Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Race / Tri Reviews, details and announcments

• 28-11-2007 2:50pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭

On Amadeus' suggetion, I think this could be somewhere to collect reviews of various marathons around the world. Opinions expressed are simply those of the runner and all the usual disclaimers apply. I'll kick off with Boston just to annoy Amadeus.

Belfast
    Berlin
    Boston (below)
    Connemara
    Connemara #2
    Cork (scroll to last post on page)
    Dublin
    Longford
    LA
    Madrid
    Medoc
    Monaco
    Montreal
    Newry
    New York
    Paris
    Rotterdam
    Sahara
    Seville
    Snowdon
    Zurich

Boston
    Boston is one of the world's oldest marathons and you have to qualify to enter (apart from the charity places). It's a point to point course that goes downhill overall. It starts at midday (with a Airforce flyover the year I did it). If you stay in Boston you have to get a bus out to the start in the morning and hang around in the local highschool until the start. I can't remember the drinks/food so must have been the standard energy drinks and gels. The goodie bag was quite good and the expo was amazing. Boston really gets behind this race. all the colleges come out to watch, the locals bbq along the side of the route and there is a general party atmosphere. I really enjoyed this race but don't think I will do it again.

The best bits:
    Midday start, no porridge at silly o'clock
    the support (hundreds of wellesley college girls offering to marry and/or kiss you)
    your other half will actually want to go to this one for the shopping and the tea party.
    the expo

the worst bits:
    expensive
    elitist
    "goooood jawb" - it will annoy you after 26 miles
    Getting to Hopkinton in the morning of the race
    The long flight home when stiff
    Unbalanced qualification times making it more difficult for men to enter

difficulty
    1/5 (as marathons go, there are some small hills near the end but nothing as bad as some reviews say)
    beginner suitability - no, because of the qualification
    drinks - sorry, can't remember
    top tip - Clam chowder is not good carb loading food!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

New York
    There are big-city marathons, and then there is the New York City Marathon. A breathtaking five-borough course. Thirty thousand runners from around the world. Millions of spectators. New York is a city unlike any other, and no other race can match the New York City Marathon. Its a tough enough course (very undulating), and the last 7-8 miles can be very taxing on the legs especially when you come of the Queensborough bridge at mile 17 and turn onto 1st Avenue. It feels like the road just goes on forever and you keep wondering where the mile markers are.

The best bits:
    The crowd support. They really get behind you and as you run through the 5 boroughs you get to experience all the ethnic minorities living there. Also you are bound to spot an Irish flag every now and then.

The expo . You can pretty much purchase everything and anything running related from gear to nutrition supplements to training equipment.

the worst bits:
    expensive
    Having to wait for 2 and a half hours at Staten Island for the race to start (Its like a refugee camp there and you need to bring a couple of layers of clothing becasue it gets very cold hanging around)
    "goooood jawb" - As Hunney monster said it will annoy you after 26 miles
    The long flight home
    The pasta party the night before leaves a lot to be desired. You are queuing for ages. Your best of booking a pasta meal in a local restaurant.

difficulty 3/5 (You need to run over I think it was 4 bridges. I ran the race this year but can't remember (one of those days, and the finish in Central Park is tough on the legs.)
    beginner suitability - Yes & no. As I said the couse is a little tough for a first Marathon, but the crowd support makes up for that. Its not a course for fast times.
    drinks - Plenty on the course route. Gatorade and water at every drink station.
    top tip - Pace yourself at the start and don't go out too fast by getting caught up in the atmosphere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Go on, rub it in. I'll qualify on eof these days, just wait and see!

Anyway, this is the last one I ran and is one of teh five "majors" so here goes...

Berlin
    I can't say that Berlin is a city I ever particularly wanted to visit and if it weren't for the marathon I'd probably never have set foot there. Having done it though I would strongly (strongly) reccomend it for anyone looking for an alternative to Dublin as thier Autumn marathon.

The course itself is legendary - so flat it feels downhill. You'll go past a few of the tourist sights and if the finish through the Brandenburg Gate doesn't you feel like a pro athlete then nothing will! It's a standard early start but that doesn't hamper the support, with an estimated one million (very) vocal supporters lining the route, complete with pots and pans that they bang together to make a god awful racket! Kids high fiving and loads of music make it a good, carnival atmosphere.

The course can be narrow in places and this is a big marathon at 30K+ runners so congestion can be an issue early on but I didn't find it as bad as other big races. As you would expect the race is run with tutonic efficiency (though the Expo was chaos). Excellent fuel stops (water, energy drink & fruit) and a decent goody bag and nice medal. What are you waiting for?

The best bits:
    When I ran it Haile set a new World Record and the reflected glow felt good!
    Great course
    Fantastic suppport

The worst bits:
    Having to buy a "Finisher" t-shirt rather than getting one in the goody bag, especially for a race that is quite expensive
    Expo that was liek a zoo, especially chip collection

Difficulty
    1/5, very flat and great support. If you can't set a PB here then you never will

Beginner suitability
    As good as any, it's flat with a good atmosphere and refreshments. They do - IIRC - have a cut off point though which slower runners or run / walkers would need to check. Also as a famously fast marathon it does have a very "serious" feel, very few fancy dress costumes and everyone very focussed. Personally I prefer that but running in Dublin it's nice to chat to people as you run round, not something you could do in Berlin (and no it wasn't a language thing!)

Drinks
    Water (bottles) and fruit at regular intervals. Also some vile sports drink made up from powder at teh stands and given out in cups.

Top tip
    Don't wear a GPS watch - several runners (including myself) were depending on them and lost the signal - and so our timings / pacings - when we went through parts of teh city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭A P

I ran Berlin in 2004 - loved it. Fantastic course - very flat. Support was incredible. Running through the Brandenburg gate is a savage feeling at the end - especially when you're inside your target time! A PB course for sure.

I also ran Amsterdam in 2005 - didn't enjoy this one so much - had one of those days that you just want to forget. I finished 17 seconds outside 3 hours, and was passed by 2 guys dressed as clowns as I was hitting the wall - not what you need!
    However, it was a well-organised race. Smaller supporting crowd, but still not bad. To start a marathon within 15metres of Haile was pretty cool - the race starts on the track in the Olympic Stadium, goes back through the stadium after around 8k I think, and finishes there too.

