Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jerry Seinfeld on the Late Late Toy Show!

• 30-11-2007 3:02pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭

According to the RTE website:
    "Final preparations are continuing for tonight's 'Late Late Toy Show' with the team behind the show allowing a sneak peek of some of this year's set - and guest line-up.

Among those who will be joining Pat Kenny on tonight's show are comic legend Jerry Seinfeld, James Blunt and the Sugababes".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Oooh! Seinfeld! :D

Definitely be watching it so.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,005 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I wonder if he'll be mentioning bees :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,428 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

James Blunt *and* the Sugababes? That's not a good combination... Still, it'll keep him away from any Billie Barries...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Kenny/Seinfeld will either be genius or Partridge X 100

Mie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

I would actually bet a whole one euro that Kenny has never seen an episode of Seinfeld. Make that two euros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

Seinfeld is one of the biggest guests in the history of that show. He rarely does interviews outside Jay Leno and Letterman. I really can't believe he's going to be on the Toy Show.

I'll believe it when I see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

ixoy wrote: »
    I wonder if he'll be mentioning bees :)

Nah, he'd never go on it just to promote something. Would he?
    mike65 wrote: »
    Kenny/Seinfeld will either be genius or Partridge X 100

Pat Kenny has this uncanny ability to defuse even the most interesting person and make them seem boring.
    ianrush wrote: »
    I would actually bet a whole one euro that Kenny has never seen an episode of Seinfeld. Make that two euros.

I think you might have a gambling problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,182 ✭✭✭Tiriel

Earthhorse wrote: »

Pat Kenny has this uncanny ability to defuse even the most interesting person and make them seem boring.

That is so true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

oooh I`m so watching this now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Morgans

I've never seen Seinfeld be anything other than a prickly, but funny, guest.

If he can do this to Larry King, then Pat Kenny tonight should be funny.

Linkety link

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Morgans wrote: »
    I've never seen Seinfeld be anything other than a prickly, but funny, guest.

If he can do this to Larry King, then Pat Kenny tonight should be funny.

Linkety link
    Do what to Larry King? act like an ass?

That is part of it alright, MagicMarker. Be very comfortable in creating an uncomfortable situation on live TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

thanks for the warning, I'll be avoiding that then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

ianrush wrote: »

Well Shaquille O'Neal has seen every single episode (I learnt that from a HBO documentary show ;) ) so you can never be sure who's a Seinfield fan.

I wonder will Jerry bring along a jar of maple syrup that looks just like Pat. Or perhaps just a 2x4.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Earthhorse wrote: »
    Nah, he'd never go on it just to promote something. Would he?

Hmmm, Christmas time, a new childrens movie coming out, and being a guest appearance on a toy show, all answers point to yes I bloody think so.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Do what to Larry King? act like an ass?

he is clearly having a laugh not being serious, have you every actually seen an episode of seinfeld?

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

WindSock wrote: »
    Hmmm, Christmas time, a new childrens movie coming out, and being a guest appearance on a toy show, all answers point to yes I bloody think so.

mmmm, have you ever seen anyone go on a chat show without having something to promote?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭The Hacker

Might watch this now, big seinfeld/CYE fan here.

Jerry Seinfield. Pat didnt make it past the first sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

That was f*cking painful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

what a bloody waste. typical rte. seinfield (hello researchers!!!) didn't know what to do. wouldn't it be so cool if he had mentioned festivus! or given him a pez dispenser instead of a daft superman toy...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭giddyup

Wow - there's a dedicated thread and deservedly so. Seinfeld on the Late Late should have been a pretty big moment - I don't think Pat even knew who he was. Seinfield - WTF. The Alan Partridge comment earlier in the thread was bang on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Morgans wrote: »
    Jerry Seinfield. Pat didnt make it past the first sentence.

LOL, what a tool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭ianrush

giddyup wrote: »
    Wow - there's a dedicated thread and deservedly so. Seinfeld on the Late Late should have been a pretty big moment - I don't think Pat even knew who he was. Seinfield - WTF. The Alan Partridge comment earlier in the thread was bang on.

Couldn't agree more. Jerry Seinfeld on the late late, what a bloody waste. Stick to interviewing X-Factor rejects Pat......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭aequinoctium

jerry seinfeld is great

i hope now that he'll also be on some bbc chat show where they do a real interview.

it's a shame he was promoting the new movie on the toy show episode otherwise there might have been a chance that they would bother to look up his name (although they probably presumed that everyone including pat would recognise one of the biggest stars in american television, if not the biggest)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

jerry seinfeld is great

i hope now that he'll also be on some bbc chat show where they do a real interview.
    He's on Jonathan Ross next week.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

copacetic wrote: »
    he is clearly having a laugh not being serious, have you every actually seen an episode of seinfeld?
    Yeah, it's shíte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

When I was younger I thought that Jerry Seinfeld was called Jerry Seinfield. It took me about 3.5 seconds, however, to realise I was wrong. How does Pat bloody Kenny not know his name? It's the name of the famous show that Jerry Seinfeld is in.

