Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I'm scared, very scared!.. (seriously).

• 04-12-2007 12:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

And what have I got to be scared off, eh?..

I'm 6'2'', fight Judo at 115kgs. I've won national kickboxing titles (but their a dime a dozen). I weight train for Judo every day blah, blah, blah....

So what am I scared off, or who?...

The bleed'n dentist :(

I have an abcess on my gum, and a broken tooth from my last Judo competition (the abcess is above the break).

But honestly, I'm scared sh*tless of the dentist.

Help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

And so you should be, sometimes the numbing agent doesn't work and most dentist have a side line of stealing kidneys while your distracted with whats going on in your mouth (you'll probably end up with shingles too).

Hope that helps. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

I can't believe how scared people are of this. It's kind of irrational. What the worst that can go wrong?

Sure it can hurt, but it ain't going to kill you.

Don't worry though, you are not alone:
    http://www.dentalfearcentral.org/

And if you do a Google search, you'll find many more sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,324 ✭✭✭✭Cathmandooo

awwwwwwww poor Mairt, have a swift drink before you go, calm the nerves ;) take a mint tho ye dont want the dentist getting drunk on fumes :D

Use your judo training to pretend you're somewhere else so you can ignore pain (do you do that type of thing to break blocks and stuff? :D )

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Shauudup ya big woofter.He'll give you antibiotics till the swelling goes down and some painkillers.If he decides it needs to come out,he'll give you a tiny injection ya wont even feel and the tooth will be out in two seconds flat,no bother.Seriously,dentists these days are very different to what they used to be like!

Degsy wrote: »
    Shauudup ya big woofter.He'll give you antibiotics till the swelling goes down and some painkillers.If he decides it needs to come out,he'll give you a tiny injection ya wont even feel and the tooth will be out in two seconds flat,no bother.
    That's a load of arse the injections do hurt, but that's about it when it comes to pain, especially where poor ol mairt is getting the work done right up in the gum. He'll have to inject into the bone. It's painfull trust me. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Haha, I'm scared sh*tless of anything medical. I went for an examination, yes, just an examination. I started feeling a bit off when I was getting examined so I had to get some water and the dentist was holding up a fan in front of my face giving me some air. lol. So I was told to book an appointment for the slot before lunch, because he'd need to spend more time with me because I'm so nervous, I went out to the receptionist and just said I'd book it another time.. I still haven't:o Oh, I've been eating with the left side of my mouth only for about the past 2 years because I've a hole in my lower molar on the right, so I kinda need to go.

I also went for a bloodtest one time, I was in the waiting room and I was called in, I told the nurse I usually get the blood taken from the wrist because the vein in my elbow isn't the easiest to get and I also told her I usually lie down when I'm getting it taken, she said you'll be fine, 2 mins later I was being wheeled upstairs in a wheelchair past my dad in the waiting room and a hot girl I was eyeing up before I went in to the nurse, so I was brought up with the lift to a bed upstairs to get it taken.

I had dodgy hand from falling off my bike and I went to physio, I had it bandaged up, no not a cast, just a bandage, a cotton bandage, and I started getting all lightheaded when the physio started taking it off with a scissors. It was hilarious but I just can't help it.

I've started getting nervous with everything now, anything new, I was on the tube for the first time just a few weeks ago and was getting nervous for no reason, then when I go on the ferry I get kinda nervous too.

I need help, hypnosis or something??? Should be a Personal Issue post for me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Pretty much what Degsy has said -- you'll need anti biotics to get rid of the abcess. (not nice I know, I had one on a tooth that was waiting to be pulled before).
    Then a broken tooth - are they pulling it or filling & fixing?
    Either way - you'll get an injection to numb you up and if it hurts they can give you more of it. And they'll do what they do best, sort it out and it'll be a bit sore later but better to get it sorted pet.
    My mother's so scared of the dentist(unlike me, I hop in the chair and say 'work away') she will pass out at times, dentists are used to that, just tell the dentist you're very nervous and they'll try and make it as easy as possible for you.

Aw man, I still grab on to the arm rests/my belt when I go to the dentist. They still tell me, "You're doing really well!" I'm 22, but I hate the dentists with a passion!

They should give lollipops out when youre older!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Hope you have a good dentist... I tried 3 times to get an extraction done last year.

The guy would inject me 14 times and still I'd feel searing pain when he tried to pull the tooth.

