Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Are you ok?" by shop assistants...impolite?

• 18-11-2007 6:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 984 ✭✭✭

Is it considered bad manners for shop assistants to say to customers that walk in "Are you ok?" instead of "May I help you?"?

cozmik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Are you ok??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

Sh1t thread

Archimedes wrote: »
    Sh1t thread

[Simon Cowell]

Bit rude.

[/Simon Cowell]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Watcha want?

"do I look like I have a problem?" :confused:

English not first language.....???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

that is so annoying

if I need help I'll come to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭pirelli

A quickpick please....No! yeah that one,
    Did you say yeah, sir
    Oh I did sorry I meant yes!
    That a syringe sir.
    No its a hyperdermic needle.
    Bus drivers are real pricks some times especially the 45a

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

No it's not rude, I say it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

I find that leaving them alone for a while so they can have a look around and then if they look interested in anything asking if they "need any help there?" is better than "ARE YOU OK THERE, LIKE, OR WHAT? HEY?"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

phasers wrote: »
    that is so annoying

You get fired if you're not seen saying it often enough. You've obviously never worked in retail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

If you don't see a problem with it you've obviously never shopped in retail :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭MoominPapa

"Sorry" instead of "excuse me" p!sses me off more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

We had to say it all the time or we'd be sent off to the box crusher *shudders*

Anyway one day one of the lads asked this old man who occasionally came into the shop for a browse if he was ok. He proceeded to list all his ailments and present him, then me with a spoken word autobiography.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Brethitmanhart

i don't get the point of this thread, the employees have to say it and there's nothing wrong with it....unless you just want to waste time looking about the place in which you say, "I'm fine, thanks!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,063 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

As pointed out, if you work in retail you have to ask it. As Bard said I'll leave people alone to have a browse around and ask them if their OK after a few minutes.
    I hate when an assistant comes up to me as soon as I walk into a shop. If I want help I'll indicate that I want to ask them something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,739 ✭✭✭Naos

I generally don't mind being asked the first time, but when you are harrassed a couple of times after replying "I'm grand thanks", it really annoys me.

Especially those who start asking you questions the moment you pick something up, or help you find a size when you are flicking through the rail.

I have worked in retail and understand the situation. My old boss was a nightmare for it, badgering me to badger customers when it was clear they didn't need help.

I always preferred the "Hey how are you?" "Grand" "Well if you need any help just give me a call".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 831 ✭✭✭Laslo

I don't mind being asked how I am or being told that if I need help, to let them know. I do have a serious problem with being harassed though. It seems to happen mainly in men's clothes shops. There are several in Dublin that I don't go into because of the overbearing staff. I don't like being followed around the shop and being told what would look good on me or what's 'really nice' - I can figure that one out for myself and in my own time, thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Isn't the point the expression "Are you OK?" is actually impolite rather than the fact they approach.
    I would say it is in the same way saying "What?" is to "Pardon?".

The classic overheard in Dublin

Mother asks son the time but does hear her so says "Huh?"
    the mother gets angry and say "it isn't "huh?" it's "Wha?""

I am more tolerant with customer service workers now as many don't have English as their first language but is still annoys me to hear somebody who has English as a first language unable to speak it. You can pretty much tell how bright somebody is by their use of language.

Many people don't know when they are being impolite more so than actively being rude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 990 ✭✭✭galactus

Manny: (As businessman enters store) I bet I can recommend and sell a book to this bloke here.

Bernard: Tenner.

Manny: You're on.
    (Manny approaches businessman customer)

Manny: Hello...

Businessman: (Bellowing) Will you leave me alone I'm sick and tired of being hounded by salesmen in shops! I'm browsing, all right?! Browsing! At the end of it I might buy something, I might not - but you will not influence me one iota! Not one jot! Now I've finished with you, YOU MAY GO!!

Manny: (To Bernard) Best of three?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

Kipperhell wrote: »
    The classic overheard in Dublin

Mother asks son the time but does hear her so says "Huh?"
    the mother gets angry and say "it isn't "huh?" it's "Wha?""

My mam would do something like that - she'd yell out my name from downstairs and when I replied "What?" she'd say "It's not 'what' it's 'I beg your pardon'" to which I'd reply that I'd heard her and just wanted to know what she feckin wanted.

On topic: "Are you ok?" is just a ridiculous thing to ask someone in shop and assistants should instead ask "May I help you?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

Daddio wrote: »
    We had to say it all the time or we'd be sent off to the box crusher *shudders*

Anyway one day one of the lads asked this old man who occasionally came into the shop for a browse if he was ok. He proceeded to list all his ailments and present him, then me with a spoken word autobiography.

i hate when that happens, i ask someone are there any curtains that they want and i get a story through the ages of their house and everything that has ever happened in their life

This is getting a bit petty, moaning about the choice of words.

Let us not turn into America, who use the "How can I help you?" to portray their position of power over yours of weakness.

I don't care how someone asks me, I care when they hang around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,064 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

It's annoying when queueing in a shop to hear "are y'ok"!