I ran the Isle of Man Half Marathon in 2005 too - there is a full marathon the same day. Really enjoyed this one - very tough and hilly in first 4 miles, but after that it is fine. The marathon consists of 2 laps of the half marathon course. Never saw so many dead hedgehogs in my life! Really friendly atmosphere at it - great post-race reception with a buffet that makes all the hard work worthwhile!

Next up is the City-Pier-City half marathon in the Hague in March (injury-permitting). Bring it on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

Seville
    Seville is in February. This was my original reason for picking it but I'm very glad I did. Although it rained heavily on race day in 2005 the days before and afterwards were really nice and it's always nice to dig the shorts and teeshirts out in February. Seville is also a lovely city to go visit. It has the tapas and siesta of Spain but without the high rise apartment blocks of the coast. The race itself is extremely well run.

The best bits:
    The entry fee €13.79 in 2005
    the course is completely flat. The highest point is running over a bridge with a height of 15m
    the goodie bag. Enough food to feed a marathoner for a week, along with towels, technical running gear and socks
    The finish: you run in through the tunnel and around part of the track in the Olympic stadium with the crowds cheering you on. It's quite emotional.
    Food and showers afterwards. bliss!

the worst bits
    :
    This is not a race for slower runners. I think the cut-off is about 5 hours.
    The men on the start line. I don't think I'm not that easily offended but 2000 men getting it out to pee in the street at the start was a bit hard to take.
    There was a cobbled section. Not as bad as I expected but it might hurt those with weak knees.

difficulty
    1/5
    beginner suitability - only for faster runners
    drinks - energy drinks and water. segments of orages also served.
    top tip - Spanish people generally eat their evening meal very late. If you want to fully digest your pasta, you may need some careful planning.

On a long run the other day and I was thinking about this thread (well what else is there to think about?!) and I realsied that we don't have an Irish review on here yet! Now we all know Dublin but there are other races and you don't need air miles for them...

Longford:
    The longest established "other" marathon Longford is usually run towards teh end of August. there is also a HM on the day. Crowds are fairly small by comparison with the bigger races and it has more of a local 10k feel to the organisation. A lot of the facilities that you take for granted at bigger races - chip timing, regular and well manned aid stations and lots of cheering crowds in particular - are missing from this one but don't let that put you off. Organisation in general is good and the scenery is great (once you get out of Longford!)

The best bits:
    Coming in the top 100 even though I didn't go that fast! Really nice atmosphere and because of the small numbers you can stay and chat to friends and family almost up to the gun. If you want to end your run hand in hand with your kids this is the place to do it as well, smaller crowds make people easier to spot.

the worst bits:
    Don't expect big race details. This is strictly an amatuer affair (and I am not knocking it by saying that). It's locally staged for local charities but that does mean no chip time, a possible problem for some. Aid stations can be a fold up table outside someones house or glasses of water outside a pub! Also it has a reputation as a flat race - I didn't find that at all. It's not hilly but you always seem to be on a slight incline. And the year I did it the HM runners got the same "I ran the Longford marathon" t-shirt that marathon runners did. Small gripe but actually they didn't run teh marathon!

difficulty 2/5 - slight gradiants but an interesting route and no crowds
    beginner suitability - 3/5. Good course and lots going for it but it's not a big numbers race so you may find yourself on your own for a while.

drinks - there was hi 5 but mainly water in cups, IIRC
    top tip - make sure that your friends / family take the car and they can go for a drive while you're running. Believe me there is not much to do in Longford!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Snowdon

Usually on the day before Dublin, and combined with it by many a nutter. This is not a race for the feint hearted, as the course has about 1000m of climb and descent. The route starts in Nant Peris, goes clockwise along the roads around Snowdon itself, and finishes in Llanberris. Its a stunningly beautiful route through Snowdon national park, especially in its autumn colours. Used to be billed as the toughest marathon in the UK... I see no reason to doubt that.

The Best Bits
    The scenery is stunning. The year I ran it there was no wind in the valley sections and the cliffs on the nearby mountains were being reflected in the mirror-like lakes. You're running through some of the best scenery in the UK.

The sense of achievment on finishing this race is way better than for a flat city marathon. I didn't get my fastest marathon time on this race, but I definitely consider it to be my best marathon result. Also my favourite marathon.

Great atmosphere surrounding the whole event. Not a fast marathon, or one with any prizemoney, so no pothunters around.

Very easily accessed from Ireland, and especially Dublin. Llanberris is about an hour from Hollyhead.

The worst bits
    If you can't run up and down hills then fuggetaboutit.

Difficulty
    4/5. Its tougher than the average marathon, and all the better for it. I've seen it done by a man in a chicken suit though, so its not that hard!

Beginner Suitability
    1/5. Best to do a flatter marathon first, and then take on the extra challenge of the hills.

Drinks
    I can't actually remember, but there was enough there for my needs. There had to be, as the first of my "support crew" cycled in about half an hour after I finished (It's not the easiest cycle in the world either :)).

Top Tip
    Just do it. Its well worth it.

Pacing is all important, but with the extra dimension of pacing long climbs and descents.

Mix in a bit of cycling into your training routine to build up your quads. This will improve your climbing and help you get through the descents without every step hurting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭deadlybuzz

Monaco
    I ran this marathon a few years ago. The main draw is the amazing scenery, as the course mainly follows the coastal road from the principality towards the Italian border and back. The course actually takes in three countries (Monaco, France, Italy) which makes it quite unique. It took place in November, thus affording decent temperatures for running, although I believe that it's since been moved to March.

The best bits:
    The view of the Cote d'Azur, especially on the return section as you wind downhill on the approach to Monte Carlo.
    Weather conditions, suitable for running
    Course size of around 3000. Big but not too big
    Pasta party - one of the better ones I've attended
    Stadium finish - in front of roaring crowds

the worst bits:
    Quite expensive to stay in Monaco
    Poor support at start and on the course (except for stadium at the end). Some bands playing when you reach Italy
    Difficult course. A beast of a hill at 20mile mark, akin to Connemara Hell of the West.

difficulty 3/5 (Mostly flat, but then a steep hill for about 2 miles. Not really a course to set a PB).
    beginner suitability - definitely.
    drinks - Frequent Water & Energy drink stations. All served in paper cups. Huge spread of fruit, energy bars, chocolate etc. at the finish.
    top tip - Stay in hotel close to the stadium. Your legs will thank you afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 Ciaran_D

Now we all know Dublin but there are other races and you don't need air miles for them...

