Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pending customs inspection.

• 15-11-2007 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭

Tracking my Star AW338 its and the tracking system
    now says "pending customs inspection".

Does this mean its been seized ?

For my part I have paid extra money for the retailer to modify
    the product to conform to Irish Customs/law fireing under 1j
    and I have asked them to include a note to say it fires under 1j

Should I be worried now?
    Should I call cusoms now?
    and if so can someone PM me numbers.
    What should I say to them so if so without aggravating anyone.
    This is the most expensive thing I have bought in months I cannot
    afford to be out of pocket for this.

I dont want to end up like the lad with the M14

Also wondering whats up with all the airsoft stuff all of a sudden
    getting hit with customs!!!! it seems a bit Odd.

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

It doesn't mean it's seized, it's just a random check. Half of the AEG's I've bought have gone into customs first. As long as it's under 1 joule it'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Should be fine, relax and think of how jealous i'm gona be when you finally get it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

Normally just means the parcel is in the system waiting for them to just okey it into the country but they have gone home for the day :) i have had this before when they have questioned the customs declaration normally the value on it and may ask for a copy if the invoice.

Where did you order it from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

In all the years I have ordered stuff off the web I have
    (and thats a hell of a lot) never had any customs
    issues thankfully. Kinda get real tense when its a gun shaped object
    compared to the usual books/CD's and computer games.

fingers crossed! I had hoped to get package fine and have pics posted
    before I am back to work. (had taken the week off work to wait for this package
    as its important and also to take care of a sick girlfriend who was in under the knife)

~B

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

a tad ott, but I thought the title of this thread was 'pending condom inspection'.

I was wondering wtf that was doing in airsoft/paintball

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Mordeth: ya dirty minded fecker ;)

bullets: wouldnt be too concerned, obviously once it's under 1 joule you're grand, but also they could just be charging vat on yours, my m249 got stopped by TNT and the tracking was something like Exception - Held By Customs, when i rang first i was told missing documentation, then they put me through to customs and they just said nah, we just wanna let you know there's xxx euro charge on it and to have the money ready on delivery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

bullets wrote: »
    Kinda get real tense when its a gun shaped object
    compared to the usual books/CD's and computer games.

You read and play games too!?! :eek:

Where do you find the time? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭johnser

Let us know how it goes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭H.O.T.A.S.

Who are you sending it by?

Hong Kong Speedpost is the carrier.
    (expensive feckers too)

Oh and if NakedDex is reading Redwolf have this back in stock!
    got an email from them a while ago as I had made a stock query.

~B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Crave

I find hong kong speedpost excellent though. Package leaves friday and arrives in Ireland on monday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Crave wrote: »
    I find hong kong speedpost excellent though. Package leaves friday and arrives in Ireland on monday!

And sits in a depo for a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

Yeah,
    I think they are checking a good bit of stuff because of Euro v Dollar, but if you ordered it in Europe I would be surprised, but as you say, gun shaped object could have "triggered" a response.

I have gotten stung a few times (about a third of the time) when ordering photography stuff from the states. Even so still way cheaper then buying here.
    "Life is like a box of chocolates, you nivir no what yur gonna git." :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

They dont check every package but everyonce in a while they check them you will get it soon enough dont worry about it.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

When the x-ray shows the shape of a gun, they check it, least they should:(

Meanwhile, My Mp7 is still being held:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

When the x-ray shows the shape of a gun, they check it, least they should:(

Meanwhile, My Mp7 is still being held:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

An MP7 is another buy I want to make too and I will want a good one.
    Have you heard nothing back at all from Customs?

I was going to ring them Monday as soon as I get the number to ring
    dunno if its one number for the entire of the country and if I do ring
    will they be able to check while I am on the phone about my package.

178.34 USD shipping and everything grinds to a stand still as
    soon as it hits little ol Ireland. Plus the fact this purchse spooked visa
    and my card is locked down do I can do squat at the moment.

I dont mind if I get hit with taxes etc or know everything will be ok and they are fair.
    More of a concern is that I paid 55 USD for the retailer to downgrade to to ensure it was modified to fire under 1j so I hope they actually did that
    and everything is OK.

Wondering the downgrade was a service it was not a product that I bought
    wondering can you get taxed on that too.

~B

Nope, and supposedly they're all in the park for garda confimation. Think they probably got spooked when a UPS worker handed a huge batch in.

