Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calzaghe's a muppet! imo

• 08-11-2007 10:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭

Newly-crowned undisputed super-middleweight king Joe Calzaghe has continued his war of words with Bernard Hopkins.

The Welshman called out Hopkins immediately after he beat Mikkel Kessler on Sunday morning.

Hopkins, 42, responded by saying he would love to see the fight go ahead in his native America, and Calzaghe's promoter Frank Warren insisted the "ball is in his court".

Calzaghe said: "He claims himself to be a legend but to be a legend you have to be beat the top fighters - who has he beaten?"

Calzaghe claimed Antonio Tarver was "over the hill" when he met Hopkins and said his other opponents, such as Oscar De La Hoya and Felix Trinidad, were "little men".

The 35-year-old added: "He should fight a proper fighter who will fight back. Let's see if he has the balls.

"I'm happy to go over there to fight him. I'll go to Vegas or Madison Square Garden and sort him out."

Hopkins pulled out of a 2003 fight with Calzaghe after allegedly doubling his purse demands at the 11th hour.

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

man aren't you taking this a bit too seriously?
    all fighters get up to this kind of thing when looking for a fight, then afterwards they are suddenly best friends. Joe is ok in my book , no harm to shake up the yanks at their own game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

meh, he's known to be a cocky fukcer buck, a lot of people think he's a moron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

Hopkins is 42 and will still tear joe apart, he's brash cocky and lacks technique, he's a tough lad but by no means 1 of the best ever as people are trying to say-he's only beaten lacy and kessler and is going on about hopkins?
    Hopkins is a living legend and is still an animal, different class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

I agree, he'll be a foolish man to step into the ring with Hopkins - what a deflation for him!
    Calzaghe definately does lack serious skill, he slaps more than punches imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Does anyone else not see the stupidity in the fact that Joe is slagging Hopkins for beating nobodies and guys over the hill, yet Joe himself wants to fight a 42 year old man:rolleyes:, who is years past his best......

What will it prove if Joe were to beat a 42 year ld Hopkins??

AbsOlute nothing IMO....

Hopkins was a very good middleweight and a good
    LH.....

Good thinking Bren-he's a rubberhead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

eh lads,is all calaghe's saying not just exactly what hopkinshas been saying about him for a year now.Anyone who heard his interview on off the ball would know that.Anyone who refers to themselves in the 3rd person deserves to be beaten,hopkins was off the wall in that interview.
    Also whats this rubbish about him not being that great,He is a fantastic boxer and if he wasan american that we barely ever seen we would shouting from the rooftops about his talent.Personallyim all for calzaghe beating Hopkins and i think he will do it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Calzaghe is such a hypocrite!

Lacy & Kessler aside his list of opponents is an embarrassment: Will McIntyre, Tocker Pudwell, Mger Mkrtchian, Peter Manfredo Jr, Sakio Bika, etc, etc............very impressive Joe :rolleyes:

He says that Hopkins has beaten nobody and claims that Antonio Tarver was "over the hill" but one of Calzaghe's greatest wins was against an "over the hill" Chris Eubank.

I'd prefer to see Joe unify the Super Middleweight divison (by fighting IBF champ Lucian Bute) then fight a big name fighter (be it Taylor or Pavlik) then move up to Light Heavy and fight WBC champ Chad Dawson. Can't see any of that materialising though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Joe is cocky, always has been. But he's a cracking fighter. Still, I think he's just trying to hype a fight between them. More hype = More cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

cowzerp wrote: »
    Hopkins is 42 and will still tear joe apart, he's brash cocky and lacks technique, he's a tough lad but by no means 1 of the best ever as people are trying to say-he's only beaten lacy and kessler and is going on about hopkins?

first i heard how lacy was going to tear him apart
    then it was kessler( well admittedly i thought kessler could be beat him) but that was just because i was afraid of getting my hopes up)

remember Taylor beat hopkins twice and i reckon Calzaghe would beat both Taylor and his conqueror Pavlik.

I agree he is a little cocky but after 10 years as champ he has earned that right to be in my view. he doesn't come across in interviews as a nice of a guy as Kessler does but then again it could all be an act for tv.

Raekwon wrote: »
    Calzaghe is such a hypocrite!

