Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New York Ideas !

• 12-11-2007 9:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭

Hi, looking for ideas and locations in manhattan to photograph !

I have been there before but this time going with proper gear !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

You can buy very cheap gear there too! B&H is great for dSLR gear I've heard.

Ground zero
    Statue of liberty
    Empire state building
    Central park

These are all the touristy ones I can think of off the top of my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

I wouldnt mind photographing the inside of B&H, with the gear I'd just purchased there.

Ground zero isn't hugely photogenic. It's more depressing than anything. Central park is a gem. I could easily spend another 2 full days there.

I'd be tempted to go back to Chinatown and get alot of stuff there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭hshortt

The Brooklyn Bridge, a number of examples for your inspiration can be seen on flickr.com also, top of the rock has the empire states building in your view. It's a breathtaking sight.

Enjoy.

They haven't built the memorial yet? When I was there in 2003 they said they were about to start the work...

What was more depressing was the fact that some people were hawking photos of the actual event beside the gate. A lot of people in my group found that rather disrespectful.

Shame we don't have a real Chinatown in Dublin - Simpson's scene "Mom, are those rabbits dead?" "No, they're just sleeping, upside down...and inside out" :D (being Irish/Chinese I have the right to make fun of myself :p)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭CraggyIslander

havent really been to NYC other than manhattan....... the village is worth a visit tho :-)

Dublin might not have a chinatown, but we do have an italian quarter ;)

Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

hmm. never been there, but, assuming you can -

go up the Statue of liberty with a zoom lens? good view i'd imagine :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 168 ✭✭leohoju

Dublin might not have a chinatown, but we do have an italian quarter ;)
    Thirdfox wrote:
    Where?

I'm guessing Fred means that little group of restaurants between Ormond Quay and Abbey Street. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭ThOnda

NYPD from the inside. Just tell some cop that you'd like to shoot his police station... ;)

yep thats the one, forgot to supersize the ;)

edit: bah, no big smilies

yep thats the one, forgot to supersize the ;)

edit: bah, no big smilies

Was wondering would I make a fool of myself asking that question...ah well.
    ThOnda wrote: »
    NYPD from the inside. Just tell some cop that you'd like to shoot his police station... ;)

Especially if OP had a Can(n)on!

Thirdfox wrote: »
    Was wondering would I make a fool of myself asking that question...ah well.

Instead of supersizing the winkie, I should have qouted leohoju and supersized 'little'...... its really that impressive........ only reason i know is coz i work round the corner from 'it' :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Its not in Manhattan but the Bronx Zoo is well worth a visit. The subway stops just down the street from the main gate. Its absolutely massive and is a cheap day out :) They've got some very photogenic animals there too, from tigers to polar bears to giraffes to gorillas etc. Some of the animals from hot weather climates probably won't be out at this time of year though.
    This was taken in February this year:
    401342131_3b1ee12bc0.jpg

I also second the Empire State Building and Top of the Rock observatories. The Empire State Building one is always crammed with people, and it is very very cold up there, so dress appropriately! A tripod might be very useful as well if you go in the evening. The city at night looks really breathtaking from up there. Another from February, shot hand held with a slow lens (the Nikon 18-55 kit lens in fact):
    398874487_31f0e2aa78.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭trishw78

That looks so pretty I might just smuggle myself into ken's luggage somehow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

Central park has some great photo op's... like below;
    1708583564_5aceab226e.jpg?v=0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭Benster

Also, Grand Central Station, Washington Square (I think that was where all the old Jewish guys gather to play chess, etc, although maybe not this time of year), Brooklyn Bridge (seconded) and the Interpid aircraft carrier on the West side.

Also, if you can scrape together the money for a chopper trip, I highly recommend it. But make sure you sit up front.

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

A contact/friend of mine on Flickr, Mr.Inky, does a hell of a lot of street photography there, comes out with some very nice shots too.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/brandbeaver/

I've been to NYC twice but never managed to see Central Park, there's so many other place on Manhatten alone I've never seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Can't wait to go to NY in 2 weeks. Will be bringing the camera and buying a few lenses there and thinking of doing the helicopter trip.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

http://www.nytimes.com/2007/06/29/nyregion/29camera.html?pagewanted=print

be careful...it is questionable as tothe legality of photographing the city these days with a tripod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

One bit of advice if you do go to B&H (which is photographer mecca ... so you are required to make this journey under "Canon" law :D) ... be prepared ... know exactly what you want ... the place is amazing ... but it is also a Zoo ... with a hell of a lot of queues ... note also B&H is run by Hacidic Jews .. these guys take religion seriously ... to the point of even closing their web site on the Sabbath (Friday at 2pm to Sunday 10am) ...

Hmnnn places to see in New York ...

Make sure to visit the ICP (International Centre for Photography) if you like looking at images ... this is the New York equivalent to the place in Temple Bar ... web site it - http://www.icp.org/ ... For places to shoot and how to di it inspiration look at postcards in the icp shop ... or some of the ample photo books of New York ...

