Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tokyo Marui FAMAS SV discussion

• 15-11-2006 10:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,917 ✭✭✭

Yea will take a while to break it in. A few BB's fall out when I change the magazine usually. You'll be out of bb's in no time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Cool gun, Did ya consider getting a red-dot site for it .Itl look cool and might help wih the aiming probs to. O ya itl look cooler and probably be better than Oisin's ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Anyone know what the story is with...

(a) at the bottom of the visible part of the barrel... Not the muzzle, but the part closest to the body of the gun... there's a button that you can press, and something that appears to be turnable. Does it take off the barrel or somethin?

(b) at the rate of fire switch, between the S and F, there's a tiny button that you can press in. What does that do?

(c) under the carrier handle thing, there's the mechanism that in the real gun I presume cocks the gun. But there's something in front of that too, that can be spun left or right. What's that?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,604 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

hey man, nice review!

the bbs falling out happens with every AEG ive seen. so you've nothing to be worried about. its a little annoying alright.

the burning smell is normal too. i got that two days ago and freaked out. just dont dry fire the gun at all if you dont have to. try and do burst fire with full auto rather then using semi auto all the time. as this can wear the gun out a bit.

as far as aiming goes. heh, something that took me a while to figure out is this. you know the tiny pin hole you have to aim through? seems impossible to see things right? the front and back of this sight flip down! the hole has three settings. i keep mine on the largest. dont really need any smaller. i took the middle flip up grenade sight off. was just annoying me

(a) at the bottom of the visible part of the barrel... Not the muzzle, but the part closest to the body of the gun... there's a button that you can press, and something that appears to be turnable. Does it take off the barrel or somethin?

i think i know what you're talking about. is this at the front sight? if its what i think it is, its for lining up the front sight straight. i think :D the other buttons beside the cocking lever are there for show

Master of the Universe

DaveMcG wrote:
    Anyone know what the story is with...
    es it take off the barrel or somethin?

(b) at the rate of fire switch, between the S and F, there's a tiny button that you can press in. What does that do?

Thanks!

this decompresses the spring after you've used it in full auto. makes the spring last longer. its a feature unique to this gun. i think its only on one other Marui model. generally if people want to decompress the spring after auto, they have to fire a shot on semi. we on the other hand have a nice little button ;)

Master of the Universe

and scope, i dont need no red dot to aim :P i dont even need the sight on my gun. just point and fire. ooh ****, three posts in a row. woops!

oh and dave, just one more thing. when you're finished shooting, empty out all your mags. this preserves the springs and makes them work better for longer.

and i'm glad you like it! we can be team Famas :D

and scope, i dont need no red dot to aim :P i dont even need the sight on my gun. just point and fire. ooh ****, three posts in a row. woops!
    1000 rounds a minute or something crazy isnt it *shudders* i suppose ya dont need it.
    I dont remeber seeing a red dot on a famas actually, id imagine it would look very ehh different but still very cool ;)

Master of the Universe

well i was actually commenting on my excellent aim ;)

i dont plan on hosing anyone. i think thats a bit mean perhaps.

although, you DID pistol whip me...

Is it sick that I was hugging the gun a second ago? :D

Me and my brother shot each other once and I was incapacitated... I don't wanna play with fully auto :( Can't we just play on semi? From 50 feet away?

?

Get back to me on that ¬_¬

Ill do it again if i dont find some propane soon :confused: Yaargg

clothes make a world of a difference i hardly noticed a few hits from close range when i had a heavyish jacket on. Believe me itl help alot

O yes and semi is perfectly fine by me ;) *strokes shoty*

Master of the Universe

might just point out the fact once again that i've been shot in the face with the Famas at about 10 feet. it stung a little bit but wasnt too bad. the bruise on my face for a week pissed me off majorly though :D

and no man, i bought a gun with full auto for a reason!!! if i cant shoot you lot with it, who can i shoot?!

alright then that means I'm not gonna be taking it easy on yiz, alright? :D

ahh I wanna have a feckin skirmish NOW!

What happend you Oisin i tought u were all about the accuracy tisk tisk :rolleyes: .
    Fair enough load-up yer highcaps switch em over 2 fullauto and lets get this thing up and runnin *pumps shoty* :p

What happend you Oisin i tought u were all about the accuracy tisk tisk :rolleyes: .
    Fair enough load-up yer highcaps switch em over 2 fullauto and lets get this thing up and runnin *pumps shoty* :p
    Have ye got volunteered to be on the receiving end of a blast from your shotty? Or are ye just savin them for others? :p ie. wussing out ;) lol

Agony?

Ill have ya know Ive been hit by my own guns :p . Its the god damned calf shots that hurt ,man that smarts,but their bareable . The best is when i went up 2 my mates house in the country and we took it in turns useing each ther as targets [with a mask of course] with horrible wind and at about 100 feet their was 1 full shoty blast that hit me in the mask it felt class as 3 BB's hit similtaneously (spelling?) alot of power behind that shot :D

lol :D

I think I'm gonna test out my goggles tomorrow by putting them on the ground and shooting them. It's probably best to find out now whether or not they work, rather than during a skirmish, when they shatter into smithereens and I'm left blinded! :eek:

sound plan alright.

