Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Event: Share The Knowledge - Dec 15th 2007

• 13-11-2007 11:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭

This is a very spacial one day event.

Come see fantastic images and hear expert advice from some of boards brightest talents. It's an event not to be missed.

Where : Dublin City University Room CG12
    When : Saturday the 15th of December

Who
    11:00-11:45 - Melekalikimaka - Music
    12:00-12:45 - Paulw - Sports
    13:00-13:45 - Fajitas!- Fine art, business, processing, exhibiting.
    14:00-14:45 - TJM - Law for Photographers
    (30 Min break)
    15:15-16:00 - Borderfox - Event photography business end of it.
    16:15-17:00 - Covey - Not so Candid Candid's
    17:15-18:00 - Roen - Large format photography

Please sign the poll if your planning on joining us.

Will you be attending? 54 votes

Yes
    0%
    Maybe
    66%
    gandalfSebzyBorderfoxPaulwevilhomersnickerpussGristlyEndTJMkensutzbovrilshepthedogbeansBensterjaqiantadhgrrrCalinaRojomelekalikimakaformatmankjt 36 votes
    No
    33%
    rymusCabaalKaromaAmzSleepyWizZard440Hzgas_ticketIdeoblackbird98*Tripper*Clseepercountryjimboquilmoreosheadbernard0368Mr Dave CRoryW 18 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭tnkrbell

aww I'd love to have attended it but my 21st party is the night before so going to be all photoed out (thats not even a word oh well!!)

Also the nursing school and some pretty nice lecture halls and are usually available at the weekends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

Can't come as I am probably out of the country at that point. But I would love to see the thing on the internet if at all possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

what thirdfox said unfortunatly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Rojo

Maybe
    I'm gonna go! Might bring a friend or two from college too. :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭evilhomer

Maybe
    Looks like a really interesting line up Seb!

I will certainly be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

Maybe
    my exhibition is on that weekend -- but would like to catch some of it for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

Maybe
    count me in yes, I will attend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭blackbird98

No
    Great idea, would love to go if I can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 858 ✭✭✭helios

I'll be in Glasgow :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

Maybe
    Will go if I can. Will you be recording these lectures? Video/Audio?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Maybe
    Stop motion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭OnLooker

Wud love to go but will be in New York that weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

I won't be at your stinking, stupid event. Nope. You won't see me there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Maybe
    I plan to go, looks good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

Maybe
    Fenster wrote: »
    I won't be at your stinking, stupid event. Nope. You won't see me there.

Right so ya deserter your not welcome anyway.
    Fajitas! can we ban Fenster for the next few weeks? please....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

Stupid living halfway around the world thing. :[

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,618 ✭✭✭Ideo

No
    Can't say for certain whether I'll definitely be there but I'd like to go, who knows! Also, would you mind if I passed this onto the fotosoc in DCU?

Maybe
    Ideo wrote: »
    Can't say for certain whether I'll definitely be there but I'd like to go, who knows! Also, would you mind if I passed this onto the fotosoc in DCU?

Oh yea forgot all about them silly me.
    Will have a chat to Tara in the morning. Thanks Ideo for the reminder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Maybe
    Jaysus this sounds brilliant. Think I am free that day. Will deffo try and make it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Maybe
    Excellent, looking forward to this. :)

Maybe
    Room has been confirmed as CG12 same one as the Guy session last time.

Room location
    http://www.dcu.ie/info/location/c0.shtml

Building Location
    http://www.dcu.ie/info/campus.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭beans

Maybe
    Ah brings me back. Some of my best doodling was done in CG12, snoozing too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Can't make it ... will be packing my bags for this little Photo expedition -

http://www.africa-in-focus.com/africa-overland-tours-botswana.html

Flying to Lusaka the Monday 17th ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭RoryW

No

looks like a great holiday - look forward to seeing some photos posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Bringing a Canon or a Nikon Simon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Maybe
    I'll be there. Sounds great.
    Ooooh finally going to a boards event! (After quite a few years!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,368 ✭✭✭Covey

Maybe
    Would anyone care to demo how to clean your sensor in between talks?

T.

Maybe
    Ok.

Can people bring your own fairy washing up liquid and kitchen towel please?

(edit: I'm actually serious, just not about the fairy and kitchen towel. Bring yer own swabs, liquid and rocket blower... I only have full frame swabs :)

Maybe
    Can anyone bring this ? it looks like fun
    http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=VCM2Us0JP_I

Maybe
    Tbh, it looks like the best way of cleaning the sensor. Looks like a lotta hassle though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Maybe
    Looks like a lot of work, but I can see that the idea is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

Maybe
    That is CLEANING, eventually!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭decsramble

Maybe
    Sounds like a great event, I'll try to be there

Maybe
    I'll bring clean air in spray, just in case. Well, not in a case but in a bag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭MartMax

oh no :mad:

i'll be flying off early in the morning that day... leaving for a month..

anyway, have good fun lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

No
    Same night as the main boards beers?? Why d'ye pick the same date?? Well I was heading up to that anyway so if I can I'll pop along to this, now that Paul has brainwashed me :p

Maybe
    We didn't pick the same date, this is being organised before the beers :)

It works out quite well though, considering there'll be more people around.

Maybe
    Oh my god, it'll be like flashback - from school right to pub. Where those lovely days now?
    Hmmm, become a teacher? Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭countryjimbo

No
    I put myself down as a maybe earlier and now it looks like I will be able to make it. Really hope I can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,365 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

No
    I might pop into this if newbies are welcome i.e. I know jack about taking photos and could learn hugely from you all!

Maybe
    Sleepy wrote: »
    I might pop into this if newbies are welcome i.e. I know jack about taking photos and could learn hugely from you all!

All welcome hope to see you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,365 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

No
    Great, might have a colleague with me as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Mr Dave C

No
    Hi Sebzy,
    Is this event open to the public,

Dave C

Maybe
    Mr Dave C wrote: »
    Hi Sebzy,
    Is this event open to the public,

Dave C

Hi Dave
    Just boards members and DCU FotoSoc members only. I think someone is bringing a friend and thats ok but it's not general public.

May decide to do a public event in the future and presenters would be paid but thats still quite a way off now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Mr Dave C

No
    Thanks Sebzy, I hope to make it there..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

Can we wear name tags?

Maybe
    RCNPhotos wrote: »
    Can we wear name tags?

LOL yea you can wear anything you want.
    Do you have name tags???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭RCNPhotos

Bit of cellotape or blue tac, some paper, you're away

Maybe
    Send me PM with your desired name and I'll print some stickers.
    200 dpi bw (black or white) design proposal welcomed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭shepthedog

Maybe
    I'll definitely be there.. Sounds great.. Fair play for organising it..