Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster Schools Rugby

• 29-11-2007 9:22am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27

Does anyone know how the friendlys are panning out for the Leinster Schools senior cup teams - AM partcularly interested in CBC, Rock and Belvo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

the leinsterfans forum has a schools rugby forum, which seems to have some folks on it who know whats going on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

im glad to say cbc are dominating every team in the league in senior racking up some ridiculous scores and will win it,they are looking certainty for the cup if they dont bottle it,i think the cbc juniors are doing well aswell

heres a list of the scores looks like the double could be on

http://forum.leinsterfans.com/viewtopic.php?t=7849&start=80

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,641 ✭✭✭andyman

CBC have an unbelievable team this year. No surprise considering they have the likes of Michael Noone on their team. A truely fantastic prospect in Irish rugby.

Of course you can't rule out the likes of Blackrock, Belvedere, Michaels etc. But the likes of CBC and Pres Bray will both run them to the wire. Brays team is a lot better then last years. Leinster Schools hooker in Robin O'Sullivan and David Nutty, a winger who made the Leinster Schools team but missed out on a panel place, you Terenure lads may remember his solo try in the Junior Cup 3 years back.

Speaking of CBC and Pres, they were drawn against eachother in the league semi finals, should be a cracker of a game and, although CBC are the favourites, it wouldn't shock me if Bray were to sneek a win, although I'm completely biased because I'm from Bray and would have been going to Pres had I not moved down here to KK :p

Btw, I don't attend KCK before anyone asks, I attend and play rugby for Kilkenny CBS (We beat KCK on Wednesday ;) ) and we have our first development shield match on wednesday against Ballyfinn (I don't know where it is either) and we should grab a win from that :) We have the Leinster Schools "A" hooker, Tom Massey, on our team as well as a couple of other talented players, but we were worse then last years team, where we had, including Tom, 4 interprovincial players. We had Rory McInerney and Brian Duffy at Leinster Schools "A" level and Gavin Nyawata at Leinster Youth and Ireland Youth level. Gavins been called up for Leinster U-20s if my sources are correct, and hes still only 17 and a University student. An excellent prospect.

Btw, notable past pupils from my school include Ian Dowling, about it I'm afraid :D

yeah cbc have quite a few leinster players

13. Gary Foley (C.B.C. Monkstown) (good prospect very strong)

5. Shane Grannell (C.B.C. Monkstown)

8. Michael Noone (C.B.C. Monkstown) CAPTAIN(good prospect)

John Cooney (CBC Monkstown)

I think there are a few others aswell.

This is the team that should have won the junior cup a few years ago,they threw it away and if they keep their heads this year they should do well,i was also reading somewhere that someone said it was the biggest schools team they had ever seen,which is quite significant for Irish rugby in general,if all the schools teams are getting bigger and hopefully the training will pay off for them.

I am obviously biased seeing as i went there:)

dc69 wrote: »
    yeah cbc have quite a few leinster players

13. Gary Foley (C.B.C. Monkstown) (good prospect very strong)

5. Shane Grannell (C.B.C. Monkstown)

8. Michael Noone (C.B.C. Monkstown) CAPTAIN(good prospect)

John Cooney (CBC Monkstown)

I think there are a few others aswell.

This is the team that should have won the junior cup a few years ago,they threw it away and if they keep their heads this year they should do well,i was also reading somewhere that someone said it was the biggest schools team they had ever seen,which is quite significant for Irish rugby in general,if all the schools teams are getting bigger and hopefully the training will pay off for them.

I am obviously biased seeing as i went there:)

They definately have one of the best squads out there, its a bit of a shame the way the Leinster coaches are so far up Blackrocks and Michaels' holes that they don't realise that they have more players capable of playing at a Leinster level. This applies to the likes of Pres Bray, Kilkenny College and Roscrea as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,608 ✭✭✭themont85

John Cooney is Gonzaga.

CBC have 6 Leinster players this year, could have been more if a couple of 5th years werent injured during trials. At JCT they were the strongest team in the comp but were very unlucky to lose a replay to nure. They lost to Belvo by a point this year, although both had weakened teams with CBC especially having many injuries that day. They are strong all over the pitch with plenty of depth to cope with their many injuries.

Belvo are a quality side also who I'd say are joint favs with CBC. Clongowes are a pretty good side themselves while Rock, Nure and Michaels decent sides. Bray are good too, but losing Michael Noone to CBC has weakened their chances considerably.

themont85 wrote: »
    John Cooney is Gonzaga.

I was wondering why i couldnt remember him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

In fairness pre season means nothing, Micheals lost nearly all their pre season games last year and went on to win it.

Judging on pre season though

Marys are a quality team but have had a bad pre season, that prop Jack Mcgrath is amazing.

