Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your opinion on dublin fellas having 'mullets'

• 03-12-2007 4:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭

how many of you have seen fellas between 13-19 doing this 'retro fashion' ?
    stupid looking mullets and tucking thier combats into thier socks looks thick and using hair straightners:eek:

if anyone is on bebo here, you will have probably passed by some skanger's page who have this "style"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,602 ✭✭✭✭ShawnRaven

Nowhere near as bad as women wearing the same style, the multicoloured spiked top with the hair straightener job on the back.

Yep, definitely disgusting.
    VR!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

Is this limited to "dublin fellas"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

So the mullets not cool then?
    business up front party at the back something for the ladies to hang onto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭My name is Mud

My opinion on this mullet phenomenon

(To quote the ever hilarious Slipknot)...

..."people = shit"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,971 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

I'm not a scumbag so obviously I think it's ridiculous. Just another piece of the uniform really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,321 ✭✭✭prendy

seems to be mostly dub fellas...look like ejits if you ask me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,877 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

That's bizarre... If it's retro who are they emulating? MacGyver? Patrick Swayze? Chris Waddle?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭dollydrops

A mullet is usually accompanied by a large diamond stud earring, a black and white scarf thing, a white or pink t-shirt, light blue jeans or combats tucked into gleaming white socks and on the feet are little girly pumps.
    It’s all wrong!

Actually has anyone ever seen one in the 'growth' stage? They all either seem to have it or else have a shaved head. Do they hibernate for a couple of months til it grows to the required length? Maybe that's why they aren't in school....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,821 ✭✭✭RxQueen

Was up in dublin last week and found it really funny, altho seeing girls with that hair cut i was like WTF! personal taste really tho aint it, but please explain what the point on having the tracksuit in socks is? i mean seriously has to be the dumbest thing i have ever seen,but ugg boots and trackies tucked into them annoy me more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

odyssey06 wrote: »
    That's bizarre... If it's retro who are they emulating? MacGyver? Patrick Swayze? Chris Waddle?
    They probably don't realise it's been done before and think they're cutting edge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

It's not just the cringe-worthy haircut and appalling dress sense - it's also the slack jawed gaze that switches to a vacant, unintelligent stare that makes these little scrotes the afterbirth of society. Kill em all I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Saw a hard chap in his souped-up Starlet out Coolock-way yesterday, white alloys, big exhaust-o-tron 3000, and that variation on the nu-mullet where the back is spiked and bleached, and the front combed down in a fringe.

This used to annoy me, but now it just makes me chuckle. You can't have enough random laughter in your life I say, so I'm all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭ibh

beans wrote: »
    Saw a hard chap in his souped-up Starlet out Coolock-way yesterday, white alloys, big exhaust-o-tron 3000, and that variation on the nu-mullet where the back is spiked and bleached, and the front combed down in a fringe.

This used to annoy me, but now it just makes me chuckle. You can't have enough random laughter in your life I say, so I'm all for it.

The 'Trakkies into Socks' has been all the rage in Liverpool for years. Although it has to be a Lacoste tracksuit.
    I'm not familiar with this haircut, i presume it isn't your regular Chris Waddle is it???
    Can someone post a photo??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 76 ✭✭Da Bomber

ibh wrote: »
    The 'Trakkies into Socks' has been all the rage in Liverpool for years. Although it has to be a Lacoste tracksuit.
    I'm not familiar with this haircut, i presume it isn't your regular Chris Waddle is it???
    Can someone post a photo??

Its so bad u dont want to see it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭woop

they always seem to smell funny too.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

Xavi6 wrote: »

a lot of them aren't actually mullets though. Ferdinand's hair there is actually a big afro, it's pretty much uniform length when he didn't have it in the gimpish braids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭MooseJam

mullets lol, I didn't notice this but I haven't been in town in ages though am going in tomorrow so will keep my eyes open

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,044 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Hey are a handy way to know which ones to kill first...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

Nowhere near as bad as women wearing the same style, the multicoloured spiked top with the hair straightener job on the back.

Yep, definitely disgusting.
    VR!

this is what bugs me the most. what the hell are the girls thinking!?!

i have to confess i had a mullet but i have the excuse of actually living in the eighties and as such didnt know any better. these feckers can actually see how stupid it looks. and the clothes! for gods sake let it lie, as soon as i see someone in a miami vice suit im emigrating :):)

by the way anyone else notice the return of the flock of seaguls haircut?

its slightly modified but its definetly that style. personally i blame women as theyre the driving force behind this whole 80s revival fad. blokes genreally arent stupid enough to do this sort of thing twice (ala flares :) ) but if enought girls think its cool inevitably a few tools will follow suit in the persuit of getting laid. hence why its usually "hard" blokes :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,473 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

People are stupid. What's new?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

MULLETS ---> hottest thing going!!! :D

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    MULLETS ---> hottest thing going!!! :D

Reported for trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Lola123

In a word....CHAVTASTIC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Middle class rugy boys with hair like worzel Gummidge, working class kids with hair like Kajagoogoo... frankly I dont think anoyne comes out of this looking too good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭Sea Sharp

It was all the rage in Berlin last summer. Maybe it's the German -> Techno -> Skanger connection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭A-Trak

In a way Xavi, those are proper "manly" mullets from a bygone era.
    I think what the OP is on about are them muti coloured, multi directional numbers that are the northside equavilent of a southside emo.

I think this bebo page will give you a good idea - Clicky

Although safe for work, it's not safe for any continuing resect for the youth of Dublin (but check out the txtspeak, in a way it's awesome!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

That bebo page is a sick and twisted dream I'm having... right....RIGHT??????

Kill them. Kill them all.

A-Trak wrote: »
    In a way Xavi, those are proper "manly" mullets from a bygone era.
    I think what the OP is on about are them muti coloured, multi directional numbers that are the northside equavilent of a southside emo.

I know that. I was merely responding to a request for a pic of the Waddle mullet.

*Holds up a handbag* Oooohhhh;)

Wasn't disputing your knowledge of Dublin teenage mullets there Xavi6.

I was just harking back to the golden age of mullets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

AHHH the SHAM SANDWICH brigade!!
    nah dude, the thing that makes it funny is the fact they still try to act hard:D
    now i myself cant really say anything, im into 80s heavy metal, think early motley crue, poison....there ya go. however i dont act hard, i prefer to laugh in their faces when they start a fight with me, they mustnt notice that im covered in chains and spikes lol dumb dumb people:D ill have them maimed inside of 30secs:D:D
    but the the SCHMULLET is the fault of topshop, they have cultured this disease, and the ott gayness of the plimsols and socks combo is gas, sure these are the same people who are raging homophobics!! they go gay bashing(i think there is a thread here bout a skanger beating sombody for 'looking gay, the guy mustnt own a mirror)
    and as for the **** wits with the modded cars, i own a fairly quick car, these guys couldnt change the oil, as far as im concerned you have no interest in cars unless youve a interest in the mechanics.

*Holds up a handbag* Oooohhhh;)

Handbag? Pah I'll strangle you with my alice band! :D

kona wrote: »
    as far as im concerned you have no interest in cars unless youve a interest in the mechanics.

Like lisajane here?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055194553

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

Change two letters in "mullet" and you get "muppet". Coincidence? I think not. That Bebo site was horrific. I hope those pictures come back to haunt all those gobshites in years to come.

kona wrote: »
    AHHH the SHAM SANDWICH brigade!!
    im into 80s heavy metal, think early motley crue, poison.
    they mustnt notice that im covered in chains and spikes lol dumb dumb people:D ill have them maimed inside of 30secs.