Lacy & Kessler aside his list of opponents is an embarrassment: Will McIntyre, Tocker Pudwell, Mger Mkrtchian, Peter Manfredo Jr, Sakio Bika, etc, etc............very impressive Joe :rolleyes:

He says that Hopkins has beaten nobody and claims that Antonio Tarver was "over the hill" but one of Calzaghe's greatest wins was against an "over the hill" Chris Eubank.

I'd prefer to see Joe unify the Super Middleweight divison (by fighting IBF champ Lucian Bute) then fight a big name fighter (be it Taylor or Pavlik) then move up to Light Heavy and fight WBC champ Chad Dawson. Can't see any of that materialising though.

The bar is raised everytime. so if he beat Hopkins it'll be Hopkins was over the hill. i hope he does fight Pavlik or Taylor then the excuses will surely run out.

If Joe faces Pavlik or Taylor and wins, then yes the excuses certainly have
    ran out....Nothing will change IMO should he beat an old past his best Hopkins.

If he faced HOP, 506 years ago and beat him, that's got serious merit....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »
    If Joe faces Pavlik or Taylor and wins, then yes the excuses certainly have
    ran out....Nothing will change IMO should he beat an old past his best Hopkins.

If he faced HOP, 506 years ago and beat him, that's got serious merit....

Frank Warren may be a ducker when it comes to negotiating(90% of the time) except when it comes to the proposed Calzaghe v Hopkins fight 6/7 years ago .

Head of Showtime admitted that Hopkins' and his team had asked for 3 million(can't remember if it was pounds or dollars) and when Warren surprisingly accepted Hopkins camp told Warren and his cronies to hold on till tomorrow and they'd get back to them . Hopkins team came back the next day looking for 6 million.........purposefully pricing themselves out of a fight .

Calzaghe doesn't believe the 'who has Hopkins fought' thing for one minute he's just trying to get Hopkins to agree to the fight(It's always extremely difficult when negotiating with Hopkins) . They've given Hopkins a deadline of next week or they'll fight Woods instead .

I think Calzaghe beats Hopkins and quite easily too .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭jayroyal

Come on lads he's just beaten A VERY GOOD fighter fair and square and mostly impressive. He's got everything you would want to see a kid starting out have GUTS,HEART,CHIN,SPEED,FLURRY OF PUNCHES,FOOTWORK AND LOVES A TEAR UP. I can't believe you's can slag him off even when you have boxed yourselfs.
    Del ha hoya was up a weight too high really but hops was a great middleweight i think calzaghe is just playing for tv everyone does that. I think he just has too many skills i think for hopkins and cal will be stronger at the weight that hopkins simply because he was a super middle hopkins wasn't . Also hopkins won't have the power to halt calzaghe he did beat traver easy but traver was shocking bad. Also wright was moving up from L middle, hopkins is a legend himself and i just think people should start giving joe credit cause they give hatton so much for one good win so come on lads.
    GIVE JOE CREDIT HE IS A LEGEND

p cowser post a clip up here to show me hopkins has so much more technique to tear joe apart come on your way over the top here. What would be his game plan to beat joe i'd like to think of a way you think he would tear him apart this should be interesting.

jayroyal wrote: »
    Come on lads he's just beaten A VERY GOOD fighter fair and square and mostly impressive. He's got everything you would want to see a kid starting out have GUTS,HEART,CHIN,SPEED,FLURRY OF PUNCHES,FOOTWORK AND LOVES A TEAR UP. I can't believe you's can slag him off even when you have boxed yourselfs.
    Del ha hoya was up a weight too high really but hops was a great middleweight i think calzaghe is just playing for tv everyone does that. I think he just has too many skills i think for hopkins and cal will be stronger at the weight that hopkins simply because he was a super middle hopkins wasn't . Also hopkins won't have the power to halt calzaghe he did beat traver easy but traver was shocking bad. Also wright was moving up from L middle, hopkins is a legend himself and i just think people should start giving joe credit cause they give hatton so much for one good win so come on lads.

I don't think anyone is NOT giving Joe credit.
    WE are simply, well I for one, and I think Paul agrees with me when I
    basically said that Joe beating HOP is nothing special and will not
    elevate him to greater heights.
    Joe beating Lacy did NOT impress me one bit as Lacy to me
    was pretty damn ordinary. Hyped, but couldn't back it up.
    Calzahge's style I don't like and I don't think he
    has faced real championship class.
    Is he good, YES, is he great, I don't think so.....

