Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More Airsoft Discussion on Joe Duffy Show today!

• 13-11-2007 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭

Guys, a friend just told me that he has heard of airsoft being discussed again on todays show at 1:45pm. The first show must have pulled in some good ratings or something. I'm busy in work and can't phone in myself (and I do not want to open myself to any criticism from people here).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Raytown Rocks

For all you guys and gals that do not have access to radios. this will help.
    Sorry I didnt get a chance to post it yesterday as I missed the thread.
    Anyway to listen to Joe live call this number
    01 4315000.
    This gets you the radio feed live ( believe me this works, use it every lunchtime)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

well well well, who would have thunk it...suppose there is no chance of an IAA rep going on again??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Unfortunately we are all busy as far as I can tell - and honestly, if we were wanted on the show they would have made contact with us, we arent hard to find.

Same thing again lads, dont rise to the bait, its what he wants. DO NOT give him a reason to attack us. He can bang his chest and warble as much as he likes but we have the facts on our side and we have heard all the rubbish before so he cant throw us a new curveball. Let him have his couple of days with it until he shouts himself horse then we will respond in a rational and considered way.

Shroom heads we are not and cogent debate based on solid scientifically verifiable evidence will out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I hope it's ok with everyone, but I emailed the liveline team. Nothing too much, I just provide links to website they can use for research. I included the HRTA 'what is airsoft' page, the IAA website page where the press release is, and the wikipedia entry for bb's that show the scientific study data done in the UK abou the energy needed to penetrate the human eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Gotta wonder if "relevant parties" pointed their browser this way since yesterday..." ;)

Have meeting scheduled at 14:15 so can't call in :(

€0,02 to anyone calling in -

* don't get shangaied with any issues of legislation: the simple fact of the matter is that there is none (save as to the 1J rule).

It is a "plus" as much as a "minus": a "plus" since it was (sensibly) deemed not be a public order issue (else the 1J Rule would not be), and a "minus" for obvious (sensationalist) reasons.

* efforts by self-governing body (IAA) are afoot to remedy the above (very recent) situation for the greater good of both bona fide practitionners and the general public, with enacting self-regulation that will hopefully minimise any harmful side-effects of unregulated access to airsoft in good time, not the least of which being curtailed access to taggers for minors (subject to any over-arching applicable legislation to which retailers are entailed, of course). Current thinking is for instance express parental consent (e.g. tick box or date/sign... whatever) required when a minor is ordering/joining IAA etc.

* regulation of 'market stall' -type is as much an issue for Guards/Customs, who already have relevant legislation at hand to act (when taggers are >1J) and which in airsoft practitionners' experience are already + increasignly enforcing at point of entry in country (ref. crushed M14 by Customs). Of course, anyone with a genuine interest in the sport is undoubtedly already minded to provide full cooperation where required to maintain positive relation with law enforcement and positive feelings towards the sport, and promote mutual respect whereby airsoft practitioners become 'known as reliable / non-threats / good guys'.

* paintball, martial arts, skeet/ball-trap shooting etc. are all sport activities involving some form of danger or other, potentially much more so than airsoft (in which physical contact is forbidden and protection for the only airsoft-sensible but non-penetrable portion of the human body, the eyes, is mandatory), whereby the only issue which 'other listeners' have surely can only be the replica aspect of devices. That being the case, Byrnes/Smyths/Argos etc. have been selling these (non-BB firing) for aeons without any vociferations, so where's the logic of the 'anti' argument?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭Necron99

Not to worry guys, with the upsurge in National disgraces going on (Unions Striking, Hospital Cleaniness & others) It should take some of the heat off us lool ;)

I think we should chip in and send a big banner sign to the Dail that they can hang above the gates

*DAYS WITHOUT A NATIONAL DISGRACE - 0*

I hope it's ok with everyone, but I emailed the liveline team. Nothing too much, I just provide links to website they can use for research. I included the HRTA 'what is airsoft' page, the IAA website page where the press release is, and the wikipedia entry for bb's that show the scientific study data done in the UK abou the energy needed to penetrate the human eye.

Great, seeing as I have just done this myself can no one else do so please. If we all start donig it we'll come off like a bunch of reactionary malcontents.

?

I hardly think a short email (1 line and 3 weblinks) is going to come across in that way. Maybe I misunderstood your post.

Besides, although I see the logic in having only one or two well informed voices speaking publicly, I also see the logic of 'strenght in numbers'. Just so long as everyone stays calm. Coming across as angry, agressive or short-tempered is actually the worst thing that can happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

is started
    there is a woman who is complaining about the high cost of cleaning wedding dresses

and the high cost of selling wedding dresses

its fasinating
    i don't think she's heard of e-bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

listening right now, some woman talking about a wedding dress at the moment

?

I hardly think a short email (1 line and 3 weblinks) is going to come across in that way. Maybe I misunderstood your post.

Besides, although I see the logic in having only one or two well informed voices speaking publicly, I also see the logic of 'strenght in numbers'. Just so long as everyone stays calm. Coming across as angry, agressive or short-tempered is actually the worst thing that can happen.

Crazy I didnt say anything against you. Relax.

However, if everyone starts up this its going to come across as utterly disorganised - consider it, the IAA are meant to be the governing body right? We are supposed to represent the sport - who are the dozens of other people? Whats there interest? Why arent they in the IAA?

You see what I mean?

Wedding dresses?

Did someone by any chance get the wrong information?

Necron99 wrote: »
    Not to worry guys, with the upsurge in National disgraces going on (Unions Striking, Hospital Cleaniness & others) It should take some of the heat off us lool ;)

I think we should chip in and send a big banner sign to the Dail that they can hang above the gates

*DAYS WITHOUT A NATIONAL DISGRACE - 0*

ring in and complain that there are no very clean hospitals
    i've never listened before
    is a mad programm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Does his show ever cover more than one topic?

May he start taking about devilsoft later in the show?

The bane of vets and glazers alike!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Or maybe CR's friend was winding him up ;)

7 weeks
    their together 7 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 769 ✭✭✭AirsoftEire.com

Motosam wrote: »
    Does his show ever cover more than one topic?

May he start taking about devilsoft later in the show?

The bane of vets and glazers alike!:rolleyes:

The show does cover more than one topic, yesterday was highly unusual in that the airsoft discussion took over the entire program.

on to beauty salons now

Crazy I didnt say anything against you. Relax.

However, if everyone starts up this its going to come across as utterly disorganised - consider it, the IAA are meant to be the governing body right? We are supposed to represent the sport - who are the dozens of other people? Whats there interest? Why arent they in the IAA?

You see what I mean?

Yup I completely misunderstood your post. Sorry.

rbd wrote: »
    7 weeks
    their together 7 weeks

7 weeks? crazy feckers! :)

ambro25 wrote: »
    Or maybe CR's friend was winding him up ;)

Naw, it's a friend who doesn't have sense of humour. :D

It was mentioned during the advertisement for the show aired earlier.

The show does cover more than one topic, yesterday was highly unusual in that the airsoft discussion took over the entire program.

I was just starting to relax and all.

Well we've nothing to hide and so far the airsoft community has come across as very reasonable and articulate on the radio, I've every confidence in the IAA and our retailers as representatives of all us airosfters, collectors and scirmishers alike.

I presume someone is recording this?

An mp3 version is available on the website after the show. It's under the podcast area.

So far no mention of airsoft, dentist scandal is the topic at the moment.

An mp3 version is available on the website after the show. It's under the podcast area.

I know but call me paranoid, I like to have a copy that isnt being sourced with the other-side of the argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭H.O.T.A.S.

Anything about Airsoft yet? I'm radioless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Nothing about airsoft yet. Just started talking about engagement rings now.

... maybe we scared him off? :eek:

I'm beginning to think that the 'ad' they aired for the show today (mentioning airsoft) was simply reused from yesterday.

Grand if it was. Means that we are less interesting to this kind of show than we thought. Suits me fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

gizmo just text me from work, she picked up the metro and there is some airsoft related bitching in the letters section.

anyone have a copy of the metro to scan and upload?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

gizmo just text me from work, she picked up the metro and there is some airsoft related bitching in the letters section.

Must see if I can bum a copy lying around on the LUAS this evening

Thats grand. I already have something prepared for the Metro and the Herald AM.

If anyone could post a transcript of it that would be great.

An article in the Daily Mail as well it seems. All negative and talking about it airsoft being banned apparantely. I'm trying to get a copy now.

must be nearly over now ... anything at all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Miscreant

Nothing at all about airsoft. It ended 30 mins ago. All about wedding dresses, tooth whitening, engagement rings and getting money from joint accounts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭cpb

No mention at all

... uh-huh.

Phew!

Sorry for the scare guys. I was working on information from someone I trust. I'm guessing that they just reused an advert from yesterday, hence the mention of airsoft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Lemming wrote: »
    Must see if I can bum a copy lying around on the LUAS this evening

Lads, I have a copy of the Metro ... tbh it's not even worth replying to. it's a single paragraph of someone who wrote in, and it's about as intelligent as a not very intelligent comment.

The only thing worth commenting on is that the discussion was not about airguns or pellet guns - which are firearms and require firearms licenses, but airsoft toys.

I'll scan it in later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Read it too... The last 3 words are "ban them all", and the preceding 4 or 5 sentences are also in that vein.

whats neaded is to find out what exactly is the problem people have with them. if its that somebody could be seriously injured/property seriously damaged then we have physics to counter that with.

