Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A Playstation 3 or PSP for Xmas?

• 26-11-2007 7:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭

I wanna get my boyfriend something nice for xmas and for the man that has everything i thought that a games console would be a good option?

We're moving house in the summer so i was thinking of a Playstation 3 but i he would have his xmas present 6+ months before he'd get good use out of it (he only has a 14inch tv to play it on if i got it for him now)

So i thought maybe about a PSP but now i'm thinking it'd be silly buying a psp if we'r gonna buy a PS3 when we move into the house...

HELP!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

PS3, all teh way, but it is alot more expensive! Well worth it though! And, not only would he get enjoyment out of it for xmas, but in 6 months when ye move and get a bigger tv, it'll be like a new present all over again!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭dlambirl

It'll work ok on a 14inch TV??

What games are the best? he likes racing games, not a fan of fighing games or soccer, anything else??

Everyone agree about the PS3 Vs PSP??

Ya, it'll work on any tv, as long as it's got a scart connection (the retangle thing at the back with all the slits in it, just in case). Need for Speed Pro Street is th only decent racing game at the moment! Guitar hero 3.

A SCART CONNECTION!!!!???!!! I might just know what that is thanks!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Need for Speed Pro Street is th only decent racing game at the moment!

Is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭steviec

I would have said Formula 1, DiRT, Motorstorm and Sega Rally would all be better racing games than Need for Speed Pro Street.

I was looking at all the above games in smyths yesterday and i cant figure out which one is best??

My boyfriend said he seen a good game advertised on the TV recently that featured Audi A4s and Twin Cams..... does anyone have any idea which game he's on about??

dlambirl wrote: »
    I was looking at all the above games in smyths yesterday and i cant figure out which one is best??

My boyfriend said he seen a good game advertised on the TV recently that featured Audi A4s and Twin Cams..... does anyone have any idea which game he's on about??

dont watch telly anymore since i got my P.C(everything to watch here when i want).... but id guess it was Gran Turismo, cant imagine ads out for other games 1th+ old and its meant to be out soon(hence start of advertising)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 HT2007

Defo PS3 ...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭brav

Haven't seen any GT ads, I think the ad could have been for need for speed pro street,
    the only thing is the game is not that good and you would be better off getting need for speed carbon*** or something as it is very similar.

Also i didn't think GT was out this year, I thought it was middle of next year, and all that was coming out in the mean time was another(bigger version) demo of gt.

***Sorry I can't remember if this was available on PS3, it wasn't great anyway, but I thinkit was need for speed which contained those cars

steviec wrote: »
    I would have said Formula 1, DiRT, Motorstorm and Sega Rally would all be better racing games than Need for Speed Pro Street.

I was thinking more along the lines of normal racing rather than rally or F1. Granted, Motorstorm is a great game, but for regular racing (which i'm sure is what she was referring to) then NFS:PS is good. Yes it is, don't care if ye don't like it.

And it is ProStreet which is being advertised.

Carbon is out on the PS3 but please don't get it, that is a terrible game.

I know it's not the game but the demo for Pro Street is terrible.

It all depends on what you're looking for. As a normal racing game, which nothing to really compare it to (there's no other "normal" racing games out, ie: not rally/f1). Some people seem to like it, some people seem hate it. I'm not one of the latter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

deffo go for the PS3. granted I had a 28" widescreen telly when I got mine, not a 14" one, but it will work and when you do get a big telly to go with it it really is like getting a whole new console.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭armour87

I no I'd want the ps3!

New psp slim(?) out now or in the near future though.

PSP is all good but i hear the loading times are awful

thanks everyone - so everyone was thinkin that the PS3 would be a better xmas present than the PSP........ i thought you's would say that.....:rolleyes:

ITS GONNA BE AN EXPENSIVE XMAS!!

So i need to buy an extra console as well cos hey - i'm after buying it so I WANNA PLAY TO!!

So i may start counting the pennies to get the PS3 and sure i may get a game for him too, which i've decided is gonna be Need for Speed but i want to get two... can anyone recommend another game, preferably not racing and definitely not anything soccer!

Can anyone think of Anything else i need??

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

thanks everyone - so everyone was thinkin that the PS3 would be a better xmas present than the PSP........ i thought you's would say that.....:rolleyes:

ITS GONNA BE AN EXPENSIVE XMAS!!

So i need to buy an extra console as well cos hey - i'm after buying it so I WANNA PLAY TO!!

