Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How hard is it to kill a rat!!

• 30-11-2007 7:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭

Well....to cut a long story short....couple of the lads in work discovered evidence of a rat in the mens toilet. I closed the toilets...and set 3 large rat traps with peanut butter as bait.

Anyway...left it all day..and got back from a few meetings at about 4.30

I went into the toilets to check the traps...and there sittting in the shower tray was the largest rat Iv ever seen ( I have pics). It was a monster!!!

I went out to get another lad...and armed with a shovel and spade we headed back into the toilet. Anyway...I tried to basically stab the rat with the shovel..but it just "lept" about 2 feet into the air and went behind the waste pipes. The other lad saw it and gave it a whack of the spade.....that just pissed it off!!!....it came running out AT ME!!!...so I belted the thing full force with the shovel....it was still alive to my shock. It took another five full force blows to kill it....and to make certain the other lad snapped its neck with a blow of the spade.

I tell you what.....I never knew how hard those bastids were. 5 smacks of a shovel to kill it.

Giant Rat:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Only took 3 to kill the next door neighbour, **** them rats are hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Kittens are a lot easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Had plenty of experiences like that. I worked in Rentokil for 6 years in the 90's.

Oh the Memories :D

So you got him then ? nice one ! They are tough bastds. If the missus comes looking for him, try using the sharp end of the spade on her, instead of the flat, and take her head off, or cut her open, its surprisingly easy, if you have a strong enough stomach.

and put some poison down now, just in case.

You can probably also get 'Sticky Boards' in your hardware. Stick a few of them together and place them on the floor along the Skirting Boards. You just might catch her on one of the boards. You can then finish her off with the sharp end of the spade.

Good Hunting ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

by the looks of it i dont think he goin anywhere!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Clytus wrote: »

Giant Rat:

Who're you kidding? That's a tiny mouse. I caught a bigger one in my front room today. (yes, today and yes, in my front room)

Perhaps it was a special forces' mouse? "Hard to Kill" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭towel401

i saw one that was moving kind of slow, so i jumped on it, part of its insides came out, it bit into my shoe, i put it under a wooden plank and jumped on it, the fecker was still walking. so i jumped on it a few more times, put it on a shoves to bury it.

when i was about to toss the thing in a hole i dug i noticed it was still sort of moving, so i belted it with the shovel a good few times until it was finally dead.

once i had to shoot one 3 times with a pellet gun, after the first time it was still moving around quite a bit even though there was a hole in it. even after shooting it in the head it still moved so i popped another pellet in it just to finish him off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

The poor little feller looks kinda cute. Probably just trying to gather a few scrapings together to feed his little rat family.

humbert wrote: »
    The poor little feller looks kinda cute. Probably just trying to gather a few scrapings together to feed his little rat family.

If you tried to cuddle him, you'd never play the Guitar again :D

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=UU6zgzvwEMU&feature=related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Rat pee can kill you.

The first time my mother went to meet my grandparents a rat got into the kitchen, the thing was vicious apparently and didn't even begin to run away till they started shooting at it with a shotgun. Then it bolted under a door and got stuck and they managed to get a clear shot on it. Only problem was it was the pantry door and they blew the rat into little piece all over they're stored food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

My first day working for a recycling company and I was brought around the back and given a shovel to kill a rat with.
    Part of the initiation.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Rat pee can kill you.

Yep, Weils Disease (Leptospirosis), it comes on like the flu, and then your kidneys can fail. Rats contaminate between 70%-90% more food than they actually eat from your cupboard, by walking all over, and pissing all over it.

Golfers have been known to get Weils Disease from licking their Balls (Golf Balls that is, as opposed to their own, or a rats balls:D)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

marcsignal wrote: »
    Yep, Weils Disease (Leptospirosis), it comes on like the flu, and then your kidneys can fail. Rats contaminate between 70%-90% more food than they actually eat from your cupboard, by walking all over, and pissing all over it.

Golfers have been known to get Weils Disease from licking their Balls (Golf Balls that is, as opposed to their own, or a rats balls:D)
    Why on earth would you lick a golf ball?