You just know Jerry is at home now thinking that it was clearly a p/ss take, that it wasn't a real show, that they were humouring Pat because he's clearly too ridiculous to go on tv.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I'm starting to suspect Plank is having us all on. That in reality he's erudite and completely clued in but in order keep a high profile he's now deliberately amplifying his unshakeable reputation as Irelands highly paid gombeen thru acts of self-sabotage.

I can see it now. Before the show he's asking himself "what can I do tonight to increase my reputation as a bunging hack, completely out of his depth on tv?". "I know! I'll kick a childs doll across the room for starters and follow that up by incorrectly mispronouncing the name of one of the most famous people in the western world. No need to follow up as most people will have turned off the tv by this point."

Job well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,712 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Jerry Seinfeld on the Late Late toy show. I got the distinct impression that Pat didn't know who he was (at least until he was told beforehand by his researchers).

Another classic RTE moment.:D

Pigman II wrote: »
    I can see it now. Before the show he's asking himself "what can I do tonight to increase my reputation as a bunging hack, completely out of his depth on tv?". "I know! I'll kick a childs doll across the room for starters and follow that up by incorrectly mispronouncing the name of one of the most famous people in the western world. No need to follow up as most people will have turned off the tv by this point."

Job well done.

I only caught a small bit of the toy show but I saw him kick the toy baby up the hole. The little girl looked fit to murder him on the spot. She was giving him the evil eye afterwards and everything.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭branners69

I have always known that Pat was a plank and just left it at that, but last night made me cringe! As discussed the Seinfield mistake was unbelievable.

But handing him a plastic Superman was even more so, Jerry made €60 million last year from doing nothing. He owns one of the most impressive private Superman collections in the world yet Pat hands him a cheap plastic Superman from Toymaster!!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

that's larry king though, he always asks the most stupid questions

It was said earlier in the thread that Pat could make anyone boring.. and he succeeded. It's a pity! but I really hoped that Jerry would have spiced it up a bit - he was fine as a bee - it was in person Pat just couldn't deal with it!! So lesson for Pat - stick to Bees!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Ah lads, why wasn't I told seinfeld was on the late late - I didn't even go out on friday night! Jerry is a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Anyone have a youtube link?
    I really wanna see this, if only for the cringe factor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭gaizka71

looking for a link myself too, and if it is a divx even better... if you know what I mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Cool. I didn't know they put it online. Do you know which part Seinfeld is in?

Blisterman wrote: »
    Cool. I didn't know they put it online. Do you know which part Seinfeld is in?

He was on pretty early so I'd say Part 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭Sabre Man

I'd say about 20-25 minutes into the show.

Pretty disappointing though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Eh, wtf.

That was a perfectly normal interview. He mispronounced one part of his name, and unless I had been told I wouldnt have noticed. Being the toy show, Seinfeld might expect to get, I dunno, some sort of toy maybe?

Cant believe anyone cares. Seinfeld was sh1te anyway from what Ive been told.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    Cant believe anyone cares. Seinfeld was sh1te anyway from what Ive been told.

That really has to be the dumbest statement I have EVER read on boards!!!

Why dont you watch it and give us your opinion???

And if you cant believe anyone cares why did you post???

While I am here, I enjoyed Jerry on Jonathan Ross, there was a bit of a love/hate relationship going on. But to be fair to Ross he was up to the challenge!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

branners69 wrote: »
    That really has to be the dumbest statement I have EVER read on boards!!!

And if you cant believe anyone cares why did you post???

Do you go to the cinema to see a film your mate saw 4 days ago and said was crap?

As for why I posted, seems to be more anti Pat for being Pat rather than anything wrong with the interview. The part with the bee costume was a bit poor, but Seinfeld is the comedian in the part, so Id assume he came up with it. People were honestly expecting Pat to sit Seinfeld down and talk at length about a 90s comedy and his stand up career on a tv show aimed at a load of kids? Gerrofit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

It's 20.47 into the first part. I don't think Pat knew who he was. He called him "Jerry Seinfield".

Do you go to the cinema to see a film your mate saw 4 days ago and said was crap?

Actually yes. Its called having your own opinion!

I like to be informed about topics I am talking about, again unlike you who once your mate has told you what you think your willing to make such statements as in your post!

Depends who your mates are.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

As for why I posted, seems to be more anti Pat for being Pat rather than anything wrong with the interview. The part with the bee costume was a bit poor, but Seinfeld is the comedian in the part, so Id assume he came up with it. People were honestly expecting Pat to sit Seinfeld down and talk at length about a 90s comedy and his stand up career on a tv show aimed at a load of kids? Gerrofit.

it doesn't cost to watch an episode on any of the three or four channels currently showing it and form your own opinion. Your friend is a will and grace fan, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,082 ✭✭✭lostexpectation

see someone put in a detailed description of the event on his wikipedia page, (it wont last long), and then has quote about him saying, it was 'highly perplexing' although I cant find that quote anywhere else.