What's wrong with "next please" or "are you being served"?

The assistant in my local Chinese take-away says "you OK" as I'm entering!

I feel like saying "give me a chance to get in the fucking door - I'll be at the counter in another second" :rolleyes:

........but of course I'm too polite to say that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭bytesize

eo980 wrote: »
    As pointed out, if you work in retail you have to ask it. As Bard said I'll leave people alone to have a browse around and ask them if their OK after a few minutes.
    I hate when an assistant comes up to me as soon as I walk into a shop. If I want help I'll indicate that I want to ask them something.
    phasers wrote: »
    that is so annoying

Never shop in China then. You won't be able to take it. Trust me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

bytesize wrote: »
    Never shop in China then. You won't be able to take it. Trust me!!

Tip to shopping in China - wear earphones :) Only take them off when you want to inquire about something.

I find that in general most Irish shop assistants let you do your thing. Much more pleasant when there's less pressure on you to buy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

Mear wrote: »
    This is getting a bit petty, moaning about the choice of words.

Let us not turn into America, who use the "How can I help you?" to portray their position of power over yours of weakness.

I don't care how someone asks me, I care when they hang around you.

The point seems to be do you find the phrase impolite so it hasn't been reduced to choice of words it is about whether they are polite or not.

It seems to bother you just as much as you seem to think " how can I help you " as a position of power from a shop assistant. Which is to my ears a position of servitude as the shop assistant is offering their service to aid the the other more senior person.

In short the words used are important and you think it is too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Come to Ireland: Where everyone has so little to worry about, they get uppity about the choice of wording by shop assistants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,257 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

When you go inyo a newly-opened shop, you are accosted by about ten members of staff in quick-succession, when all you want to do is see what's on offer. Same shop, 6 months later, there's never anybody around when you want to ask a question. Harvey Norman?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭dame

Mear wrote: »
    I always preferred the "Hey how are you?" "Grand" "Well if you need any help just give me a call".

Something along those lines is acceptable to me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

<unnamed Irish company> have just hired "Active Floor Sellers" for the Christmas season, so expect to be pestered big time. I work there and i've just been through the training. Its a big faux-pas to ask if someone is "ok". There are 6 phrases (can't remember all of them right now), but you're meant to;

- initialise by asking casually if you can help with something
    - if someone is looking at something, ask them if they need info, is it a gift, who's it for, etc, and augment the info around it,
    - push the sale from the start by saying things like "you'll need a memory card too, which is..." and talking as if you've already bought it (this works!)

Its pretty interesting to sit in on, its like hypnotism for dummies. BUT - its our job to ask you, we know you don't like it, but in all honesty, out of 10 people you ask, 8 actually appreciate any info you give them. Imagine explaining what the difference between a DS and a PSP is to a mammy and why their precious would want either more - its a hard job being a parent at Christmas!

EDIT: I don't want to seem like we enjoy it; we don't. It can be enjoyable, you can have the craic with customers and its nice when you do make a sale and the customer feels like they've learned something - but we're not shoving digital cameras into your hands. If you're looking at it - we'll try help you decide. I've never heard anyone actually push someone to a sale (course you're sposed to, its bad business not to). Personally, I just give the info and let them decide. Like I said, parents have it hard enough at Christmas.

Kipperhell wrote: »
    The point seems to be do you find the phrase impolite so it hasn't been reduced to choice of words it is about whether they are polite or not.

It seems to bother you just as much as you seem to think " how can I help you " as a position of power from a shop assistant. Which is to my ears a position of servitude as the shop assistant is offering their service to aid the the other more senior person.

In short the words used are important and you think it is too.

Kipper, I have never said it bothered me that they were in a position of power. I said thats the American attitude towards it. As I have already said, I don't care how they say it to me, within reason, just so long as they dont hang around me like flies.
    zuutroy wrote: »
    Come to Ireland: Where everyone has so little to worry about, they get uppity about the choice of wording by shop assistants.

Agreed.
    dame wrote: »
    Something along those lines is acceptable to me too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

daiixi wrote: »
    On topic: "Are you ok?" is just a ridiculous thing to ask someone in shop and assistants should instead ask "May I help you?".

if you're wandering around the shop looking at a section of wall slightly miffed, "are you ok?" is fine IMO.

"may i help you?" is more polite but for the most part, sounds a bit noncey.

does it matter anyway? most of the time my reaction is an automatic "no thanks". except when in pc world or something, where you have to go looking for staff because they're never around when you want them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭mcauley

The assistant in my local Chinese take-away says "you OK" as I'm entering!

Chinese Takeaway / Brothel? Nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

tbh if I want assistance I'll stand there aimlessly, trying to catch your eye... when our eyes meet, my eyebrows will raise momentarily and my head will tilt slightly upwards... then and only then should you approach me and ask if I'm ok.
    If my eyes are fixed on the shelf infront of me and my brow is furrowed, then I've got an internal dialog going which sould not be interrupted.
    If I've just walked in the door, then I'm going to try this shopping thing on my own for a while first.
    Really, how hard is that?