I don't know Dublin!
    I haven't run my first yet (thought training for DM '08) and it'd be helpful if someone reviewed Dublin too...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭trinewbie

Or could anyone do a review for Paris?

Amadeus can do Paris. I haven't run it. Dublin I've done 3 times though.

Dublin
    Dublin is billed as the friendly marathon and for the most part it lives up to it's name. The route has changed slightly over the years but now seems stable starting on nassau street pointing east although I've heard this moght be moving to Fitzwilliam square this year? You head along along Pearse Street across the river, along O'Connell st, turn somewhere beside the Mater and into the Phoenix park. I really like this big of the run. There are not many big city marathons that run through significant green areas. Some people find it a bit lonely though as there is not much support. Out of the park and into Chapelizod onto the Inchicore road and into Dolphins barn and the Drimnagh/Kimmage area. Then you hit th terenure road and Clonskeagh before getting onto the Stillorgan road and the UCD flyover, down Nutley lane (RTE) onto the merrion road. Instead of straight back into town, you detour down Grand Canal street, do a final lap of trinity and finish in Merrion square.

Dublin have a very generaous 8 hour cut off. Ideal for people who want to walk

The best bits:
    It was my "home" race for years
    very friendly
    weather never going to be too hot or too cold
    water in bottles not cups. soooo much easier

the worst bits:
    nobody lines up in the correct spot. If you're aiming for sub 4, line up witht her sub 3:30's
    it often rains on race day.
    not a great supply or energy drinks, gels

difficulty
    1/5 some people complain about the UCD flyover but it's only because it comes late in the race. no significant hills. Support will do a lot for flagging runners
    beginner suitability - yes, everyone should be able to do dublin
    drinks - Any year I did it, water was plentiful (every 3 miles) but only 2 energy drinks & 1 gel stop.
    top tip - run behind the energy drinks tables and grab a bottle rather than the cups they are serving from.

Technically I can't write a Connemarathon review as I've only done the ultra, but I guess I can give people a feel for the race

Connemara
    Connemara is one of those races that is unique, Most big city marathons are somewhat similar, lots of people, lots of streets and a few sights up close and personal. Connemara is completely different, lots of space, lots of green and a few sheep. The scenery in Connemara is always wonderful, but running out there is something special. The ultramarathon starts at Maam Cross. There is no parking at the start of the ultra, full or 1/2 marathons so busses run from the major population centers. I stayed in Galway city. The first 13.1 miles are largely flat, there is a turn about 10 miles in and the wind could potentially be a factor in this landscape. After 13.1 miles you join the marathon course. The first part of the marathon is flat enough but small rises start to creap in, the second half (or the half marathon course) is a bit more hilly including the dreaded hell of the west. In fact the hill is not as bad as people make out. The main problem for me was seeing the full extent of the 2-3 mile drag from the bottom. A corner in the middle would have made it mentally a lot easier. The course profile is on the connemarathon website along with the following description "The course meanders past bogs, hills, lakes, and the Twelve Pin mountains rising up over the great expanse of Killary Lough, through the quiet village of Leenane, around the Maam Turk Mountains and all the way back up to Maam Cross." The weather in Connemara can be very variable. At the race briefing we were told it was entirely possible to experience all 4 seasons in a single race. From a triathlon I did in Carna (2006) I know how true this can be but I actually came away from connemarathon 2007, sunburnt.

the best bits
    the scenery & solitude (though may not suit someone who needs encouragement)
    the format. I really like the way the race gets busier as you go along. The ultra starts with a small group, you catch up with the marathoners and finally the half marathoners.
    Ray - The guy is a legend, he and the other organisers have a great attitude.
    The athlete's village at the end. People hung around chatting which is unusual.

the worst bits
    the local community, do not appear to respect this race. It's only a couple of hours, one day a year but they seemed determined to drive along their usual routes at 100kph. I was cut up a couple of times. this is a real shame the organisers go to a huge amount of effort to minimise the impact of the race. I know Ray was out on the course the next day, ensuring no rubbish had been left behind.

difficulty 2.5/5 - It's not hugely tough, but it's not flat either.
    beginner suitability, not impossible, but I would probably start elsewhere.
    drinks - bottled water, I missed all the feed stations, prehaps someone else would be better to answer this one
    top top - bring a camera

Probably should have said "we all know about Dublin" - apologies, I didn't want to sound exclusive!

Paris

There probably isn't another city in the world that could wind a marathon route around and past as many famous landmarks as you can in Paris. The start on the Champs-Élysées is magnificent and you go past the Louvre, through Place de la Concord, Place de la Bastille a nice stretch by the Seine with teh Eiffel Tower on the other side (through the Diama crash tunnel!) and end up running to the Arc de Triomphe. How anyone could complain about teh route after that would be beyond me! Support from teh crowds I found patch enough in parts, TBH but that is more than made up for in the quality and variety of stands on the route. If you were so minded you could have cider, wine, beer and cheese on route (tell me the French don't know how to live!) and that's excluding teh official feed stops which were well stocked with fresh oranges and bananas. A special mention to teh Parisien firefighters who come out in force to support the race (much to the pleasure of the female racers!) and teh transvestite dance troupe who are apparently regulars at a stage somewhere after 20 miles!

Generally flat and fairly fast the route does go up and down through a series of underpasses but nothing substantial. My major issues with the race were that the course was very congested (perhaps because I started quite far back) and there is a section through a park where you can see faster runners doubling back on you, something I always find tough.

This is a strange race in some ways - the food and carnival atmosphere make it seem like a "fun run" (think London) but it takes itself very seriously (very few fancy dress runners and a cut off time). But then when was Paris ever simple...

the best bits
    The sheer variety and quantity of feed stations (see above)
    The scenery

the worst bits
    Waaaay to congested for my liking
    The Pacemakers, who were a joke.
    Parisien accomodation and prices - the only city in teh world that makes Dublin look reasonable

difficulty 1/5 -
    beginner suitability: Highly reccomended, a great race to come to if you're not too time focussed, mooch along, enjoy the food, sights and atmosphere. be aware though they do have a cut off time
    drinks - many and varied
    top top - Look at for teh Marathon de Medoc food station!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭Euchrid

New to the Board but will add my tuppence worth...

