Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Should cannibas be legalised????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

but buying it supports drug dealers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

but if it was legalised you wouldn't have to buy it off a drug dealer.....

I'm all for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

hmmm, I'm going out on a limb here, but I'm assuming this thread is going to go round in circles with endless points being made and ignored (in particular the old favourite "But alchohol and tobacco are legal" whine) . Then loads of links of reports for and against the idea until finally people just get bored and move on to a thread about masturbation.

But maybe, just maybe, this'll be the thread to prove me wrong and break the mould.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

but buying it supports drug dealers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

but if it was legalised you wouldn't have to buy it off a drug dealer.....

I'm all for it

But someone who sells drug is, by definition a drug dealer[/pedantic] :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

humanji wrote: »
    hmmm, I'm going out on a limb here, but I'm assuming this thread is going to go round in circles with endless points being made and ignored (in particular the old favourite "But alchohol and tobacco are legal" whine) . Then loads of links of reports for and against the idea until finally people just get bored and move on to a thread about masturbation.

But maybe, just maybe, this'll be the thread to prove me wrong and break the mould.

Isnt that the whole point of After hours, maybee someone might learn somthin from one of the links and a good debate never hurt anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Yes, it's win/win for everybody involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If only!

Then I wouldn't be stuck at home without any tonight :(

less money for dealers, more money for government, happy people everywhere, who sees a bad side to this??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Catchy-Monkey

Maybe they could run it on a trail basis, few coffee shops to start. Although they tried it in London and apprently it failed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,772 ✭✭✭✭fits

No, unless everything else is.

I dont believe its harmless.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,426 Mod ✭✭✭✭slade_x

After all, thousands of people smoke the stuff, it dosnt really do any harm and it has massive advantages for the elderly and people in pain.
    the tabacco in a spliff does you more harm than a bit of whacky backy.
    Wahts your opinion??

smoking it while your brain is still maturing is suspected to alter your brains development, your brain reaches maturity @ in your early twenties.

After a point where we know with absolute certainy that such drugs wont affect your development then i dont give a crap what people choose to put into their bodies in the adulthood and i dont mean 18, more like 21 at least

there is a huge regret over legalising tobacco and alcohol, the legalisation of any other gateway drug will never happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Good God no, the country would fall to rack and ruin within a fortnight with young scallywags robbing grannys to go and buy a bud, aged crusty stoners running naked through the streets, A&E units filled to overflow with people waiting on rubber rooms for their newfound mental disorders, pizza restaurants unable to find staff to deal with a 500% rise in order volume and a nationwide shortage of cigarette papers.

Much better to just keep it the way it is now; I'm actually getting to like smoking fibreglass, bitumen and old socks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

If they ever brought it to a vote in the country i would certainly vote no. But i never liked the stuff :p Spoil sport numero uno!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭angelsfire

Well I for one think it's a damn good idea. For one thing you don't hear of fights breaking out with a bunch of people stoned on pot. Send pot to Iraq and the war will be over. Love not war go hand in hand with pot. ie the 70's for example. No drug dealers hanging out on the corners selling pot. plus the government could tax it and more money for all the countries. As someone said earlier, is good for you if you have cancer or stomache problems. Lot's of good reasons to smoke it and not all medical ones. Dammit, it's just fun! :D

People kill and rob people now to get the stuff, don't think there would be much difference if it were legal or not on that front!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Catchy-Monkey

No substance is harmless, you can take it or not, I'm pro-cho
    ice.

Wertz wrote: »
    Good God no, the country would fall to rack and ruin within a fortnight with young scallywags robbing grannys to go and buy a bud, aged crusty stoners running naked through the streets, A&E units filled to overflow with people waiting on rubber rooms for their newfound mental disorders, pizza restaurants unable to find staff to deal with a 500% rise in order volume and a nationwide shortage of cigarette papers.

Much better to just keep it the way it is now; I'm actually getting to like smoking fibreglass, bitumen and old socks...

LOL very funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

You would think from this thread

a- No users are addicted

b- Nobody steals money to buy hash

c- Nobody stoned is ever violent

I cant even be arsed arguing why the above three are a load of cock. What is this, hash thread 5342 by now?