Poison eh? I wouldn't start a fight either.

i dont look like that ya mad scone lol, here look up a pic of motley crue lol. ive put my foot in this now!!lol, anyhow with fights ,i dont start them..i end them...and poison are pussys im more motley lol:D
    have you ever got a spike to the face.....they gouge!!lol
    ah here, that album was a piss take, although they dont look far off some of the southsiders........or jordan for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

**EDIT**
    a lot of lads i know have this style. I, Personally don't. straight 3 on sides and back with a little trimmed on the top. simple as.

on topic:

They are straightening their mullets, also usually they have spiked hair on the crown and a fringe about 3inches long gelled down to one side. It looks stupid. Makes em look like some sort of scruff. I have asked plenty of the female species what they think and 9/10 of them said they don't like it. 'Too in your face' as quoted.

It is these lads who use things like conditioner and are giving L'oreal the green light for mens beauty products. Just before the summer ended they were advertising a moisturiser with a hint of fake tan in it. (obviously for the metro lads). What is happening to us REAL men out there? This is happening everywhere in Ireland and i'm sick of it.
    Men should be manly and stuff. Not caring soo much about their hair!

congo_90 wrote: »
    What is happening to us REAL mean out there? This is happening

I presume you meant 'men'. They all hang out here -

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=908

no!!!lol like fixing them....gimme a socket set, a haynes manual and ill fix anything on a car, i save myself a fortune, id be embarrased asking sombody to fit a induction kit lol, its like a few clips basically, but then again, they might break a nail or dirty their clothes:rolleyes::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

I presume you meant 'men'. They all hang out here -

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=908

Yes, Sorry about that. I left a rather nice message on that bebo site too....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

i think its so stupid all these absolute morons walking around with spikey hair. what happens when it rains? do they all run for cover like the cockroaches that they are?

i think ive seen this absolute gee bag hanging around town with his mates who all look the same .

ive a good plan. normal people among us walk around, carrying ready made MUG signs and when you see one of these cretans. you walk up, punch them in the face. obviosly they will fall down sreaming,, "my hair, my beautiful hair" . then, you staple the sign to their forehead and take a photo for the bebo page. MUGsWITHMULLETs :D

whos with me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

There are several good examples of mullets, Kurt Russel in both 'the thing' and as snake plissken in 'escape from new york' actually managed to make a mullet look reasonably cool.
    As for these stupid ****ing gob****es, all floating around with either fauxhawks or trendy mullets, they just look like sheepish clones of one another and need a damn good shoeing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Oswald Osbourne

Thing is it not even a new spin on something old. It seems to be just a straight copy and paste of those early 1980's shockers like Kajagoogoo.

kajagoogoo.jpg

I wonder do the people who currenly sport this look even know where it comes from? They're probably too young and doped up on hairspray fumes to be aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭KingOfFairview

Thing is it not even a new spin on something old. It seems to be just a straight copy and paste of those early 1980's shockers like Kajagoogoo.

kajagoogoo.jpg

I wonder do the people who currenly sport this look even know where it comes from? They're probably too young and doped up on hairspray fumes to be aware.

you stole my line! True though, its bizarre to see blokes who look like they'd slit your throat for a shiiling sporting possibly the gayest star of the 80's hairstyle

This thread has inspired me to get a mullet, I have long hair so should be able to get one this weekend

Now what kind should i get the multi direction seems the way forward

Rob_l wrote: »
    This thread has inspired me to get a mullet, I have long hair so should be able to get one this weekend

Now what kind should i get the multi direction seems the way forward

Plenty of random colours seems a good bet too. What about an Ireland flag?

an Ireland flag mullet hmmmmmmmmm
    I think we may have a winner what better way to show my patriotic spirit than with a mullet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭Undercoverguy

I'm just gone 20 and am one of these GHD loving lads lol
    But it the new age mmullets dont look as bad lol

SEE: http://file036a.bebo.com/13/large/2007/06/26/11/470061777a4796822567l.jpg