Montreal

This is a great marathon through a very beautiful city. It's well organised, with plenty of drink stations throughout. Starts on a high flyover bridge just outside city centre with a great view. You then wind down into a park, cover part of the F1 track and then in through the city centre. You go past a number of interesting buildings and sights (Though luckily not up Mont Real itself - steep!) and finally wind down to the finish line in the Olympic stadium. As a finish to a race I don't think it can be beaten. The last 500m before the stadium winds downhill, where you pick up a nice pace having gone through the last 1km sign. You then go through the stadium gates to the running track with fairly busy stands and a closed roof adding to the atmosphere. The final stretch is then 3/4 of the lap in the stadium while being cheered on by the crowd. I have since bettered my time that day but I will never finish a marathon quicker than the last 800m in Montreal. Through the finish and there were plenty of food and drinks for all.

It's only a growing marathon so the numbers are not huge at around 4/5k, and the crowd watching is sparse in a lot of sections. It's a beautiful city though so plenty to keep you distracted and the crowds are there where it matters towards the end.

The Best Bits:
    The Scenery.
    Very Friendly.
    That finish!

The Worst Bits:
    The single worst finishers T-Shirt I have ever owned. Horrible in every way.
    That's it.

Difficulty 1/5 - A few minor hills but nothing too bad.
    Beginners - Go for it. Great place for a holiday while there.
    Drinks - Can't remember the specific brands, but plenty available.
    Top Tip: Leave a few days for sight-seeing/partying afterwards.

Dublin and Amsterdam have been well covered above... I'll hopefully be back to add more in the near future....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Wally Runs

Marathon du Medoc (Bordeaux, France)
    This race is run every September and is limited to 8,500 runners. The Marathon du Medoc is 23 years old and takes place in and round the town of Pauillac, north of Bordeaux. The route is a mix of road and cross-country through vineyards of some of the most famous names in French wine (La Tour, Haut-Bages and Mouton & Lafite Rothschild). The course is pretty flat, as it skirts the Gironde estuary and good weather is assured. Fancy dress for participants is compulsory, oh and along with the usual water stops are 36 degustations - or careful, appreciative tastings - of the various local produce!

Yep, an opportunity to taste some of the biggest names in wine along with steak oysters, cheese and ham. Other marathoners may be a little sceptical about motivation. Usually one is supposed to give up alcohol during the training, not spend the race drinking it.

The best bits:
    Well yes the wine, but there is plenty of water and food too. With fancy dress the atmosphere was electric. It is not the big booze fest you might think. The runners are out to fininish and many will run back and forth to spur on fellow runners.

The worst bits:
    It was pretty hot with a temperature of 28oC by lunchtime, the start was 9.00 am but it took me a bit longer to get around that I had thought.
    Difficulty
    1/5 it is pretty flat with only small hills. The terrain is a mix of road and gravel track so it can be hard under foot at times.
    Beginner suitability
    Yes, if you are running because you want to enjoy the event this is the one. The course is open for 6 and half hours and you will want to use all of it.
    Drinks
    Besides the wine there was water, glucose, sugar, fruit, cakes, steak and ham.
    Top tip
    Learn some French and sign up early (it fills up by March) see: www.marathondumedoc.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭ob

Would there be any interest in a race fixtures sticky in this forum? Upcoming races could be listed here.

Every weekend there are lots of races promoted by athletics clubs around the country. A few are listed in Irish Runner, or runireland.com, but many more aren't, and are only known locally.

Obviously, this would only be usefull if people posted about upcoming races they knew about.

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I agree with ya. We have lots of smaller races here in Wicklow, most local athletes hear about the race, but not many other people. Any method of advertising the races and attracting new people into the sport can only be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭rdunne

On the bhaa.ie website we try and put up every one we find. There is over 300 this year. Im sure we are missing plenty still! If people want to put them up here on a sticky I can put them on bhaa.ie. IF you prefer you can put them on the bhaa calender yourself. Save me having to do it!!
    As for myself I do about 30 ish runs a year and looking for runs i could do coming from Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Ok, I've stuck this thread for race fixtures.

Good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭thirtyfoot

Here are the main domestic track meets (for seniors) add more if you know:

Apr 16 Dublin Graded Irishtown
    Apr19/20 University Champs
    Apr 20 Leevale Sports
    Apr 30 Dublin Graded Santry
    May 3 Irish Milers Club - Irishtown
    ?????? AAI Games -NO DATE YET
    May 14 Dublin Graded Irishtown
    May 18 National League
    May 19 Trinity Relays - TCD
    May 25 Munster Open Seniors - Waterford
    May 28 Dublin Graded Santry
    June 8 Leinster Open Seniors - Tullamore
    June 11 Dublin Graded Irishtown
    June 14 NI Open Seniors
    June 15 National League
    June 25 Dublin Open Seniors - Santry
    June 27 Share A Dream - Greystones
    June 29 National Junior & U23
    July 9 Dublin Graded - Santry
    July 12 Cork City Sports
    July 19/20 National Seniors - Santry
    Jul 23 Dublin Graded Irishtown
    Jul 27 National League Final - Santry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

For Cork area races, best fixture list is on the Eagle AC site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 boo-urns

Los Angeles
    Another big-city marathon but very well organised with strong support throughout. Starts North of Hollywood, just outside universal studios and winds its way through the sprawling metropolis that is LA, taking in the majority of the cities famous landmarks from Beverly Hills to the LA Coliseum. There are over 15,000 runners in the marathon but you never feel too crowded along the route and the course is downhill for the first 10 miles or so - after that it remains flat right to the finish.

The best bits:
    The crowd support and organisation - I've never seen such a large marathon organised so well and there's plenty along the way to keep you amused - including bands and free phone calls home (they run alongside you while you talk on a cell phone and you give the phone back when you're finished).

