »
    I believe the villain of that night (British) will be donating back some of his loose change from then tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Marq wrote: »

This rang so true with me. I still play alot of the cheap games for fun but I find that I really have to be in the right mood to play them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I have played big losing sessions online and not be bothered then gone out to the home game that used to run in my circle of freinds and be distraught at getting knocked out of tenner rebuy tourneys. Im not sure what that means, I suppose I only enjoy it as long as Im in action winning or losing, I cant stand not being able to play which is why exiting tourneys tilts me so, Im pretty sure the stakes have little or no meaning on my enjoyment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭fuzzbox

I don't even play anymore, I just come on here and get into arguments with Chopper, R4D and the rest of the "feel" players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

fuzzbox wrote: »
    I don't even play anymore, I just come on here and get into arguments with Chopper, R4D and the rest of the "feel" players.

lmao.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

fuzzbox wrote: »

Fuzz, your in top form lately, keep it up :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭aodea

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Generally Anto will run bad and get frustrated;

u swear that only happens in home games.

jeff likes being a big fish in a small pond. Like the way his sister is hot and hangs around with ugly girls its a confidence thing. Our home games were a laugh poker is generally a laugh whether its in town or with the lads but a factor i would say is sometimes its fun to have a few cans with the lads who dont play that much and muck around. Who can argue that drinking and poker aint fun.

Minority report is so bad!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Fuzz, your in top form lately, keep it up :D
    You really are Fuzz, excellent work Me thinks HJ might have some stiff competition for Poster of the Year this time around...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

If I don't win i'm going to increase my carbon footprint hugely thereby endangering all of our lives. Plus I was arguing with Requeim for a dream wayyy before anyone else was, i even got banned for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

insta bans for saying "jeff's sister" without a picture underneath plz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    You see, I have little interest in playing our homegame anymore. Watching the Buck go all - in with KJ ("ah shur I'll stick it in there Boss"); or Marc go quiet when he gets dealt AA and limp, call pre; check, call the flop and the turn; and then overbet the river with it EVERY TIME HE GETS IT tilts the **** out of me. Generally Anto will run bad and get frustrated; and the only interesting hands will be when me and you try to outplay each other with, like, 4 high. But then, even that isn't particularly interesting - because we always assume each other is at it and it all goes in with anything remotely marginal.

this may be your funniest contribution to boards yet lloyd! nh, wp!

i've a craving for one of our needlessly deepstacked home games... 30mins blinds, with blinds being frozen at 25-50 for the first three hours while we wait on someone, 5k stack, 10k for a rebuy... arriving into a game at 25-50 to see the average stack somewhere near 50k... and FINALLY (inevitably) getting three handed with lloyd and anto is the way forward.. and 4 high is the nuts.

(for those who want to know lloyd's worst play of all time, ever... read here.
    on a board of KQ9,4,3 with three spades, lloyd goes broke when i push my chips in the middle... lloyd INSTA CALLS with 25 for the stone cold anti-nuts and a hollar of "I KNOW YOU HAVE FU*K ALL" as i show my fu*k all of 7 high and scoop the loot... lloyd triumphantly reaches into his pocket for yet another rebuy, happily justifying his great call...
    )

the reason i started this thread was there seemed to be alot of, effectively, poker pissing contests going on and it makes for dull reading is all.

i guess it comes down to if all the people who are bottom line orientated dont play for fun, which is synonymous with not playing at stakes beneath their ability, then their suggesting that they wouldnt take a 5c-10c cash game as seriously as a $2-$4... now i can completely understand why one wouldnt, i just find it a bit hypocrytical or ironic that people who'll blow a few quid mindlessly at microstakes can get soooo caught up by the HUGE difference in a 52%-48% EV calculation...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Mr.Plough wrote: »
    insta bans for saying "jeff's sister" without a picture underneath plz

mr plough and anto are on my list of people to kick in the nuts!!