Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Most Annoying Pundit

• 14-11-2007 4:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 48

For me it's a toss up between Tommy Lyons and Joe Brolly. Lyons, simply because he rarely seems to know what he's on about - some of the points he was making after the Leinster final this year were nuts - "Laois will be happy today!!" "Dublin overplayed the ball too much" - and yet he couldn't find the proper clip to back up his point!!
    I know every sports team need a Dunphy/Hook, when we had Spillane I was delighted, Brolly just talks petty crap. I know he wants to be controversial with some of the things he says but alot of it is just spiteful. Doesn't matter what you personally think of a player (i.e Galvin), keep to the match, no need for name calling.
    I'm pretty sure Galvin got really upset over that stuff, suppose he'll just have to win another AI!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Brolly. No one else even gets close to getting on my tits like that guy :mad:

Spillane..meh, he's from a different era :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Kerry On Tour

BROLLY BROLLY BROLLY!!! I think McStay talks an utter amount of sh!te as a commentator, seems to have a hard on for the dubs. Absolutely loves them. Ya Lyons is kinda the Frank Stapleton of the Gaa pundit world. Wrapping himself in confusion with his statements!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Colm O'Rourke! :mad:

It's probably just his anti-Dublinness (I swear it's a word! ;) ) but I just don't like him. Tends to talk a fair bit of crap aswell and loves to get in his little snide remarks.

Pat Spillane, on the other hand, is a legend. Well he used to be anyway.

An Citeog wrote: »
    Colm O'Rourke! :mad:

It's probably just his anti-Dublinness (I swear it's a word! ;) ) but I just don't like him. Tends to talk a fair bit of crap aswell and loves to get in his little snide remarks.

Pat Spillane, on the other hand, is a legend. Well he used to be anyway.

I think O'Rourke is one of the best of them actually. Spots things that the others wouldn't see if it slapped them on the face. But yes, he does NOT like you the boys in blue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

In fairness to O Rourke,this year he wasn't quite as bad this year but two things annoy me.

"The Dubs are glorious failures" and a comment he made about Dublin v Kerry in the League "A full strength unimpressive Dublin team were beaten by an impressive half strength Kerry team".

First quote is ridiculous as its paradoxical.Second quote,Kerry can win an All Ireland with their subs bench so who is O Rourke to have a dig.We lost to the All Ireland Champions twice this year by two points.I don't think we're too far away from Kerry.

Oh how I wish I could quote him to his face and replace the words Dublin with Meath and Kerry with Cork.Then he'd know who are "glorious failures".

Although I admit I like how he reads a game and analyses it when he's being fair.Joe Brolly tried to upset Conor Mortimer this year only for Joe to be shot down on reply by Mortimer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 davmi

McStay is the worst by a long way! Think Tohill is the best, with O'Rourke second, I like the way he's honest about Meath football, and in particular doesn't hype his own son up. some fathers wouldn't shut up about their sons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 holymolyHS

Much preferred Spillane when he was on the other side of the presenters seat. The torture on his face at half time of the AI semi in 03 between tyrone and Kerry was a joy to behold!! But he called it like he saw it, which is much better than some.
    I don't mind O'Rourke, I think the reason he gets the boot in on the Dubs the odd time is that he would be expecting better from them.
    Blackbelt - what did Mortimer say in response to Brolly?

I like Tohill aswell.

It's just those snide remarks by O'Rourke about the Dublin fans that annoy me. We're all scum, snort coke on the Hill and turn up when it suits us! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Ugh yeah it has to be Brolly. I can never quite identify what it is about that horrible little man that makes me want to tear my eyeballs oit and eat them. Hateful hateful little troll.

holymolyHS wrote: »
    Blackbelt - what did Mortimer say in response to Brolly?

Not much, he just brushed it off.
    Mortimer hits back at ’disrespectful’ Brolly
    26 July 2007

Mayo star Conor Mortimer has described criticism levelled against him by RTE pundit Joe Brolly as ’disrespectful’.

Brolly lambasted the 2006 All-Star in the wake of Mayo’s All-Ireland qualifier defeat to Derry, claiming that he was “no good anyway” and that Michael McGoldrick had put him “in his pocket and fed him on farts”.