The worst bits:
    The weather, the race starts at 8am when it's pretty cold but it hots up really quickly (even though it's only March) and you can really feel it in the second half. The last 6 miles can be pretty soul destroying as on mile 20 you enter downtown LA (very close to the finish line) only to leave it again to enter a drab run down industrial estate for the last 6 miles

difficulty 2 or 3/5 depending on how the heat affects you.

beginner suitability - Yes, it would be an easy one to start with if you don't mind travelling that far.

Drinks - Plenty on the course route. Gatorade and water at every drink station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 boo-urns

Madrid
    Having never been to Spain before this was a great opportunity to see the capital on foot. Overall my impression of the city and the marathon was that they were 'nice' but I wouldn't be rushing back to do it again. There were plenty of runners and supporters along the route and the course was easy enough - I can't remember any real challenging parts but there was nothing about the run that stood out or made it interesting.

The best bits:
    The expo was great they gave out loads of free stuff, and not just rubbish - I picked up three or four running tops anda few t-shirts as well as energy bars/gels and drinks. The crowd along the route were great too.

The worst bits:
    Although the course it flat, parts of it are on cobbled streets, which can be pretty tough on the knees. Also, I mentioned above there are plenty of crowds along the way to cheer you on but a lot of them seem to like smoking, I got a good few lung fulls of cigarette smoke while running which isn't very pleasant.

difficulty 2.5/5 Neither difficult or easy

beginner suitability - don't know, it would be do-able for a beginner but not very interesting, Dublin would be more fun

Drinks - Plenty on the course route, no sign of gels though

Top tip - don't forget to change the clock on your phone if you're using it as your alarm clock - the one and only time I didn't warm up for a marathon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Redgraffle

The Milers Club fixtures have been announced on the AAI website as well.

May 3rd Irishtown Men (3000m/1000m/600m) Women (1000m)
    May 31st Tullamore Men (Olympic Mile) Women (800m)
    June 21st Irishtown Men (800m) Women (800m)
    July 5th Irishtown Men (3000m/1500m) Women (1500m)
    July 12th Cork Men (800m) Women (800m)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭DaveH

Hi All,
    Just to let you know the Raheny Open Mile is on this coming Thurday, April 10 at 8pm.

Entry Fee is €5.

The course is One Lap of the course used in the National Road Relay's which are on Sunday April 13th.

Any questions please ask.

Details @ www.rahenyshamrock.com

Results and pics are up on www.bhaa.ie There are some brill photos from Lindie Naughton herehttp://www.flickr.com/photos/lindie/sets/72157604396964984/

Next race in two weeks 8 mile in keepak. Free Burgers for all!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 poh

Sahara Marathon

This is the most amazing experience if you have time to spend a week in the Sahara desert. This race takes place in the south west of Algeria in February of every year. The unique part of this experience is that spectators and participants live for 5days in the Saharawi refugee camps.
    165,000 refugees have been living in the desert for 30years after been displaced from Western Sahara in the 70's due to conflict.
    I didnt know anything about these people until I came across the race on marathonguide.

The best bits:
    Experiencing the vastness of the Sahara desert. Living in a tent in the Sahara for 5days.
    Crowd support is unreal at the start and at the half way point of the marathon but theres not much support in the middle of the desert. The odd camel will give you a strange look tho :pac:
    Running alone like I did you feel like you have the whole place to yourself, apart from the support jeeps passing by.
    Experiencing the hospitality of these amazing people.

The worst bits:
    Race starts at 9am which is late but in a place wheres theres no electricity no much happens until the sun comes up.
    Luckily for most of the race there was a nice cool brezze which really helped altho temperatures reached 35 degrees
    Half way through the race there are a few sand dunes to contend with, actually about 5miles of them, some with very loose sand which have to be walked up to save energy.

difficulty 3/5 depending on how the heat affects you and the weather on the day

beginner suitability - I did meet a lad from Cork and it was his first marathon. Would be a good way to start the marathon career but I think it may be better to have at least one done before attempting this one.

Drinks - Water stops every 3k and also support jeeps along the route with water.

www.saharamarathon.org also check out this month edition of Irish runner, there will be a piece on the event :D

Thanks for that - the Sahara race is one that I am seriously thinking about next year, if I can wrangle a week away from the family!

Rotterdam:

Thought I'd get this down while it's still fairly fresh in my mind...

Rotterdam is famous among time chasers as one of the fastest courses in the world; flat and (normally) run in perfect racing conditions there have been several WR set there.

As a result it does have a bit of a pacy, "serious runner" vibe. Looking around at the expo it seemed to be full of "racing snakes" and the emphasis by the organizers was very much on a quality race experience rather than a fun event. So, for example, goody bag was non-exsistant but the finishers T shirt is a really good quality Adidas wicking one. Aid stations are very well stocked and every 5k.

Route is flat - not Berlin flat but close. Small inclines at the bridge and an overpass and a nich gentle downhill thru the woods after 30k. Crowd support is decent but patchy in places, excellent at the start finish though. Scenic it ain't though!

My only gripe is that the start is unsegregated and the route is quite narrow early on, I lost 2 mins in teh first kilometer alone, for such a good race to fall down on such a small detail is mad.

The Best Bits:
    - Great race for a PB
    - Decent support
    - Very well organised
    - They played "You'll never walk alone" just before the off!

The Worst Bits:
    - That start! Please pen people by predicted finish time or at least give some indication of where to stand
    - Congestion in teh first mile - small enough field (<7,000) but a narrow road meant we tripped over each other

Difficulty 2/5 - very flat but there is a cutoff time of (I think) 5 hours

Beginners - Depends on your speed and expectations. Cutoff and serious feel to teh race might put off "fun runners" but if you can finish inside teh cutoff then def consider it.

Drinks - Plentiful and varied, every 5k for tea, water, energy drink, some stops had fruit, others sponges.