I dunno ? but they often do it, I think its to remove bits of grass believe it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Clytus

I dunno ? but they often do it, I think its to remove bits of grass believe it or not.

as opposed to using that cloth thing you see hanging from thier golf bags?

I know all about how dirty them feckers are...you should have seen the two of us. We were like a couple of Ghostbusters. We got togged out in boiler suits,surgical gloves,riggers gloves and then tucked the bottoms of our suits inside our socks....(Iv heard stories of rats running up peoples trouser legs,)and then armed with a shovel and spade.

I remember seeing a clip from a contraversial japanese arthouse movie,where the director filled a room full of rats and then threw in a cat. At first the cat was killing heaps of them...but the rats eventually killed the cat. AFAIK the movie was banned.

I think the rat in the pic was a female. She was so huge and bloated that we figured she was about to give birth. thank God we got her when we did!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

Doesn't look that big for a rat. Are you sure it wasn't a big mouse?

I had to kill a mouse a few months back. Idiot got its leg trapped in a mouse trap. I couldn't stomach it for hours, until the cruelty of leaving it there got to me more. One swift whack with a hardbacked A4 notebook did it (although I missed it the first 4 times).

Faith wrote: »
    Doesn't look that big for a rat. Are you sure it wasn't a big mouse?
    It's a Rat alright, look at the size of it compared to the stem of the toilet bowl in the top right of the pic. I guess the pic was taken from about 2 or 3 feet away ? am I right OP ?
    Clytus wrote: »
    as opposed to using that cloth thing you see hanging from their golf bags?
    I know, it's always been a mystery to me too, unless it's some sort off 'good luck ritual' Golf thing ??

I had some experiences behind the counters of coffee shops/sandwich bars/restaurants working in Rentokil, that were pure comedy material. People being served outside while there was a live, very noisy, panic stricken, Rat hunt going on in the kitchens:D.

I can't and wont name anywhere in particular though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Screwthe unions

ahhhhaaaa,just thinking of Biggins on telly the other nite with the rat all over him ahhhhhaaaaa:D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FCL36zdwABo

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

It's a Rat alright, look at the size of it compared to the stem of the toilet bowl in the top right of the pic. I guess the pic was taken from about 2 or 3 feet away ? am I right OP ?

Oh, I see what you mean. It has that evil look of rats too. Mice are quite cute looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Belfafter

Many years ago I was getting my car left in to the garage for m.o.t and was at the place first thing in the morning.
    The guy opened up and then shouted to the other workers who were just arriving.
    There were 3 big brown rats scurrying around "the pit"- the sorta concrete trench they work underneath your car from.
    Somebody had left their lunch the day before down there and the rats jumped down but couldnt get up the shher walls or the ladder.
    Yer man tries to impress us all by dispatching them with quick downward movements with a bit of timber:)
    First go and he misses and .00007 of a second later 3 big brown ones ran up that bit of timber,his arm,his shoulder then leaping 10 feet and out the garage door.
    Had it been in the days of the video phone it would be a very famous incident by now if nothing else for the truly horrific look on yer mans face a split second after the last 1 ran up his arm.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Terry wrote: »
    My first day working for a recycling company and I was brought around the back and given a shovel to kill a rat with.
    Part of the initiation.

But then you looked deep into his gentle, caring eyes and knew you couldn't do it... So you took him home and adopted him... Right...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

But then you looked deep into his gentle, caring eyes and knew you couldn't do it... So you took him home and adopted him... Right...?
    Yes.
    And then I cooked him and ate him with some farva beans and a nice chianti.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭ambman

i know all about weils disease. i had it 20 years ago. got it from a cup of soup i got from a chipper :eek: i was 12 years of age at the time and they tested me for everything. in the end they finally tested me for somthing to do with rats and that is what i had. i was sick for nearly a whole year and went down to two and half stone in weight:eek: .

so in future dont lick your golf balls;) or anybodys else's for that matter :D

Terry wrote: »
    Yes.
    And then I cooked him and ate him with some farva beans and a nice chianti.