Master of the Universe

what kinda goggles you got?

a found a pic of the ones i have. a mate got a few pairs in work.

http://www.elvex.com/images/PC-Lens-2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

No thanks :o

not back tracking are ya there scope?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

o1s1n wrote:
    what kinda goggles you got?

a found a pic of the ones i have. a mate got a few pairs in work.

http://www.elvex.com/images/PC-Lens-2.jpg

Dont wear them o1s1n....they have a big nail sticking out of them! :D:p

not back tracking are ya there scope?
    :p
    Honostly id love 2 see some1 get a SAW .

Uh-oh a problem :(

i don't have an adaptor for the charger! So I can't shoot anything til I get one! :eek: And then it'll take 10 hours according to the charger! :eek:

:(

Gutted.

Well thats gay :confused: . Im sure theirs some1 near Tallaght who'd help ya out.
    Did ya get the wrong type or what ?

o ya dya get my Pm?

Well thats gay :confused: . Im sure theirs some1 near Tallaght who'd help ya out.
    Did ya get the wrong type or what ?

o ya dya get my Pm?
    Oh I meant the adaptor for plugging it into the wall socket. The pins are too close together presumably because it's not an Irish one. So gotta get an adaptor.

Yeah got your PM, if you PM me a picture or link to what it is you want then I'll try get it for ya. Don't wanna get the wrong thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

If it is a two pin one stick a screwdriver in the top socket(dont put it in the bottom ones or your screwed:p) if its a three pin eh well i dunno:confused:

Master of the Universe

that bizarre! the charger they sent me out was perfectly compatible with an irish power outlet

Master of the Universe

Dont wear them o1s1n....they have a big nail sticking out of them! :D:p

heh got a giggle out of me there

:p
    Honostly id love 2 see some1 get a SAW .

Im very tempted if not for use then display alone. better buy then the 320 quid pistol i was looking at..lol

would be a crime not to shoot some1 with it though ,hmm never thought id say that about a gun but it would be :p .

well if yer looking at a $320 pistol then the saw appears to be great value at around $500 methinks

Master of the Universe

wouldnt wanna be running with it all day though!

ive heard their light as hell. but still :D
    nice avatar [vega lol :p ]

Master of the Universe

yeah whats the deal with avatars on this site? no one seems to use them.

they're light as hell? really? hmmm. still, light as hell in the first hour of playing with a gun becomes as heavy as a rock after three or four hours of running with the thing.
    well, i could imagine!

ive heard tales of some loons dual wielding em , and some lads sidearms tend to weigh as much

i'll know tomorrow at pred and i could be usig it if i like it.

ya bin their before?

no, first time. im supposed to be meeting sleepershark from AIRSOFTIRELAND but i cant get into my account to get his mob number to find out were to meet him.

let us poor skirmishless soals know how it goes m8 ;)

Master of the Universe

ah cool. i'd love to drop up there sometime. something about driving over the boarder with balaclavas, replica guns and a Dublin reg kinda scares me though lol

wont be going if i cant get in touch with him. dont know were im going and he is giving me a lone of his famas to use

Oisin, how do ya know when the battery is charged? The light is red now, does it turn green when it's done?

It says 10-12 hours, in your experience is that how long it takes? :(

Master of the Universe

this is something im trying to figure out myself. mine is constantly on red too. chargers like that should go green when theyre charged. mine hasnt yet.

originally the charger was set to 6v. i charged it on that for about 15 hours. colour never changed. so i put it up to 8v and charged for about 10 hours. still no change?
    its a bit odd.

Oh hey it's you! :D Nice avatar! Saw you posting in the other thread but didn't realise it was you! :D lol

How long do you charge it usually and how long does it last then?

Mine didn't seem to last too long... hmmm.....

Master of the Universe

i havent had to charge mine since the first charge i gave it. but i've only put about ....3000 rounds through it max. im so low on bbs i acnt really use it that much

oh and yeah, Vega kids ass :D

actually scratch that. i think ive only put about 2000 rounds through it. not too sure

Vega pffft :rolleyes: Julia [tekken] would dominate him/her whatever it is :D

Master of the Universe

Tekken is without a doubt the worst fighting game of all time

stupid looking unoriginal characters..horribly sluggish controls. i hates it!
    i even hate that stupid red pixelated mist that appears when you hit someone.

Mortal Kombat FTW!

Master of the Universe

have you played Mortal Kombat Deadly Alliance on the ps2? man i was addicted to that game all last summer :):):)

oh wait, this is an airsoft thread. woops lol

Tekken is without a doubt the worst fighting game of all time
    :eek: :eek: youve made a powerful enemy today my friend :mad:

tis the only game i ever play on a ps2 [i dont have a ps2 but i play it the whole time with my mates]

Deadly alliance lol even the name is just wrong :p