Top Tip: There are plenty of hotels close to the start / finish area, do your homework and you can stay so close you don't need to use the bag drop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭SharkTale

Zurich:
    First time in Zurich, seemed like a good idea to visit a new place and incorporate a spring time marathon. Just from registering on-line through the web everything went perfectly well and nothing was left to chance by the organizers. €68 to enter this years race 2008. There was a link to three hotels who were offering special discount to all marathons entrants, and all these hotels also let you check out at 3.00pm on the day of the race. Each hotel laid on a coach, to transfer you to the start of the race on the morning, the breakfast room opened at 4.30 on the day of the race to facilitate those who wish to do a bit more carb loading!! Within the race pack you also got a travel voucher which let you travel free on all public transport within the city for the three days I spent in Zurich (excellent idea).
    The expo show was alright (only pasta free and some mints in the goodie bag) but took you on the free tram to see another part of the city which you may not have seen if on normal long weekend. The marathon started at 8.30 just on the outskirts of the city, well organized start with pace makers easily distinguishable with bright balloons corresponding to you chosen start/finish category. Changing gear/drop bag secure on old trains at the start which the public had no access to unless they had an official number.

Route:
    The course was totally flat and went from the out skirts through the main shopping district out into the suburbs around Lake Zurich and back to the start point. The marathon was very well supported along the route with variety of bands to cater for every taste ( Heavy Metal, Classical Music, Salsa band to traditional Swiss music). Each town along the route took great pride in ringing their local church bells during the marathon and most of the spectators had balloons with rice in them, cowbells or clappers to encourage you on. The scenery was good with great views of the lake as you headed out and back into Zurich.
    The only problem with the route was that you went out on one side of the road and came back the other side on the way back in, so for me I got some shock to see the leading grouping "Sprinting" past me at 35km point for them in the opposite direction, and the point were you turnaround to come back into Zurich is not the half way point so a bit disheartening.
    There is a strict cut off of 5.30 hours and you can see the "Broom Wagon" collecting those who would not make this cutoff point.
    Excellent public transport to get you back into the city after the finish.

The Best Bits:
    - Very very well organized - They even had people to cut off your timing chip cable tie at the finish.
    - Great Support
    - Call out your name through the PA as you cross the finish line (Bit Spooky last thing I expected).
    - Top class Nike technical top for all finishers.

The Worst Bit:
    - Only a small gripe, You go up and down three parallel streets in quick succession as you come near the end of the race.

Drinks:
    The food and water stations were excellent all along the route with water & bananas every 3kms, power bars every 6kms, cola, power drinks & power gels also in ample supply along the route.Water sponges

Difficulty: 1/5 - very very flat course but there is a cutoff time of 5.30 hours

Beginners: Would recommended it for as a possible and doable for all beginners.

Top Tip: Hotel recommended by the organizers which I stayed in was on the route of the course so my partner did not have to go to the start to wish me well, just watched the pacemakers balloons go by and arrived out on to the street at the appropriate time to cheer me on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Rotterdam:

My only gripe is that the start is unsegregated and the route is quite narrow early on, I lost 2 mins in teh first kilometer alone, for such a good race to fall down on such a small detail is mad.

Rotterdam does segregate the start and it's probably the best of all the marathons I've been in. Paris, you could barely get into the pen half an hour before the race. Dublin, it's non-existant (Although last year they did do the bib thing but I wonder if that'll work this year now that people know about it)

Rotterdam starts from two sides of the road. The front of the left has two sections to the front - elite first of all and behind them everyone up to 2.45. On the right hand side has 2.45 to 3.15. You have to provide proof of finishing in that time within the previous 2 years and you get a different colour bib that allows you in. The two sides merge just before or after the bridge and there was more than enough space in the pen before hand with a few portaloos actually in there as well! Behind these sections were all other runners which I was fairly sure segregated somewhat... below 4hours on the left and below 5 on the right - but they were technically a free for all, kind of like the way Dublin is! By far and away Rotterdam had the smoothest start of any marathon I've been in.... and I liked the way they had some lad in the centre singing "You'll never walk alone" before it all started.

It shows the difference in years though as I ran it last year during the heat wave and the crowd support was amazing. The streets were thronged with people, a lot of them with make shift water stations on route. I don't think there was a mile along the whole course that didn't have people out cheering.

Glad to be corrected on that one then - it didn't seem logical that such a slick marathon would be a free for all.

As my previous PB was 3:24 I wouldn't have been in the first set of pens anyway, I assume those that were were told about it. I started on the right - which I now know is the 5 hour group! - explaining the congestion... In my defence I was looking for segregated signs and didn't see them but I came up from the Hilton end so maybe I didn't pass them.

As a follow up the post race info you get online from Rotterdam is great - video of you every 5k, graphs of your time and an animation showing you and your progress versus any other runner. Very, very impressive race.

quick reminder about our next race...

Our next race is the RTE 5 mile road race at Donnybrook next Saturday 26 April 2008. Combined start at 11.00am.

Registration at the RTE Sport and Social Club. Go into the RTE campus from Nutley Lane and you will be directed down to the car parks near the Sports Club. Click Here for Map

More details from Niall Mathews 2082591(w) Jim Carraher 2084140(w).

This 5k is on next Friday (May 2nd) at 8pm. It is the first in a series of 4 races (Tipperary Challange), the others races in the series are:

Bulmers 10k - Clonmel, May 11th, 2pm
    Poulmucka 8k - Poulmucka, May 23rd
    Fethard 4 Miler - Fethard, May 29th, 8pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Domer

The first Blackwater 10k will take place in Monaghan Town on Sunday 18th May 2008.

But... this is not just another 10k Road Race....

It is being held in the beautifully picturesque surroundings of Rossmore Forest Park with all but the first and last half miles being held within the park on trails and tracks. The start and finish are at the Monaghan United grounds. It promises to be a fun family day.

Details and entry form are available on www.monaghanphoenix.com. Entries will be taken on the day.

Remember with all the new bypassess now open, the journey from the north side of Dublin to Monaghan takes approx 75 mins.

Look forward to seeing you all there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Thanks for that - the Sahara race is one that I am seriously thinking about next year, if I can wrangle a week away from the family!