Mortimer hit back by saying: “It’s disrespectful, especially coming from a so-called GAA person.

“But the only opinions that really matter to me are from people close to me and genuine Mayo football supporters. Joe Brolly’s opinions don’t register with me to be honest.

“I accept he’s there to do a job but he hasn’t annoyed me personally.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I actually like Brolly and I'm from kerry. Spillane was way better as analysing than as a host where he's really shackled. I think Brolly and Spillane were brilliant when they were analysing together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭cruiserweight

Kevin McStay and Pete Finnerty really annoy me. Brolly and O'Rourke have been named a few times, I find them quite entertaining.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭scaramanga

i really enjoyed spillane when he used be upseting everyone:D
    think brolly is a pr*ck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Tableman

McStay without a doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Most Annoying Pundit

For me this a is no-brainer, it has to be Tommy Lyons. At times he just doesn't seem to know what the hell he's on about, and neither do the rest of us. It's amusing to see the way Tohill looks at him sometimes, with a sort of bemused/confused look on his face. Tohill himself is pretty good.

Brolly would be better if he stuck to analysing the game and left personal agendas out of it. His biggest fault is his lack of respect and almost disdainful attitude towards the weaker counties (you'd swear Derry had won 20 All-Irelands themselves!!) He also loves Tyrone, a bit strange for a Derryman. Far too biased to be a good pundit/analyst.

Good ones:

Tohill, Carney, Duignan, O'Grady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Most Annoying Pundit

For me this a is no-brainer, it has to be Tommy Lyons.

Completely agree, cant stand him. Dont know why they let him on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭D. Coughlan

Has to be Joe Brolly, he knows NOTHING!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I agree with most here regarding Lyons.

However I can't see where people are coming from with Tohill. He is being paid to be a pundit and give us his opinion. I recall early last year he was asked on the Sunday game for a winner of the AI. It was like getting blood out of a stone. Jeez thats what he getting paid for.

Think O'Rourke is the best of them. Don't mind Brolly or McStay. Bernard Flynn was on a few times last year and I found him to be quite good. I've heard Martin Carney (radio and tv) and he comes across well enough too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭shiibata

Lyons goes round in circles alright, he even picked us to win all-ireland(donegal), thats how bad he is..Cannot stomach spillane, hate brolly, tohill honest and direct..met flynn on a flight from spain last year, was a sound fellow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭EoimarMuppet

Lads ye are all wrong! The worst BY A MILE is Paul.........zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Curran....sorry. Dozed off there just saying.....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..his name.....zzzzzzzzz
    yaawwwnnnn...............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭JMULL

Has to be McStay. At least you can laugh at how stupid Brolly is laughing about his own jokes which are not even funny. Spillane in fairness can be funny. You can turn down the sound on Paul Curran but Mcstay i find hard to look at and listen to. Heard him one year tipping a team to win a match on the sunday game and then tipped the other team to win it in his local newspaper article. Trys to look and sound important. He is so negitive. Cant even praise his own club or any of its players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

Paul Curran reminds me of the boring priest in Fr Ted. His name was Fr Stone iirc . :) I agree with all those who find Lyons, and Brolly annoying though. Smug pundit of the year award has to go to Brolly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭EoimarMuppet

As the saying goes lets called a spade a spade, now, replace spade with prick, and you have it in one for Brolly!
    If your not from Kerry Tyrone or Armagh then your just another also ran with high hopes to keep us all amused till one of the big boys decides its time to cut loose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

McStay is crap. Reminds a bit of a GAA version of Andy Gray.

I like Brolly. He's a wind up merchant. Good craic.

Yer man from Meath a bit of a plonker Bernard dunno.

Think Carney would be the best of them. He only talks about football and you would never hear him insulting any county. He can criticise with insulting.

Carney is the most objective pundit there is.

Can't stand Lyons.Curran is boring and I fully agree with that Fr Stone sentiment.I thought that too myself.

I never pay too much heed to McStay and what he says.99% of the time he is wrong anyway.Always goes with Galway in a Connaught Final if Mayo and Galway squeeze past their matches.