Angelsfire- can you tell me exactly where in Dublin you have seen hash dealers hang out on street corners slangin dem hash rocks like on The Wire? It would be handy to know during the next drought :confused:

Irish drug dealers are lazy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Not this crap again. Legalise it ffs. I'm tired of this argument. We need a tourism boost and this would push the metro cafe's that were proposed a year ago through.

Well actually I am not in Dublin, I live in Cork now but am from the States!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Where's the poll?

I think the people that are rigidly stuck to the opinion that cannabis shouldn't be legalised just, just because, are in the minority at this stage. When you explain out the benefits of legalisation and get people out of the misconception that cannabis is a killer drug that turns everyone into crazed drug addicts.

This is still what allot of people thing about weed.
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=UFTck49skCk

There's an even better one where a guy gets really worked up (like he's on speed) and makes a girl play the piano faster and faster then he jumps out the window.

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=plhNah3PDZE&feature=related

Real facts and research have forced the anti cannabis brigade to backtrack from propaganda like this although they regularly revert back to this stupid over exaggerations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

The funny thing is a lot of guards let people smoke it anyway. They'll arrest someone who has a large amount but there'd be no reason for those large amounts if it was legalised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

People kill and rob people now to get the stuff, don't think there would be much difference if it were legal or not on that front
    I think you're confusing weed with crack.

Here's an interesting chart (complied by The Lancet, not by some quacks) ranking drugs by dependence and harm: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/77/20drugs.gif Apparently tobacco is more addictive than speed, methadone or barbiturates...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭ryanairzer

We should totally legalise heroin and see what happens.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

It worked out ok in Switzerland, junkies who repeatedly failed rehab can get a prescription, so long as they only use in a special injection room of the chemist's. Cut down on the whole violence thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

humanji wrote: »

:D Ye of little faith.
    I'm confident AH will reach a conclusive answer on the cannabis debate this time. :p
    No on second thoughts you're right...it couldn't possibly result in anything but bitter squabbling and ignoring of posts.

TBH it's not harmless though.. links to psychosis etc.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

tech77 wrote: »
    TBH it's not harmless though.. links to psychosis etc.

Linkage??

TBH I think it would work out well for the country. look at people in the dam and even some parts of canada where its legal, you never hear of them going nuts because of cannibas!!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I tried marjuana once

Killed 7 people

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

|Cookies wrote: »
    we've grown up with the laws, so if we change them, it will cause more trouble in the shortterm, while the other countries have had it for ages so their grand now.

But still its not the short term that this needs to be sorted in, everything that the laws have to issue are for the benifit in the long term of this country.

I doubt it would get bad, if they are all stoned they will be mellow, in my opinion I would say that it will then decrease alot of the crime figures here in terms of more tax generated for policing and less dealers on the streets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

Linkage??

Here, here and here.

Not necessarily arguing against legalisation, just saying it ain't harmless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭pocketac3s

I'm all for it. Free choice all the way. If implemented properly, the benefits far outweigh the consequences. Just because something is legal, doesn't mean you have to do it. Not only will it cut out the criminal element but the massive tax boost could be put into educating younger people about the drug and changing attitude to substances (alcohol included) that Irish people have.

Do kids these days get drug education? I'm only 21 but I can't remember been told about drugs in either primary or secondary school - apart from the whole "drugs are bad, don't do drugs, because drugs are bad". The fact of the matter is, the drug policy at the moment just doesn't work - there has allways been drugs in society, and there allways will be drugs in society - Some people need to realise that throwing millions of squids at this problem will never eliminate it - we're much better off managing it.

argh - rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭boss^is^dead

haha I dont think legalizing smoke would be the best idea this government ever came out with. we'd have a nation of 20y/o paranoid delinquents in a few years.it's just not right no matter what way you look at it.It's not socially friendly in its own way,even though its painted up to be "cool". I mean Im a 21 year old musician/3d animator/metal enthusiast and I've had my fair share of all things legal and illegal over the years,but allowing people to get stoned 24/7 would be an absolute disaster. The irish have already displayed their inability to control drink and the problems it creates.Allowing another drug into the micture is not the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,046 ✭✭✭democrates

If I were a drug pusher and one of my main sources of income dissappeared due to legalisation of cannabis, I'd be forced to put more effort into pushing harder drugs to younger customers in order to make a living.