Just to second poh on that it is in my opinion a life changing experience and I would really recommend it. I have been out the twice can't make it next year but I will get back. The marathon is only part of the experience a great part don't get me wrong, but the experience of living in the camp with a family is the biggest part. I stayed with the same family again this year so we were able to futher build our friendship. These people have so little yet each day come back from the market with little gifts for you. On our first morning we got to kill our dinner one of their goats. They way you are taken care of is amazing, plus the desert is wonderful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Belfast:
    I was part of the 15,000 people or so on the streets of Belfast yesterday for the Belfast City Marathon. There were only about 1,600 taking part in the full marathon and the rest were all cheats that are relay runners!!
    Firstly, i'd heard some depressing stories about this Marathon in that it was shoddily organised etc. This being my first time to do Belfast I can't speak from past experience but this year I can't fault the organisation one bit. Water stops every 2 miles on the way out and about every mile on the way home. Convenient start point in city centre and finish point in relaxing Ormeau Embankment with free and frequent shuttle buses back into the city centre (5 mins). Hell, they even laid on some great weather (Even if it did get a little warm towards the end!)

Route:
    The course started at 9am outside City Hall. We wwent East for a couple of miles before turning back West and passing George Best airport for a 1.5mile side-of-motorway portion. Back in through the City Centre and then out West along the Falls Road and past the murals on the Falls and Shankill. Very interesting indeed! Then out onto the Antrim Road and heading North to the half-way point. Basically, the Antrim Road is all uphill, albeit a slight incline but it's about 2.5miles long so it does get to ya after a bit. The saving grace was looking down to see the amount of easy running that lay ahead once we turned the corner at halfway mark. After about 2 miles of downhill we ended up going through Gideon's Green and onto a pathway a few metres from the motorway. This dragged on for about 3 miles and there was no services of any kind along here (Mainly due to the narrowness of the pathway I imagine). Then we wandered through an Ind Estate for anothe couple of miles where the whiff of sewerage was something else! Finally back onto the city strets and the last four miles or so were pretty cool even if the running was now down ro a crawl! One negative point i would have was the lack of distance markers for the last 4 miles. Just when I needed the most I was left without:-(
    The promised last mile felt like about twice the distance! Finish area in Ormeau Embankment was a little crowded but that was totally acceptable.

The Best Bits:
    - Loads of water stations and three energy drink stations.
    - Weather!
    - Throughput at finish line was very quick which meant for little q-ing.
    - All the relay runners meant you never ran alone over the course.
    - A couple of the groups of supporters were particularly vociferous - kept the spirits up!
    - Getting a PB by 12 mins (for an official time of infinity minus 12 minutes!!)

The Worst Bits:
    - Boring and sparsely populated section in Ind Estate.
    - Lack of distance markers (That I could see!) in the closing 4-5 miles.
    - Bringing us so close to finish line about 3 miles from the end...a real heartbraker when we realised we were still so far away from the finish!

Drinks:
    Loads of water stations everywhere.
    3 Energy Drinks stations.
    No Energy bars or solid foods in general.

Difficulty: 2/5 - Not very difficult but the incline on the Antrim Road was fairly long and the 5 miles from Gideon's Green until Corporation Street is less than exciting!!

Beginners: Beginners should be able to take on this course without too many problems...more mentally tough than physically (Still fairly tough physically, but hey, it's a damn marathon!!)

Top Tip: I parked my car about 5 mins from the start line which was handy. It being a BH I reckoned there'd be no need to pay for a ticket but when I returned there was a couple of attendants about to write tickets for the cars in front of me...luckily I got out before they got to me...or else they saw the Southern Reg and took pity. But I doubt it...!

Connemara:
    Connemara was my first Marathon this year (My only previous one being Dublin '07). I'd never taken part in this event at all before in terms tof either the half, full or ultra but I'd heard a lot about it through the grapevine. You'll probably be aware that the course is as scenic as you're gonna get in Ireland, or for that matter most of Europe. Buses collect participants in Galway, Oughterard and Clifden and ship them all to what seems like a random point in Connemara. Then it's off across windswept landscapes, past lonely lakes & streams and many attempts at avoiding small, wooly, four legged creatures popping out of nowhere. If you don't plan to run this event anytime soon, do yourself a favour and at least go for a tour of this part of the Country.
    There have been some varying thoughts on the organisation of this event on different forums but in the main it's a good job. From what I hear, I can only surmise that it's becoming a victim of it's own success. This year the event sold out approx 3 months before the race. I reckon if everyone that wanted to take part was allowed there'd be over 5,000 participants easily making this a major event in the West. However, it's still trying to cope with it's growing pains. The low-fi feel to it brings alot to the experience and marks it out from the major marathons. However, there are a few things that could still beimproved upon if the organisers managed to get a little more help in the organisational aspect of it. For instance: Ray, the Race Director, seemed to be at all three starts and the finish and...well you get the jist...He could do with a hand!

Route:
    So, everyone talks about the "Hell of the West", and ya it's tough but they don't seem to mention the Devil's Mother coming out of Leenane near as much. This can chip away at the spirit leaving you a lot more vulnerable when you get nearer the finish! The full Marathon starts alongside Lough Inagh and you run North for about 8 miles before taking a right at Kylemore. There are a couple of hills here but they're just getting you acclimatised to what's in store! Another five miles or so and you arrive in Leenane. The three miles or so alongside Killary coming into Leenane was my personal highlight. It's downhill all the way and the scenery is great! Taking a right in Leenane and you start up the Devil's Mother hill (Not the actual mountain itself!) This is approx 1.5 miles and is probably steeper than Hell of the West but generally you're not quite as F*cked at this stage! Another 6 miles or so of undulating road leads you into Maam. Taking the right in this tiny village you cross the bridge and begin to prepare mentally for the 2 miles of hill in front of you. Just get up that Hill somehow and it's 2 miles down into Maam Cross on the far side.
    Easy!

The Best Bits:
    - Scenery.
    - Fellow competitors - Everyone's in the same boat as you for this marathon and much more convivial than most marathons as a result.
    - Getting over the last hill and seeing Maam Cross in the distance.
    - Strutting around the place in front of your friend's who 'only' completed the Half!

The Worst Bit:
    - Having a man twice my age pass me as he's doing the Ultra...depressing or inspiring...not quite sure!
    - Ultra's having to battle their way through people and buses at the start of the full.
    - It was snowing, raining, hail-ing and I still managed to get sunburnt!
    - Having to queue for after the finish for about ten mins when all you want to do is sit/lie/fall down.
    - T Shirt. Halfer's got the same as the Full and ultra's. And the same design as last year!
    - Being totally flaked with 6 miles to go...
    - Only one energy dink station and to be honest didn't taste anything like any commercial drink.