Rock don't look good at all, their pack seems good though.

Terenure are o.k but their pack is amazing

Belvo don't look too good at all to be honest. I don't really understand why everyone is convinced their amazing [from what i've seen]

Haven't seen Micheals

I've heard the CBC lads are huge as well, brother was telling me one of the lads is benching 160kg - didnt even think that was possible at 17/18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 adam 190

I hear cbc are very good but andrews are looking good aswell...2 leauge finals in 2 years and are unbeaten this year should be a good final!and cbc are known for being bottlers

nice first post,they also play mens hockey in andrews!:D

CBC may be known as bottlers but Andrews havent won anything since the 1920s and I dont expect them to change that in the final. CBC didnt play well at all against Pres but were very clinical winning by 20 points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

Will Donnybrook be ready for the schools cups this season?

what have cbc ever won beides the vinnie murray?and we on leauge last in 2000

• Closed Accounts Posts: 373 ✭✭burnedfaceman

the schools cup draw was made this evening does anyone know the full draw? I know st marys are playing castleknock in first round...

adam 190 wrote: »

The Senior Cup far more recently than Andrews anyway and numerous Junior Leagues ect. They have been far more competitive than Andrews in all fairness. The draws been made for the cup anyway, its on leinsterrugby.ie- Major 1st round clash Belvo-Nure. Rock, CBC, Andrews and Clongowes have decent draw. Michaels and Marys have tough ones with Michaels especially against Pres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

It's on leinsterrugby.ie

Vinnie Murrey Cup
    1st Round
    C.C Roscrea V Maynooth P.P
    High School V Templeogue College
    St Conleth's V CUS
    Mount Temple School V St Columba's
    Newbridge College V Wesley College

2nd Round
    1. St. Gerards V De La Salle Churchtown
    2. Winners of CC Roscrea/Maynooth PP V Winners of High School/Templeogue
    3. Winners of St Conleth's/CUS V Winners of Mount Temple/St Columba's
    4. Winners of Newbridge/Wesley V Losers of Gonzaga College/Kilkenny College

Leinster Schools Senior Cup
    Blackrock College V Qualifier 1
    Clongowes Wood College V The Kings Hospital
    Terenure College V Belvedere College
    Qualifier 2 V St Andrew's College
    St. Mary's College V Castleknock College
    Qualifier 4 V Winners of Gonzaga College/Kilkenny College
    St. Michael's College V Presentation College, Bray
    Qualifier 3 V CBC Monkstown

========================

Bray V Michaels, what a draw! Could have been a lot worse for Bray as well.

adam 190 wrote: »

Eh CBC are one of the favorites to take it this year. Andrews aren't even considered and trust me Andrews will not get anywhere near the final. No offense.

SpAcEd OuT wrote: »
    Eh CBC are one of the favorites to take it this year. Andrews aren't even considered and trust me Andrews will not get anywhere near the final. No offense.
    mate wer in d final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭TheVoodoo

He's talking about the cup.

Not the league.

CBC will thump Andrews on Friday

League final on Friday is under floodlights in Seapint RC at 7, great choice imo I always thought late games were a great idea-it could really build atmosphere and crowds.

That'll be interseting to see actually! Lets hope the weather is better than it was it the Pres game.. We all know Seapoint is a giant wind-tunnell!!

are you monty or wot?(cbc teacher!)

I'd say its Monty alright...

With his Pro-Cbc talk..!! Haha

Fair play to him though, He's doing a decent enough job coaching the lads.

Anyone going to the game?

Should be a good one. CBC should have a close to full strenght squad with 5 leinsters starting ( Jenkinson is out ).
    Mick Noone will be reflecting the floodlights like a mirror... with his severe lack of pigment! hhahah.. Good man Mick..

Should be lots of big hits, and great play considering nearly half the Leinster team will be on the pitch, (Andrews 2, CBC 5 )

Cbc Won.

good match,Andrews were better than I thought,CBC for the cup

Yea andrews did play well!

Cbc's talking back let them down though! Giving away sloppy penaltys!!

Cbc had a much, bigger, stronger and more physical squad.

No. 17 Paddy Crown is an absolute MONSTER!

AND he's only in 4th year!!

good game of rugby...i tink cbc underestited andrews..i tink if andrews got dat penalty it might hav been a differnt story but cbc deserved their win!

Ben Marshel is a great player, was the third Cremin Playing too? The 4th year one?

Cbc knew that Andrews would put up a strong fight, but maybe there was an underestimation from the fans ect.
    I dont think the lads thought they had it won till the final whistle. After that penalty it could have gone either way, CBC fans did show alot of respect for Andrews place kicking, which cant be said for a SMALL amount of Andrews supporters!