So i may start counting the pennies to get the PS3 and sure i may get a game for him too, which i've decided is gonna be Need for Speed but i want to get two... can anyone recommend another game, preferably not racing and definitely not anything soccer!

Can anyone think of Anything else i need??

You should probably keep all the questions on one thread, it would save trawling back and forward through them.;)

You'll need an extra controller, the cables should be all in it. If you get a 60GB PS3 you would get a choice of games with it. Heavenly Sword has some great reviews. the 60Gb would allow you access to a massive PS2 catalogue as well, such as Gran Turismo 4, which looks great on the PS3 and is probably the greatest driving game ever. IMHO.

Can you not play the PS2 games on the 40Gb??

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Goodluck finding a 60gb, I believe they are starting to become a bit scarce.

Heavenly Sword isn't even as good as God Of War 2, the sixaxis motion control segments are infuriating and the graphics really aren't quite that good.

Without a HD set to play the PS3 on, buy him a PSP, it's good fun, with lots of decent racers on it, and it can output onto a TV set as well.
    Later in the new year he can pick up a 60gb 2nd hand cheap online, along with a few games, no worries.

And no, no PS2 emulation on the PS3 40gb, better to hang onto the PS2 itself, you get feck all for it on trade anyway.

to be honest, unless you have an extensive PS2 collection, like me, you'll probably never look back at PS2 games, so the PS2 on PS3 question won't really matter.

hmmmm didnt know that - thanks guys!!

I dont wanna get him a PSP and then get a PS3 later on next year - i'm a student and the funds are tight. was just coming around to the idea to shell out €500 for the PS3!!

I'm back to square one now though...

PS3 or PSP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

PS3. I've had a PSP for about a year or more now and it's only collecting dust. Oh and for racing games you might want to consider Ridge Racer, definately one of my favourite racing games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

qz wrote: »
    PS3. I've had a PSP for about a year or more now and it's only collecting dust. Oh and for racing games you might want to consider Ridge Racer, definately one of my favourite racing games.

I'd definitely recommend a PS3 over a PSP as well, my slim & lite has pretty much just gathered dust since September...
    RR7 is a terrible game though, I think that's mostly because I tried to play it after PGR4, so it felt like a gigantic leap backwards in terms of arcade style play.

tman wrote: »
    I'd definitely recommend a PS3 over a PSP as well, my slim & lite has pretty much just gathered dust since September...
    RR7 is a terrible game though, I think that's mostly because I tried to play it after PGR4, so it felt like a gigantic leap backwards in terms of arcade style play.

I suppose for me it was a giant leap forward after being hooked on it on the PSP!

But yes, OP, Project Gotham Racing would be the one game you'd have to get your boyfriend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭mathias

PS3. I've had a PSP for about a year or more now and it's only collecting dust.

same here , the battery life is brutal , not even worth travelling with the thing , its a fad for a while and then it ends up in a drawer and forgotten about.

PS3 on the other hand as well as being a games console is a CD player , photo player , blu ray player ,upscaling DVD player , etc etc , it will be used , more than worth the extra bucks.

mathias wrote: »
    same here , the battery life is brutal , not even worth travelling with the thing , its a fad for a while and then it ends up in a drawer and forgotten about.

PS3 on the other hand as well as being a games console is a CD player , photo player , blu ray player ,upscaling DVD player , etc etc , it will be used , more than worth the extra bucks.

i have to agree with you, thats what i thought about thr PSP that it would be a fad for a while and then forgotten about. As we're moving into our own house in a few months i cant imagine him sitting on the sofa playing a PSP... and as you said the PS3 is much more then a games console!!

Its just really expensive for a poor ickle student like me!! but gonna have to scrape the pennies together somewhere.

Anyone know of good deals/bundles??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

just try and make sure you can find the 60gb version, it's the best value, i'm sure one of the lads here will be able to tell you where there's good deals going.

whats the advantages of the 60gb over the 40gb?

Bigger hdd space, PS2 emulation on most games, extra USB ports, memory card readers.

PS3. I've had a PSP for about a year or more now and it's only collecting dust.

I only really use mine now to stream media from the PS3 which is a really cool use for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Zonda999

I suppose for me it was a giant leap forward after being hooked on it on the PSP!

But yes, OP, Project Gotham Racing would be the one game you'd have to get your boyfriend.

Didnt know they made pgr for ps3?????I'D be very interested in buying that!!! that is a great game even if it is on "THE ENEMY CONSOLE"

Zonda999 wrote: »
    Didnt know they made pgr for ps3?????I'D be very interested in buying that!!! that is a great game even if it is on "THE ENEMY CONSOLE"

Yeah it's only on the 360. I'm a retard etc. etc. :o

Also what makes you sure he will want a Playstation? (I certainly would not complain if my gf bought me one)
    Just it is a lot of money, and he may prefer an xbox 360 or wii(good luck finding one).

Does he have a ps2?

On the xbox you would have the added option of picking up Forza 2/PGR 4 now, but you would not be able to pick up Gran Turismo next year.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

brav wrote: »
    Also what makes you sure he will want a Playstation? (I certainly would not complain if my gf bought me one)
    Just it is a lot of money, and he may prefer an xbox 360 or wii(good luck finding one).

Does he have a ps2?

On the xbox you would have the added option of picking up Forza 2/PGR 4 now, but you would not be able to pick up Gran Turismo next year.
    I meant to suggest the X-Box myself as well, seeing as he doesn't seem to have a console history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

whiterebel wrote: »
    I meant to suggest the X-Box myself as well, seeing as he doesn't seem to have a console history.

Aye, might as well throw my oar in and recommend the 360 as well.
    My PS3 is gathering dust at the moment, but I'm having trouble finding enough time to play my 360

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Patrickof

My 2 cents is not to go for the 60G version, the 40G version is fine. Particularly as:

1. he hasn't a PS2 so won't have PS2 games lying around to use on it
    2. you can swap the hard drive quite easily later on for a 250G one
    3. get a €15 memory card reader and plug it into the usb port when you need it
    4. 2 x USB should be sufficient

Just my opinion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 546 ✭✭✭Froot

Avoid the PSP, it isn't worth spending money on.

I would recommend buying him a Nintendo DS Lite if you want to get him something small.

The PS3 is good but expensive. It is worth buying for the long term but for the immediate future an xbox360 is a better purchase.

summary: PSP = crap, PS3 = hard to justify that kind of money for the little is has on show at the moment.

I know he wants some sort of games console as he said that'll be one of the first things we will buy when we move into the house...

I was picking the PS3 over the XBOX as the PS3 has the blu ray player which i thought would be nice to watch the blu rays in the new house......

Was i wrong to rule out the XBOX so quick??

TBH, I have 2 hd screens and a projector, most people who view hd movies find it hard to the difference with normal dvds(obviously I can tell the differnce)

Both xbox 360 and PS3 do a good job of upscaling as do most tv's nowadays so this means your dvds will look really good on the new tv.
    Also at a later date you could get the HD dvd add on for the xbox 360.

However the PS3 is still a good buy, just a bit more expensive than the xbox 360 and with slightly less games and with a slightly lackluster online games

Was i wrong to rule out the XBOX so quick??

Yep.

Granted the PS3 is more of a 'entertainment centre' but if ur bf is a big gamer I'd go for the xbox

Thats what my gf is getting me :D:D:D

no my BF wouldnt be a massive gamer.

I know the PS3 hasnt as great of a selection of games as the XBOX but they will in the coming months wont they??

I thought the blu ray movies were meant to look deadly on a HD telly??

Does the XBOX 360 play normal dvds? the PS3 doesnt isnt that right?

NOW I'm in a pickle.........its no longer PS3 or PSP its PS3 or XBOX now!!!

O dear god no, not a pickle!

Xbox plays DVDS and will play HD-DVDs with sum xtra that costs like €180

I thought the ps3 did play normal DVDs.

Can never be sure about this but some say blu-ray is dead before it even takes off.
    Apparently major studios in the US are scrapping it already in favor of HD.

But that doesnt solve ur problem...

The price difference might tho!

Im sure he would just as happy with either

Does the XBOX 360 play normal dvds? the PS3 doesnt isnt that right?

The PS3 will of course play normal DVD's , and whats more , if you have a HD TV it will upscale them , and its one of the best on the market for the money , at the next round of SW updates its due to get Divx compatibility as well. ( something the 360 will never get as Divx has been a sore point with Microsoft since its birth )

Also , most people can easily tell the difference between a normal DVD and HD content , or blu ray in the case of the ps3 , Every single person Ive shown it to has noticed the difference straight away , anyone that says different has never seen HD and only read about it.