Drinks:
    Water stations every three miles. Could have done with a few extra with 10-12 miles remaining. I know there are issues with limited amount of volunteers so that's fair enough.
    Only one energy drink station. Definitely need anothertwo at least.

Difficulty: 3/5 - I've given belfast as 2/5 and this is a bit more difficult. it's definitely worth it though and the scenery will carry you through most of the mental battles. Two long big hills are reasonably difficult.

Beginners: Perhaps start with the half and move onto the full the following year would be the best approach. All the difficult bits are in the second half so if you can get through that the step up in distance should be manageable.

Top Tip: Don't run for a PB here - You can get this on easier courses. Instead relax, take it handy and soak up the atmosphere/scenery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭corkfella

can anyone give us a review of last years cork marathon please?

The Bulmers 10k takes place this Sunday 11th May in Clonmel at 2pm.

Entry is €10, with a T-Shirt and goody bag for all entries.

Entries open from 11:30 in the High School, Thomas Street, Clonmel and post race refreshments will be here after the race. Chaning facilities and showers will be available at this venue also.

We have a new course this year, moving away from the drab bypass to a more scenic route that starts and finishes in the town, taking in some quite country roads along the way. The finish will be on the main street, O'Connell St.

i can do Cork but I've done a load so it might be better to get someone else to do it, if there isn't a review by tomorow I'll put one up.

thanks amadeus

Doesn't look like anyone else is stepping up so you're stuck with me!

Cork:

One of my favorite marathons. I ran it last year, in the first running for 20 or more years. Despite that it was very, very slick and well organised. For a debut race there were good numbers, swelled by the relay runners. Good atmosphere at the start, really nice vibe about the place. Small enough to be friendly but big enough to be professional, if you know what I mean.

Everyone's first thought about a Cork marathon is the same - the hills!! Be under no illusions, this is a hilly race. Do not go into this thinking it'll be similar to Dublin or Longford, it's not. But nor is it as bad as you might think. There are a few hills on the course but nothing out of teh ordinary until you get about 18 miles in, at which point there is a pig of a hill (just on teh way up to the Guide Dogs building). Nice downhill after that but then a long, very straight flat road, that is quite hard on your head. It's also the only part of teh course where support is a bit sparse.

Support overall is good though and teh start winds around teh city centre a bit so your friends and family can see you a couple of times in the first couple of miles without having to move too far themselves.

The Best Bits:
    - Really good atmosphere
    - Mostly scenic course
    - Well run

The Worst Bits:
    - THAT hill!
    - Being passed by fresh out of teh box relay runners as I slogged up that dam' hill

Difficulty 3/5. I ran a PB on teh day, despite the course and a very hot day. It isn't that tough, but it is more of a challenge than some Irish marathons

Beginners - Again it could be done but if it's your first and you have no ties to Cork then Dublin may be a better choice (flatter, bigger crowd of runners and more supporters). If you do chose Cork as your first though you won't be disappointed and you could make worse decisions

Drinks - Can't remember!

Top Tip:
    Get a route map for your support crew so that they know where they can see you at the start and finish areas, we didn't know that the course doubled back so they missed me

thanks amadeus I'm looking forward to it now...

Drinks - Can't remember!

There are 3 gatorade aid stations along the course and 14 water stations. This year the best water station will be on the Model Farm road where yours truly has just been volunteered to help!

Newry City Marathon:
    I only discovered Newry is a City because of this marathon. Having experienced the place I'm now even more confused because in size it's not a city but instead a town.
    It's a decent spot but to call this the Newry City Marathon is a misnomer as only the first and last miles are in anything you'd constitute an urban area. I hope this doesn't sound like I'm deriding the place as I don't mean to. This was the first running of the Newry Marathon and was such a credit to the organisers in terms of organisation. I can only imagine these guys and gals have had experience in planning other marathons as the day went off excellently. More detail below.

Route:
    The race started outside the Newry Sports Centre, turned right towards the canal and then alongside the canal until we were out of the city. The course took us 13 miles due North along the roadside for most of the journey before returning to Newry via the Canal tow path. From Mile 8 to Mile 13 there were loads of hills, some slight, some steep. none of them lasted for too long but they were still tough. The return leg to Newry was all flat.

The Best Bits:
    - Organisation. Absolutely superb.
    - Making history completing the first Newry marathon
    - Camaraderie amonst all the competitors, most of whom were locals.
    - Loads of water stations along the course which were great in the heat of the second half of the race.
    - Good value for money - Much cheaper than Dublin, Cork or Connemara at only €35!

The Worst Bit:
    - Course was a little boring.
    - Not many people turned out to support the event. Although those that did were a great help!
    - Hills around Poyntzpass were tough and i suffered on the second half. Although this was probably my mistake rather than a fault of the course!

Drinks:
    Pretty much every 2 miles on average I would guess but loads on the way home when you really needed them. High 5 energy gels at two stations also. A couple of stations had homemade energy drinks but they didn't taste much different to water. At least thinking they were energy drinks seemed to offer a placebo effect!

Difficulty: 3/5 - I'm sure there are much tougher courses but again the hills at miles 8-13 really take it out of you for later in the race. Also, the fact there wasn't many people on the course made it psychologically a difficult run.

Beginners: Loads of entrants were first timers so obviosuly it's not one to stay away from. However, I wouldn't really reccommend it to beginners as they would probably get more enjoyment out of Dublin due to supportive crowds and the easier cours. If they tried Newry they might give up marathons afterwards!!

Top Tip: I arrived 25mins before race start and found parking no probs. 5mins walk later and I was at the starting line! Very easy to access.

Just did a bit of a tidy up with an index in the first post. Let me know if you spot any mistakes.

Hey Hunnymonster,

Good move - That index should make it nice n easy to find the race you're looking for in future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Just did a bit of a tidy up with an index in the first post. Let me know if you spot any mistakes.
    Nice work. Mistake:
    Longford link points to Berlin.
    Should be pointing here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=54803648&postcount=6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 kingcharles

hi im thinking of doing the marathon in October, it will be my first marathon, has anyone any advice to give me, is there stll plenty of tiime for serious training??