I tried marjuana once

Killed 7 people
    Jesus Christ!! Maybe we should rethink this thing. I mean 7 people! I only killed 2... and a horse, but that doesn't really count does it?

democrates wrote: »
    If I were a drug pusher and one of my main sources of income dissappeared due to legalisation of cannabis, I'd be forced to put more effort into pushing harder drugs to younger customers in order to make a living.

Well maybe we should legalise all drugs? People take them anyway - they always have and always will. I'm not saying give drug dealers carte blanche - I'm talking about creating the heaviest regulated industry in the country. Sold only through Government outlets, only to people over 18, only to people that were educated in the effects these substances can have, and a trillion other rules if needs be.

I've a friend (or had a friend, he's not the same anymore) who developed schizophrenia through what I believe was a combination of drugs and unrelated family matters. I guarantee you that his drug dealer didn't offer him counselling when he began to develop his early symptoms. I guarantee you he didn't fully comprehend the interactions the chemicals he took could have on his brain. And I can also guarantee that his drug dealer didn't ask him for ID when he was looking for something. The result of the way things are at the moment is that my friend is effectively a wasted life (that's a horrible thing to say, but he has nothing anymore)

Obviously these debates will go around in circles, because the two sides are dug deep in their camps - and it's nigh impossible to change someones beliefs. My opinion on this subject is radical to some people, and I understand some people might even be sickened by what I'm saying - and I'm almost certain that some reform this big won't happen in our lifetimes - but its good to talk :rolleyes:

So I wonder, given that the anti-drug side has never won a battle in "the war on drugs" (struck some blows yes, but never a battle) and that the current approach obviously doesn't work - what do people see as a viable solution to the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,941 ✭✭✭pclancy

Im totally for legalising...but it wont happen.

I dont think Ireland is ready to legalise as 80% of its people dont know what it really is, its effects or links to other drugs. In theory if it was done like Holland it would work fine here but I wonder then are we responsible enough! Look how high our drink and drug intake levels are allready compared to the rest of the world...

One thing i do believe now is people should be made aware of how dangerous it is to drive after a few smokes. IMO its as bad as driving when drunk, not in the same reckless streak drink drivers get but its just as dangerous reactionwise and should be clamped down on. I treat smoking hash the same as I do drinking, I dont drive after indulgeng.

I don't know i think Ireland could be close to the brink. We're a fairly well informed bunch, at the very least we like to keep up with the current news it's been mentioned enough in the media to get peoples interests peaked and the amount of threads that keep popping up here (and going onto many, many pages) show that it is a topic that comes up on a regular basis. With so many hidden smokers around the country the good news is spreading.

we're a small, fairly liberal, in a way country. If anyone's mad enough to try it, it's us.

pocketac3s wrote: »
    Well maybe we should legalise all drugs? People take them anyway - they always have and always will. I'm not saying give drug dealers carte blanche - I'm talking about creating the heaviest regulated industry in the country. Sold only through Government outlets, only to people over 18, only to people that were educated in the effects these substances can have, and a trillion other rules if needs be.

I've a friend (or had a friend, he's not the same anymore) who developed schizophrenia through what I believe was a combination of drugs and unrelated family matters. I guarantee you that his drug dealer didn't offer him counselling when he began to develop his early symptoms. I guarantee you he didn't fully comprehend the interactions the chemicals he took could have on his brain. And I can also guarantee that his drug dealer didn't ask him for ID when he was looking for something. The result of the way things are at the moment is that my friend is effectively a wasted life (that's a horrible thing to say, but he has nothing anymore)

Obviously these debates will go around in circles, because the two sides are dug deep in their camps - and it's nigh impossible to change someones beliefs. My opinion on this subject is radical to some people, and I understand some people might even be sickened by what I'm saying - and I'm almost certain that some reform this big won't happen in our lifetimes - but its good to talk :rolleyes:

So I wonder, given that the anti-drug side has never won a battle in "the war on drugs" (struck some blows yes, but never a battle) and that the current approach obviously doesn't work - what do people see as a viable solution to the problem?
    Grand, well let the fallen sue the state for supplying them with sh1t that hurt them. meanwhile, I the poor auld pusher have to push meth and crack-cocaine to 8 year olds to keep myself in heroin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

ryanairzer wrote: »
    We should totally legalise heroin and see what happens.
    Not much I reckon, apart from current junkies having a better quality of life and money being taken out of criminals' hands. There's far too much of a stigma against heroin for simply legalising it to make much difference in terms of usage.
    allowing people to get stoned 24/7 would be an absolute disaster.
    But they wouldn't be stoned 24/7.....

Anyway, I've decided that don't support the exclusive legalisation of cannabis. IMO it's not any more "soft" than any other drug. All or nothing tbh.

Grand, well let the fallen sue the state for supplying them with sh1t that hurt them. meanwhile, I the poor auld pusher have to push meth and crack-cocaine to 8 year olds to keep myself in heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

"If alcohol or tobacco were discovered tomorrow they would be illegal" < That was in my LC Chemistry book :eek:. Anyway on topic, I don't think it would happen, the general publics perception of drugs has negative conotations and a vote would be a landslide victory for the anti drugs crew. Incidentally I detest the ganja myself but I don't mind others using it (That aren't my family or close friends)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭psilocybe

So why restrict it? We are adults, aren't we?
    The Misuse of Drugs act at the moment is a ****ing joke. Do you know the act is identical to the UK MoD Act?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭psilocybe

nvm

pocketac3s wrote: »
    I didn't step up to be an omnipotent instant solution provider, just pointing out the danger of setting up a legalisation v drug technology race.

cson wrote: »
    "If alcohol or tobacco were discovered tomorrow they would be illegal" < That was in my LC Chemistry book :eek:. Anyway on topic, I don't think it would happen, the general publics perception of drugs has negative conotations and a vote would be a landslide victory for the anti drugs crew. Incidentally I detest the ganja myself but I don't mind others using it (That aren't my family or close friends)
    As a middle ground man where would you stand in the vote, yes or no? For legalization.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

If your happiness depends on the amount of a burned herb that you can inhale, and it does so to the extent that you are willing to risk prison for it, you have a problem. Not to mention that that's probably one of the saddest things I've ever heard.

I didn't step up to be an omnipotent instant solution provider, just pointing out the danger of setting up a legalisation v drug technology race.

I understand that, sure if you where in government you'd be able to pay a few doctors to come up with a solution for you - and blame them if it didn't work out! The problems will be there either way, legal or not, I just think its logical to have a certain degree of control over them through legalisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

people don't sue the state because they got lung cancer or liver disease. Why would they sue if they were harmed by cannabis?

all they'd have to do is put a warning on the pack.

and you don't think that dealers are pushing them on 8 year olds already? I'm for legalising everything. Why would someone buy something off a filthy scumbag on the street if they could go to a shop and buy it at government subsidised prices? Or even free for addicts. Programs worldwide have shown that supplying heroin to addicts in controlled doses can allow them to become productive members of society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭Dakeyras

i haven't read any of the preceding bollox but the answer is

yes

if i have to explain why to you then you aren't worth explaining it to, no really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

ScumLord wrote: »
    Where's the poll?

I think the people that are rigidly stuck to the opinion that cannabis shouldn't be legalised just, just because, are in the minority at this stage. When you explain out the benefits of legalisation and get people out of the misconception that cannabis is a killer drug that turns everyone into crazed drug addicts.

This is still what allot of people thing about weed.
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=UFTck49skCk

The video is somewhat cheesy but half true. There are a great many people who would get violent if their supply of hash was interrupted. Its no coincidence that there was an upsurge of violence in Mountjoy (at least one murder, maybe two) in summer 2006 in the height of the hash drought.