I don't mind how they phrase it as long as they slink away quietly afterwards.

Actually, I'd love to go shopping with Seven of Nine... she could be so assertive and belittling to these overbearing sales types.
    "We do not require your... "assistance"... at this time. Return to your station or I shall register a complaint with your superiors."
    "Your attempt at a pressure-sale has failed... friendly banter is irrelevant."
    *sighs*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Actually, I'd love to go shopping with Seven of Nine... she could be so assertive and belittling to these overbearing sales types.
    "We do not require your... "assistance"... at this time. Return to your station or I shall register a complaint with your superiors."
    "Your attempt at a pressure-sale has failed... friendly banter is irrelevant."
    *sighs*

Jaysus thats nerdy. Fun, granted, but Christ... I feel like I need to watch UFC or boxing after that :D

Proxy wrote: »
    <unnamed Irish company> have just hired "Active Floor Sellers" for the Christmas season, so expect to be pestered big time. I work there and i've just been through the training. Its a big faux-pas to ask if someone is "ok". There are 6 phrases (can't remember all of them right now), but you're meant to;

- initialise by asking casually if you can help with something
    - if someone is looking at something, ask them if they need info, is it a gift, who's it for, etc, and augment the info around it,
    - push the sale from the start by saying things like "you'll need a memory card too, which is..." and talking as if you've already bought it (this works!)

Its pretty interesting to sit in on, its like hypnotism for dummies. BUT - its our job to ask you, we know you don't like it, but in all honesty, out of 10 people you ask, 8 actually appreciate any info you give them. Imagine explaining what the difference between a DS and a PSP is to a mammy and why their precious would want either more - its a hard job being a parent at Christmas!

EDIT: I don't want to seem like we enjoy it; we don't. It can be enjoyable, you can have the craic with customers and its nice when you do make a sale and the customer feels like they've learned something - but we're not shoving digital cameras into your hands. If you're looking at it - we'll try help you decide. I've never heard anyone actually push someone to a sale (course you're sposed to, its bad business not to). Personally, I just give the info and let them decide. Like I said, parents have it hard enough at Christmas.

So what's the official line on this policy then? Are you saying that you're just there to give advice or that you are actually supposed to be pressurising customers into a sale? Anyone that even thinks about trying the hard sell with me can watch me stroll right out of their store, wallet firmly sealed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭Rossibaby

we were made say it in my last 2 jobs...annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

It seems retail management think one way works and retail customers think the other way works.

I guess it is an element of both and sometimes pestering a customer will in fact make them buy that 48" Plasma TV or that Laptop they've been looing at.

I guess this makes it work from a retail management point of view.

I do feel like punching people in shops though.

Next time someone asks you are you alright or whatever variation just say "pardon?" and then see how many times you can get them to repeat themself. My record is 9. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

Genius idea. I'll be trying that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I don't mind it a whole lot because it is unavoidabe in pretty much any American shop as soon as you set one foot inside the door.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ruu wrote: »
    I don't mind it a whole lot because it is unavoidabe in pretty much any American shop as soon as you set one foot inside the door.:)
    Yeah. It's not as bad as those people who ring you and try to sell you stuff. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Hey telemarketers have feelings too. :(

Ruu wrote: »

'HEY, NO PANTS - NO SERVICE RUU, YOU KNOW THE RULES.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭ian_m

I am the one who usually has to ask for things before being offered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭Lands Leaving

But telemarketers you can hang up on. People in shops keep at you till you crack and try out something you dont want or need

• Closed Accounts Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Dubit10

I usually just tell them to go away and i'll call them if i want them:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,144 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Proxy wrote: »
    Jaysus thats nerdy. Fun, granted, but Christ... I feel like I need to watch UFC or boxing after that :D
    You don't feel like watching Star Trek?! :confused::p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭mp3guy

Anyone reading this thread who doesn't like being approached this way in a shop should ask to talk to the manager and let them know. Don't single out a member of staff, because you might have them lose their job for doing what their boss said, but let the manager know you don't like being asked things, and insist that this is forwarded to the "head office" or something. If enough people complain about it, the policy could be changed, making things easier for you and for the staff (no one likes doing it).

mp3guy wrote: »
    Anyone reading this thread who doesn't like being approached this way in a shop should ask to talk to the manager and let them know. Don't single out a member of staff, because you might have them lose their job for doing what their boss said, but let the manager know you don't like being asked things, and insist that this is forwarded to the "head office" or something. If enough people complain about it, the policy could be changed, making things easier for you and for the staff (no one likes doing it).

Don't do it then. If I was asked to compromise my integrity to do a job, I would not take that job. Don't expect pity just because you don't like doing something to someone. Just don't do it. :rolleyes:

We are usually badgered by management sometimes to badger customers about if they're alright.

Usually if I see a customer looking slightly miffed or lost, I walk up to them and ask them if they are alright. I'd never walk up to someone if they seem alright, as I'd hate it if someone did the same to me.