Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So, exactly how many have signed up to the I.A.A.?

• 13-11-2007 3:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭

I see aload of members active on this forum at the minute, (30 to be exact) and also quite a few guests. So I'm curious guys, how many members have got their finger out and signed up to tht I.A.A? In the last couple of days theres been an awful lot of interest in the sport of Airsort, so how many of you are willing to put your names to the mast?:D

And again welcome to all the guests, sign on guys and give us a shout and say hello...:D

Have you signed up? 55 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No but I Will
    45% 25 votes
    No and I Wont Be (Please State Why)
    54% 30 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

how embaressing, i still havent signed up...... If there's a stamp at home ill do it later today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Its the showing ID part that keeps putting me off, I dont have time to go around showing people ID!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

ive signed up :)

actually, out of interest iceage: do you mind if i add a poll to this so people can say if they have(nt) signed up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

I've submitted my application form and I did not like the
    fact that I needed a copy of an ID but I sent in a copy
    of my passport to total strangers all the same.

I have not heard anything back from anyone since
    Wondering is there anything else I need to do?
    do I hang tight until someone gets back to me?

~B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭Fiach Dubh

I have to pull my finger out on this. I've had a photocopy of my drivers licence for weeks but haven't gotten round to filling in the form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

There has been some delay in getting the latest acceptance letters out. Between various things happening over hte last couple of weeks I havent had a chance to actually sort it out.

I'll take a look tonight and try and get it done. If you have sent yours in you should PM me with your real name so that I know i have received it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

Took me a while but I've submitted mine...

Harekin wrote: »
    Its the showing ID part that keeps putting me off, I dont have time to go around showing people ID!

Its not "showing ID" its sending us a photocopy of it.

You need never suffer our dubious mug's in person should you not wish to. ;)

Also, I should point out that the Contractors have been excellent with their sign up ratio, so much so that I have to buy a brand new box of envelopes ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭ambro25

Been signed up aeons ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

kdouglas wrote: »
    ive signed up :)

actually, out of interest iceage: do you mind if i add a poll to this so people can say if they have(nt) signed up?

Please do, sorry had to pop out for a bit, will check in later guys..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Judge dredd

have to admit i've been sitting on sending in my application for the same reason as most i.e submitting copy of ID.But after listening to yesterdays Joe Duffy show,I posted it off this morning.We all need to get behind the IAA and show that we are not a bunch of nutters with imitation firearms running around shooting the neighbours cat or child, but responsible people who enjoy a SPORT like any other sports fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 zalifer

I am in the process of signing up. I need to get a photocopy of my passport... oh, and some way of printing the form, as my printers on the fritz. maybe in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Tzetze

My application's been sitting here on my desk for a week now. Envelope's sealed, addressed and stamped. Feck it, I'll take a walk down the road right now and post it. *Clicks yes on the poll before he goes*

Edit: It's in the post!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Posting my app tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Will do ASAP. Meant to before but never actually did:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

Ive been meaning to for quite some time as well, just havnt gotten around to getting a photo copy of me passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭defenderdude

signed up already.

c'mon guys n gals - it's the best way to ensure the sport has a future. You need to get behind it!!!!

No excuses - just do it.

well, 2 people have voted no and they've no intention to join, really should have made it a public poll, im curious as to who they are and what are their reasons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

One of them was me. The reason I said I wont join is cos I'm too young :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Gizmodeon

I havent...yet
    I'll do write it out tonight and post it tomo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

so why didnt you say option 2, "no, but i will"..........when old enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

My bad, didn't think of it.

liamo333 wrote: »
    One of them was me. The reason I said I wont join is cos I'm too young :(

fair enough, but there's still two others that have said no, anyway, is there an age limit to join?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭xFROSTY Gx

Yes there is an age limit. Its 16.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Grayfox

Mine is in the works!

At the present time the age limit is sixteen.

does help if you read the rules.....

Just going through the application forms again ... can I point out that the ID requirement is not optional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

I said no because i dont have access to a photocopier to make a copy so there be my thorn in my side :( BUT I PLAN TOO and i said that in the poll if thats one of the nos.