Calzaghe has had a very successful, but padded career IMO.
    He has beat everyone he has ever faced, but no legends, apart from
    maybe an OLD ring worn Eubank...

Kessler was very good, but hardly in Jones's Juniors league or Toney's or
    Hearns or a peak Hopkins league...not close...

Calzaghe is a slapper without a punch..

He has great stamina, great work output, a decent chin and
    a nice southpaw style......

I just can't get excited about Joe and never could...

He's at the end of his career now and all he has accomplished
    I have forgotten, because to be honest he didn't accomplish all
    that much apart from a WBO title, and defenses against
    mediocre opposition...

he's won all four belts and he didn't just beat lacy he battered him who has hopkins beaten like that and also jones junior is a bit of a frak of nature in his prime nobody would have beaten him without a hell of a lucky punch.
    so your telling me hopkins fight with taylor where so great to watch.
    anyway hopkins ain't an exciting fighter give it a rest the amercian have booed so many of his fights cause he'll rather counter punch, i honestly can't believe you can dis calzaghe this much fair enough he did fight a few bad guys but so did all the champions that boxing thats hows ya make money.:cool:
    Calzaghe style is better than most cause he fights when ya don't have to and he's quickest hands in those weights in boxing. god i've a feeling if he was irish ya still hate him what with the negitave comments, your only covering your arse saying hopkins is past it cause if the do fight it will be all joe all night by eights round if not more.:eek::eek::p

p cowser post a clip up here to show me hopkins has so much more technique to tear joe apart come on your way over the top here. What would be his game plan to beat joe i'd like to think of a way you think he would tear him apart this should be interesting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Akkc7KSGBto

there you go!
    more speed, power and skill than joe-only age holds hop back against joe and like bren said-if he beats hop big deal but i still will back hopkins as he is just so superior and i believe still fit.
    also calzaghe is not even powerful at his weight never mind at lightheavy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭The Sparrow

Are you crazy? Joe Calzaghe lacks technique in your opinion? That is the stupidest thing I have heard in a long time and to be honest I can`t take any of your points seriously if you really think that.

So your problem is that one fighter is talking trash about another fighter before a possible fight... eh welcome to boxing! :confused:

i'm not slagging off hopkins i'm just amazed how you think he is so superior to joe come on two class boxers but in their primes or even now i really can't see hopkins beaten joe up like you stupidy think. You say he have no techquice how did he win three aba's at three different weights your taking bull get off your high horse and admit it joe is a nice nice have you ver heard him bad mouth much.
    You's guys should give it a rest even if he does beat hopkins now he still gets no credit and lads don't even tell me hopkins was such a big name before he beat keith holmes and ternidad cause he wasn't, not saying he wasn't vry good but thats when people said this guy is special why can't yous see it's the same here with joe.:confused:

i coach boxing technique every day and joe lacks it, he is the biggest slapper in boxing and does not even slap hard! i dont hate joe as he has done brilliant with his limited talents, he is a big mouth and every boxing fan knows that, Hopkins is amazing, did you look at the link i posted? at the end of the day hopkins is about 14 years past peak age, and i still maintain will dispatch of joe anyway..
    my technique and skillls coaching is well respected with the results i get with trainee's so wooo232 dont say im talking stupidly on this subject.
    walshb is 1 of the most succesful boxers on this forum and always agree's with me on joe's poor technique, why do you's think he keeps breaking his hands? because he's not landing clean shots and they dont change it because its working for them..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

walshb wrote: »
    I don't think anyone is NOT giving Joe credit.
    WE are simply, well I for one, and I think Paul agrees with me when I
    basically said that Joe beating HOP is nothing special and will not
    elevate him to greater heights.
    Joe beating Lacy did NOT impress me one bit as Lacy to me
    was pretty damn ordinary. Hyped, but couldn't back it up.
    Calzahge's style I don't like and I don't think he
    has faced real championship class.
    Is he good, YES, is he great, I don't think so.....

Calzaghe has had a very successful, but padded career IMO.
    He has beat everyone he has ever faced, but no legends, apart from
    maybe an OLD ring worn Eubank...

Kessler was very good, but hardly in Jones's Juniors league or Toney's or
    Hearns or a peak Hopkins league...not close...

Calzaghe is a slapper without a punch..

He has great stamina, great work output, a decent chin and
    a nice southpaw style......

I just can't get excited about Joe and never could...

He's at the end of his career now and all he has accomplished
    I have forgotten, because to be honest he didn't accomplish all
    that much apart from a WBO title, and defenses against
    mediocre opposition...

Good post ,
    I think you have sum up my opinions Calzaghe ,
    woooo232 wrote: »
    Are you crazy? Joe Calzaghe lacks technique in your opinion? That is the stupidest thing I have heard in a long time and to be honest I can`t take any of your points seriously if you really think that.

So your problem is that one fighter is talking trash about another fighter before a possible fight... eh welcome to boxing! :confused:

Golden rule know your opponent: D:D
    Now I do not know you and know nothing about your background or knowledge of the game, yes I will repect your opinion (wrong or right) as we are all entitled to one, but to dismiss someone else opinion like this is crap. But the fact you are dismissing the opinion of someone that has a good background and very good personal knowledge of the sport make it funny,,,,,,,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

I can't believe some of the negativity here.
    Just a few points.

1. Calzaghe HAS bad technique, mainly with his left hand. It never ceases to amaze me why he consistently swipes with it. With his speed and timing if he turned his knuckle and put his body behind the left hand and straightened it out it would be an absolutely devastating shot, but...

2. Despite his technique Joe hits quite hard and various results prove that. The very fact that he floored Eubank legitimately twice says something. And this is the same Eubank who went on after to have two absolute wars at CRUISER with a big puncher in Carl Thompson without being floored.

3. Calzaghe is not a big mouth by any stretch of the imagination. When he was coming on the scene first he sounded as if he might be yet another boxer talking ****e, but in the 10 years since he has never struck me as anything other than a nice quiet guy and often refreshingly honest, who seldom says anything derogatory about his opponents. This tirade about Hopkins is purely to get him in the ring for one huge payday. Nothing more, nothing less.

4. Calzaghe has faster hands than Hopkins.

5. He has the perfect style to beat Hopkins. It would be similar to Collins/Eubank all over again. A classy smart boxer who relies on intimidating his opponents to make them wary of doing the one thing that will beat him and that's outworking him. Joe throws way way too many punches for Hopkins to get away with his 10-punches-a-round trick. I think Calzaghe wins by wide UD - and that was always my opinion going back years.

megadodge wrote: »
    I can't believe some of the negativity here.
    Just a few points.

1. Calzaghe HAS bad technique, mainly with his left hand. It never ceases to amaze me why he consistently swipes with it. With his speed and timing if he turned his knuckle and put his body behind the left hand and straightened it out it would be an absolutely devastating shot, but...

2. Despite his technique Joe hits quite hard and various results prove that. The very fact that he floored Eubank legitimately twice says something. And this is the same Eubank who went on after to have two absolute wars at CRUISER with a big puncher in Carl Thompson without being floored.

3. Calzaghe is not a big mouth by any stretch of the imagination. When he was coming on the scene first he sounded as if he might be yet another boxer talking ****e, but in the 10 years since he has never struck me as anything other than a nice quiet guy and often refreshingly honest, who seldom says anything derogatory about his opponents. This tirade about Hopkins is purely to get him in the ring for one huge payday. Nothing more, nothing less.

4. Calzaghe has faster hands than Hopkins.

5. He has the perfect style to beat Hopkins. It would be similar to Collins/Eubank all over again. A classy smart boxer who relies on intimidating his opponents to make them wary of doing the one thing that will beat him and that's outworking him. Joe throws way way too many punches for Hopkins to get away with his 10-punches-a-round trick. I think Calzaghe wins by wide UD - and that was always my opinion going back years.

but sure the consensus is Calzaghe only beats Hopkins because Hopkins is past it and if he loses his detractors were right all along. As bigears mentioned Hopkins had the chance to fight Calzaghe sveral years ago when he was at the top of his game and bottled it by asking for double the money at the last minute.
    it's just puzzling after his great performance against Kessler this debate about Calzaghe is still going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭MREGAN

he slaps more than punches imo
    Pretty impressive KO rate for a boxer who slaps as you put it. His punches dont look to be the best but they must be doing the damage. I think he is a love him hate him type of guy. But you cannot take away what he has achieved. Hopkins will get beat but I just wish it had taken place a few years ago when hopkins was fresher.

MREGAN wrote: »
    I think he is a love him hate him type of guy..

I dont hate the fella, i actually like him-i just think he's not all that great-he should not be talked about as a legend like sugar ray or roy jones jr etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Fall_Guy

hmm, the title of the thread is "calzaghe is a muppet" yet you like the guy! id hate to see what you'd have titled the thread if you didn't like him!

personally i just think he's trying to goad hopkins into taking the fight so i would take his comments with a pinch of salt.

Fall_Guy wrote: »
    hmm, the title of the thread is "calzaghe is a muppet" yet you like the guy! id hate to see what you'd have titled the thread if you didn't like him!

personally i just think he's trying to goad hopkins into taking the fight so i would take his comments with a pinch of salt.

My best mates are muppets at times as am i too, his stupid comments where muppetry at its best, overall i like him because he's a genuine worker who has the heart of a warrior-im not a big fan of his due to his crappy technique and how often he misses his shots, but he does the job needed and that has to be appreciated-i will watch all his fights anyway but his punching wont be changing anytime soon..

my technique and skillls coaching is well respected with the results i get with trainee's so wooo232 dont say im talking stupidly on this subject.
    walshb is 1 of the most succesful boxers on this forum and always agree's with me on joe's poor technique, why do you's think he keeps breaking his hands? because he's not landing clean shots and they dont change it because its working for them..

Lol unless your name is emmanuel stewart or freddie roach or some other legendary boxing coach then I don`t care whether or not you coach trainees. To suggest that a ten-year world champion lacks technique is laughable. You may be a boxing coach and others on here may be succesful boxers but that is just ridiculous. I will take my pointers from the likes of ring magazine who rank joe as one of the top-ten pond for pound fighters in the world.

Just because Calzaghe's technique is unorthodox does not mean it is bad.

So even though you might coach trainees, I still maintain that your assertion that joe calzaghe lacks technique is indeed stupid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 404 ✭✭Bernard Hopkins

Joe C has a bad technique, boxer's are like footballers....... there's a new "best in the world" every few weeks.
    Ring magazine is respected , but they still come under the blanket of media.
    at the moment , the media are souping up a Europe vs Usa theme.
    If Hatton wasnt fighting PBF , then joe would never have been on the cover.

Applying a combination of speed and power in-one , is something Joe C dosent do,..... a flurry of paffs and slaps is not highly estimated in my eyes.
    Joe's so-called "KO" of Manfredo is a great example, Manfredo jnr didnt have a lot of complementry things to say about Joe's power.

to say he's a muppet,.... hmmm
    I think PB floyd is a muppet, but he's obviously a special talent.

listen i was in cardiff last week i.ve boxed for years and was talking to at least three irish champions at the fight and they were also amazed at him. I think the problem is just like one of my mates he finds it hard to praise anyone.
    Also i know one excellent irish pro who thinks he's amazing aswell, ALSO STEWARD was praising him like hell on HBO what does that say. I know how hard it is in boxing to have the skills of people like joe calzaghe thats why i praise him but i forgot you must be training better technique boxers than joe :eek: give it a rest by the way theat clip was good but then again i never say he was rubbish but i don't see how that clip shows you how he can tear joe up:cool:

Lol unless your name is emmanuel stewart or freddie roach or some other legendary boxing coach then I don`t care whether or not you coach trainees. To suggest that a ten-year world champion lacks technique is laughable. You may be a boxing coach and others on here may be succesful boxers but that is just ridiculous. I will take my pointers from the likes of ring magazine who rank joe as one of the top-ten pond for pound fighters in the world.

So even though you might coach trainees, I still maintain that your assertion that joe calzaghe lacks technique is indeed stupid!

O'k so all the top boxers and coaches in ireland know nothing about technique, just because you win does not mean your tecnically good-you obviously dont have a clue and rely on magazines to give you information-we're all clueless and you know everything..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 wardyeire

I never realised there were so many World Champions who post on this forum, the way some of you are talking you must be millionaires for all the money you won in the ring. :p
    But back to reality, no one who post here is, has, or will ever be World Champion, granted there are boxing people who have an opinions but anyone who disputes that Calzaghe is not worthy of his titles has no idea what there on about. Ok, I agree the standard of boxing nowadays is not what it was in previous decades but surely an undisputed champion with a record of 44-0 should get some respect from everyone on here.

There are people here who have boxed in finals, won titles inside the ring, some have even managed to win National titles (yes myself included many years ago) and I remember how hard it was to get to that level but could never imagine what it would be like to be World Champion.

So give Joe a break lads...........and some credit would be nice too :D

wardyeire wrote: »
    I never realised there were so many World Champions who post on this forum, the way some of you are talking you must be millionaires for all the money you won in the ring. :p
    But back to reality, no one who post here is, has, or will ever be World Champion, granted there are boxing people who have an opinions but anyone who disputes that Calzaghe is not worthy of his titles has no idea what there on about. Ok, I agree the standard of boxing nowadays is not what it was in previous decades but surely an undisputed champion with a record of 44-0 should get some respect from everyone on here.

There are people here who have boxed in finals, won titles inside the ring, some have even managed to win National titles (yes myself included many years ago) and I remember how hard it was to get to that level but could never imagine what it would be like to be World Champion.

So give Joe a break lads...........and some credit would be nice too :D
    well said mate at last some common sence

I'm sure cowzerp you have seen guys who are pleasing to watch and easy to train, who are technically good, but don't have the skill to win a world title let alone hold on to one for several years.
    i know i would prefer to have the 'wrong technique' and be as successful as Calzaghe rather than have the right technique and not be successful.

I'm fortunate that I have trained with both Cowzerp and Walshb (albeit many moons ago now) and both have opinions that are valid here, however we need to realise that opinions are sometimes based on the way we boxed, trained, etc.

I was a boxer and power was not one of my high points therefore I like to watch boxers in action, but I can understand some (although not all) of Cowzers points as I remember him to be a very determined and strong fighter who liked to bang, hence he likes boxers similar in style to himself (Hopkins)

Brendan Walsh was for me one of the greatest talents of amateur boxing back in his youth with his jab and footwork an art in itself.....

So whilst we may not always agree with each other we need to respect each others opinions and consider where they come from:)

thats not to say I dont watch fighters in action cause I do, I'm on my way to watch Froch V Reid as we speak.....

O'k so all the top boxers and coaches in ireland know nothing about technique, just because you win does not mean your tecnically good-you obviously dont have a clue and rely on magazines to give you information-we're all clueless and you know everything..

So all the top boxers and coaches in Ireland think that Calzaghe has bad technique?

TBH I actually prefer to listen to somebody who has achieved something in world boxing!
    http://msn.foxsports.com/boxing/story/7400040
    Lennox Lewis:
    “He has a very unusual style,” says Lewis of the southpaw Calzaghe. “He has great rhythm, great hand speed and great movement. He throws punches from different angles and you know, you throw a punch and he hits you three times... I don’t see any fighter that fights like him,” says Lennox. “I’m telling you, he’s got quick hands and he’s always throwing punches. His punch rate is incredible.”

hmmm... great rhtyhm, great hand speed and great movement... certainly sounds like calzaghe's technique sucks! but of course the experts here know more about boxing than former heavyweight champion Lennox Lewis.

TBH I actually prefer to listen to somebody who has achieved something in world boxing!
    you do that then-there's not much point of you been on this site as seen as nobody's opinion matters,
    slapping is bad technique, and coaches who have money interests are hardly going to knock joe are they. missing most your punches is sloppy and if you dont understand that then phone up manny steward and have a chat with him as you seem to have access to these lads..

cowzerp you just come across as bitter. perhaps your jealous that joe calzaghe is so much more succesful than you ever were with his so-called bad technique. Even from the title of this thread your bitterness comes across. Every boxer talks trash about other boxers. Its just part of the game. Are you going to start a new thread slamming every single fighter who talks trash about a possible opponent? I must do a search for all your previous threads calling boxers who talk trash a muppet... Or is it just Joe Calzaghe that you have something against?

And then somebody stands up and points out the ridiculousness of what you are saying and you say that they shouldn`t post on this forum because they don`t agree with your expert opinion! Eh I think you'll find other ppl agreed with me too.

And just one more point about the technique thing. The closest thing I can compare it to is that when Michael Johnson was breaking all of the 400m records ppl didn`t say "oh he lacks technique". But he was running completely differently to anyone else and his technique was not in any coaching manuals and certainly not taught to kids by running coaches. Yet everybody understood that it was his unorthodox style that made him great and without that he would probably be a nobody on the track.

The same is true of Joe Calzaghe in my opinion. But I guess you would say that Michael Johnson lacks technique because he doesn`t sprint like you!

wooo232 i am pretty jealous of calzaghe-:p
    when i wrote the thread title it was because i was pissed at the stupidity of the article joe, joe lacks technique and his punches are usually illegal-this is not good either way, he's a winner-we agree on that, my observations are correct regardless of your views-hopkins has way more class and technique than joe, im not anti calzaghe anyway but your trying to make it out that i am ..

This afternoon the BBC are rebroadcasting Joe Calzaghe's masterful performance against Kessler. Perhaps some of the experts from Irish boxing from here shoud watch it and take some notes from Calzaghe's wonderful performance... You never know you all might learn something from a true great of world boxing!:D

i enjoyed the fight and joe did well, he was good but still missed lots of shots, kessler was brilliant in technique and also performed great-calzaghe simply out worked him. are you suggesting that irish boxing fans dont know there boxing?

When did I mention Irish boxing fans? No I am suggesting that anybody who claims that Joe Calzaghe lacks technique either knows little about boxing or has a some sort of grudge against calzaghe imo. Ah look this is getting a bit ridiculous... Lets just agree to disagree and move on!:)

No I am suggesting that anybody who claims that Joe Calzaghe lacks technique either knows little about boxing or has a some sort of grudge against calzaghe imo

woo232 stick to your pro wrestling ok leave the real stuff to boxing fans, he regularly slaps wwe style and real boxing fans know this, his hands are always getting hurt-why? i've supported him most of his carreer but its so obvious that your showing your lack of boxing skills knowledge, so we will have to agree to disagree..

yeah cos you are such an expert! so what is your professional boxing record? how many world titles have you won? how many world champions have you trained? you are coming across as incredibly elitist and downright parochial just because somebody disagrees with you.

No wonder more ppl don`t post in the boxing forum if you are the welcome that they can expect. So why is your opinion anymore valid than mine? I didn`t realise that this was a forum where only certified boxing experts could post... and who certified you as an expert? Did you go on some sort of course and get a certificate?

And no I won`t stop posting on the boxing forum with supposed experts like you. Last time I checked it was part of boards.ie and as a member of boards I don`t really need your permission to post or not. So please stop wasting your time repeatedly telling me to go away because I refuse to agree with you. Your attitude stinks tbh.

However I am done arguing with you over this... I have more important things to do today liking watching some paint dry than listening to you.

So why is your opinion anymore valid than mine? and who certified you as an expert? Did you go on some sort of course and get a certificate?

thanks You answered that for me, yes i do have a certificate of qualification as a boxing coach, opinions are like airholes, everyone has 1-you where the 1 calling me stupid and stuff even though all the people who know there boxing agree with me! your just looking for an argument and im worse biting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Your first post on this subject ,and you attack someone opinion straight away without most thought. class:D

My problem with this is again you attack first .Ok this time you back it up with some of your views . And we also get some light on your experience and where most of your knowledge of the sport comes from. Now do not get me wrong not all poster there have been in the ring , take BIG EARS as an example he has never boxed but this knowledge and insight into this sport is second to none. Which I feel may be the start of the problem between you and another poster i.e looking at fights differently
    So all the top boxers and coaches in Ireland think that Calzaghe has bad technique?

hmmm... great rhtyhm, great hand speed and great movement... certainly sounds like calzaghe's technique sucks! but of course the experts here know more about boxing than former heavyweight champion Lennox Lewis.

Alot of the boxing community outside Ireland belief that Calzaghe has bad Technique and the fact that he has suffer "BAD HANDS " throughout his career is a sure sign of this bad technique. Yes he is a good fighter but his technique is not world class my any means.
    cowzerp you just come across as bitter. perhaps your jealous that joe calzaghe is so much more successful than you ever were with his so-called bad technique. Even from the title of this thread your bitterness comes across. Every boxer talks trash about other boxers. Its just part of the game. Are you going to start a new thread slamming every single fighter who talks trash about a possible opponent? I must do a search for all your previous threads calling boxers who talk trash a muppet... Or is it just Joe Calzaghe that you have something against?

And then somebody stands up and points out the ridiculousness of what you are saying and you say that they shouldn`t post on this forum because they don`t agree with your expert opinion! Eh I think you'll find other ppl agreed with me too.

And just one more point about the technique thing. The closest thing I can compare it to is that when Michael Johnson was breaking all of the 400m records ppl didn`t say "oh he lacks technique". But he was running completely differently to anyone else and his technique was not in any coaching manuals and certainly not taught to kids by running coaches. Yet everybody understood that it was his unorthodox style that made him great and without that he would probably be a nobody on the track.

The same is true of Joe Calzaghe in my opinion. But I guess you would say that Michael Johnson lacks technique because he doesn`t sprint like you!

First part is just downright wrong , and a crap thing to even say,
    Your point about Micheal Johnson is a cracking point and I for one cannot argue against it, Except lamely said different sports.
    This afternoon the BBC are rebroadcasting Joe Calzaghe's masterful performance against Kessler. Perhaps some of the experts from Irish boxing from here shoud watch it and take some notes from Calzaghe's wonderful performance... You never know you all might learn something from a true great of world boxing!:D

Again with the comments about Irish Boxing. As a small nation we have a very good record both in the Amateur and professional game.This is down to the Amateur clubs and coaches all over Ireland who day in and day out are doing fantastic work with who knows how many further champs at all levels. So please don't be consenting to these people and their great work.

The following post are just Examples of how you can still air your views and opinions without having to resort to abuse and child like statements
    he's won all four belts and he didn't just beat lacy he battered him who has hopkins beaten like that and also jones junior is a bit of a frak of nature in his prime nobody would have beaten him without a hell of a lucky punch.
    so your telling me hopkins fight with taylor where so great to watch.
    anyway hopkins ain't an exciting fighter give it a rest the amercian have booed so many of his fights cause he'll rather counter punch, i honestly can't believe you can dis calzaghe this much fair enough he did fight a few bad guys but so did all the champions that boxing thats hows ya make money.:cool:
    Calzaghe style is better than most cause he fights when ya don't have to and he's quickest hands in those weights in boxing. god i've a feeling if he was irish ya still hate him what with the negitave comments, your only covering your arse saying hopkins is past it cause if the do fight it will be all joe all night by eights round if not more.:eek::eek::p

maybe a bit more repect for people and their different views/opinions in further is call for .

And theres me thinking boxing thought me to control my emotions.....:rolleyes:

Whatever happened to construtive criticism on forums....:confused:

Didn't Calzaghe beat Sakio Bika easily and now Bika is the contender champion.....or was that competition crap as well...people should be able to air their views on here without people taking it personal.

Now i want to start another debate I went and watched Carl Froch beat Robin Reid last night now my opinion is that Calzaghe would be too good for Froch yet he challenged Calzaghe last night (he said he'd even step up to light heavy) so what do people think? Yes Froch can bang theres no doubt about that but he's been an up an coming boxer since winning the Commonwealth title back in 2004 and I dont think he's as good as he says he is.

I'd be very interested in what people think about Froch

thanks You answered that for me, yes i do have a certificate of qualification as a boxing coach, opinions are like airholes, everyone has 1-you where the 1 calling me stupid and stuff even though all the people who know there boxing agree with me! your just looking for an argument and im worse biting.

i'm hope you ain't on bout that silly certificate the iaba give you after a one day course i'v done this and it is stupid really. Anyway lad's the thing that pissed me off so much is pcowser tipped kessler to stop calzaghe in the ninth i think but still won't give him credit for being a four belt world champion unbeaten for 10 years. Listen i've tipped mosley to ko cotto but if cotto wins i'll be first one to say well done you deserve credit mate. I won't be slagging him off cause i don't like how he boxes.

wardyeire wrote: »
    And theres me thinking boxing thought me to control my emotions.....:rolleyes:

Whatever happened to construtive criticism on forums....:confused:

Didn't Calzaghe beat Sakio Bika easily and now Bika is the contender champion.....or was that competition crap as well...people should be able to air their views on here without people taking it personal.

Now i want to start another debate I went and watched Carl Froch beat Robin Reid last night now my opinion is that Calzaghe would be too good for Froch yet he challenged Calzaghe last night (he said he'd even step up to light heavy) so what do people think? Yes Froch can bang theres no doubt about that but he's been an up an coming boxer since winning the Commonwealth title back in 2004 and I dont think he's as good as he says he is.

I'd be very interested in what people think about Froch

I seen the fight pity reid was passed it, i thought he caught froch a few times and he seem not too good to taking them wonder was that just me :confused:. i have to say i like froch but didn't think he was great last night i think a Froch - Lacy fight would be good, Calzaghe doesn't need joe just like collins didn't need calzaghe in my view.