Ha Ha Ha ! Brilliant :D

I remember in Rentokil years ago I had to treat this meat packing place in Ringsend (Now Gone), but the Rats were all HUGE from growing up on a diet of red meat. No exageration (sp?) but the largest one we found dead during the course of treating the place, was just under 18inches long, nose to end of tail, and this f*cker had bigger shoulders than most well fed cats.

The production area could only be treated at night, as we were mainly laying bait, which would be hosed away at the end of the day shift.
    We had to drive the van into the production area, and turn on the main beams, because most of the lighting didn't work properly, as a result of the Rats chewing through the wiring.

Everywhere you shined a torch, there were dozens of little pairs of eyes peering at you.

There was one walk in fridge that was panelled with corrugated aluminium inside, and the rats simply chewed away the corners and lived in the areoboard insulation of the fridge, which was about 50cms thick, between the aluminium and the walls. I took us about one month to rid the place of rats. You usually only find about 1/3 of the rats dead that are occuping the place, most die from poison in areas you can't get to, like under floors etc, and some corpses are eaten by other Rats. In this place we found over 400 dead after baiting for a month.

I really loved that job tbh, some of the things you saw, and places you ended up working were brilliant. Big power stations, Production Plants, Factories, snobby restaurants, hotels, embassies, fair dews to the Rats, they didn't discriminate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

You killed my pet rat!

At home we have 3 Jack Russells who take care of all rats. Haven't seen any since last year though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Gekko wrote: »
    You killed my pet rat!

At home we have 3 Jack Russells who take care of all rats. Haven't seen any since last year though.

Rats or Jack Russells? Did the rats get your dog? Bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Gekko wrote:

Yeah dogs are great for that. My one (a cocker spaniel) has killed about three of them this year in my back garden. On one occasion the rat was still alive but stunned. My Dad saw my dog throwing it up in the air and he finished it off with a shovel.

On another occasion the dog killed one and attempted to bury it in the garden. Now that's efficiency for you. :)

I hate those bastard rats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

What the HELL?

You just beat a small animal to death with a freakin shovel.

You bloody psycho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Don't bother with retail poison, you'll need the pro stuff. Of the shelf supermarket stuff only gives them an appetite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

We used to leave the heel of bread out the back for the birds. One day my mam was standing at the kitchen window when a huge rat came up from the drains, pushed the drain lid open, ran over and grabbed the slice of bread and ran back into the drain...

As for rats being hard to kill, I've had encounters you wouldn't believe with a wasp for the past four weeks.

Don't bother with retail poison, you'll need the pro stuff. Of the shelf supermarket stuff only gives them an appetite.
    I recently put down about 2Kg of the stuff in the shed, It all went in a couple of days, but the rats were still there!

Clearing out a load of junk resolved the issue.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,663 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

There's a mouse in my room at the moment, comes down from the tiniest little crack next to where the fridge is and runs out under the door, he always stops and looks at me on his way out as well, weird little fúcker. I was gonna throw one of my CAT boots at him and squash him, but i felt bad cause he was looking at me so innocently....then i stopped smoking grass for a while and realised it was a trick, he just wants me for my crumbs and warm walls! Next time i see him he's in for it baby, you just watch! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,709 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Foreplay :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

They're hard to kill alright, tenacious little yokes.
    Had an experience where one of my mother's cats managed to catch one and drag it up to the patio, but got tired of trying to kill it and left it running round in circles as one of it's back legs was broken. My mother is terrified of mice and rats so was yelping her head off from the safety of the kitchen table, I was out visiting, and I was trying to figure out how to put it out of it's misery, doing that "uhoh, uhoh, what do I do" dance.
    Meanwhile, my gran who lives next door heard the commotion, and came thundering across the back garden, shovel in hand,rolled up her sleeves (the woman is 2 years shy of 90) and proceeded to batter it to death, eventually resorting to literally cutting it in half with the sharp end, as the thing was like the terminator of the rat world, just would not die.
    Panic over, with rat splattered all over the entire patio, we turn round to see 5 people standing stock still in horror at the top of our drive. Friends of my mothers had decided to call to visit for the very first time to the house, and to this day they are terrified of my gran. Nice first impression to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 969 ✭✭✭kerrysgold

Zillah wrote: »
    What the HELL?

You bloody psycho.

Agreed. :mad:

What the HELL?

You bloody psycho.

Ok, true, but this small animal has more biting power, proportionately, than a Great White Shark :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Ok, true, but this small animal has more biting power, proportionately, than a Great White Shark :D

Thats kind of impressive, maybe we should set these rats to work cutting through steel or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

Ha Ha Ha ! Brilliant :D

I remember in Rentokil years ago I had to treat this meat packing place in Ringsend (Now Gone), but the Rats were all HUGE from growing up on a diet of red meat. No exageration (sp?) but the largest one we found dead during the course of treating the place, was just under 18inches long, nose to end of tail, and this f*cker had bigger shoulders than most well fed cats.

The production area could only be treated at night, as we were mainly laying bait, which would be hosed away at the end of the day shift.
    We had to drive the van into the production area, and turn on the main beams, because most of the lighting didn't work properly, as a result of the Rats chewing through the wiring.

Everywhere you shined a torch, there were dozens of little pairs of eyes peering at you.

There was one walk in fridge that was panelled with corrugated aluminium inside, and the rats simply chewed away the corners and lived in the areoboard insulation of the fridge, which was about 50cms thick, between the aluminium and the walls. I took us about one month to rid the place of rats. You usually only find about 1/3 of the rats dead that are occuping the place, most die from poison in areas you can't get to, like under floors etc, and some corpses are eaten by other Rats. In this place we found over 400 dead after baiting for a month.

I really loved that job tbh, some of the things you saw, and places you ended up working were brilliant. Big power stations, Production Plants, Factories, snobby restaurants, hotels, embassies, fair dews to the Rats, they didn't discriminate.

I hate rats but by god the rentokill job sounds very interesting - great stories.

dodgyme wrote: »
    I hate rats but by god the rentokill job sounds very interesting - great stories.

Yeah, it really was intereting work, but can remember being petrified or the first few weeks, as they bring to to some of their worst cases to ease you into the job.

I was never bitten thank god, but sometimes when the Rats are 'stoned out of it' on the bait (usually Bromadiolone or Alphachlorolose) it can be very funny, because it takes 48hours to kill them, for safety reasons, and during this period, they tend to wander out into the middle of a Restaurant in broad daylight, with hilarious results :D

Treated a few well known hotels for cockroaches in the 90's too YUCK !! and treating Wasps Nests could be a bit of a hairy experience:eek:

ok off topic but,

The one area of the job I really didn't like doing was Bird Control, because you always unintentionally killed a small amount of other birds in the process what were not part your original task.

In 1990 we got a big contract from the ESB in Poolbeg to kill off hundreds of Pigeons that were living around the complex. They were flying into warehouses and storage areas on site and crapping all over stock, forklift trucks, workers etc.

The process takes about a (working) week (5 days). You begin, by throwing / scattering ordinary grain on top of every flat roof in the complex at about 5am every morning, starting Monday. This consqeuently, after a few days, attracts every pigeon within a half mile radius of the area. They are waiting for you to arrive in the morning by the 4th day, and gorge themselves on the grain.

On day 5, you poison the grain with Alphachlorolose Technical Powder, in a small cement mixer, which drugs them into a comatic state within 10 minutes of eating it. So you lay the poisoned grain, and go have breakfast in the ESB canteen.

About 30 minutes later, on this occasion, we emerged from the canteed to see hundreds of drugged birds lying all over the whole complex.
    It was literally like something out of a Hitchcock movie, or some Apocolyptic scene.