Brolly just loves smiling amd talking to his shoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Lads ye are all wrong! The worst BY A MILE is Paul.........zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Curran....sorry. Dozed off there just saying.....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..his name.....zzzzzzzzz
    yaawwwnnnn...............

Jaysus Liam, slagging one of your own, never thought I'd see the day.
    If your not from Kerry Tyrone or Armagh then your just another also ran with high hopes to keep us all amused till one of the big boys decides its time to cut loose.

That's the problem with Brolly. Everything is Tyrone Armagh Tyrone Armagh and a splash of obligatory Kerry. It's as though traditional powers like Dublin, Galway and Meath have become minnows overnight who should now bow to their Ulster masters.

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Jaysus Liam, slagging one of your own, never thought I'd see the day.

That's the problem with Brolly. Everything is Tyrone Armagh Tyrone Armagh and a splash of obligatory Kerry. It's as though traditional powers like Dublin, Galway and Meath have become minnows overnight who should now bow to their Ulster masters.

Hit the nail on the head. I have a copy of half time last year in the quarter final between Kerry V Armagh. Spillane after his comments at half time in 02 said "Well lads I suppose its time to eat humble pie". Brolly after that should have eaten humble pie while wiping the egg of his face, instead he insults the personality and profession of one of the Kerry players. Thinks that Ulster is all thats great about football and none of the others deserve a mention!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Tomthepost

Used to hate Brolly but in fairness himself and O Rourke make a good team.
    Bernard Flynn is the emerging star I feel as he is quite straight talking. I love the way Spillane wrecks Lyons head. I'd say they hate each other. Tohill sits on the fence a bit too much, O'Cinnede a bit too serious and Tony Davis excellent.
    In hurling Cyril 'as such' is a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭threebeards

As a Mayo man I have to agree with all those who say that McStay is sh1te. Martin Carney is in my opinion the most balanced and informed there is and although I don't know him very well, any time I've been in his company he comes across exactly the same way and a genuinely nice guy.

Mcstay is gone to Kosovo, as if they didnt have enough problems. We should all lobby Dermot Ahern to bring him home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

Have to say I'm very, very surprised at the railing of McStay here. I personally think he's an excellent analyst. He makes valid points and unlike what one person said he's usually quite positive. Maybe he's sometimes hard on his own county but it's hard to blame him as they're such a crowd of underperformers.

That arsehole Spillane should never be allowed near a TV or panel or radio or football pitch for that matter. Will say ABSOLUTELY ANYTHING in order to get a reaction. He just wants to be the Dunphy of GAA punditry, as that's a surefire way of making plenty of dosh.

I like Tony Davis and O'Rourke (I've forgiven him for his "eat my hat" Dooher remarks). Overall O'Rourke has the perfect balance of shrewd objective analysis and humour.

megadodge wrote: »

That arsehole Spillane should never be allowed near a TV or panel or radio or football pitch for that matter. Will say ABSOLUTELY ANYTHING in order to get a reaction. He just wants to be the Dunphy of GAA punditry, as that's a surefire way of making plenty of dosh.

You would miss him if he was gone!! From the North by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Mr. Bones

I see a few here have gone for Carney as the best pundit - I can't stand the guy. The sound of his voice grates, but worst of all is the way every third word out of his mouth is "again". He might be making perfectly valid points about the game, but i just can't listen to him.
    Don't mind Brolly or O'Rourke, but I think Michael Lyster is the weak point, doesn't direct the analysis like say O'Herlihy in the soccer - whoever's on pundit duty is allowed move from one topic to another without really discussing each topic fully. McStay i like as well, i think just for the enthusiasm he shows when he on co-commentating duty.

In general I think the hurling pundits are way better. Michael Duignan is class when co-commentating, no guff, if he sees something off the ball he won't ignore it. Finnerty and Farrell are good too, and Anthony daly is really growing into the role.

Agree too that Spillane was much better on the other side of the studio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Hurling wise T Mulcahy is a prick, Finnerty is a dozy dude . These guys just avoid controversy. Jim Carney is the worst commentator by far

You would miss him if he was gone!! From the North by any chance?

I'm from the West and if I never saw or heard of the prick again I'd be a happy man.