But all in all a great game of rugby.

Did andrews have a full strenght side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

Ye it was a good game. CBC had to fight for the win. Think we all under estimated St. Andrews. It was always such an easy win in my day!

CBC will have to sort out their place kicking if they are to stand any chance in winning the cup unfortunately. The kicker lacks all form of technique, I'm surprised with 4 coaches he hasn't been trained at all in the art of kicking!

Role on the cup!

He normally is a very good kicker!

Think the occasion got to him, but that cant really happen!!

Lets just hope he sorts himself out cup time, because he has the talent!

leek wrote: »
    was a good game alright. i dont see all this talk sayin they are much better than us was we beat cbc last year in the leauge group stages wit there apparent 'super' team. btw i was playin on the wing for andrews. but all together was a good game if we didnt miss our peno to touch and the peno it wuda been a diff game. was a good occasion. btw yes the young cremen was playin 4. paddy. and we were missing one of our 2nd rows from last year, and our 6 with a concussion.

what do you mean you are missing players from last year,hence the fact its senior cup rugby,and once your out of school you cant play!also another year and some 4th years can play,so that argument has no substance,cbc were the better team and proved it

CBC were very good value for their win. In past years some CBC teams would have crumbled under the pressure but not last night. That Andrews out half had some boot on him, taken a lot of pressure of their forwards. CBC were the better side though-very good lineout and Michael Noone is such an explosive player. Andrews I think will have a great shot against Clongowes in the Cup, they have really improved from being how muck they were-just shows what good coaching and attitude can do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

Terenure SCT just got handed today by Barnhall u-18 [Lot of Leinster Players, Metro and Irish Youth] thats going to put a very big dent in their confidence but then again this Barnhall team is set to win the All Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭DmanDmythDledge

Stev_o wrote: »
    Terenure SCT just got handed today by Barnhall u-18 [Lot of Leinster Players, Metro and Irish Youth] thats going to put a very big dent in their confidence but then again this Barnhall team is set to win the All Ireland

I heard Terenure were playing Templeogue today.:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

I heard Terenure were playing Templeogue today.:confused:

Nope friendly against U-18

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    He normally is a very good kicker!

Think the occasion got to him, but that cant really happen!!

Lets just hope he sorts himself out cup time, because he has the talent!

I saw their game against belvo where they lost by a point and it was the same then also. You cant win the cup missing kick after kick.

I would love nothing more the monkstown to win the cup but unfortunately the big schools always find a way of playing well when it matters most and that usually stems from a solid place kicker.

TheVoodoo wrote: »
    Ben Marshel is a great player, was the third Cremin Playing too? The 4th year one?

Cbc knew that Andrews would put up a strong fight, but maybe there was an underestimation from the fans ect.
    I dont think the lads thought they had it won till the final whistle. After that penalty it could have gone either way, CBC fans did show alot of respect for Andrews place kicking, which cant be said for a SMALL amount of Andrews supporters!

But all in all a great game of rugby.

Did andrews have a full strenght side?
    marshall was injured and andrews were missin thier 2nd row 6 and there 3rd yer winger who is an exciting prospect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭leek

adam are u in andrews? i heard that it was there full back line. from all the matchs ive seen the back 3 who played the final, are the usual back 3, finishings off most of there moves. not sure there names, but a blond full back and a small winger and a tall one. who is the 3rd year, should he not be playing juniors? but i did hear the 2nd row was out, and there new welsh 7 had a concussion or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 dwn

I have to laugh when I hear teams like Andrews being mentioned as cup contenders. This season clongowes are unbeaten so far and when they play well no one in Leinster seems to be nearly as good as them. On there tour they recently beat a top under 19 college and a top under 18 club(without their captain who was playing for Ireland schools). Whoever said cbc were unbeaten is wrong as clongowes have beaten them already. CBC are not to the same standard to teams like clongowes, rock, belvo, ternure and Michaels when it comes to cup season.
    Rock have had a poor season but you can never rule them out when it comes to the cup. I think the winner of rock/clongowes v belvo will win it this year.

dwn wrote: »
    I have to laugh when I hear teams like Andrews being mentioned as cup contenders. This season clongowes are unbeaten so far and when they play well no one in Leinster seems to be nearly as good as them. On there tour they recently beat a top under 19 college and a top under 18 club(without their captain who was playing for Ireland schools). Whoever said cbc were unbeaten is wrong as clongowes have beaten them already. CBC are not to the same standard to teams like clongowes, rock, belvo, ternure and Michaels when it comes to cup season.
    Rock have had a poor season but you can never rule them out when it comes to the cup. I think the winner of rock/clongowes v belvo will win it this year.

CBC-Clongowes was basically a seconds game in fairness, both sides were missing their Leinster players and CBC were missing at least 5 more to injuries I dunno how many Clongowes were missing. As regards Clongowes being unbeaten that means nothing, CBC hammered every team before the JCT in 05 and were beaten bu Nure in cup after beating Michaels in round 1, one of the schools you mentioned that schools like CBC weren't of the same standard come cup time.

There has been several occasions over the past few years when league teams have beaten a big 6 team. Did you ever think that maybe these schools dont peak come cup time because of the league games which begin in sept and force many of these schools to peak in Oct/Nov, in stark contrast to Rock ect whos games before Christmas matter little.

CBC have as good a chance as Clongowes, Belvo, Rock. Stop looking through your big 6 attitude or maybe something like what happened to a highly talented Rock team against the sub standard Kilkenny side:rolleyes:

CBC and/or Pres will spring shocks this year, I guarentee it. Yes you can't rule out the Big 6, but no one in the Big 6 can rule out CBC or Pres, CBC in particular.

dwn wrote: »
    CBC are not to the same standard to teams like clongowes, rock, belvo, ternure and Michaels when it comes to cup season.

In Fairness CBC have never really had a squad like this years one.

Whatever about Current Pupils, Past Pupils ect talking their school up, Everyone does it, The fact is CBC have a squad capable of winning the cup this year, as much as " big 6 " may disagree.

Only time will tell how good each team is this year

As Andyman says You simply cannot rule out the Likes of CBC/Pres to cause upsets with the team they have.

And teams like Andrews can this year cause a suprise.

DWN have you actually seen Andrews, CBC or Pres play with a full-strenght squad this year??? You cant take anything from the CBC clongowes game atall, Considering CBC were missing 11+ starters.
    Seriously. You have to realise that Schools outside of the Big 6 are getting Stronger and far more competitive.

You know its funny, I've seen most of the teams playing and the team thats been mentioned here the least is the team I reckon will win it.

You think Maynooth will win?? :D:D

SpAcEd OuT wrote: »
    You know its funny, I've seen most of the teams playing and the team thats been mentioned here the least is the team I reckon will win it.

Dont keep us in suspense!

Spill!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 robert198918

in response to this andrew's fan adam honestly i dnt think andrews wil do it in fact i dnt jst think i NO they wnt do it not enough quality in the team yeh fair nuf u'v reached the league final 2 years in a row but its not really the biggest achievement as the big 6 are taken out of the comp....its honestly jst as much of an achievement as winning the vinnie murray... the only team from the league that can pose a threat this year is cbc monkstown, with a nothing short of a huge pack....with a huge front row with players like david lewis and shane gould a backrow with 2 leinster players noone and boucher and shane grannell in the 2nd row....along with players out the backs with pace, strength and creativity with players like gary foley hu'l most likely line up at 13. the other reason why cbc hav a gud chance is because if they had a draw to win it it's this years- qualifier in the first, michaels (hu had their gud year last yr) in the quarters,most probs marys in the semis hu always hav a gud sct wil be the biggest challenge to cbc's path to the final.... in the final it will be either clongowes or belvo against cbc and hopefully a cbc win:D

the other reason why cbc hav a gud chance is because if they had a draw to win it it's this years- qualifier in the first, michaels (hu had their gud year last yr) in the quarters,most probs marys in the semis hu always hav a gud sct wil be the biggest challenge to cbc's path to the final.... in the final it will be either clongowes or belvo against cbc and hopefully a cbc win:D
    Who says Pres wont beat Michaels?
    Who says Andrew's wont do a Kilkenny?

It's one of the most highly anticipated cups in a while in my opinion. Pres have the draw everyone wanted and will be going all out against Michael's. Andrew's have a decent side this year. Kilkenny only had a decent side last year and look where they ended up? You really can't rule Andrews out of causing a shock or two. I can't see them getting to the final but they have potential to keep their opposition on their toes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭leek

andy says it all really,
    robert you are talking absolte boll!x tbh, CBC barley beat andrews who they shudnt off, tbh and now your saying CBC will win the cup and andrews dont have a chance? they both have a good chance, the 1 time CBC got a game against andrews they nearly bottled it they dont like playin in tight games, they like the wesely, kh 50-0's.
    pres also do a very good team and i tihkn will take michales all the way wit roddy at 10 he can change the game, in a second

In all fairness leek CBC definately deserved to beat you, Andrews are decent dont get me wrong but CBC are the better side and showed it in the tight game against Andrews. Saying 'they nearly bottled it' is quite frankly a ridiculous statement, they showed great character and patience to beat you in the second half and were in no way lucky.

Just to add do you not think you're putting your own team down by saying the opposition 'bottle' close games and this is how you should have won? If you are thinking other schools will bottle it in the cup, you have no chance.