While your in the neighborhood of ICP you can also visit Grand Central Station ... great for people shots ... and above grand central is the Chrysler Building ... often misken for the Empire State ... and every bit as photgenic ...

If you want to see New York from the water on the cheap then take the Staten Island ferry ... you also pass Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty ... and all for the princely sum of USD$0 ... yes its free!!

If you are feeling more flush then take the Circle Line tour which goes around the island ... and takes in some great views ...

For good night and people shooting go to Time Square and stand in the middle of the street ... bring a tripod ... or at least a bean bag ... oh and be careful when shooting ... it is Ok generaly but some cops can be a bit edgy after 9-11 ... I've never had any hassle but plenty of funny looks ... check out the Naked cowboy while you are there ... have a look at my flickr if you need to know more -

For street photography and people shots (not to mention fake brands to impress the girls) ... the Canal St Market on Saturday morning ... or little Italy ... but be careful where you point the camera some of these guys in the fancy suits are in fact the real Sopranos ...

I also like the vibe in Greenwich Village ... around Bleeker St ... lots of good street shooting opportunities there ... everywhere you go on Manhattan island you bump into people with charachter ... keep your camera handy for snap shot opportunities ... such as insane people, pimp mobiles, street performers etc ...

If B&H is too much of a bustle then pop into J&R music world near ground Zero ... after you spend all your money on gear ... pop one street over to the boardwalk on Brooklyn bridge ... do this at Sunset (sun shining on the bridge from over the island) or if not Sunrise (sun shining onto the island across the bridge) ... especially if the day is clear ... on the other side of the river is Brooklyn (hence the name of the bridge:o) ... where you get those classic night shots of Manhattan Island ...

such as insane people, pimp mobiles, street performers etc ...

One thing to add here - if you're taking shots of street folk, just be careful and try to be discrete. Last time I was there my bro in law pointed his D80 right at a guy settling himself down to beg on 5th Ave and got a bawling at and a short chase down the street for his troubles. I got a shot from the hip about 5 seconds before he even raised his camera and it wasn't noticed at all. Just watch yerself, that's all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

I am planning 2 day trips, off the top of your heads is there anywhere, say within 6 hours of New York City by car really worth seeing !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

only most of the tri-state area. Within 6 hours drive you could be in DC, Philly, Boston, Niagara Falls. Too many places to even consider!

You could try the Catskil state park, just north of NYC. I was trying to get there in July but didn't have time. While researching it beforehand, it looked the biz for landscape stuff...

http://nysparks.state.ny.us/gmaps/?spks=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

Be careful of taking photos of bridges (http://www.flickr.com/photos/xshayx/1139437800/) and many (government) buildings too. Its not allowed!

Loads of great buildings to get pics of around Manhatten, and upstate NY (less than 6 hours away) is great too, mountains, forests, great small towns, really friendly people.... much like down the country here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

and downtown Albany has got to be one of the spookiest places ever at night time. full of wierd statues and completely deserted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Rob_T

I second the Empire State but if you can go all the way to the top (you pay a little extra of course :rolleyes:) but its enclosed and therefore not exposed to the elements and it can 20 degrees colder than at street level(non scientific guess based on layers of skin lost to frost bite :) ) if you go out on the main observation deck. Also Top of the Rock is excellent to get a different view of the city than the classic Empire State views. Another one is Time Square as it has lots of recognizable landmarks and is great for people shots. Have fun its a great city for photography.
    Here are some shots I took while there http://www.flickr.com/photos/capturedlight/sets/72157594388723211/

xshayx wrote: »
    Be careful of taking photos of bridges (http://www.flickr.com/photos/xshayx/1139437800/) and many (government) buildings too. Its not allowed!

Is this really going on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭xshayx

According to the cop at the toll on the bridge we were on, yes, shouting at us about their being signs everywhere, and getting very angry that the photos he was looking at werent staying on long enough for him to flick thru and delete them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Wow, after reading that I'm surprised I wasn't sent to Gitmo for taking photos in JFK airport! Just got a telling off, they didn't even try to delete them.

xshayx wrote: »
    According to the cop at the toll on the bridge we were on, yes, shouting at us about their being signs everywhere, and getting very angry that the photos he was looking at werent staying on long enough for him to flick thru and delete them!

Your kidding me lol... for the love of jesus......

I think there just a little too sensitive. They tried to take the battery for my 40D from me in O'Hare. Until something else on the scanner caught their eye which was more important

trishw78 wrote: »
    I think there just a little too sensitive. They tried to take the battery for my 40D from me in O'Hare. Until something else on the scanner caught their eye which was more important

Christ help me I will have loads of batteries, have they no cop on ?

As a side note, do you still have to fill out a green customs form when you land ? I did 12 years ago..... is it the same now ? or do I just hand in my passport ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭trooney

Hey, don't forget St Marks and also Washington sq park. The Bowery. The Library. MOMA. St Patricks Cathederal. South St Seaport. Roosevelt Island cable car. The village. Bleeker St. Manhattan from off the island. The list goes on and on and on and on...

sunny2004 wrote: »

As a side note, do you still have to fill out a green customs form when you land ? I did 12 years ago..... is it the same now ? or do I just hand in my passport ?