Oh and can you actually just show id to someone and give them the form?
    If so ill have to bring id with me nexttime im going skirmishing hopefull in the next two weeks or so:D

Hey I asked the question so its only fair that I clarify..yes I did sign up and yes, I did send photo I.D. and yes I am hideously ugly!!:eek: so guys relax about sending I.D. just make sure its a photocopy and if your in doubt about it arriving send it by registered post. Also a good idea to includ a SAE as well, it will speed up the whole process. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭ACW

Will do at AGM, I've the worst luck in the world with Post.

Jeez guys...I make that 16!!! that can't be right, I'm no.00018!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Any word on how many have actually signed up to date?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 370 ✭✭padmundo

There are more of the lads who have registered but who don't post here at all and some more that post not so often...

not everyone that has joined the IAA posts on boards ;)

@Hivemind, Frosty: didnt know there was an age limit, whoops :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭tonyj_mc

Really must post that applicatio still sitting in my drawer in work Woops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭JonAnderton

I’m an avid airsofter and fully support the aims and ethos of the IAA but for various personal reasons, I’m not inclined to sign up. Namely, because of what I do (I’m a firearms officer with a UK police service working in a particular department), I’m not to keen on giving out my personal details ie name, address, photograph, medical information along with the fact that I own what could be classed as several imitation firearms (I know your opinions on what airsoft guns are to be called, but for the purpose of this post, please bear with me). A very good friend of mine (who has been known to post the odd thread here) and skirmishing team mate is a fully signed up, card carrying member of the IAA and I would like to join also, but these issues are a real concern for me.

What is the requirement for photo ID. I’m guessing its because of the age limit. Obviously should a VCR style act be brought in in Ireland, then this would probably be a must, but at the present time, is it absolutely necessary. Would it not be possible to have an ‘Associate’ membership whereby someone could be ‘sponsored’ and vouched for by a substantive member. This could mean somebody who may have legitimate reasons to be hesitant in declaring certain information can register their interest and support for the sport without being a full member. At some point in the future, say at a skirmish meet, the associate members credentials could be confirmed by a member of the committee or other designated person and that person could become a full member.

My apologies if I’m treading on peoples toes or speaking out of line, if so, just tell me to feck off…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Calm Horizons

I don't want the hassle and I don't like the prospect of paying for membership at some point down the line. Airsoft is just a bit of fun for me, I'm not looking to join a cause.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

I printed out the form ages ago but never got around to posting it out, will get it done tomorrow and include a SAE to make things easier., are there some kinda of membership cards from IAA? and whats this about paying for membership? does it have to be included with the form when posted in.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,080 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

vtec wrote: »
    are there some kinda of membership cards from IAA? and whats this about paying for membership? does it have to be included with the form when posted in.,

Membership is currently free. Yes, I'll say that again...FREE :)
    Because of this, there are no membership cards as of yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

o1s1n wrote: »
    Membership is currently free. Yes, I'll say that again...FREE :)
    Because of this, there are no membership cards as of yet.

cool, will get mine in tomorrow then,.,:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

I genuinely can't remember if I'm a member or not. I do remember pming someone in the IAA aaaaaages ago with my name and details for some kind of preliminary membership (I think) but there was nothing to sign at the time.

I am one confused bunny. I'd happily sign off on whatever is required though if I'm a member already.

I’m an avid airsofter and fully support the aims and ethos of the IAA but for various personal reasons, I’m not inclined to sign up. Namely, because of what I do (I’m a firearms officer with a UK police service working in a particular department), I’m not to keen on giving out my personal details ie name, address, photograph, medical information along with the fact that I own what could be classed as several imitation firearms (I know your opinions on what airsoft guns are to be called, but for the purpose of this post, please bear with me). A very good friend of mine (who has been known to post the odd thread here) and skirmishing team mate is a fully signed up, card carrying member of the IAA and I would like to join also, but these issues are a real concern for me.

What is the requirement for photo ID. I’m guessing its because of the age limit. Obviously should a VCR style act be brought in in Ireland, then this would probably be a must, but at the present time, is it absolutely necessary. Would it not be possible to have an ‘Associate’ membership whereby someone could be ‘sponsored’ and vouched for by a substantive member. This could mean somebody who may have legitimate reasons to be hesitant in declaring certain information can register their interest and support for the sport without being a full member. At some point in the future, say at a skirmish meet, the associate members credentials could be confirmed by a member of the committee or other designated person and that person could become a full member.