The myth that a controversial pundit is 'honest' is one that makes me puke. Spillane (like Dunphy) is like the local pub 'expert' who comes out with one piece of crap after another, knowing that in this country anyway if you say something negative or even insulting you're regarded as being knowledgable and a character whereas the positive person is seen as naive.

Spillane is pathetic either side of the mike.

I'm from the West and if I never saw or heard of the prick again I'd be a happy man.

The myth that a controversial pundit is 'honest' is one that makes me puke. Spillane (like Dunphy) is like the local pub 'expert' who comes out with one piece of crap after another, knowing that in this country anyway if you say something negative or even insulting you're regarded as being knowledgable and a character whereas the positive person is seen as naive.

Pub Expert?? 8 All Irelands, team of the millenuium. . . . quite the expansion on your average pub expert!

Spillane makes the game a bit of fun which is what sport and GAA in particular should be all about. He doesn't always get it wrong either. Megadodge you are a very bitter man like alot of people in the west.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭JayoCluxton

While Spillane's record as a player cannot be questioned I have never liked him as a pundit or as chair.

I don't find him particularly fair a lot of the time - ie it seems that if the game is not played as HE sees it, then it's not right! I think he can be smarmy and condescending and especially smug - but then I suppose he's a Kerryman and he is entitled to be!

As I said as a player he had few peers - but just as many great players don't make good managers, there's no guarantee they make good analysts either!

While Spillane's record as a player cannot be questioned I have never liked him as a pundit or as chair.

I don't find him particularly fair a lot of the time - ie it seems that if the game is not played as HE sees it, then it's not right! I think he can be smarmy and condescending and especially smug - but then I suppose he's a Kerryman and he is entitled to be!

As I said as a player he had few peers - but just as many great players don't make good managers, there's no guarantee they make good analysts either!

I actually agree with much of what your saying Jayo. I don't like him in the chair myself and he can be 'smarmy, condescending and smug'
    However he does know quite a bit about football and he likes to see the game played the right way (like he played it himself!)

Yes and any game that isn't played the way he likes is puke football.:D

Pub Expert?? 8 All Irelands, team of the millenuium. . . . quite the expansion on your average pub expert!

Pat Spillane the player is not under discussion here, it's Pat Spillane the pundit !
    Spillane makes the game a bit of fun which is what sport and GAA in particular should be all about. He doesn't always get it wrong either. Megadodge you are a very bitter man like alot of people in the west.

If you look at any of my posts you'll realise I'm quite positive and optimistic. Even in this thread I'm the one defending Kevin McStay (I'm not from Mayo either) when others have bewilderingly said he's negative and I also mention those I like, again being positive about them. I only criticise ONE pundit based on the highly insulting comments he regularly made about honest decent players and that makes me "a very bitter man like alot of people in the west" ???

If anything your generalisation of an entire segment of the country suggests a certain amount of bitterness. Note how I didn't claim a lot of Kerry people are pricks. It's just Spillane I dislike.
    However he does know quite a bit about football and he likes to see the game played the right way (like he played it himself!)

I personally have no interest in seeing people rolling around the ground pretending to be mortally wounded in the hope of getting someone sent off.
    Pat Spillane was the first GAA player (by a good 10 years at least) I noticed at that crap and people old enough to remember him playing always associate him with that form of cheating. I have noticed he never comments on the increasing amount of playacting going on - I wonder why ?

Pat Spillane the player is not under discussion here, it's Pat Spillane the pundit !

If you look at any of my posts you'll realise I'm quite positive and optimistic. Even in this thread I'm the one defending Kevin McStay (I'm not from Mayo either) when others have bewilderingly said he's negative and I also mention those I like, again being positive about them. I only criticise ONE pundit based on the highly insulting comments he regularly made about honest decent players and that makes me "a very bitter man like alot of people in the west" ???

If anything your generalisation of an entire segment of the country suggests a certain amount of bitterness. Note how I didn't claim a lot of Kerry people are pricks. It's just Spillane I dislike.

I personally have no interest in seeing people rolling around the ground pretending to be mortally wounded in the hope of getting someone sent off.
    Pat Spillane was the first GAA player (by a good 10 years at least) I noticed at that crap and people old enough to remember him playing always associate him with that form of cheating. I have noticed he never comments on the increasing amount of playacting going on - I wonder why ?

Pat Spillane never personally insulted any player unlike another pundit last year who questioned a players profession and called him a "corner boy". Pat Spillane going down feigning injury????????? Played in '81 & '82 with his knee practically hanging off so I don't know what you are talking about!

Pat Spillane never personally insulted any player

So the statment that his granny would be better than any of the Armagh full back line at half-time in the 2002 final doesn't count ?

And as for his sheer bitterness and anger when launching his pathetic "puke football" tirade at an entire team who had the temerity to beat Kerry doesn't count either ?
    Pat Spillane going down feigning injury????????? .... so I don't know what you are talking about!

You certainly don't !!
    Ask anybody of above a certain age in County Roscommon about Pat Spillane feigning injury and you'll get an instant reply.

I'm dead serious. Ask them.

The most miraculous recovery ever !! Even Michael O Heihir commented on it in the commentary.

I do remember Spillane rolling around a bit but as Kerryontour says his knee was in bits for the last few years of his career.
    Anyway Megadodge as you rightly pointed out before another stinging attack on a great GAA man 'we are not discussing Pat Spillane the player'
    Personally I don't like alot of pundits but I respect them for what they achieved in the game. You obviously have no respect whatsoever for Spillane. Ironically if you understood the man at all you would realise that it is from people like you that he gets his kicks.
    My comments on the west by the way were what you said 'a complete generalisation' but I stand by them.
    Alot of people in the west of Ireland and perhaps with some justification feel that when it comes to jobs, roads, rugby etc they are forgotten about when the boys in the big smoke are making decisions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Guys, please keep on topic here. This thread is about pundits and their ability in that particular role. It has nothing to do with what Pat Spillane did as a player.

You obviously have no respect whatsoever for Spillane.

Correct.
    Ironically if you understood the man at all you would realise that it is from people like you that he gets his kicks.

Reminds me of the shock jock in America, Howard Stern. Those who DIDN'T like him spent more time listening to him than those who did !! I'm well aware that Spillane knows this and comments accordingly, with the full encouragment of RTE no doubt. It's all about ratings !!

I know up in Tyrone Spillane got a number of bookings for Dinner Dances after his "puke football" speech. If I was going to attend and I heard they were lining his pockets I would refuse to go and demand a refund.

He won't earn a penny from me, but you're right in general, I've often heard people say after a match "I wonder what that bollox Spillane will say about that tonight" and they'll then tune in to listen to him. Unlike them, I switch over the channel when he comes on - same with Dunphy.
    He's laughing all the way to the bank though !

Correct.

Reminds me of the shock jock in America, Howard Stern. Those who DIDN'T like him spent more time listening to him than those who did !! I'm well aware that Spillane knows this and comments accordingly, with the full encouragment of RTE no doubt. It's all about ratings !!

I know up in Tyrone Spillane got a number of bookings for Dinner Dances after his "puke football" speech. If I was going to attend and I heard they were lining his pockets I would refuse to go and demand a refund.

He won't earn a penny from me, but you're right in general, I've often heard people say after a match "I wonder what that bollox Spillane will say about that tonight" and they'll then tune in to listen to him. Unlike them, I switch over the channel when he comes on - same with Dunphy.
    He's laughing all the way to the bank though !

In his defence and unlike Dunphy I think it is fair to say that Spillane always holds his hands up when wrong.
    I just wonder how you can comment on this thread at all if you don't watch the Sunday Game :confused:

I was referring to when he was a pundit. No point listening to him.

Tomthepost wrote: »
    In his defence and unlike Dunphy I think it is fair to say that Spillane always holds his hands up when wrong.
    I just wonder how you can comment on this thread at all if you don't watch the Sunday Game :confused:

Agree. After he made the comment at half time in 2002 when Kerry really were tearing them apart and making them look foolish, he said at full time "it's time to eat humble pie. Armagh have done magnificently and deserve their win"; something along those lines.

Dunphy said years ago that Ronaldo is useless and still wont accept that he is one of the best players in the game. Big difference.

Also Spillane had his own footballing ability and achievements to wave in front of people when he lambasted standards of football in matches whereas dunphy was about as useful at soccer as bin laden would be as a rabbi