If its a case of the look of them, ask why they are not looking to ban gun shaped lighters, cap guns, water pistols, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 zalifer

people are seemingly worried by the fact that it can be interpreted by someone unawares as a real weapon. I say the problem is not to ban replicas, or red cap them, or anything like that. What we need to do is have it so that if a weapon is pushed into your face, you can be sure it IS a replica or somthing imitating a weapon. We do NOT need to ban airsoft guns (though we do need to restrict access, preferably through the IAA).

The bottom line is, why should us sport enthusiasts lose our sport because the government cannot act? We need restrictions on the sale of airsoft guns, we need it fast. We need to get the REAL weapons of the streets, so when someone points an "UZZY" (joe pronounced it really oddly) SMG at you, you assume its a replica, or airsoft, because no-one of bad character has weapons, and certaintly not a machine pistol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

I think the problem is that there is a certain section of the population who will call for an outright ban no matter what logic, science or just common sense we hit them with. I mean there are people out there who are just unwilling to even accept that anyone else has a point of view, let alone listen to what that point of view might be (the "if they disagree with me they must be wrong" brigade). Trying to talk to people like this is a bit like trying to talk sense into the most unreasonable person you know after they've drunk 10 pints and half a bottle of whisky.

Luckily not everyone falls into this category of people, it's just that with this particularly vocal segment of our population having taken a dislike to airsoft over the last few days, we've been in the unfortunate position of feeling like our sport/hobby/obsession is under threat. In reality the people who currently seem like they're trying to ruin our fun just because they don't understand it will most likely find something else to be up in arms about in a week to two, be it political corruption, the state of the health service or some other moral outrage provoking event.

Till then we just have to weather the storm, and be confident that this experience has somewhat galvanized the airsoft community to be more pro-active in defending itself.

OUTRAGE! HAVE YOU SEEN THE PRICE OF MARZIPAN!

I hope it all blows over too, man, but I dont know. with crime, terrorism and all that jazz, guns are on the hit-list, i would imagine.

unfortunatley, not having real guns on the streets is not something that is going to happen anytime in the next 10 or more years. it just wont happen unless some drastic action is taken and units like Cobra Unit are re-formed.

I DO NOT MEAN THIS IN ANYWAY TO BE CRITICAL OR ANYTHING ELSE, ITS JUST A QUESTION (mainly aimed at ronan or sean) :

Has the IAA made contact with any TD's or such people and if they have has any reply been given?

I know, but at the very least, we can use it to defend ourselves! When they say you can confuse it with a real gun, we should say so make sure you never have to, take action against the un-restricted sale of airsoft guns, and on the massive volume of REAL actually dangerous weapons in the country. Then no-one shoud get a gun in their face, real or replica. I know it will be years even if they start now, but we need to get it done anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

people confuse crime with the tools of crime. there was a bank robbery with a gun or a hold up with a gun...whats lost is the fact that there was a robbery or a hold up...everyone is told to focus on the tool as a barometer of the seriousness, rather then the LEVEL of crime. that is where the real problem lies.

for instance, you frequently read about someone stabbed in o connell street or in Limerick or Galway...the knife becomes the focus...not the temperature of fear on the street. that is what should be the focus, you deal with the fundamentals...the tools will disappear. the rise in gun related crime is simply a measure of how unsuccessful we are at dealing with basic law and order.

the terribly sad part of all of this is it is now known how you solve this, but it requires focus and action, nothing more nothing less. it requires a return to basics for the law, the judges, the police the government, the jails and its citizens. a basic acceptance that crime is unacceptable. you need a police force that is allowed to act on and should be focussed on basic crime. you need a jail service that has a surplus, yes a SURPLUS of prison places (that means if you are guilty we have a bed for you), you need a legal system that does not define life in prison as 14 years, out in 7...its all there, the real question is who has the cahones to grasp the nettle? sadly no one, hence to prove you are doing something you ban something. people who follow the law see it as positive, people who break the law, dont care. if i am a criminal, using a tool is just that...i have already crossed the rubicon of committing a crime, banning airsoft means nothing, i am already a criminal.

add to that a press that likes these stories. they are easy to write, detail and people lap it up. to give an example you recently had a superintendent in the UK who wanted the sharp ends of all knives to be taken away. you see how he is missing the point (no pun intended)? he thinks the tool is the problem, he hasnt grasped the fundamental issue that a crime is being committed and violent people will use anything. if airsoft aegs were the problem in crime, i for one would give it up tomorrow....but does anyone seriously think thats the real problem? will o connell street become safe if airsoft disappears? sadly not, if only it were that simple....

we need constant vigilance on this issue...to hammer home again and again and again...that airsoft is not an issue in ireland...crime is an issue in ireland. our problem is crime, not its tools...