Someone said to me that the playstation doesnt play usual DVDs just blu rays?? they must of being taking sh*te then!!

I dont know which to get now, yes the XBOX is cheaper but is it the best?? Like when we move into our new house it'l get alot more use and i dont want to get him something that will be "out of date" in a couple of months/ a year.

Does anyone know how much approx is the XBOX or PS3, i havent started to look yet!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

Do any of his mates have a console? It might be worth getting their opinion. A mate of mine got a console from his missus. He didn't have the heart to tell her he was more interested in another one. He ended up getting the other one anyway as a few of us all have the same model and it's great for playing against each other.

On the other hand the PS3 Blu Ray is handy for you to watch High Def movies but you'll see no difference on a 14" TV so if you're definitely not going to upgrade the TV for 6 months that's not much of a deciding factor.

Also have a look at the games yourself. A games console can take your boyfriend away for days at a time. That might be a good thing for you though :) If there are a few games you're interested in then both of you can play together on many games (again the 14" TV might make it squashy though).

no, none of his mates have either a PS3 or an XBOX 360.

I also doubt that either console will take him away from days at a time!

Well , if it was my money it would be the PS3 ,

Its more versatile , the games are coming thick and fast , and it will probably still be working When you shell out for a HDTV , which by the way , can be had for 500 euro at the moment and will probably go down about 20% after christmas.

Both consoles can be had for 399 or thereabouts , the 360 had many variations , but the cheapest core system is not worth thinking about , and the only one really worth thinking about at all is the Elite , as this has the inherent xbox overheating problem " allegedly" fixed , the xbox has a truly massive failure rate at the moment , over 30% die within the first six months , and your looking at about a month to have it repaired , they are very badly made.

mathias wrote: »
    Well , if it was my money it would be the PS3 ,

Its more versatile , the games are coming thick and fast , and it will probably still be working When you shell out for a HDTV , which by the way , can be had for 500 euro at the moment and will probably go down about 20% after christmas.

Both consoles can be had for 399 or thereabouts , the 360 had many variations , but the cheapest core system is not worth thinking about , and the only one really worth thinking about at all is the Elite , as this has the inherent xbox overheating problem " allegedly" fixed , the xbox has a truly massive failure rate at the moment , over 30% die within the first six months , and your looking at about a month to have it repaired , they are very badly made.

Playstation 3 it is so!!!

Good woman, i knew you'd make the right decision. Your man is so lucky!

So, to finalise. PS3:
    • Savage Cabbage games console
    • Decent games are coming
    • Blu-Ray which is by no means dieing, it's only being born, and there is a hooj difference between normal def and HD
    • CD player
    • DVD player (upscaling included)
    • And maybe someday it'll boil your kettle for ya (must be a bluetooth kettle with PS3 compatablity)

now...... anyone know wheres the best place to buy it?

Good price for the console itself or good value bundle sets?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭hanton12

well my 2 cents worth would be for an xbox.

have a look at this thread for a link to other threads discussing both consoles.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055183385

For making the arguement balanced so you know where I'm coming from, I myself have an xbox, and dont own a playstation. I have played the PS3 very few times, so obviously take what I'm saying as more biased towards an xbox.

I have it now over a year and a half. It hasnt broken, and hasnt shown signs of breaking (whats the bets it'll break now?!) I play online with lots of my friends (about 7/8 of my friends also have one) and there are some really good games available now for it. I dont have an HD DVD add on, as I dont really think it necessary, but do watch normal DVDs on it regularily.

I dont actually know anyone personally who has a PS3, so it suits me to own an xbox. I know some with wiis alright, but it didnt interest me, and I'm not flush with cash either.

A lot of the arguments people give for buying a PS3 is that it will be great next year. I dont get that. Why buy something now, for when it will be good in a few months time as the price will be also down when it will apparently start being of great value. Far more games for xbox now, and great quality.

xbox is also a lot cheaper, in bundle packs, you will get a much better pack and more extras (controller, maybe one game more, but as I said, games would be better) and there could be anything over €100 in the difference. To play online on xbox costs €60 per year, but you can find this on ebay for about €30. Online on PS3 is free, but the quality of it is poor.

Probably doesnt help your decison, but I'd probably try suss out what your boyfriend would prefer. If he'd prefer one over the other then it'd be better get that one, or else it could be a big dust collection!

best of luck to you and fair play on making such an effort to get your partner a great present.