The one that asks "are you a terrorist?" lol - I filled one out 3 years ago... I wonder how many people they catch out with that one!

or "Are you a member of the Nazi party?" :eek:

If you mean the green one where they ask you if you are a terrorist yes. There's also a white one as well

trooney wrote: »
    Hey, don't forget St Marks and also Washington sq park. The Bowery. The Library. MOMA. St Patricks Cathederal. South St Seaport. Roosevelt Island cable car. The village. Bleeker St. Manhattan from off the island. The list goes on and on and on and on...

Very good ! cheers... any more ideas?

The one that asks "are you a terrorist?" lol - I filled one out 3 years ago... I wonder how many people they catch out with that one!

or "Are you a member of the Nazi party?" :eek:

what goes on in their heads, does no one say STOP this is pure madness :)

So I just fill out the greem card on arrival or on the plane ? last time they gave them out on the plane..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

One place for really good shots is the subway... Just be careful of what you are taking a picture of though... I generally wouldn't take pictures of strangers, but of the architecture down there..

Some of my NY favs:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/dmnscttirl/sets/72157601290512233/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

go up the Statue of liberty with a zoom lens? good view i'd imagine :D

I was told the statue (as in climbing to the top) was off limits now - is this still the case??

^^^ to emphasis what Third_Echelon said - do NOT take pictures of other people's children!

Now coming from my culture it is fine to take pictures of strangers pretty much everywhere - my American friend was shocked to see a picture of a child on my camera (along with pictures of flowers, animals - other general stuff...) She knew that I'm not a sexual deviant but her social customs still made her queasy to see the picture. My German friend had no problems with taking pictures of other people (or their children) either - as long as it's for a clear photographic purpose.

Apparently in Ireland it's not a great idea either or so I've been told... so I respect the customs of the country and do not do it. But personally I think it's a terrible reflection on society to think that anyone with a camera is a paedophile if they so much as point a lens towards a child.

Mike: I think they reopened it for viewing a few years ago. Unfortunately when I went there it was closed.

Checking them out, cheers !

Mike: I think they reopened it for viewing a few years ago. Unfortunately when I went there it was closed.

No this was recently. We were stopped from going only a few months back.

Another thing is the guys/gals in NYC are real anul/touchy/paranoid about taking pictures of buildings too and you might get asked to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭templeathea

^^^ to emphasis what Third_Echelon said - do NOT take pictures of other people's children!

Now coming from my culture it is fine to take pictures of strangers pretty much everywhere - my American friend was shocked to see a picture of a child on my camera (along with pictures of flowers, animals - other general stuff...) She knew that I'm not a sexual deviant but her social customs still made her queasy to see the picture. My German friend had no problems with taking pictures of other people (or their children) either - as long as it's for a clear photographic purpose.

Apparently in Ireland it's not a great idea either or so I've been told... so I respect the customs of the country and do not do it. But personally I think it's a terrible reflection on society to think that anyone with a camera is a paedophile if they so much as point a lens towards a child.

Recently I suggested to my friend that I might try some sports photography on the under-15s football team playing in the park.

He was absolutely horrified and said that would only be acceptable if my own child was playing.

Presumably because no one who has a child could be a paedophile :rolleyes:

Another thing is the guys/gals in NYC are real anul/touchy/paranoid about taking pictures of buildings too and you might get asked to stop.

Again I have to ask if this is first hand information ? if so who told you to stop and what is the legal situation ? its not illegal ?? so I might stand my ground in a polite professional photo way :)

Can I get a converter to allow me to plug in my Irish electronics into there electric system ? I know the voltage is like half ours and 2 pins but is there a converter?

Plug Converters are available in the airport that allow you plug 3 pin irish plugs into the US sockets. You need to check your battery charger/electronic equipment to see if its power rated for the US. All of the canon batt chargers I have are internationally rated.

You are looking for the power rating to say something like INPUT :100-240V AC:50/60Hz
    If it only says 240V then you won't be able to plug it in without an expensive Power Converter.

Again I have to ask if this is first hand information ? if so who told you to stop and what is the legal situation ? its not illegal ?? so I might stand my ground in a polite professional photo way :)

Can I get a converter to allow me to plug in my Irish electronics into there electric system ? I know the voltage is like half ours and 2 pins but is there a converter?

There have been numerous threads about this on various forums. I will try and find the link to a blog from one guy who was arrested twice for this (& he lives yank land). Please note that I am not necessarily talking about the usual landmarks like Empire State etc. All I am saying is that it is something that can happen, so beware.

If the voltage on whatever you are trying to connect works between 110-240v & 50/60Hz (which 99.9% of all fairly new electronics do) then all you need is the plug adapter only

kensutz wrote: »
    and thinking of doing the helicopter trip.

Well worth it!! :cool: