Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Caught urinating in public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,093 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

delancey42 wrote: »
    In certain circumstances might urinating in public be considered an offence of ' indecency ' ?

I'd say it all depends on which way you're facing :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

delancey42 wrote: »
    In certain circumstances might urinating in public be considered an offence of ' indecency ' ?

Absolutely.

g32 wrote: »
    Served you DAMN RIGHT.

Urinating in public is sub-human and animal behavior. Young Irish drunken men don't think about the consequences for their actions.

What were you searching for in threads over a year old that you need to drag this one up ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭g32

Reloc8 wrote: »

What were you searching for in threads over a year old that you need to drag this one up ?

Its endemic this problem. So to give my opinion to the op, who seemed to think this is acceptable. He seemed very nervous of the potential consequences but did he expect a slap on the wrist?

This problem is prevalent in our society, particularly among young drunk men. Law enforcement to tackle this problem is essential and in any case, its not enough. Look at the shop owner in Ennis who installed the electric shock instrument. His shop is a victim to this ape behavior.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

How is that working out for him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Served you DAMN RIGHT.

Urinating in public is sub-human and animal behavior. Young Irish drunken men don't think about the consequences for their actions.

I think thats a moronic statement considering sometimes you have to go rather than get on a 1 hour nitelink and risk wetting yourself.
    I disagree with people puking and relieving themselves all over the citys streets but someone who desperately needs to go running up a lane is not exposing themselves or making an issue of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Gestapo

IT Loser wrote: »
    Urination in public and bleeding in public are as illegal as one another

tell that to my dog!!

davmol wrote: »
    I think thats a moronic statement considering sometimes you have to go rather than get on a 1 hour nitelink and risk wetting yourself.
    I disagree with people puking and relieving themselves all over the citys streets but someone who desperately needs to go running up a lane is not exposing themselves or making an issue of it.

How some people that justify any beast behavior is unbelievable........

Regardless where it occurs in public, it is a violation of the law. It is a sign of no decorum or respect for public property. Go find a public house or a restaurant and pay them to use the bathroom if necessary. Doing it is an alleyway, or public place is a low low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Have you thought about talking to the Gardai?

I would go by the station, ask the Gardai what he thinks is fair punishment, and fulfill whatever he thinks, without question.

Volunteer to wash the cars for a month, whatever...

It will keep you out of court and off of the record. You never know, he just might even admire your more sober thinking and give you a warning.

I would go when the Gardai's shift first starts. Less probability of bad moods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭smellslikeshoes

How some people that justify any beast behavior is unbelievable........

Regardless where it occurs in public, it is a violation of the law. It is a sign of no decorum or respect for public property. Go find a public house or a restaurant and pay them to use the bathroom if necessary. Doing it is an alleyway, or public place is a low low.

I'm surprised you're able to reach down to the keyboard from up there on your high horse. The OP was caught late at night on his way to a nitelink. The fact of the matter is, after kicking out time there isn't going to be any pubs or restaurants open where you can go or anywhere else for that matter.

Smellslikeshoes,

It does NOT matter how sorry you feel for the op...!

Discretion does not come into this.

It does not justify urinating in public under any circumstances. The op did what nobody would do in a civilized world. The cops were doing their job also. The op must accept responsibility for his actions.

Smellslikeshoes,

It does NOT matter how sorry you feel for the op...!

Discretion does not come into this.

It does not justify urinating in public under any circumstances. The op did what nobody would do in a civilized world. The cops were doing their job also. The op must accept responsibility for his actions.

I never said he shouldn't take responsibility for his actions. I'm pointing out the fact that it's something that can and does happen to good and decent people and you shouldn't be coming out with words like "sub-human" and "animal behaviour".

So I am asking this question to you Mr/Mrs G32.
    If you are on your way to a nitelink and there is no pubs or restaurants open and you really have to go, what would you do? Remember this is late so there really is nowhere open.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

He wasn't really caught late at night. He drank a load of beer. Any eejit can see the biological consequence of this. If he had stopped drinking earlier he wouldn't have had the problem.

Having said that I think its disgraceful that there is not some form of public toilets for people to use near the nitelinks.

I never said he shouldn't take responsibility for his actions. I'm pointing out the fact that it's something that can and does happen to good and decent people and you shouldn't be coming out with words like "sub-human" and "animal behaviour".

So I am asking this question to you Mr/Mrs G32.
    If you are on your way to a nitelink and there is no pubs or restaurants open and you really have to go, what would you do? Remember this is late so there really is nowhere open.

i love stupid people who don't understand civilization.... 

Firstly I can assume you have a high IQ with your intelligent response you so delicately ended your comment on. Secondly no one urinates in public, they do it because they are drunk or oblivious to a civic burden of responsibility, which they clearly lack. And i loved the fact you think everyone does it. Go do a little research on this.

Stupid people who don't understand civilisation?

I'm done with this thread, you're living high atop your ivory tower and not in the real world and I'm starting to think you're nothing but a troll. If you need to drag up a 2 and a half year old thread to have a go at someone it says more about you than the thread starter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Take a walk in the city any night of teh week and you will see that many many people urinate in public out of necessity.I dont condone it but i fully understand people doing it when there is no other option.

My cousin was on a school tour and she needed to go badly.There was no toilet facilities and her teacher refused to let her go outdoors so she held on as long as she could which was a bit too late.she ended up wetting herself and rupturing her bladder right in front of her class.WHat would you say to her?how would you quell the embarrassment she has to live with for he next few years...would you simply reiterate your self righteous BS above and villify her for wanting to go outdoors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Finnbar01

This happened to a neighbour of mine. Was coming home from work, was caught short and jumped over a wall and had a pee behind a bush. When he jumped back over, he was stopped by a passing patrol car and when asked what he was up to, he told the truth.

Court appearance later, stating that as it happened in the middle of the night and he concealed himself very well, it was highly unlikely that a member of the public would have spotted what he was doing and so the judge struck it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 duffer243

fran.c wrote: »
    I heard once that by law you can take a dump in public without fear of prosecution, on the grounds that there is a medical fact that you could die if you didnt take a pooh in time.:o

Perhaps its true perhaps not.:eek:

Is this actually true? Heard it before meself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

This thread should be re-named '' The Thread That Refuses To Die ''