These drugged birds have to be collected manually, by walking, or driving all over the whole site, and put into thick black plastic bags (about 50 birds per bag). You then have to gas them, using, believe it or not, Zyklon B crystals (Hydrogen Cyanide), the same chemical used in the Concentration Camps. You mask up, with a full respirator, hold the bags open and dump a handful of crystals into each bag.
    Theres a bit of flapping around at first, but all is quiet after a minute or so.

The corpses are then burnt the next day.

Not a nice part of the job, I never liked doing it. In fact, whenever I met a girl in the pub, I often avoided saying what I did for a living.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

How hard is it to kill a rat!!

with a pillow its quiet difficult

but

with a shotgun its very easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

The one area of the job I really didn't like doing was Bird Control, because you always unintentionally killed a small amount of other birds in the process what were not part your original task.

Thats nightmarish. I can't imagine the mentality of a person who could bring themselves to gas thousands of birds piled into bags for a living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 stanlystanly1

Golfers don't lick their golf balls... they put their 'tees' in their mouth and that's how they catch weil's disease

Thats nightmarish. I can't imagine the mentality of a person who could bring themselves to gas thousands of birds piled into bags for a living.

You usually don't end up doing Bird Control, until you are about a year on the job, for a few reasons. Mainly because, the Chemicals/Poisons you are using are far more dangerous, than those used for Rats or Mice, so you need more training. After working in the field for a year, dealing with Rats and Mice exclusively, it tends to dehumanise you to some degree.

If I'd been brought on a Bird Cull in my first few weeks working there, I'd definitely have left the job, no question about it. I think part of the psychology is that they start you off on the Nasty / Unpleasant creatures first, (Rats, Mice, Cockroaches, etc) and after dealing with them for a year or so, it all just becomes part of the job, I guess. I was initially working for Rentokil, as I said, but in my last year working in Pest Control, I was with a company called Terminix, and there were two Girls working with me doing exactly the same job.

Haven't worked in the field for about 12 years, I left in the mid 90's. One of the reasons I did so, was that I was becoming nervous about the cumlitave affect of handling dangerous chemicals, and I did notice a few things that gave me the jitters. Because you were handling 'anti blood clotting agents' for example, they seeped through your skin, it was practically impossible to avoid. Consequently, whenever you cut yourself shaving, after about a year on the job, it would bleed for hours on end.

Strangely, you might say, I can't abide cruelty to animals now. When I hear stories about kids doing cruel things to cats and dogs on Halloween, for example, it makes my blood boil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭ExoduS 18.11

Forky wrote: »
    Kittens are a lot easier.

baby seals are twice as easy.. no claws either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

baby seals are twice as easy.. no claws either.

Yeah but where do you get baby seals? Get tons of kittens in the freebie section of the buyandsell every week.

Happy days!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Am i the only one who wouldn't give a **** if i saw a rat in work? Let alone try and kill it? That's my employers problem, not mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭Clytus

Am i the only one who wouldn't give a **** if i saw a rat in work? Let alone try and kill it? That's my employers problem, not mine.

Did you look at the picture??.Now imagine you had a job to do in the toilet...ya swan in...drop your dacks...settle in...and this fella wonders out in front of you!!...what are you gonna do?? 99% of people are gonna sh*t themselves ( I purposly used that phrase). Now as a responsible employer theres NO WAY on earth I was going to leave that thing on site.

Still have no idea what it could have been eating...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭FranchisePlayer

Thats kind of impressive, maybe we should set these rats to work cutting through steel or something.

Not being a smart arse I believe they can chew through concrete if need be:eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

I once killed a rat by dropping a breeze block on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭pubpub

a couple of months ago Gerry Ryan was on about rats, only caught the last bit of it but a guy rang in and he had a rat problem and someone told him that a way to get rid of them is to catch two live rats and put them in a container without food leave for a couple of days and go back and you should have one rat left i.e rat 1 killed rat 2, catch another rat and put him in with rat 1 and leave for couple of days, when you go back you should have the same rat left and he is now a cannibal rat - release this rat and he now has a taste for his ratty brothers and will kill them. The guy on the radio swore that this solved his rat problem.

Very skeptical myself but sounds fascinating, if it worked!