Went and tried another dentist this year... 2 injections... and he had it pulled out in about 10 minutes... uncomfortable... but nothing like the pain I was getting when the other guy was trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Procasinator

They should give lollipops out when youre older!

Yeah, congratulate you on getting you teeth fixed by giving you something which causes more. :pIt'd be like celebrating an alcoholic going sober by going out for pints! It just means you are going to be back in the chair sooner rather than later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I hate the dentist too.... I haven't been in years though. I need to get the teeth cleaned, but Im sh*tting it that he/she will be all "oh well while im cleaning them, I might as well CHISEL OUT YOUR TEETH!!!"

Little known fact: dentists derive pleasure from the screams of their patients.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭walt0r

But the real question is how much do you bench, dead and squat at 115kg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,413 ✭✭✭Archeron

DaveMcG wrote: »
    Little known fact: dentists derive pleasure from the screams of their patients.

Similar to Monsters Inc, those screams actually power the drills they use to remove the bone chunks from your jaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Threaten him with violence should you suffer any pain whilst in his chair.

That will either ensure a careful job, or an overdose on anisthetics (sp?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭madds

Have 2 wisdom teeth coming out on Jan 25th. I wonder would the ol' Wham bar trick work on wisdom teeth?

(for those of you who are old enough to remember Wham bars ;) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,005 ✭✭✭Creature

Hope you have a good dentist... I tried 3 times to get an extraction done last year.

The guy would inject me 14 times and still I'd feel searing pain when he tried to pull the tooth.

Went and tried another dentist this year... 2 injections... and he had it pulled out in about 10 minutes... uncomfortable... but nothing like the pain I was getting when the other guy was trying.

Thats what you get for going to a dentist when you should have gone to a vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

Hate the damn dentist, with a passion, reading this thread has actually hurt me.

Last time I needed to get a tooth pulled he loaded me up on that injection stuff, could still feel the pain, swore like a trooper at him and told him to hurry the hell up and yank it out, because there was no way in hell I could stomach a second vist. The poor fella looked like he'd lost the faith or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭RobbieMc

Mairt wrote: »
    And what have I got to be scared off, eh?..

I'm 6'2'', fight Judo at 115kgs. I've won national kickboxing titles (but their a dime a dozen). I weight train for Judo every day blah, blah, blah....

So what am I scared off, or who?...

I have an abcess on my gum, and a broken tooth from my last Judo competition (the abcess is above the break).

But honestly, I'm scared sh*tless of the dentist.

Help.

There not much help with the scare tactics are they :mad:

Look, If you need work to be done, you will have to go. But make sure you get a nice dentist.
    I have the same fear of dentist as you. A few years ago my wife started to use a new dentist in Palmerstown and she convinced me to go get my teeth cleaned. With a lot of resistance, I went. I've been back several times and even had some major work done. All went OK :D See thats me with my smillie teeth.

If you don't have a dentist at present, ask around who your friends would recommend in your area, but "bite the bullet" and get it over with.
    Your first time ( in ages) is the worse after that it gets easier.

Rob

I can't help but laugh about the dentist since my last visit where I almost killed the assistant. The dentist was giving me the cups of mouthwash but my mouth was so numb I kept missing the tray and spiting it all over the floor (I dribbled all over myself the first time I used it) they never noticed me doing this so I said nothing to avoid embarrassment. The assistant came back into the room after getting something and went head over heals on my spit. I almost choked with laughter, I know her so I didn't feel that bad about it but I haven't returned to the dentist to get the rest of the work done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

Dont worry dentists aren't all bad! When you ring to make the appointment let them know you're nervous, it comes with the trade and they are well used to it!
    I used to be absolutely petrified of dentists before, but in the last 2 years I've had my jaw broken twice [ow], wisdom teeth removed and a few fillings and was treated really well. Dentistry has changed so much in the last number of years its nothing like when you were forced to go as a child.
    You're going to be fine!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Shaddap you bloody pansy. Oi say get yore arse to the dentists and take woteva soht of pahnishment he gives you, becos you desehve it

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

mairt, i feel you pain. i hate them but i recently found in in finglas who is really nice. He gave me two injections for a filling, i told him it wasnt enough and he gave me another two and spent the whole time telling, how great i was doing and explained everything as he was going along.

so if you want the address PM me

* i can hold your hand if you want :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Cheers businexwise, ill give it a try!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I have just sent on my 6 dollars. I hope it works!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Take a valium to calm yourself down. Or kickbox yourself in the mouth till the tooth falls out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Ohhhhh, poor ol' Mairto :(

Scumlord, your for a hiding!..

Thing is I've had three extractions before, plus a root canal (NEVER do this one again) and my fear is still the same.

I'm grand making the appointment, but I always cancel and only when I'm climbing the walls with pain do I seek help.

Someone mentioned valium, I actually have some here which I was prescribed as a muscle relaxant. I wonder would that help?.

Has anyone ever phoned the dentists before hand and told them about their fear's and got help?.

Guys, I'm really sh*tting myself about this. And I wouldn't mind, I have free dental care (I'm in the army) so I should have a huge Hollywood smile :D < [like this].

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

ScumLord wrote: »
    And so you should be, sometimes the numbing agent doesn't work and most dentist have a side line of stealing kidneys while your distracted with whats going on in your mouth (you'll probably end up with shingles too).
    Be sure to check your underpants are the right way round afterwards too! :eek:

Someone mentioned valium, I actually have some here which I was prescribed as a muscle relaxant. I wonder would that help?.

Guys, I'm really sh*tting myself about this. And I wouldn't mind, I have free dental care (I'm in the army) so I should have a huge Hollywood smile :D < [like this].

Just check out if it could interfere with the anaesthetic, I may be wrong saying valium specifically, but the kind of sedative people take to get over fear of flying would help a lot I'd imagine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭abelard

The first time I was ever at the dentist was about 2 months ago (I'm 20), and I was terrified too. But beyond the slight jab of the needle going into my gum i felt absolutely nothing, bar an odd tickle as he used that grinding drill thing on my tooth.

Don't worry about it.

And for comedy, (if your upper gum is the one numbed this works much better) get a whipped ice cream cone straight after you leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,957 ✭✭✭trout

Walk in ... like a man. Hum "Eye of the Tiger" to yourself.
    Lie down in the chair.
    Wait for the dentist to approach.
    Grab him by the gonads.
    Squeeze, twice, gently.
    NB:Make eye contact
    With a calm voice clearly say the following words.
    "Let's not hurt each other today. Deal?"
    Then squeeze once more, with slightly more pressure

Lie back and be assured your dentist will have your best interests and his gonads at heart.

When the work is complete ... release the gonads.

I realise this technique has a gaping flaw when it comes to female dentists ... I currently have no advice for this situation.

Scumlord, your for a hiding!..

Thing is I've had three extractions before, plus a root canal (NEVER do this one again) and my fear is still the same.
    I 2nd that! I had a root canal done, and half a fake tooth put in the feckin thing cost me €480 only for it to break a few weeks later. I lived with the half tooth for the best part of a year swallowing bits of tooth. (I wheren't scared or nothin I was just disgusted by the money spent for a **** job on the last visit). I wish I'd just pulled the thing in the first place. The dentist had to break what was left into little pieces to get it out but only cost €60.
    I'm grand making the appointment, but I always cancel and only when I'm climbing the walls with pain do I seek help.
    And you call yourself a kick boxer. What would Mr Miyagi say? :p

trout wrote: »
    Walk in ... like a man. Hum "Eye of the Tiger" to yourself.
    Lie down in the chair.
    Wait for the dentist to approach.
    Grab him by the gonads.
    Squeeze, twice, gently.
    NB:Make eye contact
    With a calm voice clearly say the following words.
    "Let's not hurt each other today. Deal?"
    Then squeeze once more, with slightly more pressure

Lie back and be assured your dentist will have your best interests and his gonads at heart.

When the work is complete ... release the gonads.

I realise this technique has a gaping flaw when it comes to female dentists ... I currently have no advice for this situation.

Nipple pinch, or finger up the bum maybe?.

She might enjoy that....

ScumLord wrote: »
    I 2nd that! I had a root canal done, and half a fake tooth put in the feckin thing cost me €480 only for it to break a few weeks later. I lived with the half tooth for the best part of a year swallowing bits of tooth. (I wheren't scared or nothin I was just disgusted by the money spent for a **** job on the last visit). I wish I'd just pulled the thing in the first place. The dentist had to break what was left into little pieces to get it out but only cost €60.

And you call yourself a kick boxer. What would Mr Miyagi say? :p

"Big Marto, don't be a windy fvck and get your teeth done" (probably).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Bock Bock :D

But seriously I feel your pain, I have an appointment this friday too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭briman1983

I has the wisdom teeth out last yr (all 4). Got 40 stitches in the mouth. Not the most present of experiences. Was fine for the first 12 hours after coming out of hospital then the pain started at about 5 in the morning by 8 I was a nervour reck. Was taking pain killers like they were penny sweets but they were having feck all effect, Ended up heading into A&E getting a paracetamol drip and an injection up the ass. Anyways that calmed it down for another day and it started again, back to A&E again, Same procedure here again, ended up that they change my pain killers because the other ones I was taking were having no effect what so ever.

Anyways to finish off my story, I would go through it all again, just go with the flow be prepared for a good deal of pain and have people around you to nurse ya better. As someone said earlier your not going to die!!!! (hopefully)

briman1983 wrote: »
    Ended up heading into A&E getting a paracetamol drip and an injection up the ass. Anyways that calmed it down for another day and it started again, back to A&E again, Same procedure here again, ended up that they change my pain killers because the other ones I was taking were having no effect what so ever.
    Well they injected the wrong end of you, I think your dentists telling you fibs what other kind of dental work did he do up your ass?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

The dentist is the nicest person you will ever meet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Ya can get a v alium injection off the dentist if you're in a seriously bad way with the nereves,i reckon it hurts more than the local anasthetic so it aint worth it.If you cant stand the idea of a local,ask for a topical anasthitic first so you wont feel the needle.I dunno if irishbird knows the same dentist as i do in finglas but i know a very good bloke,he cured me of a 25 year dread of dentists.PM me if you want his number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Didn't they used to gas people at the dentist? Whatever happened that? I asked my dentist about it and he said he's not going to take that risk :( See he said I'd need to go about 6 times to get the work that needs doing, done. But I was asking could he just gas me once and get it all over and done with at once.

Sooo, cmon, there must be something. Hypnosis is what I'm thinking of to get over my fear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

i had 4 teeth removed in 3 days....you'll be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭It BeeMee

In my youth, I got several mercury fillings without anaesthetic.
    Read it again: without anaesthetic!!!!!

It kinda turned me off dentists, to be honest.

But I think all the sadists have been deported at this stage....

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

.I dunno if irishbird knows the same dentist as i do in finglas but i know a very good bloke,he cured me of a 25 year dread of dentists.PM me if you want his number.

you bleeding know well its the same dentist - ya spanner ;)

Ya can get a v alium injection off the dentist if you're in a seriously bad way with the nereves,i reckon it hurts more than the local anasthetic so it aint worth it.If you cant stand the idea of a local,ask for a topical anasthitic first so you wont feel the needle.I dunno if irishbird knows the same dentist as i do in finglas but i know a very good bloke,he cured me of a 25 year dread of dentists.PM me if you want his number.

Sounds good, thanks. I'll just ask about sanctioning from the army for an outside dentist before PM'ing you.

The needle doesn't bother me, when I was juicing I done it myself for year's. Its just the thought of giving myself over to the ba$tards that gets to me.

Lucky for me I'm not in pain at the moment, I can just feel the swelling under my gum, and since the two teeth are broken I should be getting it done anyway.

Cheer's guys..

(Scumlord your still in for it :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Blimey... Mr Mairt is AFRAID of the dentist.
    You know this thread is going to hunt you?
    People like me would be reminding you for a long time:D

As for beimg scared of the dentist, when you are in the chair think about Tesco big brother, immigration and everything else that you feel strongly about..
    It's all done!
    Goodluck:)

MIN2511 wrote: »
    People like me would be reminding you for a long time:D

Remind me, who are you?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,226 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

What really pains me about dentists is that you have to give them large wads of money to inflict pain on you! That arrangement is back to front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

Remind me, who are you?.

hehehehe

[ejmaztec]What really pains me about dentists is that you have to give them large wads of money to inflict pain on you! That arrangement is back to front. [/ejmaztec]

I spent €460 on fillings, checkups and hygienist cleaning my teeth in August. I still have to get my root canal done :mad: 650 smackers... Was gonna use pliers in the old fashion way

MIN2511 wrote: »
    hehehehe

The laughing gnome?.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

This thread pains me to read. I'm still in pain (a lot) from a root canal done on Monday. 2 hours in that chair :eek: It didn't actually hurt much before but it bloody well does now. By the time I get the crown done it'll have cost the guts of €2000:eek:

Mairt you should be scared... very scared.