And the thing is, we can call and complain all we want but it'll do shi* all really.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

lethal ,have you been on to customs about your mp7,
    been a long time ,the guys who m14 wasnt that long waiting to be tested and destroyed,

Doubt theres any point. They seem to be in the Garda HQ in the park. We could call them but...will they listen to me? Technically it is 100% legal but there is no limit on the time they can take before they release it. Maybe I'll get it before I'm 50....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

must have money to burn then, has anybody been on to you to say its in G HQ ,cant seen a mp7 being over 1j, man you want to chase that up for all you know its been adopted by somebody giving it a new home,even thought you paid for it

Couldnt make it 1J even if i wanted to. Its only around 240 260 ish. Its a whole batch of gear for diff people that they are holding.

I would try and get in contact with them, last time a parcel i had to this kind of time to clear customs it was because they sent out a letter in the post to request a copy of the invoice, i got the letter 2 weeks after the parcel got into the country. Redwolf is one of the company's I've never ordered from so i have no idea what they do with invoices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭16airassualt

ive just recived a notice on mailtracker saying pending custom inspection aswell,has anybody else ever had this notice come up??il go mental if they send it to the park because its an agm m14,which states its under a joule on the box and its sold on irish websites!!!

They dont like skinheads:p

my mammy says i look lovley

Shes the only one:D

No, we cant do this. KD will get angry.

kd awnsers to me,he doesnt want to get locked in that cupboard again.but seriousley what u think will happen to my order?

well its its the weekend so i would say it come into the country been pused along as far as customs but no ones about to process it, welll normal what seems to happen when you get something coming in at the weekends

thanks i might be able to sleep a bit sounder 2nite now knowing that

kd awnsers to me,he doesnt want to get locked in that cupboard again.but seriousley what u think will happen to my order?

yea... whatever your on there spoon

kdouglas wrote: »
    yea... whatever your on there spoon

That chap....dunno why paul lets him in....

look who's talking

Just cause Gizmoden says I should be barred doesn't mean i should.:p

they keep me around because im good lookin...havent got a clue why your still round,last time i saw someone who looked like that was a gypsy in a burn ward

This is not the place as I said above.

wot did keith say about trying to moderate??dont do it

has anybody ever recived anything back that has been confiscated and tested in the phionix park???

wot did keith say about trying to moderate??dont do it

i also said dont be a dick aswell, stop being a tool

has anybody ever recived anything back that has been confiscated and tested in the phionix park???

Thats something I would love to know too!

Package I am waiting now says "in Transit" and that was
    after the pending customs inspection. Dont know if that
    means the delivery guy will come looking for on the spot money
    for taxes or not before he hands it over.

~B

I've heard nothing. Might write to the park today.

Thats something I would love to know too!

Package I am waiting now says "in Transit" and that was
    after the pending customs inspection. Dont know if that
    means the delivery guy will come looking for on the spot money
    for taxes or not before he hands it over.

means you should get it on Monday, if they had a problem it would stay as 'pending customs inspection' so enjoy your stuff when it turns up :)

mine said in transit before it said pending custom inspection,wot does that mean??its an agm m14,does anyone know wether it gives the fps on the box and if so is it over or under??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

mine said in transit before it said pending custom inspection,wot does that mean??its an agm m14,does anyone know wether it gives the fps on the box and if so is it over or under??

FPS on the box says 100 m/s. They were all under that, hence being sold by Irish retailers. However, I've come across one recently that was hot.

I wouldn't imagine you've anything to worry about though - when there's a problem, the tracking info changes to "Held by Customs" - pending inspection is simply their way of telling you're going to be paying duty.

And for the record, I deserve brownie points for not pointing out that if you knew Irish retailers were selling them, maybe you should have bought Irish and supported the Irish Airsoft community, and avoiding risking a seizure or duty ;)

u were all out of stock!!think u il be up hrta the weekend so i can buy that sa80 ive wanted 4 ages!!its been like a game of cat nd mouse every weekend ur there im at home,vice versa

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

u were all out of stock!!think u il be up hrta the weekend so i can buy that sa80 ive wanted 4 ages!!its been like a game of cat nd mouse every weekend ur there im at home,vice versa

LOL...probably wont be there next weekend either, but I will the following.
    Probably just as well anyway...I'm out of stock of them again :)

I have some on the way though.

right il be der that weekend,insted on paying in money can i pay in meanies,wispas and a wheel off a hotwheels truck?:D

In transit is when its between depots/services. Nothing to worry about. When its says held by outside brokerage ect. all is lost.

nice one i feel a bit better now,wot did mail tracker say when ur gun got seized??any news on getting it back??

As i said above, no. Mine was UPS and they said: Package held by outside brokerage or something very similar to that.

id recomend getting on to the park soon,gards have a certain habit of making confiscated items go missing...who do you think has the biggest firework displays in my estate every year???