My apologies if I’m treading on peoples toes or speaking out of line, if so, just tell me to feck off…

If you have the job I think you do then I can understand your reasons fully and I whoeheartedly support your decesion.

However, the Republic is a very different place to the UK and the ID requirements are there as much to protect ourselves as they are to protect the members and the public at large.

The "vouching" scheme you suggest has been considered and rejected because it is flawed in that it can provide no other evidence than hearsay and conjecture, whereas our requirement for a copy of a public document which has been (or at least should be) vetted by the authority awarding it suffers no such issue. Should we ever be called upon to prove the identity of members, show that we performed adequet checks to ensure the poeple signing up are using their real identities etc etc ad infinitum pointing to one of our people and saying "Ask him" is not going to go down well with the courts.

Remember, we are not the Gardai so anything we offer without documentary evidence is hearsay and conjecture.

I believe Ambro can explain this better than I can.

As stated by Hivemind, the reason the IAA requires proof of ID is for certainty as to Individual Membership attribution, no more. To my belief there is no requirement for any applicant to state their profession nor any medical condition either (though the medical condition bit could prove useful just in case... but well, not for now).

To supplement Hive's post above, the IAA is currently reviewing and editing the Constitution further, with one of the edits relating to the Data Protection Act, it's endorsement by IAA/application to IAA/obligations placed upon the IAA under it etc. This is currently still a WIP, but it should in part assuage people about the whole "ID thing".

Whereby, @ JonAnderton, so far as the IAA is concerned, you would be just a name/address in a list of names/addresses, so about as security-sensitive as the next public census ;) (and with ref. to the DPA, that list of names/addresses would never be made public or communicated to any 3rd party anyway, and to authorities only upon service of a bona fide warrant).

Sorry that you feel that way, Calm Horizon. We probably all started that way too, to be fair. I suppose we could never win'em all, I just hope for your sake that our associative efforts allows airsoft in Ireland to remain the simple "bit of fun" that you enjoy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Necron99

Just finished my application form & will post it off at lunch time, So I've gone from a "No with a but" to a "yes". :D

ambro25 wrote: »
    As stated by Hivemind, the reason the IAA requires proof of ID is for certainty as to Individual Membership attribution, no more. To my belief there is no requirement for any applicant to state their profession nor any medical condition either (though the medical condition bit could prove useful just in case... but well, not for now).

To supplement Hive's post above, the IAA is currently reviewing and editing the Constitution further, with one of the edits relating to the Data Protection Act, it's endorsement by IAA/application to IAA/obligations placed upon the IAA under it etc. This is currently still a WIP, but it should in part assuage people about the whole "ID thing".

Whereby, @ JonAnderton, so far as the IAA is concerned, you would be just a name/address in a list of names/addresses, so about as security-sensitive as the next public census ;) (and with ref. to the DPA, that list of names/addresses would never be made public or communicated to any 3rd party anyway, and to authorities only upon service of a bona fide warrant).

Sorry that you feel that way, Calm Horizon. We probably all started that way too, to be fair. I suppose we could never win'em all, I just hope for your sake that our associative efforts allows airsoft in Ireland to remain the simple "bit of fun" that you enjoy.

How in the hell can you be this eloquent at this hour of the morning?

I can barely form words with more than a single syllable before my first cup of coffee let alone comlpex and cogent sentences.

+1 Amrbo.

How in the hell can you be this eloquent at this hour of the morning?

I can barely form words with more than a single syllable before my first cup of coffee let alone comlpex and cogent sentences.

Ah well, I'd already had a second cup of my usual So-strong-the-spoon-bends-when-you-stir™ coffee :D

(> you can take the French out of France, but... etc. ;))

Ah well, I'd already had a second cup of my usual so-strong-the-spoon-bends-when-you-stir coffee :D

Ah, the French style. So dark and strong it makes your toe-nails curl.

Love the stuff :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Markspi

Been signed up aeons ago.

As he said